Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This is a consolidated guideline of new and existing recommendations on routine postnatal care for women and newborns receiving facility- or community-based postnatal care in any resource setting. It provides a comprehensive set of recommendations for care during the postnatal period, focusing on the essential package that all women and newborns should receive. This guideline updates and expands upon the 2014 WHO recommendations on postnatal care of the mother and newborn, and complements existing WHO guidelines on the management of postnatal complications. The recommendations are intended to inform the development of relevant national and subnational health policies, clinical protocols and programmatic guides.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Newborns, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, World health

Annotation: This book provides a monthly overview of the pregnancy period from the first signs of pregnancy to postpartum care. Part one describes general principles about pregnancy and nutrition during pregnancy. Part two provides a detailed description of the pregnancy processes month by month. Part three discusses special cases and complications, such as gestational diabetes and hypertension, that may occur during pregnancy. Part four covers postpartum care, first weeks at home, lactation, and infant health. Spanish version also available.

Contact: Workman Publishing, 225 Varick Street, New York, NY 10014, Telephone: (212) 254-5900 Fax: (212) 254-8098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.workman.com/ Available in libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Infant health, Lactation, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This document provides guidance for hospitals and parents on the importance of implementing a hepatitis B birth dose policy. Contents include case reports on reducing medical errors and materials to help hospitals address the problem, including a fact sheet and guidance and sample text for developing admission orders. The document also contains information statements, a handout, and childhood immunization record cards for parents. Contact information and additional resources are included. A related handout and 45-minute webinar are available from the Give Birth to the End of Hep B campaign website.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, , 1573 Selby Avenue, St. Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Campaign Website

Keywords: Case reports, Disease prevention, Health policy, Hepatitis B, Hospitals, Medical errors, Newborn infants, Parents, Postnatal care, Public awareness campaigns, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This report summarizes a March 2013 workshop to discuss issues related to encouraging behavior change that would reflect updated guidelines on weight gain during pregnancy, such as charting weight gain during pregnancy, improving choices concerning nutrition and physical activity, and receiving adequate pre- or post-conception advice about weight and pregnancy weight gain. Contents include communicating the pregnancy weight gain guidelines, discussing efforts to support behavior change, implementing the guidelines, reviewing the First Thousand Days Program, and collaborating for action, as well as final thoughts. Appendices include the workshop agenda, list of participants, speaker biographies, and the workshop statement of task.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-28966-5.

• Link

Keywords: Gestational weight gain, Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight management, Postnatal care, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This webinar describes the Text4baby program, the text messaging service for pregnant and new parents begun in 2010, primarily aimed to low-income, underserved populations. The service is subscribed to with the due-date or birth-date, and evidence-based developmental and time-appropriate advice is sent at varying intervals until the infant is age one. The service is available in English or Spanish. Messages include topics such as prenatal care tips, health and safety advisory information, father involvement, flu vaccination, oral health for mother and baby, Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program information, appointment reminder services, breastfeeding, safe sleep for infants, and more. Tje webinar provides dditional information on studies on user satisfaction, audiences reached, and changes in knowledge and behavior of pregnant women and new parents.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the web site.

Keywords: Communication, Immunization, Infant care, Low income groups, MCH programs, National programs, Parents, Postnatal care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Well child care

Annotation: These guidelines provide health professionals with information for discussion with HIV-infected pregnant women to enable the patient-health professional team to make informed decisions about the use of antiretroviral drugs during pregnancy and the use of elective Cesarean delivery to reduce perinatal HIV transmission. The recommendations in the guidelines are accompanied by discussion of various circumstances that commonly occur in clinical practice and the factors influencing treatment considerations. Topics include (1) lessons learns from clinical trials of antiretroviral interventions to reduce perinatal transmission of HIV, (2) preconception counseling and care for HIV-infected women of childbearing age, (3) antepartum care, (4) intrapartum care, (5) postpartum care, and (6) neonatal postnatal care.

