Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (95 total).

Langley M. n.d.. Continuum's Minority Connection Project [Final report]. Atlanta, GA: CONTINUUM Alliance for Healthy Mothers and Children, 32 pp.

Annotation: This project aimed to reduce postneonatal mortality rates associated with inadequate parenting skills and poor utilization of prenatal and child health care services. Activities included establishment of a resource mothers program in which church women were trained to assist pregnant women in negotiating the health care and social services systems, and implementation of a teen peer counselor program. The project also established self-sustaining local coalitions to monitor and address problems that contribute to poor pregnancy outcomes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196889.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, Adolescents, Blacks, Clergy, Community-Based Health Services, High risk groups, High risk pregnancy, Infant Mortality, Low income groups, Postneonatal Mortality, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Religious organizations, Rural Populations

Schroeder S, Greiner B, Stepanov A. 2024. Oral health status and dental visits by race. Bismarck, ND: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health status and dental visits among children in grades K through 12 and pregnant women in North Dakota. Topics include students in kindergarten, students in third grade, students in grades through 12 participating in SEALIND, medical-dental integration in a family medical center, and pregnancy.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health care utilization, North Dakota, Oral health, Pregnant women, Racial factors, School health, School-age children, Service integration, State information, State programs, Toothbrushing

Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program. 2024. Oregon oral health surveillance system. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. 2024. Fluoride fact sheet for consumers. Bethesda, MD: National Institutes of Health, 1 web resource.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It presents background information and discusses the following topics: recommended intakes for infants, children, adolescents, and adults from birth to over age 19, including pregnant adolescents and women and breastfeeding adolescents and women; sources of fluoride; types of fluoride supplements; fluoride and health (the effects of fluoride on tooth decay and bone fractures); health risks from excessive fluoride; interactions of fluoride with medications; fluoride and healthy diets; and where to find more information about fluoride. The fact sheet is written in simple language.

Contact: National Institutes of Health, 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 Secondary Telephone: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nih.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Breastfeeding, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Fluoride, Fractures, Infant health, Oral heath, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Prevention

Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission. 2022. Report to the Congress on Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 196 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on aspects of Medicaid's mission to ensure access to high-quality health services and the program's future as a major health care payer driving health system change toward value. The report focuses on topics of interest to Congress, including Medicaid’s responsiveness during economic downturns; concerns about high rates of maternal morbidity and mortality; improving hospital payment policy for the nation's safetynet hospitals, and the integration of care for people who are dually eligible for Medicaid and Medicare.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Children', Costs, Financing, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Medications, Mental health, Oral health, Organizational change, Pregnant women, Reimbursement, Systems development, s Health Insurance Program

Thomson A, Lauderback E. 2022. Meeting the needs of pregnant and parenting adolescents through home visiting . Arlington, VA: James Bell Associates; Washington, DC: Urban Institute, 10 pp. (National Home Visiting Resource Center innovation roundup brief)

Annotation: This brief highlights home visiting models, affiliates, and initiatives serving the needs of adolescent parents. Examples include Teen Parent Connection: A Healthy Families America Affiliate, Family Spirit, Nurse-Family Partnership, and Show Me Strong (SMSF): A Parents as Teachers Initiative. The brief concludes with key service delivery features for consideration by other programs.

Contact: James Bell Associates, 3033 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 650, Arlington, VA 22201, Telephone: (800) 546-3230 Fax: (703) 243-3017 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jbassoc.com

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Family support services, Home visiting, Parent support programs, Pregnant adolescents

Davis M, Holt K, Kolo S. 2022. Title V national performance measure 13 (oral health): Fiscal Year 2021 snapshot. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report offers a snapshot of states’ experiences with implementing strategies to address NPM 13. It presents challenges, lessons learned, and accomplishments in promoting preventive dental visits for pregnant women and children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17. The report introduces the topic and provides background; presents information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; and discusses methods, limitations, results, and next steps for states.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State information

