Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper discusses the use of E Codes to classify the external cause of injuries, and explains how using these codes contributes to developing better injury prevention programs. The paper includes a classified listing of E Codes grouped according to common causes of injury, as well as instructions on the use of the codes. This paper is based on the ninth revised edition of "International Classification of Diseases." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice, San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: External cause of injury codes, Injuries, Injury prevention, Intentional injuries, Population surveillance, Unintentional injuries

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of surveillance data on prevalence of tooth decay in primary and permanent teeth, tooth retention, and edentulism. An editorial comment is included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Public health, Statistics

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Report
• Search For Other Editions

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This brief highlights Goal 3 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to advance data collection, standardization, harmonization, transparency, research, and analysis. The brief outlines the need to mprove data collection by enhancing MMRC (Maternal Mortality and Review Committee) data to inform maternal health interventions; bolster research and build the next generation of maternal health researchers; and better understand conditions that impact pregnancy. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics indicate which states are funded to enhance maternal mortality review and surveillance; the percentage of epidemiologists employed at the state and jurisdiction levels by program area; and the states that participate in the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS).

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Data collection, Initiatives, Maternal health, Monitoring, Population surveillance, Risk assessment, Statistics

Annotation: This report provides information about the Arkansas Office of Oral Health Surveillance System (AOHSS), which drives the objectives and activities within the Arkansas Office of Oral Health and is used to measure the prevalence of selected indicators that determine the state of oral health in Arkansas. The report presents 2021–2026 AOHSS objectives and an AOHSS logic model. It discusses oral health indicators and data sources, data dissemination and use, resources and sustainability, and privacy and data confidentiality.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, Statewide planning, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes oral health trends and disparities in Missouri. It includes key findings, national comparisons, and trends. Other topics include demographics, community water fluoridation, oral health status of school-age children and adults, preventive health care for school age children and adults, tobacco use and cancer risk, older adults, perinatal oral health,hospitalizations and emergency department visits, and access to care. Regional and local data are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health disparities, Health status, Missouri, Oral health, Population surveillance, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This resource guide provides information on sources of oral health data that are available at the state level and that can be used for a state-based oral-health-surveillance system. Contents include indicators by topic area and population group and information on the primary data source.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data sources, Oral health, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report provides a summary of key survey findings on the oral health of children in Vermont as well as information on the following topics: (1) the Tooth Tutor School-Linked Dental Seal- ant Program, (2) key strategies to improve oral health, and (3) survey methods. Data tables and figures are included.

Contact: Vermont Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 108 Cherry Street, Burlington, VT 05402, Telephone: (802) 863-7497 Secondary Telephone: (800) 464-4343 Fax: (802) 865-7554 Web Site: http://healthvermont.gov/family/dental/services.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data, Vermont

Annotation: This paper analyzes data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System on the impact of the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) 2014 provisions on a variety of outcomes related to health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. The paper provides estimates of the overall effect of the ACA on these outcomes and examines differential impacts resulting from state heterogeneity with respect to the choice to expand Medicaid via the ACA.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health, Adults, Health behavior, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report describes the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) and how PRAMS data can be used for evaluating the Perinatal and Infant Oral Health Quality Improvement project in Connecticut. Topics include births and maternal oral health and health care in Connecticut. Other topics include PRAMS questions on maternal oral health, oral health care for mothers by health insurance status, and implications and alternatives for project evaluation. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Voices for Children, 33 Whitney Avenue, New Haven, CT 06510, Telephone: (203) 498-4240 Fax: (203) 498-4242 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ctvoices.org

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Population surveillance, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Program evaluation, Risk assessment, State programs, State surveys

Annotation: This website provides information and resources for health care professionals, pregnant women, and others about zika virus disease. Contents include data; information for specific population groups; communication resources such as videos, fact sheets, posters, and infographics; and scientific resources including links to information collections by publisher, emergency bulletins, links to U.S. and international governmental resources, and a biomedical literature search tool. Topics include symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment; prevention; transmission and risks; areas with zika; and vector surveillance and control.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain diseases, Communicable disease control, Congenital abnormalities, Consumer education materials, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Public awareness materials, Research, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Risk factors, Therapeutics, Virus diseases

