Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This article from Grantmakers In Health (GIH) describes a collaborative effort by funders to address gaps in postpartum care following the extension of Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months after birth. The piece discusses how a workgroup of funders—including Pritzker Children's Initiative, Merck for Mothers, and Community Health Acceleration Partnership—formed in 2023 to identify opportunities for improving postpartum care systems. The article includes a visual diagram that illustrates the multi-layered challenges in postpartum care on three levels: individual, community, and system. This concentric circle diagram shows how issues such as standards of care, access to quality care, care fragmentation, and policy misalignment (at the system level) interact with community-level challenges like administrative burden and workforce shortages, as well as individual-level factors including awareness of needs, social and economic barriers, and fear of medical debt. Through stakeholder interviews, the workgroup discovered significant fragmentation of services and the absence of comprehensive care standards beyond the traditional six-week postpartum period. In response, the funders issued a request for proposals aimed at creating a centralized hub to catalog and connect postpartum care initiatives, with the goal of developing comprehensive standards and addressing what they term the "postpartum cliff."

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org

• Link

Keywords: Access to healthcare, Barriers, Collaboration, Funding, Health care reform, Library collection development, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, Requests for proposals, Service delivery systems, Standards

Annotation: This report summarizes the second meeting of the U.S. Health and Human Services Department's Secretary's Postpartum Maternal Health Collaborative, held January 10, 2025. The document describes how six states (Iowa, New Mexico, Minnesota, Maryland, Massachusetts, and Michigan) implemented evidence-based practices over a 10-month period to reduce postpartum morbidity and mortality. Three states focused on mental health and substance use disorders while three addressed cardiovascular conditions. The report details specific state-level initiatives, including improved screening, care coordination, and follow-up processes, highlighting successful cross-sector collaborations between state health departments, Medicaid agencies, healthcare facilities, and community organizations. Key insights include the importance of standardizing care pathways while tailoring patient engagement strategies, leveraging quality improvement initiatives, and investing in data infrastructure. The document concludes with lessons learned about the benefits of cross-state collaboration and federal technical assistance in implementing facility-level changes that can improve maternal health outcomes.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org

• PDF

Keywords: Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Maternal health, Michigan , Minnesota, Models, New Mexico, Postpartum care, Quality improvement

Annotation: This report presents a roadmap of California's Birthing Care Pathway initiative launched by the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to address maternal health disparities and improve outcomes for pregnant and postpartum Medi-Cal members. It describes the current state of maternal health in California, highlighting concerning trends in pregnancy-related mortality and severe maternal morbidity with significant racial disparities affecting Black, American Indian/Alaska Native, and Pacific Islander individuals. The document outlines DHCS' strategic approach to improve maternal health through policy solutions developed with input from diverse stakeholders, including Medi-Cal members. Key components include strengthening provider access, enhancing clinical care coordination, providing whole-person care, and modernizing maternity care payment systems. The report details recent Medi-Cal policy enhancements for perinatal care and describes California's participation in the federal Transforming Maternal Health Model to further strengthen delivery systems in selected Central Valley counties.

Contact: California Department of Health Care Services, P.O. Box 997413, MS 4400, Sacramento,, CA 95899-7413 , Fax: E-mail: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/Pages/contact_us.aspx Web Site: https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: California, Health care disparities, Maternal health, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Model programs, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, State initiatives, Trends

Annotation: This website describes nurtur, a digital health platform that uses artificial intelligence to predict and prevent postpartum depression in mothers. The platform works with Ob/Gyns to identify at-risk patients early in pregnancy and provides personalized self-guided therapy and ongoing support throughout the pregnancy journey. Using a three-phase approach across trimesters—discovery, prevention, and engagement—nurtur offers tools that have been proven to prevent over 50% of postpartum depression cases. The platform features a collaborative care model that integrates primary care providers, behavioral care managers, and psychiatric consultants, while being reimbursable through health insurance. In beta testing as of April 2025.

Contact: Nurtur Care, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://nurturcare.com

• Link

Keywords: Artificial intelligence, Mobile Apps, Obstetrics, Patient education, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Prevention, Resources for professionals, Screening, Service integration, Telemedicine

Annotation: These perinatal clinical care guidelines for the general population include guidelines for the first prenatal visit (6–12 weeks) and each subsequent prenatal visit (13–42 weeks). Topics include initial and interval history; psychosocial assessment; physical examinations; immunizations; laboratory evaluation and additional testing; oral health; genetic counseling, screening, and testing; general counseling, education, and discussion; and the postpartum visit.

Contact: Massachusetts Health Quality Partners, 1380 Soldiers Field Road, Floor 3, Brighton, MA 02135, Telephone: (617) 600-4621 Fax: (617) 393-3433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mhqp.org Available from the website.

