Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper presents an analytical method using rudimentary Boole-Schroder algebra for solving decision making problems in the establishment of policies and implementation of procedures. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Policy analysis, Policy development

Annotation: This report tracks progress on key tobacco control policies at the state and federal levels, and assigns grades based on tobacco control laws and regulations in effect as of January 1, 2023. The federal government, all 50 state governments, and the District of Columbia have been given grade to reflect the extent to which tobacco control laws are adequately protecting citizens. The report summarizes the results of its findings and describes major trends regarding tobacco control policy efforts at the state and federal levels. Details about the methodology and the criteria used to assess the effectiveness of tobacco control policies are included.

Contact: American Lung Association, 1300 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 785-3355 Secondary Telephone: (800) 548-8252 Fax: (202) 452-1805 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Data, Federal programs, Health status, Policy, Smoking, Smoking cessation, State programs, Tobacco, Trends

Annotation: These proceedings are from a workshop convened by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine's roundtable on Population Health Improvement. The workshop explored the link between measures of civic engagement and quantitative and qualitative measure of health equity and the roles that civic infrastructure, narrative, and media play in shaping civic engagement. The document provides additional readings and resources.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Health care disparities, Health equity, Health policy, Health status disparities, Policy analysis, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Annotation: This Medicaid policy cheat sheet explores what states are doing to improve maternal health outcomes and what additional opportunities exist. Some strategies suggested include: extending postpartum coverage; enhancing benefits to cover evidence-based models, such as home visiting programs; developing value-based payment models that reward health outcomes and close racial and ethnic disparity gaps; and enhancing data collection on maternal mortality and morbidity. The document also provides examples of notable policies that have been implemented by states, such as payment reforms, models of care delivery, managed care organization data reporting requirements, midwifery-led care, doula services, postpartum coverage expansion, use of telemedicine, and provider bias training.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Federal health insurance programs, Maternal health, Medicaid, Policy analysis, Public policy, State health insurance programs

Annotation: This report focuses on highlighting evidence-based policies that can be implemented to address the root causes of disease. The report identifies and reviews five policy areas: access to healthcare, economic mobility, affordable housing, safe and healthy learning environments for children, and health-promoting excise taxes. Based on an extensive review of the evidence, the report recommends federal and state-level policies to improve health outcomes, advance health equity, and reduce healthcare spending. The report concludes that America's chronic disease and health disparities crisis require policy interventions targeting structural racism and the social determinants of health.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org

• PDF

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Government financing, Health care disparities, Health policy, Health status disparities, Model programs, Policy analysis, Policy development, Taxes

Annotation: This evidence review summarizes the effectiveness of workplace, community, and health care system–based programs and policies aimed at supporting and promoting breastfeeding and addresses maternal health outcomes associated with this recommended feeding method.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Policy analysis, Program evaluation

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for states to strengthen the ability of school-based dental sealant programs to reach more children, especially those at high risk for dental caries. Contents include recommendations in the following priority areas: promoting evidence-based and promising practices; communicating with families, the community, and school staff; collecting, analyzing, and reporting data; addressing Medicaid and reporting data; and addressing Medicaid and regulatory hurdles. A summary of the recommendations, an infographic, a questions-and-answers document, and a communications plan worksheet are also available.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Access to health care, Case management, Certification, Children, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Licensing, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Policy development, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program development, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Regulations, Resources for professionals, School health programs, School health services, Schools, Standards, State health agencies, State programs, Vulnerability, Work force

Annotation: This report presents findings from an analysis of housing disclosure policies of all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to their ability to help homebuyers make informed decisions about lead service lines before they sign a sales contract. Contents include information about lead in drinking water and why reducing exposure to lead is important, property disclosures, variation and limitations of state requirements, and conclusions. State disclosure requirements are included in the appendix.

