Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These guidelines contain a set of standards to advance the quality and safety of early care and education environments. It is a companion to Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards -- Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs, 3rd edition. Included are new and updated standards on on safe sleep, handling and feeding of human milk, introducing solid foods to infants, monitoring children's development, unimmunized children, preventing expulsions, and availability of drinking water. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education, University of Colorado Denver, 13120 East 19th Avenue, Mail Stop F541, P.O. Box 6511, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (800) 598-5437 (598-KIDS) Fax: (303) 724-0960 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nrckids.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child care, Child care centers, Children with special health care needs, Facilities, Health promotion, Learning activities, Management, Nutrition, Out of home care, Personnel, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials , Standards

Annotation: This strategic plan provides a framework for health workforce improvements, focusing on four key goals: expanding supply, ensuring equitable distribution, improving quality, and enhancing the use of data and evidence to improve program outcomes. This plan is Section 3402 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, enacted in March 2020, to address barriers to strengthening the health work force. The plan aligns with Presidential Executive Orders related to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic. The American Rescue Plan (ARP) of 2021 invests resources in the health care, public health, and mental health work force in alignment with the goals of this strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community needs, Personnel, Public health, Public health services, Work force

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This book, primarily for school administrators, also helps teachers, staff, counselors, and students find guidance in responding to a bias incident or hate crime. The guide is divided into three sections: before, during, and after a crisis occurs. Topics include assessing the school climate with an eye towards defusing tension, preventing escalation, and avoiding problems; key points to consider when responding to a bias or hate incident; and addressing long-term planning and capacity building for the future, including development of social and emotional skills.

Contact: Teaching Tolerance, c/o Southern Poverty Law Center , 400 Washington Avenue, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 956-8200 Fax: (334) 956-8488 E-mail: http://www.tolerance.org/contact-us Web Site: http://www.tolerance.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Crisis intervention, Emergencies, Hate crime, Needs assessment, School counseling, School health services, School personnel, School violence

Annotation: This guide is intended to help family members and healthcare professionals who are working together to improve care for children with special healthcare needs. It includes information and guidance on how to get the most out of this potentially powerful partnership between families and health providers. Section one provides a framework for improvement, including an overview of learning collaboratives and a model for improvement; section two serves as a guide for parents; and section three provides guidelines for health professionals.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Health services delivery

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist families of children with autism and members of the school community in understanding and supporting students with autism. It offers an introduction to physical, medical, and other challenges for children with autism or Asperger's Syndrome; information for the many types of school service personnel; educating students with autism; and supporting learning in the student with autism. Resources and appendices include web, print, and video resources.

Contact: Autism Speaks, 1 East 33rd Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 252-8584 Fax: (212) 252-8676 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.autismspeaks.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Autism, Children with special health care needs, Community role, Family support services, Resources for professionals, School health, School personnel, Special education, Students

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist, which is geared for personnel providing services and supports to children with disabilities and special health care needs and their families, is designed to heighten the awareness and sensitivity of personnel to the importance of cultural diversity and cultural competence in human service settings. The checklist provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster such an environment. The checklist includes questions in the following categories: (1) physical environment, materials, and resources; (2) communication styles; and (3) values and attitudes. Information about how to use the checklist is also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Families, Guidelines, Health personnel, Human services, Questionnaires

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist, which is geared for personnel providing services and supports to children with disabilities and special health care needs and their families, is designed to heighten the awareness and sensitivity of personnel to the importance of cultural diversity and cultural competence in human service settings. The checklist provides concrete examples of the kinds of values and practices that foster such an environment. The checklist includes questions in the following categories: (1) physical environment, materials, and resources; (2) communication styles; and (3) values and attitudes. Information about how to use the checklist is also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Families, Guidelines, Health personnel, Human services, Questionnaires

Annotation: This self-assessment checklist, which is geared for personnel providing services and supports in early intervention and early childhood settings, is designed to heighten the awareness and sensitivity of personnel to the importance of cultural diversity and linguistic competency. The checklist includes questions in the following categories: (1) physical environment, materials, and resources; (2) communication styles; and (3) values and attitudes. Information about how to use the checklist is also provided.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child care, Children with special health care needs, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Early intervention, Families, Guidelines, Health personnel, Human services, Questionnaires, Young children

Annotation: This book describes a family-professional partnership network in New England that serves families with children and youth with special health care needs by engaging families with professionals in fields related to the financing and delivery of health care. The book gives a history and description of the network and explains the role of New England SERVE which brokers and serves as the model for these partnerships. It describes planning for partnerships, recruiting the involved organizations and family partners, the roles of and training for the families, and administration and evaluation of the partnership. The book also details the how the network continues after the involvement of the broker ends, the partnership alumni network, the role of an advisory board, and how to replicate the model described in the book. Appendices contain aids for family-professional partnership development. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Guidelines, Health care systems, Model programs, Parent professional relations, Professional personnel, Service coordination

Annotation: This brochure describes the family professional partnership model in service of children with special health care needs, and lists and describes sixteen New England area partnerships at clinical sites, health plans, academic and research sites, and community organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Community programs, Families, Model programs, Professional personnel

Annotation: This notebook is an organizing tool designed to help families who have children with special health care needs keep track of important information. The notebook includes sections for family, funding and financial, medical provider, and medical information; other service providers; care summaries; appointments; and miscellaneous.