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2021. Oral health care for the pregnant pediatric dental patient. American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 10 pp. (Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry)

Annotation: These guidelines from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry are intended for use by dental care professionals while they care for pregnant adolescents. The report provides recommendations regarding preventive, diagnostic, and therapeutic oral health care for pregnant youth; proven results from clinical trials, systematic reviews, or meta-analysis yielding 56 articles. Recommendations were reached based upon expert and/or consensus opinion by experienced researchers and clinicians. [This document was developed through a collaborative effort of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Councils on Clinical Affairs and Scientific Affairs.]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

Keywords: Guidelines, Oral health, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal care

Clark M, ed. 2020-. Smiles for Life: A national oral health curriculum (4th ed.). Leawood, KS: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, multiple items.

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises eight courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; and oral health for older adults. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2020. BeTobaccoFree.gov. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This resource provides consolidated information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) for the public about tobacco. It includes information about tobacco, federal and state laws and policies, health statistics, and evidence-based methods for quitting. A social media dashboard provides updates from DHHS tobacco-related social media accounts.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Multimedia, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco

University of Michigan Health System, Adolescent Health Initiative. 2020. Starter guide: Building dental practice capacity to serve adolescent patients. Ann Arbor, MI: University of Michigan Health System, Adolescent Health Initiative, 6 pp.

Annotation: This guide focuses on building dental practices’ capacity to serve adolescents. It discusses barriers to accessing oral health care for adolescents and strategies for increasing their use of oral health care. Strategies include how to make care accessible to adolescents, creating a welcoming environment, using strengths-based approaches to care, encouraging adolescents to return for follow-up care, and collecting feedback from adolescents. Providing care to adolescents, including those who are pregnant, who have special health care needs, and who use tobacco or other substances, is also discussed.

Contact: University of Michigan Health System, Adolescent Health Initiative, 2025 Traverwood Drive, Suite A6, Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2197, Telephone: (734) 998-2034 Fax: (734) 998-2213 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://umhs-adolescenthealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescents with special health care needs, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant adolescents

Alaska Tobacco Prevention and Control Program. 2018. Alaska tobacco facts: The impact of tobacco on the lives of Alaska's people (upd. ed.). Juneau, AK: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, Section of Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, varies.

Annotation: This report describes trends in tobacco use and the toll of tobacco use on the health and well-being of Alaska citizens. Contents include key indicators from state data sources and trends measured from the baseline year of 1996. Topics include cigarette consumption; tobacco-related deaths and economic costs; smoking and smokeless tobacco use among adults; cigarette smoking, cigar use, and smokeless tobacco use among children and adolescents; tobacco use during pregnancy; and secondhand smoke. Information about the Alaska Tobacco Prevention and Control Program, trend tables, and data sources are also included.

Contact: Alaska Department of Health and Social Services, 350 Main Street, Room 404, P.O. Box 110601, Juneau, AK 99811-0601, Telephone: (907) 465-3030 Fax: (907) 465-3068 Web Site: http://dhss.alaska.gov/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Alaska, Children, Data, Environmental exposure, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, State programs, Tobacco use, Trends

O'Connor EA, Perdue LA, Senger CA, Rushkin M, Patnode CD, Bean SI, Jonas DE. 2018. Screening and behavioral counseling interventions to reduce unhealthy alcohol use in adolescents and adults: An updated systematic review for the U.S. Preventiive Services Task Force. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 401 (Evidence synthesis; no. 171; AHRQ publication; no. 18-05242-EF-1)

Annotation: This systematic review informed the United States Preventive Services Task Force of the benefits and harms of screening and nonpharmacologic interventions to reduce unhealthy alcohol use among adolescents and adults, including pregnant women. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMED, PsycINFO, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials through October 12, 2017. The review also looked at references of relevant publications and government web sites through August 1, 2018. The review concluded that screening instruments are available that can effectively identify persons with unhealthy alcohol use and that are feasible for use in primary care settings.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Alcohol, Alcohol use, Interventions, Literature reviews, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Screening

Washington State Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2016. Oral health promotion cards. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 26 items.

