Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This research brief examines the relationship between physical exercise and neighborhood characteristics among children and adolescents, using data from the 2011-2012 National Survey of Children's Health. The authors examine, in each state, the average number of days children ages 6 to 17 exercised in the past week. They also look at the frequency within each state of selected neighborhood characteristics: whether the child's neighborhood included a playground or recreation center, whether it had dilapidated housing, and whether parents felt their child was "usually" or "always" safe there. The brief also examines which of these characteristics were associated with a higher average number of days of exercise, when other factors affecting exercise frequency are taken into account.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Household safety, Neighborhoods, Physical activity, Playground safety, Recreational safety

Annotation: This final report describes the Community Action for Playground Safety (CAPS) Program of Children's Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, during the period August 1, 1999, through July 31, 2004. The purpose of the project was to decrease playground injuries and pedestrian-related injuries among children in the target communities. The final report, which includes an abstract, is divided into the following sections: (1) narrative final project report, (2) plans for the future, and (3) publications and products produced. The report also contains 19 appendices, including letters, lists, responses to recommendations, tables, logs, photographs, maps, and other relevant information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Columbus Children's Hospital, Center for Injury Research and Policy, 700 Children's Drive, Columbus, OH 43205-2696, Telephone: (614) 722-2000 Fax: (614) 722-2448 Web Site: http://www.injurycenter.org

Keywords: Child safety, Community programs, Final reports, MCH research, Ohio, Pedestrians, Playground safety

Annotation: This information package includes an essay on school safety, a fact sheet on injuries occurring at school, vignettes of circumstances surrounding such injuries, examples of state agencies addressing school injuries, and an annotated bibliography on the topic. The essay, School Safety: Getting All the Facts, was previously issued in "CSNotes" in September 1994. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Contact Phone: (617) 969-7100, ext. 2207 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL047 .

Keywords: Child safety, Injuries, Injury prevention, Playground injuries, School safety, Schools

Annotation: This report provides a brief introduction to issues addressed by a DC Family Policy Seminar in September 1996 which focused on injury prevention in the District of Columbia's public schools and was aimed at providing research information to help communities, schools, and families decrease the frequency of childhood injury on school property. Volume 1 (written by Helena Wallin) provides an introduction and background on some of the key components of childhood injury prevention, discusses four major injury areas in DC schools (lead poisoning, transportation/pedestrian, fire, and playground), presents policy options, and lists local and national organizations working in the injury prevention field. Volume 2 provides highlights of the seminar's discussions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Background Briefing Report

Keywords: District of Columbia, Fire prevention, Injury prevention, Lead poisoning, Playground injuries, Prevention programs, Risk prevention, School safety

Annotation: This videotape and manual are designed to help public recreation departments train their employees to assess and maintain playground equipment to manage risk. The videotape contains two sections; the first covers maintenance inspections, and the second reviews how to evaluate playground equipment to determine if it complies with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission guidelines. The manual includes a copy of the Commission's "Handbook for Public Playground Safety, " sample checklists and maintenance schedules, suggestions on the use of the materials, sources of information, and bibliographical references.

Contact: Information Exchange, P.O. 1528, Fair Oaks, CA 95628, Telephone: (916) 966-2375 Fax: (916) 967-1877 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.theinfoexchange.org/ $129.95 plus $6.50 shipping and handling; no shipping and handling if prepaid; discounts available for bulk orders.

Keywords: Children, Educational materials, Federal government, Injury prevention, Local government, Playground safety, Product safety, Public policy, Recreational equipment, Risk assessment, Risk management, Standards, Training

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence

Annotation: This curriculum guide was written for teachers of grades K-6 and presents an interdisciplinary approach to reduce the number of injuries on the playground. A joint project of the Utah Department of Health and Utah State University, the publication contains background information on the various types of playground equipment, general hazards, legal implications, and first aid and emergency care. A curriculum framework, student assessment instruments, and individual learning activities for each age group are presented. Each activity description lists the objective, preparation, procedure, materials needed and an extension activity. The guide is being used by the state and local health agencies to develop playground safety programs in Utah school systems. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health, Curricula, Injury prevention, Playground safety, State plans, Training