Contact: University of Maine, Center for Community Inclusion and Disability Studies, 5717 Corbett Hall, Room 114, Orono, ME 04469-5717, Telephone: (207) 581-1084 Secondary Telephone: (800) 203-6957 Fax: (207) 581-1231 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ccids.umaine.edu/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Financing, Health personnel, Health services, Medical records

Annotation: This report provides findings from a survey of telemedicine providers and parents regarding the potential, the pitfalls, the realities and the hopes for telemedicine's role in providing medical care to children and youth with special health care needs. Appendices include a checklist for families to use if telemedicine is offered to them, a family satisfaction questionnaire offered as a working model for programs to use with families experiencing telemedicine visits, a list of contacts of those who responded to the questionnaire, and a list of resources. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, P.O. Box 37188, Albuquerque, NM 87176, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.familyvoices.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health personnel, Medical technology, Patient satisfaction, Questionnaires, Surveys, Telecommunications, Telemedicine

Annotation: This final report describes the Center for Leadership in Pediatric Physical Therapy Education program, based at the University of Washington School of Medicine, during the period July 1, 1997, to June 30, 2003. The project's goal was to provide leadership in pediatric physical therapy education to address the needs of populations of mothers and children, particularly those with special health care needs, through the support of post-professional graduate training; the development and dissemination of curriculum resources; and the provision of consultation, technical assistance, and continuing education. Report sections include (1) purpose of project and relationship to Social Security Act (SSA) Title V maternal and child health (MCH) programs, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) support and sources needed to replicate. The report includes 10 appendices, including an evaluation plan, summaries, presentations, descriptions of activiities, and more. An abstract is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Continuing education, Final reports, Health personnel, Children with special health care needs, Leadership training, Physical therapists, Physical therapy education, Professional training, Washington

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist health plans to improve systems of care for children with special health care needs. The tools contained in the kit include a variety of strategies for identification of children with special health care needs as well as methods for building collaboration. The kit includes a framework for approaching quality improvement that emphasizes partnerships; tools and methods for identifying children with special health care needs; surveys for gathering information from families, providers, and health plans; measures of organizational readiness to assess health plan capacity to focus on this population; and best practice examples from other health plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00073.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Families, Health personnel, Health services delivery, Model programs, Quality assessment, Surveys

Annotation: This final report describes a national program to promote fair, timely, and cost-effective methods of preventing and resolving conflicts in obtaining needed health care services between children with special health care needs (CSHCN) and their families, service providers, and managed care organizations. The project is designed to help CSHCN obtain services that are community-based, comprehensive, coordinated, family-centered, and culturally competent. The report sections include the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, publications and products, dissemination and utilization, future plans and follow-up, and type and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Health Law and Policy Resource Center, University of Iowa, 412 Boyd Law Building, Melrose and Byington Streets, Iowa City, IA 52242-1113, Telephone: (319) 335-9067 Fax: (319) 335-9098 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://blogs.law.uiowa.edu/nhlp

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Dispute resolution, Families, Family centered services, Final reports, Health personnel, MCH research, Managed care, Mediation, Service integration

Annotation: This report presents the history of the federal Dental Health Professional Shortage Areas program, critiques the designation criteria, and provides recommendations to revise the criteria to ensure access to adequate oral health care. The recommendations section outlines six focal points gathered from members of the practice community, facility administrations, professional organizations, policy analysts, and federal, state, and local shortage designation authorities. An annotated bibliography is provided.

Contact: University of California, San Francisco, Healthforce Center for Research and Leadership Development, 3333 California Street, Suite 410, San Francisco, CA 94143, Telephone: (415) 476-8181 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthforce.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Full Report, Executive Summary, Annotated Bibliography

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, Dentists, Federal programs, Infants, Local initiatives, Needs assessment, Oral health, Personnel, Provider participation, State programs

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a 2001 survey conducted in Wisconsin to learn about the state's oral health workforce. It covers workforce characteristics such as the supply and distribution of dentists; the racial and ethnic diversity of the workforce in comparison to that of the state's population overall and to that of the state's dental school population; dental school location and its impact on the distribution of dentists in the state; provider participation in oral health Medicaid services; volunteer activities; projected changes in the workforce over the next 5 years; and projected dentist capacity required to serve Medicaid participants. The appendices provide data tables as well as information on the stakeholders' committee, the survey methodology and instrument, and counties by Wisconsin region and rural/urban status.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for Health Research and Policy, 1747 West Roosevelt Road, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL 60608-1264, Telephone: (312) 996-7222 Secondary Telephone: (866) 757-4507 Fax: (312) 996-2703 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihrp.uic.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dentists, Access to health care, Dental care, Medicaid, Needs assessment, Oral health, Personnel, Provider participation, State surveys, Wisconsin, Work force

Annotation: This report summarizes the topics, principles, and recommendations of the expert panel meeting held September 28-29, 2000 in Washington, DC. Topics include leadership education, workforce, practice, global health, interdisciplinary collaboration, cultural competence, and areas of genetic knowledge and skill competencies. Five principles describe gaps in the genetic education of students in many (if not all) schools of nursing. Eight recommendations address several areas including genetics education programming, dissemination of genetics information and technological advances, interdisciplinary programs, collaborations and partnerships, and workforce issues. This report also includes three invited papers, 21 expert panel members' reports, and selected members' biographies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Competency based education, Conferences, Genetics education, Nursing education, Personnel needs, Professional education

Annotation: This document presents tools and strategies developed and piloted by New England SERVE to measure and enhance the capacity of managed care organizations to serve children with special health care needs. It describes a model for quality improvement consisting of partnerships between families, health care providers, and health plan administrators and a toolkit. The toolkit provides forms for evaluation and analysis in these categories: administrative measures, family survey, primary care provider survey, and a checklist for managed care organizations serving children with special health care needs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Collaboration, Families, Professional personnel, Service coordination