Annotation: This series of cards provides oral health messages for health professionals to share with clients and their families. Each card addresses a specific population (pregnant women, infants, children, adolescents, children with special health care needs, adults, and older adults) and is accompanied by a brochure listing messages and resources. The cards and brochures are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Educational materials, Health promotion, Infants, Life course, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program. 2016. Oregon oral health surveillance system 2002–2015. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Center for Prevention and Health Promotion, 7 pp.

Annotation: This document provides data on key indicators of oral health in Oregon for the period 2002 through 2015. Contents include a description of each indicator and the source and frequency of data available by year. Topics include preventive oral health services for pregnant women, toddlers, children, adolescents, and adults. Data on work force, Medicaid, cancer, cleft lip/palate, and water fluoridation are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Data sources, Dental care, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Special health care needs, State surveys, Statistical data, Toddlers, Work force

Casamassimo P, Holt K, eds. 2016. Bright Futures: Oral health—Pocket guide (3rd ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 90 pp.

Annotation: This guide offers health professionals an overview of preventive oral health supervision during five developmental periods: prenatal, infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence. It is designed to help health professionals implement specific oral health guidelines during these periods. For each period, information about family preparation, risk assessment, interview questions, screening, examination, preventive procedures, anticipatory guidance, measurable outcomes, and referrals is discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

View Guide Online Or Download Complete Guide In .pdf

Keywords: Adolescents, Assessment, Bright Futures, Children, Dental care, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infants, Injury prevention, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Referrals, Resources for professionals, Screening

Holicky A. 2016. Florida's burden of oral disease surveillance report (upd.). Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes information on the burden of oral disease in Florida, highlights oral health disparities associated with specific populations, and describes resources and programs for improving oral health. Topics include state and national objectives, the societal and economic impact of oral disease, risk and protective factors, work force capacity and diversity, and use of oral health care.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: zzz, Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Disease prevention, Florida, Health disparities, Health objectives, Health services delivery, Health status, Infants, Life course, Low income groups, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Prevalence, Program improvement, Protective factors, Risk factors, Special health care needs, State initiatives, State programs, Statistical data, Work force

Lee M, Iverson S. 2016. Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement Project: Monitoring the HUSKY Program's capacity for caring for pregnant women and infants. New Haven, CT: Connecticut Voices for Children, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to determine the impact of the Perinatal Infant and Oral Health Quality Improvement Project (PIOHQIP) on access to care for pregnant women and infants in Connecticut’s HUSKY Program. Contents include an overview of PIOHQIP and information about the study methods, including subjects, instruments, data, analytical approach, and limitations. Tables provide information on the project-implementation schedule; survey respondents; changes in health care use among pregnant women, new mothers, and infants; and changes in health professional practice. The survey instrument is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Connecticut, Health care delivery, Health care utilization, Infants, Medicaid, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant adolescents, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, State surveys

National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy. 2014, 2008. Ten tips for parents to help their children avoid teen pregnancy [rev. ed.]. Washington, DC: National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy, 28 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides parents, and other caregivers with information about how they can play a role in helping to reduce their adolescent child's risk for becoming pregnant. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Power to Decide: The Campaign to Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 478-8500 Fax: (202) 478-8588 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://powertodecide.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Parent education, Parent participation, Pregnant adolescents, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Horky SC, Lorenzo SB, Wagner MH. 2014. Sleep in babies, kids, teens, and pregnant women: Family resource brief (upd.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find sleep centers and specialists and websites about sleep and sleep problems in babies, kids, teens, and pregnant women. A separate section lists websites for teens. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Electronic publications, Families, Infants, Pregnant women, Sleep, Sleep disorders, Young children