Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report highlights innovative efforts that are underway to address the treatment and prevention needs of substance using pregnant women, mothers, and their drug affected infants. It also presents a summary of the 1989 annual conference of the National Association for Perinatal Addiction Research and Education and lists information resources including organizations and publications.

Contact: U.S. Alcohol, Drug Abuse, and Mental Health Administration, Office for Substance Abuse Prevention, 1 Choke Cherry Road , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (800) 694-4747 ext. 4820 Fax: (240) 747-5453 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Drug affected infants, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Substance abuse, Treatment

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This report spotlights five programs focused on integrating oral health care into primary care serving the maternal and child health population. Each spotlight includes an overview of the program; a description of its inception and early years; information about funding, notable strengths, notable evaluation activities, and evaluation methodology; select evaluation findings; and resources to learn more about evaluation.The report also describes key elements for individual program success and the challenges common across all programs that limit program success. Stand-alone spotlights of each program are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org

• Full Report
• Webpage With Stand-alone Spotlight Reports

Keywords: Evaluation, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Protect Tiny Teeth Implementation Project, which was designed to improve the oral health of the maternal and child population, and project results. Topics included background, focus group testing and communications messaging, environmental scan, project description, project aim, results, and Protect Tiny Teeth Toolkit overview and testing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Section on Oral Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Primary care, Program planning, Service integration, Young children

Annotation: This series of chartbooks provides information on facilitators of and barriers to integrating oral health care into primary care for pregnant women and children. It includes data related to scope of practice for oral health professionals and non-oral health professionals; Medicaid billing and reimbursement; issues impacting care provided by dental hygienists, dental therapists, and community health workers; and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, High risk children, High risk infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service integration

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This video details New Mexico's journey in developing comprehensive policies for substance-exposed newborns, specifically highlighting how the state worked to align with the 2016 Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA)'s amendments to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA). The process culminated in the 2019 passage of HB230, which mandates hospitals to create Plans of Care for affected infants and families, with the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) providing guidance to hospitals, insurers, and other stakeholders. Length: 8 minutes, 25 seconds.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: New Mexico, Patient care planning, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance exposed infants, Substance abusing women, State policies, Evaluation, Title V programs

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises nine courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This guide for trainers provides continuing education (CE) to oral health professionals serving infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 21, including children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and pregnant women. Topics include (1) introduction to public dental health and care coordination; (2) behavioral guidance; (3) motivational interviewing; (4) early childhood oral health care; (5) tooth decay progression, management, diagnosis, and treatment; (6) restorative techniques; (7) cost-effective practice; (8) pediatric anesthetic and behavior management; (9) oral health care for CSHCN and pregnant women; and (10) tobacco, vaping, and oral health.

Contact: Alameda County Public Health Department, Office of Dental Health, 1100 San Leandro Blvd., San Leandro, CA 94577, Telephone: (510) 208-5910 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dental.acphd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Children with special health care needs, Continuing education, Infant health, Infants with special health care needs, Oral health, Pregnant women, Public health

Annotation: This report describes opportunities for improving maternal and infant health outcomes among Medicaid and CHIP beneficiaries. The document reports on the work of the Expert Workgroup on Maternal and Infant Health, convened in 2019 and 2020. In addition, the report demonstrates the use of three of the Maternal and Perinatal Health Core Set measures: cesarean sections for low-risk pregnancies, attendance at postpartum care visits, and number of well-child visits in the first 15 months of life.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Health equity, Infants, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcomes, Pregnant women

Annotation: This toolkit provides oral health resources that health professionals can share with pregnant women and new mothers. The print resources, which include the complete toolkit, brochures, posters, and infographics, are available in Arabic, Cambodian, English, French, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Taiwanese. Videos are available in English and in Spanish. The resources offer information about where to obtain oral health care by state and about how to care for gums and teeth during pregnancy and infancy.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Infants, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Posters, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: This course for community health workers includes six modules about improving the oral health of pregnant women, children, and families: (1) oral health essentials, (2) oral health screening, (3) oral health during pregnancy, (4) oral health knowledge and skills for infants and young children, (5) planning and making changes for good family oral health, and (6) advocacy for oral health for mothers and infants. The course has been approved for continuing education units and medical education units for community health workers and representatives by the New Mexico Department of Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of New Mexico Center for Development and Disability, 2300 Menaul Boulevard, NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107, Telephone: (505) 272-3000 Fax: (505) 272-5280 Web Site: http://cdd.unm.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Continuing education, Infants, New Mexico, Oral health, Pregnant women, Professional education, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This presentation about family home visiting and oral health in Rhode Island provides an overview of the federally funded Perinatal and Infant Health Quality Improvement Project, the goal of which was to reduce the prevalence of oral disease in pregnant women and infants through improved access to high-quality oral health care. The presentation also provides statistical data about family home visiting in Rhode Island, an overview of oral health, an oral hygiene demonstration, and information on setting oral health goals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Rhode Island, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This report presents findings of the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement National Learning Network to enhance the evidence base for improving access to and quality of oral health care for pregnant women and infants. It discusses project activities, the rationale for the quality-improvement processes, and preliminary results of the collaborative. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: , Access to health care, Infants, Oral heath, Pregnant women, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from the Strong Start for Mothers in Newborns Initiative, a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HRSA) program that aims to prevent preterm births and improve outcomes for newborns and pregnant women. The five-year program evaluation describes the populations served, the model programs and interventions implemented, and the maternal and infant outcomes for participants covered by Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) during pregnancy. Outcome measures compare preterm births and cesarean section rates across race, ethnicity, and program models, including birth centers, group prenatal care, maternity care homes, and intensive education and psychosocial support.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal programs, Infant health, Initiatives, Low income groups, Maternal health, Models, Mothers, Newborn infants, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Prevention, Program evaluation

Annotation: This manual contains information and resources to promote oral health in pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 3 by providing oral health screenings and risk assessment, education, fluoride varnish applications, and referrals. Contents include an oral health protocol; resources about assessment and fluoride varnish; anticipatory guidance; parent handouts in English and in Spanish; and information about oral health in pregnant women and children, including children with special health care needs. Information about Medicaid reimbursement, resources for supplies, professional policies and guidelines, and forms is also included.

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, Screening, Service integration, Special health care needs, State programs, Training materials, Virginia, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting Program (Home Visiting Program) to support voluntary, evidence-based home visiting services for at-risk pregnant women and parents with young children up to kindergarten entry. Topics include efforts to expand services to more families and communities, program participants, notable achievements, the Tribal Home Visiting Program, and research and evaluation. State fact sheets are also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Families, Health services delivery, Home visiting, Infants, Parents, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program descriptions, School readiness, State MCH programs, Young children