Contact: Environmental Defense Fund, 257 Park Avenue, South, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 684-3322 E-mail: https://www.edf.org/contact Web Site: https://www.edf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Decision making, Environmental health, Housing, Lead, Policy analysis, Public policy, Safety, State legislation, Water

Annotation: This brief examines the research on community schools, with two primary emphases. First, it explores whether the 2015 federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) opens the possibility of investing in well-designed community schools to meet the educational needs of low-achieving students in high-poverty schools. And second, it provides support to school, district, and state leaders as they consider, propose, or implement a community school intervention in schools targeted for comprehensive support. An online research compendium summarizing the referenced studies referenced is also available.

Contact: Learning Policy Institute, 1530 Page Mill Road, Suite 200, Palo Alto, CA 94303, Telephone: (650) 332-9797 Web Site: https://learningpolicyinstitute.org/ Available from the website.

• Brief
• Online Research Compendium

Keywords: Academic achievement, Barriers, Collaboration, Community based services, Community development, Costs, Federal legislation, Intervention, Leadership, Policy analysis, Poverty, Program evaluation, Program improvement, Public policy, Public private partnerships, Research, Schools, Service integration, Students, Vulnerability

Annotation: This report analyzes purchase of services authorization data for race, ethnic, and language group disparities for infants, children, and youth from birth to age 21 in California; discusses possible root causes; and makes recommendations for addressing the disparities. Contents include background, 25 years of research studies on service disparities, data reporting requirements and compliance, study methodology and approach, a summary of findings, detailed results, recommendations, conclusion, and next steps.

Contact: Lucile Packard Foundation for Children's Health, 400 Hamilton Avenue, Suite 340, Palo Alto, CA 94301, Telephone: (650) 497-8365 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.lpfch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Adolescents, Barriers, California, Children, Developmental disabilities, Ethnic factors, Financing, Geographic factors, Infants, Language, Legal issues, Policy analysis, State legislation

Annotation: This issue of Future of Children examines the state of the science on social and emotional learning (SEL) intervention and assessment, and related policy issues in education. The eight articles describe how to support SEL in schools and explore how SEL in schools might impact policy questions in education. Topics include SEL as a public health approach to education; SEL interventions in early childhood; promoting social and emotional competencies in elementary school; SEL programs for adolescents; SEL-focused after-school programs; SEL and equity in school discipline; SEL and teachers; and social-emotional assessment, performance, and standards.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• Link
• Full Journal

Keywords: Academic achievement, Adolescents, After school programs, Assessment, Child development, Competency based education, Discipline, Elementary schools, Emotional development, Intervention, Learning, Policy analysis, Psychosocial development, Standards, Teaching, Young children

Annotation: This report features published media reports from states on school environmental conditions. Contents include data on key characteristics of schools, staff, and poverty levels; structural support mechanisms that exist for schools at the state level; and programs available in some states to address identified external impacts on children such as food allergies, hazardous cleaning products, indoor air quality, and lead and asbestos contamination. Information from interviews with state and county environmental health directors about children and learning environments are also included.

Contact: Healthy Schools Network, 773 Madison Avenue, Albany, NY 12208, Telephone: (518) 462-0632 Fax: (518) 462-0433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyschools.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Environmental exposure, Facilities, Financing, Mass media, Policy analysis, Public health services, Public schools, Risk factors, Safety, School age children, School health, State programs

Annotation: This report, and accompanying supplemental reports, present findings on the status of Americans' health at the state level, along with the diverse factors associated with health. The report examines how state-level variations in health outcomes correlate with variations in factors thought to shape or influence health (health determinants) from five domains including health behaviors, health systems, economic and social factors, physical and social environmental factors, and public policies and social spending. Contents include research and policy priorities emerging from the analysis. Maps and charts are included.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• HOTS Summary Report
• HOTS Supplemental Reports

Keywords: Data analysis, Decision making, Economics, Geographic factors, Health behaviors, Health status, Health systems, Life course, Protective factors, Public policy, Risk factors, Social factors