Contact: AIDSinfo, P.O. Box 6303, Rockville, MD 20849-6303, Telephone: (800) 448-0440 Secondary Telephone: (888) 480-3739 Fax: (301) 315-2818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://aidsinfo.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cesarean section, Counseling, Disease transmission, Guidelines, HIV infected patients, Pediatric HIV, Physician patient relations, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This archived webinar, broadcast July 13, 2011, discusses issues surrounding postpartum and perinatal depression (PPD) and the impact on the health and well-being of mothers and their infant's neurobiological development. Topics include how underreported or underdiagnosed PPD is; varying levels of severity including healthy rebound, "baby blues", diagnosed perinatal depression, postpartum bi-polar disorder, and the rare postpartum psychosis. Topics also include maternal stresses due to lacks of sleep/exhaustion, depression stigma, previous psychological or medical histories, post-traumatic stress from unexpected C-section or adverse pregnancy or birth outcomes, partner or violence abuse, and financial stresses. Social risk factors for depression such as multiple births or feeling of isolation are also discussed. Resources are discussed including model state programs, online resources, proposed legislation, and the importance of establishing local postpartum depression networks and support services.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

• Audio
• Slides (.pdf)

Keywords: Bonding, Early childhood development, Hotlines, Infant health, Maternal mental health, Mother child relations, Parent support services, Parenting, Perinatal care, Postnatal care, Postpartum depression, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This tool provides current perinatal standards and guidelines, which are presented in the context of a model that allows users to compare standard-setting organizations that guide and direct perinatal care. The tool covers prenatal, intrapartum, postpartum, and neonatal care. For each category, basic, specialty, and subspecialty care are addressed. The history of the tool is also included.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Health services, Infant care, Infant health, Perinatal care, Postnatal care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This electronic resource describes the Transforming Maternity Care project and provides a set of documents produced by the project, including a vision for maternity care, a blueprint for action, stakeholder workgroup reports, and a blueprint implementation document. The vision document describes the process of formulating the initiative's vision statement. The blueprint document discusses the process for coming up with the blueprint and its 11 focal areas. The workgroup document discusses the role of stakeholder workgroups in the initiative, developing the reports, and report topics. The blueprint implementation document presents opportunities to implement the initiative's vision.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to prenatal care. , Childbirth, Initiatives, Maternal health services, Mothers, Postnatal care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Perinatal care, Programs, Quality assurance, Women

Annotation: This book describes standards for registered nurses who provide preconception, antepartum, intrapartum, postpartum, ad new born care and to women's health registered nurses who provide care across the woman's lifespan or targeted to specific ages and stages of development. The Standards of Practice for women and newborns describe a competent level of nursing care and consists of the six components of the nursing process: assessment, diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, and valuation. Each component is presented with a goal statement and a list of measurement criteria. Standards of Professional Performance include nine components: quality of practice, education, professional practice evaluation, ethics, collegiality, collaboration and communication, research, research and technology, and leadership.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org/awhonn/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Newborn infants, Nursing, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Registered nurses, Resources for professionals, Standards, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women', s health

Annotation: This book offers information on the development, operation, and evaluation of family support programs and discusses the steps of the case-management process carried out by the home visitor. Chapters one and two address issues of theory, research, and organizational context. Chapters three through nine provide a hands-on guide for home visitors in case management involving home-visiting services and issues surrounding work in teams. Chapter ten introduces ways in which home-visiting and office-based activities can be integrated and setting up documentation systems and managing quality and data collection. References and an index are provided.

Contact: University of South Carolina Press, 718 Devine Street, Columbia, SC Telephone: (800) 768-2500 Fax: (800) 868-0740 Web Site: http://www.sc.edu/uscpress $21.95, plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Case assessment, Case management, Family support services, Home care services, Home visiting, Postnatal care, Prenatal care

Annotation: This handout, which is geared toward new mothers, provides information that can help readers prepare for the 6-week postpartum visit. The handout provides information about diet, nutrition, and exercise and about physical, emotional, and sexual needs. For each category, goals are presented, along with a list of specific topics and space for the reader's notes. The document is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Emotions, Goals, Nutrition, Pamphlets, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This report addresses three questions: (1) What is the incidence and prevalence of depression (major or minor) during pregnancy and during the postpartum period? Is it increased during pregnancy and the postpartum period compared to nonchildbearing periods? (2) What is the accuracy of different screening tools for detecting depression during pregnancy and the postpartum period? And (3) Does prenatal or early postnatal screening for depressive symptoms with subsequent intervention lead to improved outcomes? The report provides the results of a systematic search and review of the published literature for evidence addressing these questions. A discussion of the general approach and methods is followed by a discussion of question-specific methods and findings, conclusions, a comment on the state of the evidence, and an agenda for future research. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report, which also includes a glossary and references. Five appendices present search strings for electronic database searches, copies of quality-rating forms, evidence tables, a list of excluded articles, and acknowledgments. This report has been archived by the National Library of Medicine and is useful for historical reference.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Summary

Keywords: Depression, Evidence based medicine, Intervention, Literature reviews, Postnatal care, Postpartum depression, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Research, Screening, Women', s health

Annotation: This curriculum provides a guide to the Baby Basics program, a collaboration between prenatal care/prenatal education programs and adult literacy education providers that is designed to provide prenatal health literacy classes for low income populations. The program aims to foster healthier pregnancies and safer deliveries, effective communication and partnership between providers and their patients, and literate parents who can read to their children. The curriculum discusses the importance of literacy, the content of the Baby Basics book and other program materials, using the program to fulfill Medicaid prenatal care requirements, health literacy strategies during checkups, readings and activities for other professionals (outreach workers, WIC counselors, literacy providers, etc.). The curriculum concludes with sources for more information.

