Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This issue of The Future of Children explores the complexity of fragile families, defined as families in which the parents are unwed at the time of the child's birth. Some of the research described in the volume is based on a large national survey, the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study. The first four articles examine fragile families from various vantage points: the couple, the father, and the child. The fifth looks at particular issues of race and ethnicity. The last four delve into policy issues that have special pertinence for fragile families: pregnancy prevention, incarceration, postsecondary education, and marriage and fatherhood programs. An executive summary and policy brief are also available.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Families, Family characteristics, Family support programs, Marital status, Premarital pregnancy, Public policy

Annotation: This report examines state perspectives and experiences related to nonmarital birth policy since the passage of the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Act (PRWORA) of 1996. The report provides information on states' experiences related to the goal of reducing nonmarital births and the factors that helped shape state policies. The first part of the report provides a general overview of what is currently known about state efforts to reduce nonmarital births and the second part of the report provides detailed information about the experiences of a sample of nine states; Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming. Data are presented in graphs, charts, and tables throughout the report. The report provides a conclusion section and a list of references.

Contact: Lewin Group, 3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 800, Falls Church, VA 22042, Telephone: (703) 269-5500 Fax: (703) 269-5501 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lewin.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Premarital pregnancy, Single parents, State programs, Unplanned pregnancy

Annotation: This report focuses on maternal and child health statistics for the Russian Federation and the United States. The report covers a broad range of health measures including the following: prenatal care, pregnancy complications, abortion, method of delivery, birth order, births to unmarried women, births by age of mother, infant mortality, maternal mortality, child mortality by age group, immunizations, morbidity in the Russian Federation, hospitalization in the United States, and communicable diseases. The report also includes a discussion of data quality issues to assist in understanding limitations in the accuracy, coverage, or comparability of the information presented. A background section provides a brief description of the organization of each country's health care system, as well as an outline of national guidelines for the provision of maternal and child health care. The report also contains 24 tables covering population size, prenatal and obstetrical care, abortions, natality data, breastfeeding practices, mortality data including causes of death, immunization rates, communicable diseases, and other morbidity measures. The report provides additional detail, when available, for key subgroups of each population: In the Russian Federation, data are presented for urban and rural regions; in the United States, for black and white racial groups. In the final section of the report, a glossary of terms provides additional detail on differences in definitions between the two countries.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: PHS 99-1486.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Child health, Child health services, Child mortality, Childbirth, Communicable diseases, Health statistics, Hospitalization, Immunization programs, Infant health services, Infant mortality, Maternal age, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Maternal mortality, Morbidity, Pregnancy complications, Premarital pregnancy, Prenatal care, Racial factors, Rural population, Russia, United States, Urban population, Vital statistics

Annotation: This book is a collection of papers by scholars and policy analysts attempting to place the problem of adolescent pregnancy within a broader cultural context. The commentators represent both the United States and Great Britain. The book concentrates on four areas: 1) Underlying causes and problems of adolescent pregnancies; 2) choices available to adolescent women; 3) adolescent fathers; and 4) social policies on adolescent sexuality and pregnancy. The authors suggest a better range of health, welfare, educational, and vocational strategies as a method of decreasing early childbearing.

Contact: Yale University Press, P.O. Box 209040, New Haven, CT 06520-9040, Telephone: (203) 432-0960 Fax: (203) 432-0948 Web Site: http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent fathers, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Blacks, Poverty, Premarital pregnancy, Prevention programs, Public policy