Annotation: This document provides data on key indicators of oral health in Oregon for the period 2002 through 2015. Contents include a description of each indicator and the source and frequency of data available by year. Topics include preventive oral health services for pregnant women, toddlers, children, adolescents, and adults. Data on work force, Medicaid, cancer, cleft lip/palate, and water fluoridation are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Data sources, Dental care, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Population surveillance, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Special health care needs, State surveys, Statistical data, Toddlers, Work force

Annotation: This document describes the Healthy People 2020 methodology for measuring progress toward target attainment and the elimination of health disparities, with a particular focus on methodological considerations for the interpretation of findings. The Healthy People 2020 measurement practices are contrasted with those in place for the Healthy People 2010.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Health disparities, Healthy People 2020, Measures, Population surveillance, Research methodology, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes literature and data describing the oral health of Kentucky's population, including the oral health status of different population groups, oral health service delivery in safety net settings, and the supply and distribution of the oral health work force in the state. Other topics include the geographic and demographic characteristics of Kentucky’s population, the history of oral health in Kentucky, the impact of dental insurance on access to and use of oral health services in the state, and oral health professional shortage areas and safety net providers.

Contact: Center for Health Workforce Studies, University of Albany, State University of New York, School of Public Health, One University Place, Suite 220, Rensselaer, NY 12144-3445, Telephone: (518) 402-0250 Fax: (518) 402-0252 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.chwsny.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental insurance, Geographic factors, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Health status, Kentucky, Oral health, Population surveillance, Work force

Annotation: This report presents survey results on the prevalence and severity of tooth decay in students in kindergarten in public schools in Arizona. Contents include information about tooth decay and the impact of poor oral health on children, families, and society, with an emphasis on the relationship between oral health and academic achievement. Survey results are presented by domain, including prevalence of decay experience, untreated decay, pain and infection, annual dental visits, and insurance coverage. Comparisons to previous statewide surveys, benchmarks and national data, and regional and county highlights are provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Arizona Early Childhood Development and Health Board, First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Web Site: http://azftf.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arizona, Benchmarking, Dental caries, Health insurance, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prevalence, Preventive health services, Risk factors, School readiness, State surveys, Statewide planning, Young children

Annotation: This report presents oral health screening results for students in third grade in public elementary schools in Florida. Contents include the screening survey methodology, demographic characteristics of participating students, and key findings on to Healthy People 2020 goals, limitations, and recommendations is also included. Additional contents include consent and screening forms; a parent letter and questionnaire; and information about other indicators including toothache, last dental visit, reason for last dental visit, need for care, reason for not seeking care, health insurance, and dental insurance.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Elementary schools, Florida, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys

Annotation: This document is designed to help states write, revise, or update an oral-health-surveillance (OHS) plan. Contents include a link to a customizable template that includes background information on the importance of public health and OHS, a core set of indicators to include in a state OHS system, and a logic model. Instructions for using the template and additional resources are also provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Models, Oral health, Population surveillance, Resources for professionals, State programs, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report describes a project to enlist the advice of advocacy and health professional groups on ways data can help improve the nation's oral health. The report also summarizes recommendations for collecting oral health data on the U.S. population. Contents include background; information about the project process, including participant feedback on the methods and outcomes; and next steps for improving health-measurement systems. A matrix of key oral health measures across the lifespan and a list of participating organizations are also included.

• PDF

Keywords: Barriers, Data collection, Health status, Measures, Needs assessment, Oral health, Policy development, Population surveillance, Process evaluation, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Surveys, Systems development

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health metrics for Indiana residents categorized by age. Topics include the oral health status of infants, children, adolescents, and adults and the proportion of each cohort that has visited the dentist or has received a preventive intervention. Data on access to fluoridated community water systems and on deaths from oral and pharyngeal cancers for all ages are also included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Home, 2 N. Meridian Street, Section 7-G, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-0746 Fax: (317) 233-7001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh/18695.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Health status, Indiana, Infants, Intervention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This report summarizes results from a statewide survey of young children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start centers in Florida. Topics include dental caries experience, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants. The appendices contain the consent and questionnaire forms for parents, a screening form, a screening results letter to parents, and information about other indicators from the parent questionnaire including toothache, last dental visit, follow-up care, reason for last dental visit, and dental insurance. [Survey funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Dental sealants, Early Head Start, Florida, Head Start, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Young children