• 2024 Guidelines
• License Required To Access This Material

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services

Annotation: This article from Health Affairs Forefront examines lessons learned from California's experience with perinatal community health workers (CHWs) and provides recommendations for policy makers designing similar programs. It discusses how perinatal CHWs can help address disparities in maternal health outcomes by providing culturally appropriate support throughout pregnancy and postpartum periods. The authors, drawing from 15 years of experience in California's Medicaid system, outline key considerations including adequate reimbursement rates, payment flexibility for services provided in both clinical and community settings, program coordination to prevent inefficiencies, standardized data collection methods, and support systems to prevent CHW burnout. The document includes specific examples from programs at San Francisco General Hospital and Los Angeles County, and discusses implications for state Medicaid programs participating in CMS's new Transforming Maternal Health Model.

Contact: Health Affairs, 1220 19th Street, NW, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected]

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, California, Community health workers, Maternal health, Models, Payment, Perinatal care, Policy development, Postpartum care, Reimbursement, State programs

Annotation: This report outlines state Medicaid policy recommendations to support mental health for mothers and babies during the 12-month postpartum period. It draws from an October 2023 meeting of Medicaid policy and maternal health experts to recommend concrete steps for state agencies in five key areas: enhancing primary care as a family hub, monitoring care connections, financing appropriate services, supporting workforce capacity, and prioritizing maternal and infant-early childhood mental health in Medicaid. The document examines recent federal policy changes and includes detailed implementation guidance for states adopting extended postpartum coverage. It aims to help states leverage Medicaid to advance health equity and improve mental health outcomes for mothers and infants in the critical year following birth.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Federal policy, Health equity, Infant health, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Postpartum care, State policy

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This website describes the Transforming Maternal Health (TMaH) Model, a new CMS (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) initiative designed to improve maternal health care for women enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP. The CMS site explains how the new model supports participating state Medicaid agencies in developing a whole-person approach to pregnancy, childbirth, and postpartum care that addresses physical, mental health, and social needs.It details the model's three main pillars: Access to care and workforce capacity, quality improvement and safety, and whole-person care delivery. The site includes a link to the 2024 CMS funding opportunity notice (NOFO) and identifies the 15 states selected to participate in the 10-year program that launched January 2025. It explains how the model aims to improve maternal outcomes while reducing health disparities and program expenditures and provides information about technical assistance for participating states to implement evidence-based protocols, develop health equity plans, and create alternative payment models for maternity care services. Links to related fact sheets, recorded webinars, and CMS service-delivery partners are also included.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Childbirth, Federal initiatives, Grants, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes key findings from the U.S. Health and Human Services Department's Postpartum Maternal Health Collaborative Expert Evidence Convening held in April 2024. The document synthesizes insights from four expert panels focused on reducing postpartum mortality, covering mental health and substance use disorder, community and social drivers of health, clinical care, and state-level policy opportunities. The report identifies seven key themes for state policy action, including enabling better care transitions with technology and patient-specific planning, providing resources before screening for social needs, ensuring cross-sector collaboration, incorporating community engagement, supporting quality improvement initiatives, implementing patient-centered care approaches, and investing in data infrastructure. Panel discussions revealed strategies such as implementing non-punitive child welfare policies, reimbursing integrated healthcare and telehealth services, extending postpartum coverage, bundling care incentives, and addressing systems barriers including access limitations, provider competency gaps, and cultural barriers that impact maternal health outcomes.RetryClaude can make mistakes. Please double-check responses.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Conference proceedings, Indiana, Maternal health, Mental health, Models, Pennsylvania, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, State initiatives

Annotation: This report presents recommendations for ensuring high-quality postpartum care during the full 12-month period covered by Illinois' Postpartum Medicaid Extension. It outlines the content of care delineated in the Illinois Medicaid contract for Managed Care Organizations, focusing on requirements for the extended postpartum period. The authors propose a comprehensive Postpartum Performance Measurement Dataset that would require MCOs to report on specific measures for the postpartum population, providing a clearer picture of care delivery through 12 months postpartum. They also recommend expanding the Women's Health section of the HealthChoice Illinois report cards and creating a separate Maternal Health section to help pregnant and postpartum people choose the best health plans. The report emphasizes the importance of monitoring MCOs and provider performance to ensure accountability for delivering high-quality care to postpartum persons, particularly given Illinois' maternal health crisis with rising rates of maternal morbidity and mortality inequities.

• PDF

Keywords: Illinois, Measures, Medicaid, Models, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Quality Assurance, State Initiatives

Annotation: This issue brief discusses the extension of postpartum Medicaid coverage from 60 days to 12 months following birth, which states have been able to implement since April 2022. It examines how this extension supports improved access to perinatal and postpartum care but requires complementary state actions to be fully effective. The brief highlights key challenges in postpartum care, including care fragmentation, workforce shortages, and barriers to implementation at system, community, and individual levels. It outlines four solution areas: developing comprehensive standards of care, expanding dyadic care models, increasing workforce support, and providing education and technical assistance. The document concludes with specific recommendations for funders to support implementation efforts at local, state, and national levels to improve maternal health outcomes and advance health equity.

