Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This CDC fact sheet uses statistics and color graphs to describe the various types of child abuse and neglect, how big the problem is, what the consequences are, and how they can be prevented. It contains references information on how to contact the CDC for more information.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Emotional abuse, Physical abuse

Annotation: This report from the National Center for Education Statistics is based on data from the School Crime Supplement to the National Crime Victimization Survey of 2019. Students aged 12-18 years reported incidences of bullying on school property, and electronic bullying. Figures and graphs illustrate age, gender, etc., of students, location of bullying incidents, type of bullying, and how incidents differed from year to year.

Contact: National Center for Education Statistics, 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Secondary Telephone: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov

• Link

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Statistics, Verbal abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet defines teen dating violence, how pervasive the problem is, the consequences of this kind of violence, and how it can be prevented. Along with statistics on the issue, the brochure also has charts, references, a link to the "Dating Matters" website, as well as a reference to the CDC website on violence prevention.

Contact: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4770 Buford Highway, N.E., Mailstop F-63, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) CDC-INFO Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (770) 488-4760 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/injury/index.html

• PDF

Keywords: Dating violence, Emotional abuse, Interpersonal violence, Physical violence, Sexual violence, Stalking, Statistics, Violence prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet defines bullying and the consequences that can occur, discusses prevention options and provides references for more information. It uses graphs and statistics to illustrate the seriousness of the issue, explain the impact of bullying, and lists types of prevention initiatives.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Adverse childhood experiences, Bullying, Cyberbullying, Physical abuse, Verbal abuse

Annotation: This continuing-education course for oral health professionals provides information about child abuse and neglect and outlines responsibilities for recognizing, reporting, treating, and preventing child abuse and neglect. Topics include defining the problem, the dentist's role in intervention, presenting problems that suggest child maltreatment, assessment and documentation, reporting, treatment for orofacial or dental trauma, and what oral health professionals can do to reduce child maltreatment.

Contact: Procter and Gamble Company, Cincinnati, OH Telephone: (800) 543-2577 Web Site: http://www.dentalcare.com Available from the website.

• Online Course

Keywords: Assessment, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child sexual abuse, Continuing education, Dental care, Emotional abuse, Intervention, Maltreated children, Oral health, Physical abuse, Prevention services, Resources for professionals, Responsibility, Trauma

Annotation: This PowerPoint updates findings from previous publications on adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) from the Wisconsin Behavioral Risk Factors Survey. Topics include the prevalence of ACEs, co-occurence of ACEs, mental health outcomes, health risk behaviors, physical health outcomes, socioeconomic status, health care access and Medicaid enrollment, and quality of life, followed by policy recommendations. The 2010 report includes vignettes from adults who experienced ACEs and who describe the impact those experiences have had on their lives.

• Link

Keywords: State surveys, Access to health care Medicaid, Child abuse, Child health, Children, Health behavior, Health policy, Mental health, Physical health, Risk factors, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report provides a guide and benchmark on the current state of rural health priorities and disparities and serves as a roadmap for updating federal and state leaders on rural health priorities identified through the national Rural Healthy People 2020 survey. Volume one addresses each of the ten top-ranked rural health priorities and includes reviews of relevant literature, updated for those topics previously identified as priorities in Rural Healthy People 2010, and models for practice that rural practitioners can use to support community and regional programs. Volume two addresses priorities 11-20.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-4951-5242-9.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Child health, Community health services, Diabetes, Health care disparities, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2020, Heart diseases, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Mental health, National initiatives, Nutrition, Physical activity, Rural populations, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Annotation: This textbook covers a range of topics associated with child abuse and neglect. It provides an overview on the problem, considers the rights and responsibilities of parents and children, and reviews the effects of abuse and neglect on the development of children. Individual chapters cover physical, emotional, and sexual abuse, and neglect. Other chapters examine ways to prevent or intervene in abusive situations through the judicial system and consider treatment methodologies including the use of foster care. The book also includes a chapter on adults who were abused as children but who had not reported the fact.

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Children', Emotional abuse, Families, Family characteristics, Foster care, Incest, Intervention, Legal issues, Parent rights, Parenting, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse, Social work, s rights

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find hotlines and web sites about domestic violence, including rape, abuse, incest, teen dating, legal counsel, and services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Bibliographies, Child abuse, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Emotional abuse, Family relations, Family violence, Hotlines, Parent child relations, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This report focuses on dating adolescents and abuse and harassment via digital media (i.e., online or via text messaging). The report provides background and discusses where and how abuse occurs; and what educators, parents, advocates, and adolescents should know. The link between abuse via digital means and other types of abuse is discussed, as well as strategies for prevention and intervention.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent behavior, Adolescents, Child abuse, Child sexual abuse, Dating, Intervention, Physical abuse, Prevention, Relationships, Sexual abuse, Sexual harassment

Annotation: This review assesses the comparative effectiveness of psychological and pharmacological interventions for infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 14 exposed to maltreatment in addressing child well-being outcomes (mental and behavioral health; caregiver-child relationship; cognitive, language, and physical development; and school-based functioning) and child welfare outcomes (safety, placement stability, and permanency). The review also assesses the comparative effectiveness of interventions with (1) different treatment characteristics, (2) for child and caregiver subgroups, and (3) for engaging and retaining children and caregivers in treatment. In addition, the review assesses harms associated with interventions for this population.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 13-EHC002-EF.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Behavior problems, Child abuse, Child development, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Intervention, Language development, Maltreated children, Mental health, Parent child relations, Physical development, Safety, School failure, School readiness, Treatment

Annotation: This resource guide provides information to help state maternal and child health and injury and violence prevention programs respond to the needs of infants, adolescents, and adults who are at risk for traumatic brain injury (TBI). Topics include fall prevention, motor vehicle safety, bicycle safety, sports safety, and abuse prevention. It also contains links to data, research studies, information on policy and legislation, prevention strategies, tools for program planning, and a list of national organizations that address TBI.