Annotation: These modules are designed to help maternal and child leaders, family leaders, and other stakeholders understand and address health care coverage inequities that exist among children with special health care needs (CSHCN) based on race, ethnicity, income, immigration status, language, and level of functional difficulty. Contents include 6 modules on topics such as the language used to describe differences and tools and examples of policies, programs, and partnerships to improve access to coverage and financing of care for CSHCN. A worksheet is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Children, Data analysis, Equal opportunities, Financing, Health insurance, Language barriers, Policy development, Program improvement, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs, Young adults, Youth

Annotation: This brief examines empirical results from evaluations of early childhood education programs, including state pre-K programs. Topics include public support for pre-K; unanswered questions; and efforts to stimulate public discussion of the evidence for pre-K programs and the cumulative experiences that support long-term educational success, synthesize what is known about long-term outcomes of large-scale pre-K programs, and propose an agenda of longitudinal research on the major questions that bear on the future of pre-K education. The brief is a companion piece to Starting Early: Education from Prekindergarten to Third Grade.

Contact: Future of Children, Princeton School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University, 267 Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://futureofchildren.princeton.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Academic achievement, Early childhood education, Outcome and process assessment, Policy analysis, Policy development, Program evaluation, Public policy, Research, School readiness, State programs

Annotation: This publication features an inside look at how two organizations, the W. Haywood Burns Institute and the Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Social Policy, use disaggregated data on race and ethnicity to improve the lives of children and communities of color. The report includes a section on lessons learned, which provides readers with action steps and resources for using data on race to advocate for impacted communities.

Contact: Annie E. Casey Foundation, 701 Saint Paul Street, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 547-6600 Fax: (410) 547-6624 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aecf.org

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Communities, Data, Data analysis, Ethnic groups, Legislation, Measures, Neighborhoods, Policy development, Race, Racial groups

Annotation: This brief compares dental benefits offerings in 2015 to the offerings in 2014, focusing on the federally facilitated marketplace (FFM) and select state-based marketplaces. Topics include dental benefits offered within medical plans and stand-alone dental plans and the amount of information available to consumers when they are shopping for dental benefits through the FFM. The brief concludes with a discussion of the findings' policy implications.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Dental insurance, Federal health insurance programs, Oral health, Policy analysis, State health insurance programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief reports findings on trends in visits to emergency departments for oral health care for the period 2006 through 2012. Topics include visits and charges broken down by patient age and primary payer, and policy implications.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data analysis, Dental care, Emergency room data, Financing, Health care utilization, Hospital emergency services, Oral health, Policy development, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report provides an analysis of eight Medicaid delivery system reform incentive payment (DSRIP) and DSRIP-like programs and federal, state, and provider perspectives on program implementation. The report also offers insight into the role of DSRIPs in the Medicaid delivery system by examining key policy issues including program design, financing, measurement, and monitoring.

Contact: Medicaid and CHIP Payment and Access Commission, 1800 M Street, N.W., Suite 360 South, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 350-2000 Fax: (202) 273-2452 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.macpac.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Administrative policy, Financing, Health care reform, Measures, Medicaid, Monitoring, Policy analysis, Reimbursement, Service delivery systems

Annotation: This report presents a set of core measures for health and health care and describes how their focused implementation can contribute to reducing the burden of measurement on clinicians; enhance transparency and comparability; and improve health outcomes nationwide. Contents include a summary of issues, options, and successful strategies with respect to advancing measurement and enhancing collaborative efforts around measurement in the four domains of healthy people, quality of care, costs of care, and people’s engagement in health and health care. The evidence is distilled into detailed findings throughout the report. Recommendations describe key goals for advancing measurement and are accompanied by specific strategies that stakeholders should undertake in implementing the recommendation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-32493-9.

• Link

Keywords: Barriers, Comparative analysis, Costs, Measures, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Treatment outcome