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Model programs, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals, patient education materials

Annotation: This issue brief examines the implementation of Medicaid/CHIP postpartum coverage extensions from 60 days to 12 months after pregnancy in five states. Based on interviews with 37 maternal health stakeholders, the authors identify key challenges and opportunities to maximize the impact of these extensions on maternal health outcomes. The report finds that while eligibility systems are functioning, limited communication about extended coverage and barriers to accessing care may reduce effectiveness. The authors recommend specific actions to improve implementation, including expanding education about extended coverage, improving quality of postpartum care, supporting continuity of care with a focus on equity, strengthening managed care organization accountability, and monitoring implementation progress. This policy analysis emphasizes that while extending coverage is necessary for improving maternal health outcomes, additional delivery system reforms are needed to address persistent racial and ethnic disparities and ensure coverage translates into access to quality care throughout the postpartum year.

Contact: Urban Institute, 500 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Washington, DC 20024, E-mail: https://www.urban.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Children', Health care delivery, Health care reform, Health equity, Maternal health, Medicaid, New Jersey, New Mexico, Ohio, Policy development, Postpartum care, Quality Assurance, Quality improvement, South Carolina, State initiatives, and Virginia, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report describes the Family Connects Chicago program, a free in-home nurse visiting service available to all Chicago families with newborns born at participating hospitals. It explains how the program offers physical checkups for birthing parents and infants, connects families with community resources, and addresses health disparities, particularly the higher rates of maternal and infant mortality among Black families in Chicago. The report highlights FCC's 2023 results, including 2,649 nurse visits across 77 Chicago community areas, with 96% of participating families finding the program helpful. It features a map showing completed home visits by region and discusses the six Community Alignment Boards that help FCC understand and meet neighborhood-specific needs. The report includes photographs of diverse families with newborns and contains information about participating hospitals, program impacts, and ways to get involved or learn more about the program.

Contact: Family Connects Chicago , Chicago Department of Public Health , Chicago, IL E-mail: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/contact.html Web Site: https://www.chicago.gov/city/en/sites/onechifam/home/family-wellness/family-connects.html

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Family support services, Home visiting, Illinois, Maternal health, Model programs, Newborn infants, Nurses, Postpartum care

Annotation: This website provides resources and information for new mothers and healthcare providers about the postpartum period, referred to as the "4th Trimester." It features evidence-based materials designed by and for mothers to support women during this transition to motherhood. The site includes sections on physical recovery, emotional health, breastfeeding, pelvic health, building support networks, and baby care. Visitors can access downloadable tools including postpartum planning guides, health information sheets, and recovery checklists in both English and Spanish. The 4th Trimester Project aims to change how America treats new mothers by emphasizing respectful, patient-centered care and addressing the social, emotional, physical, and economic support women need during the postpartum period, with particular attention to the needs of those with limited resources.

• Link

Keywords: Maternal health, Patient education materials, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to support Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance (CHIP) programs in efforts to improve the delivery of postpartum care. Included are strategies to help increase access to postpartum care, improve the quality of care, address disparities, and implement quality improvement measures. The toolkit includes federal requirements, guidance, and state opportunities to promote postpartum screening, referral, and treatment.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov

• PDF

Keywords: , Federal initiatives, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, State programs

Annotation: This systematic review addresses healthcare for postpartum individuals within 1 year after pregnancy. It addresses the comparative benefits and harms of (1) alternative strategies for postpartum healthcare delivery, and (2) extension of postpartum health insurance coverage or improvements in access to care. The target audience includes policymakers, Ob/Gyn's, Midwives, maternal-fetal medicine specialists, family medicine clinicians, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, clinical guidelines, and other providers of care or support for postpartum individuals.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Document Number: 23-EHC010.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Evidence based medicine , Health insurance, Healthcare delivery, Postpartum care, Prevention services

Annotation: This report describes state trends in the use of Medicaid funds to improve maternal health, including Medicaid extensions that cover the 12-month postpartum period; the expansion of provider types to include doula care; and coverage of postpartum mental health screening and treatment. Guidance on how states can leverage Medicaid managed care contracts to Improve maternal health outcomes is included, along with a chart comparing the percentage of women who attend timely prenatal and postpartum visits in both expansion and non-expansion states.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

• Link

Keywords: Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Policy , Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Quality improvement, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: This web page describes the pathways that states can take to obtain reimbursement for funding immediate postpartum long-acting reversible contraception (IPP LARC) outside of the global obstetric payment. Included is a map The map and accompanying chart for each state indicating their policies regarding Medicaid reimbursement for IPP LARC.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W. DC 20024-2188 (street address), P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20024-9998, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org

• Link

Keywords: Contraception, Contraceptive devices, Financing, Medicaid, Policy, Postpartum care, State aid, State legislation