Contact: What to Expect Foundation, 211 West 80th Street, Lower level, New York, NY 10024, Telephone: (212) 712-9764 Fax: (212) 712-9741 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.whattoexpect.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Childbirth, Curricula, Guidelines, Health literacy, Literacy education, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care

Annotation: This annual report contains information on the performance of managed care plans providing care to New York State residents and is made available to managed care plans, providers, purchasers, and consumers as part of the state's overall strategy to improve health care quality. Chapter topics include access to select health care services; effectiveness of care; prenatal and postnatal care; child and adolescent health; adult preventive and chronic care; and use of services. Additional sections include an overview; plan profiles; provider network compensation methods, physician board certification, and provider turnover; and a member satisfaction survey. The appendix provides information on sources of data for the report, data collection techniques, the audit, measurement interpretation, regional averages, and specific prenatal care measures.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Office of Managed Care, Bureau of Quality Management and Outcomes, Empire State Plaza, Corning Tower Building, Room 1864, Albany, NY 12237, Telephone: (518) 486-6074 Fax: (518) 474-5138 Web Site: http://www.health.state.ny.us Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• 2009 Edition
• Other Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Compensation, Managed care, New York, Postnatal care, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Provider participation, Quality assurance, State programs, Surveys

Annotation: This book is about reproductive and health care services available to women through Medicaid managed care. Topics include a brief overview of Medicaid and Medicaid managed care; enrollment issues for women of childbearing age, including recent legislation impacting low income groups; gynecologic and obstetric care; family planning services and access issues; provider issues; adolescent reproductive health services; obstetric case management; and high-risk pregnancy. Reference and a glossary are provided. Four appendices provide information on select provisions of the Balanced Budget Act pertaining to enrollment; a proposal for universal access to maternity care called U.S. MaternaCare; an educational bulletin from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) focusing on psychosocial risk factors: perinatal screening and intervention; and sample patient history intake and medical forms. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Access to health care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Gynecology, Internet, Maternal health, Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, Obstetrical care, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Resources, Women', s health

Annotation: This book for consumers is a monthly overview of pregnancy. Each chapter discusses the monthly development of the baby, what body changes to expect, tips on nutrition and care, and monthly doctor or midwife visits. Topics also include physical activity, breathing techniques, and personal stories of pregnancy. One chapter covers special topics, such as pregnancy in prison, adoption, and miscarriage. The final chapter gives resources and references for assistance with obtaining services; Medicaid/health insurance; quitting smoking, drugs, and alcohol; emergency help with food, clothing, housing, violence and abuse; adoption; and other support/help groups. The book contains a glossary and index, along with numerous note sections and checklists. A Spanish language version, Hola Bebe, is also available, and also a Mandarin version. The second version, published approximately 2004, contains additional pages and was issued as part of a prenatal care and literacy program. It is accompanied by a planner in which the mother can keep track of appointments and other information. The planner is available in Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Korean, Punjabi, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Urdu.

Contact: What to Expect Foundation, 211 West 80th Street, Lower level, New York, NY 10024, Telephone: (212) 712-9764 Fax: (212) 712-9741 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.whattoexpect.org $8.00, includes shipping and handling. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN084.

Keywords: Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Guidelines, Nutrition, Postnatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report on a MCH conference starts with four plenary speeches, then gives two-page profiles of 72 city MCH innovative, successful projects. The diversity of the projects described is indicated by the four projects that won awards. The Modesto, California Health Department got African-Americans, Hispanics, and three groups of Asian origin to cooperate in health and safety education and recreation for their community's children. In St. Petersburg, Florida, the Health Department organized sex education, life-style education, and job skills training for nonpregnant teenage girls. In Rochester, New York the MCH Department developed a contract with a local Medicaid managed care service to provide various social and prenatal services to high-risk pregnant women. In Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, the Health Department organized health education, breast and cervical cancer screening, and increased access to health care for low income women. The report includes names and addresses of all the conference speakers and invited participants. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child safety, Child welfare, Cultural factors, Infant mortality, Interagency cooperation, Leadership, Local MCH programs, MCH programs, Medicaid, Postnatal care, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public health programs, School readiness