Contact: Children's Safety Network, Education Development Center, 43 Foundry Avenue, Waltham, MA 02453-8313, Telephone: (617) 618-2918 Fax: (617) 969-9186 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrenssafetynetwork.org Available from the website.

• 2020 Resource Guide
• Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Bicycle injuries, Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child safety, Children, Falls, Infants, Injury prevention, Motor vehicle safety, Physical abuse, Sports injuries, Violence prevention

Annotation: This toolkit offers resources to help health care professionals and others identify and support clients facing intimate partner violence. Contents include strategies for preparing a health care practice to start screening; screening and intervention approaches and tools; resources tailored to pediatric, adolescent, or reproductive health care settings; strategies and resources for domestic and sexual violence advocates; and promising practices from the field.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Family violence, Intervention, Physical abuse, Resources for professionals, Screening, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for health professionals about screening and counseling for interpersonal and domestic violence under the Affordable Care Act. The fact sheet answers questions about new preventive services guidelines, why screening for interpersonal and domestic violence matters, how health professionals can get started with screening, what health professionals should do if a person discloses abuse, and how health professionals can learn more about responding to domestic violence.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Domestic violence, Emotional abuse, Guidelines, Health services, Interpersonal violence, Legislation, Physical abuse, Prevention, Screening, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This resource presents information for parents about abusive head trauma (AHT)/inflicted traumatic brain injury -- also called shaken baby/shaken impact syndrome -- a form of inflicted head trauma. Topics include how these injuries happen, what are the effects, signs and symptoms, diagnosis, the child's development and education, and preventing AHT.

Contact: KidsHealth, Nemours, 10140 Centurion Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256, Telephone: (904) 697-4100 Fax: (904) 697-4220 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://kidshealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Brain damage, Brain injuries, Child abuse, Head injuries, Infant care, Infant health, Injury prevention, Newborn infants, Physical abuse, Shaken baby syndrome

Annotation: This report summarizes proceedings from the workshop sponsored by the Forum on Global Violence Prevention in January 2011 to explore the prevention of violence against women and children. The report provides an overview of the workshop, including summarizes of presentations, workshops, and discussions related to violence prevention strategies. Topics explored include the co-ocurrence of child maltreatment and intimate partner violence; paradigm shifts and changing social norms in violence prevention; and the state of prevention research in low- and middle-income countries. Summaries of various papers presented during the workshop are also included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $54.00 plus shipping and handling; also available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-21151-2.

• Link

Keywords: Battered women, Child abuse, Conference proceedings, Maltreated children, Physical abuse, Prevention programs, Violence, Violence prevention

Annotation: This instructional manual is designed to help parents and caregivers assist individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in their explorations of self and sexuality. The manual presents hints for family members, discusses adapting for different learning styles, and offers tips. The manual also offers ideas for addressing the following topics: understanding the differences between males and females (grades K-5), changes in the body (grades 4-8), becoming an adult (grades 9-12), beginning social skills (grades K-8 and ongoing), advanced social skills (grades 6-12 as ready), dating, and sexual or physical abuse. A companion resource guide for educators is also available.It is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Florida Disabilities Development Council, 124 Marriott Drive, Suite 203, Tallahassee, FL 32301-2981, Telephone: (850) 488-4180 Secondary Telephone: (850) 488-0956 Fax: (850) 922-6702 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fddc.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescent sexuality, Adolescents with developmental disabilities, Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with developmental disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Dating, Families, Parents, Physical abuse, Sexual abuse, Sexuality, Social skills, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This webinar discusses the impact of domestic violence and sexual violence on the mental and physical health of adolescents and women of childbearing age in North Carolina. Topics include national indicators of child maltreatment; partner or sexual violence prevalence; statistical differences in reporting statistics; child and adolescent experience with sexual or physical violence victimization and risk of health problems; violence and pregnancy; developing partnerships; and approaches for identifying women with these experiences and integrating care. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Webinar Registration And Archive Page

Keywords: Adolescents, Audiovisual materials, Chronic disease, Continuing education, Crisis intervention, Distance education, Domestic violence, MCH training programs, Mental health, North Carolina, Physical abuse, Pregnancy, Screening, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse, Women', s health

Annotation: This document provides information about domestic violence with the goal of increasing awareness about this problem in Oklahoma. Background on domestic violence is provided, along with information on who are the victims, who are the batterers, what can be said and done, assessing danger, the legal system, and resources. A section dedicated to how those working with women in crisis can take care of themselves is included, as well.

Contact: Oklahoma Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 25352, Oklahoma City, OK 73125, Telephone: (405) 521-3646 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.okdhs.org Available from the website. Document Number: OKDHS Pub. No. 01-05.

• PDF

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Intervention, Oklahoma, Physical abuse, Prevention, Sexual abuse

Annotation: This tip sheet defines shaken baby syndrome (SBS) and provides guidelines to help prevent its occurrence. It offers tips to help parents and other caregivers cope with the stress of a baby's crying, support baby's head adequately at all times, and discuss the dangers of shaking infants with friends, family members, and caregivers. One side of the tip sheet is in English and the other is in Spanish. It is also available in Arabic, Chinese, and Russian (1 p. each).

Contact: New York State Office of Children and Family Servcies, 52 Wasington Street, Rensselaer, NY 12144-2796, Telephone: (518) 473-7793 Fax: (518) 486-7550 Web Site: http://www.ocfs.state.ny.us/main/ Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asian language materials, Child abuse, Child safety, Infant care, Infant health, Injury prevention, Newborn infants, Non English language materials, Physical abuse, Shaken baby syndrome, Spanish language materials