Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 11 (11 total).

Hitti JE, Melvin AJ, Taylor P, Rhodes W, eds. 2016. Screening and management of maternal HIV infection: Implications for mother and infant (rev. ed.). Seattle, WA: University of Washington, Northwest Regional Perinatal Program and Department of Pediatrics; Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 40 pp.

Annotation: This handbook describes best practices to help with the continuing effort to prevent HIV infection in women and infants. Topics include HIV counseling and testing during pregnancy; perinatal transmission risk; diagnostic tests; Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's classification of disease; HIV reporting requirements; medications and treatment during pregnancy, labor, delivery and postpartum; newborn treatment; and consultation and referral information. Four appendices provide a resource directory, a listing of local health jurisdictions in Washington state, free regional and national telephone consultation resources, and Web sites. References conclude the handbook.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Consultation, Counseling, Diagnostic tests, HIV, HIV screening, Labor, Medicine, Newborns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referral, Resource materials, Women', s health

National Diabetes Education Program. 2014. Did you have gestational diabetes when you were pregnant? What you need to know [rev. ed.]. [Bethesda, MD]: National Diabetes Educational Program, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women', s health

Gonzales MT. 2011. Cost recovery and cost reduction strategies for providing reproductive health services in school-based health centers. [Denver, CO]: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 9 pp.

Annotation: This paper examines cost-recovery and cost-reduction strategies and provides recommendations to increase the availability of reproductive health services (sexuality education, behavioral risk assessment, counseling, pregnancy testing, contraception or referral for contraception, and the diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection) in Colorado school-based health centers.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Colorado, Contraception, Costs, Counseling, Diagnosis, Pregnancy tests, Referrals, Reproductive health, Risk factors, School health services, Sexuality education, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Treatment

Gonzalez M. 2011. Position statement: Providing reproductive health services in Colorado school-based health centers. [Denver, CO]: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 10 pp.

Annotation: This paper focuses on Colorado school-based health centers' (SBHCs') provision of preventive and primary reproductive health services, including human sexuality education, behavioral risk assessment, counseling, pregnancy testing, contraception or referral to contraception, and diagnosis and treatment of sexually transmitted infection. Topics include documenting the need for reproductive health services, defining preventive and primary reproductive health services offered in an SBHC, and SBHCs and the law.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Colorado, Contraception, Counseling, Diagnosis, Health services, Legislation, Pregnancy tests, Prevention, Referral, Reproductive health, Risk assessment, School health, Sexuality education, State programs, Treatment

Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health. [2010]. Strategic plan: 2011-2015. [Phoenix, AZ]: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan for 2011-2015 discusses overarching goals and priorities for the Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health. For each priority, strategies and performance measures are described.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Bureau of Women's and Children's Health, 150 N. 18th Ave., Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 364-1400 Fax: (602) 364- 1495 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/phs/owch/index.htm Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Arizona, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Female adolescents, Health services, Hearing disorders, Hearing screening, Hearing tests, Injury prevention, Obesity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, Transition to independent living, Women', s health

March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. 2010. HIV and AIDS in pregnancy. [White Plains, NY]: March of Dimes, (Preconception risk reduction)

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy. The fact sheet offers background information and answers questions about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy, included who should be tested, what types of treatment are available, symptoms of AIDS in infants, and steps women can take to remain uninfected. References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Treatment

Ranji U, Salganicoff A, Stewart AM, Cox M, Doamekpor L. 2009. State Medicaid coverage of perinatal services: Summary of state survey findings. Washington, DC: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 25 pp.

Annotation: This report highlights findings from the 2007/2008 State Survey of Reproductive Health Services Under Medicaid. The report examines state Medicaid program policies regarding coverage of pregnancy-related services. It details state-level Medicaid eligibility and enrollment policies for pregnant women, as well as scope of coverage for prenatal and screening services, delivery and postpartum care, educational classes, and support services.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Eligibility, Enrollment, Health services, Low income groups, Medicaid, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Programs, Reproductive health, Screening tests, Women', s health

Baldwin S. 2004. Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders: Florida resource guide [rev. ed.]. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health, Florida Department of Children and Families, and Florida State University Center for Prevention and Early Intervention Policy, 68 pp.

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help families and health professionals understand fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). Section 1 defines FAS and other alcohol-related effects and explains the latest terminology. Section 2 explains how and when alcohol consumption affects fetal development. Section 3 includes 10 facts about FAS pertaining to prevalence, causes, and common myths. Section 4 highlights two diagnostic tools used to identify individuals with FAS. Section 5 describes the effects of FASD and provides cognitive, behavioral, educational, and health care intervention strategies for those working with individuals with FASD and compares several screening instruments currently used to identify women at risk for prenatal alcohol consumption. The resource section provides a list of FASD resources.

Contact: SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence, 2101 Gaither Road, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (866) 786-7327 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fasdcenter.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Diagnosis, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Fetal development, Genetic screening, Neonatal screening, Pregnancy, Primary care, Risk factors, Screening tests

Knight GJ. 2004. Improved prenatal Down Syndrome screening: Paired testing [Final report]. Scarborough, ME: Foundation for Blood Research, Prenatal Screening Laboratory, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a project that sought to establish that the integrated serum test can be successfully implemented in a variety of primary care settings through a centrally administered program, with a resulting reduction in false positive results from diagnostic procedures undertaken to identify Down syndrome. The integrated serum test identifies women whose pregnancy is at sufficiently high risk for Down syndrome to justify a diagnostic procedure. The report, which includes an executive summary, also provides a review of the literature, a description of the study design and methods, a presentation of the findings, and a discussion. A list of products by the lead author is included, along with a list of works cited and a list of abbreviations and terms. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the paper. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Diagnosis, Down syndrome, Final reports, Genetic screening, MCH research, Neonatal screening, Pregnancy, Primary care, Risk factors, Screening tests

Morse B, Gehshan S, Hutchins E. 1997. Screening for substance abuse during pregnancy: Improving care, improving health. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 14 pp.

Annotation: This manual discusses the problem and prevalence of substance abuse during pregnancy, and describes how a practitioner can use screening tools for detection and to open a dialog with the patient. It gives suggestions on counseling or referral. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Pregnancy, Pregnancy counseling, Prenatal care, Prenatal screening, Referrals, Screening tests, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Broman SH, Nichols PL, Kennedy WA. 1975. Preschool IQ: Prenatal and early developmental correlates. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 326 pp.

Annotation: This volume reports a multidisciplinary, longitudinal study of the precursors of intelligence, as measured by Stanford-Binet IQ scores, of 4-year-old children. Considered are the degree to which events during pregnancy and delivery, physical and psychomotor development in infancy and childhood, and certain major family characteristics were related to IQ scores. The book challenges the assertion that IQ is largely heritable.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Family characteristics, Intelligence, Intelligence tests, Labor, Pregnancy, Preschool children