Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the oral disease burden and highlights challenges to and opportunities for accelerating progress toward universal coverage for oral health. It presents oral health profiles of countries based on data from the Global Burden of Disease project, the International Agency for Research on Cancer, and global World Health Organization surveys. It also emphasizes the global impact of oral disease on health and well-being and highlights inequalities.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Health equity, International health, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This infographic provides information about Ohio’s 2021–2022 state oral health plan goal to ensure that Ohioans understand the relationship between oral and systemic health. It discusses the association between periodontal disease and systemic conditions and the relationship between oral health and health care expenditures. Challenges related to oral health care that skilled nursing facilities face are also addressed.

Contact: Center for Reproductive Rights , 120 Wall Street , New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (917) 637-3600 Fax: (917) 637-3666 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.reproductiverights.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Costs, Ohio, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Prevention, Skilled nursing facilities, Statewide planning

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This fact sheet for pregnant women focuses on the importance and safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. Common oral health issues experienced during pregnancy, as well as their causes, are discussed, along with myths and facts about receiving oral health care during pregnancy. Steps for maintain good oral health during pregnancy are included.

Contact: Alabama Department of Public Health, Oral Health Branch, Family Health Services Bureau, RSA Tower, 201 Monroe Street, Suite 1350, Montgomery, AL 36104, Telephone: (334) 206-5675 Secondary Telephone: (334) 206-2950 Web Site: https://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/oralhealth/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer information materials, Gingivitis, Health care utilization, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Prevention

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral health during pregnancy. It discusses oral health issues that are common during pregnancy and the possible consequences of periodontal disease during pregnancy. It also provides tips for how women can keep their mouths healthy before and during pregnancy and on how parents can keep their infant’s or toddler’s teeth healthy. Information about relevant programs in Massachusetts is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant health, Massachusetts, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Periodontitis, Pregnancy, State programs

Annotation: This video provides information about what pregnant women or women considering becoming pregnant need to know about oral health during pregnancy. The video explains the potential ramifications of oral infections and periodontal disease during pregnancy. It also discusses factors, such as oral hygiene and feeding practices, that can affect the bacteria in an infant’s or child’s mouth and thus the infant’s or child’s oral health. Also discussed are oral conditions that disproportionately affect pregnant women and the importance and safety of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. The video is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina School of Dentistry, Prenatal Oral Health Program, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: http://www.prenataloralhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental Caries, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

Annotation: This report summarizes proceedings of a summit held on November 18–20, 2013, in Chicago, IL, to develop a national framework for action on preventing oral disease. Contents include an overview of summit outcomes and activities by day, planning group members, purpose, objectives, and sponsors. Topics include the financing and economics of oral health; oral health conditions including oral cancer, periodontal disease, facial injuries, and dental caries; prevention strategies; stakeholder group perspectives; and integrated approach. Materials provided at the summit are also available.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Community action, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Injuries, Oral cancer, Oral health, Participation, Periodontal diseases, Planning, Service integration, Sustainability

Annotation: This guide for health professionals describes oral conditions, including abnormalities in oral development, oral trauma, bruxism, oral infections, and gingival overgrowth, that can occur in children with special health care needs. The guide provides definitions for various conditions and infections, describes treatment methods, and discusses when to refer a child to an oral health professional. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Oral Health Information Clearinghouse, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD 20892-2190, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available at no charge (limit 50 copies); also available from the website. Document Number: OP-70.

• PDF
• Online Order Form

Keywords: Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental caries, Infections, Malocclusions, Oral health, Periodontal diseases

Annotation: This document outlines an updated strategic plan for improving the nation’s oral health over the next 3 to 5 years. Five public health priorities and eight goals address core/essential functions and key subject areas. These areas include dental caries, periodontal diseases, oral and pharyngeal cancers, infection control, public oral health infrastructure, elimination of health disparities, health policy and translation/dissemination of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) products, and organizational capacity and function. The document also outlines the CDC’s vision, mission, roles, and core functions as well as priorities in public oral health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Infection control, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Public health dentistry, Strategic planning

Annotation: This podcast focuses on the importance of maintaining good oral health for all women, especially women who are pregnant or planning to become pregnant. The content is presented in a question and answer format. Topics include why pregnant women are at particular risk for oral health problems, what can happen if a women gets periodontal disease, how common periodontal disease is in pregnant women, what women should do to prevent having problems with their teeth and gums, myths about oral health and pregnancy, and what's being done to help educate pregnant women and health professionals about oral health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Audio
• Transcript

Keywords: Consumer education, Dental care, Disease prevention, Health education, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Annotation: This report explores the oral health requirements of pregnant women as a promising strategy for improving maternal and infant health. The report summarizes presentations of commissioned background papers and other topics, as well as workgroup discussions from a forum convened by the Health Resources and Services Administration's (HRSA's) Maternal and Child Health Bureau, held on December 11-12, 2006, in Washington, DC. The forum was planned in collaboration with the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; HRSA's Office of Women's Health; the National Institute of Health's National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, and Office of Research on Women's Health; and the Office of the Surgeon General. Contents include an overview and purpose; a summary of presentations; and a discussion of future directions for policy, programming, and research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Conferences, MCH research, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Research reviews, Women', s health

Annotation: This paper describes a sampling of policies, programs, and practices in the public and private sectors that typify how some agencies have built upon the putative relationship between periodontal disease during pregnancy and unfavorable birth outcomes. This review provides information on how academics, insurers, state governments, policy organizations, professional societies, practitioners, and others have featured this oral-systemic connection in their efforts to address the oral health of pregnant women. This paper was commissioned for the "Research to Policy and Practice: Periodontal Health and Birth Outcomes" forum held on December 11-12, 2006, in Washington, DC.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: MCH research, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women

Annotation: This binder contains participant materials for a conference held on December 11-12, 2006, in Washington, DC, to review research on periodontal disease and its possible effects on pregnant women and on birth outcomes. Topics include reviews of policies, programs, and practices addressing the oral health needs of pregnant women; evidence-based research; findings from federally funded clinical research; and public- and private-sector efforts to improve the oral health of pregnant women. Contents include the meeting agenda, a participant list and presenter and facilitator biographies, printed PowerPoint presentation slides, and background papers. A CD-ROM is included that contains copies of the background papers, handouts, and presentations. A meeting evaluation form is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Selected Materials

Keywords: Conferences, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Research reviews, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines the funding provisions in Medicaid, particularly the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) program, that entitles children to oral examinations, as well as diagnosis and treatment of oral health conditions such as dental caries, periodontal disease, and malocclusion. Topics include malocclusion and orthodontia, screening tools to authorize Medicaid coverage of orthodontia, case law support for Medicaid coverage, and advocacy tips. Extensive notes and references are provided throughout the fact sheet. Additional resources for advocates are also included.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Dental insurance, EPSDT, Health care financing, Legal precedence, Medicaid, Oral health, Orthodontics, Periodontal diseases

Annotation: This training program provides non-oral health professionals with an introduction to oral health and tooth decay in infants and toddlers. The program discusses the prevalence of tooth decay among children, tooth decay as a chronic disease, unmet oral health care needs among children, and the consequences of these unmet needs. Other topics include an overview of oral health in America, tooth decay, and periodontal disease and its consequences. Topics are reviewed in developmental time periods (from conception to birth and early childhood). Additional information about treatment options, action steps, recommendations for states, and other sources of program support are included, along with a list of references. The materials are presented in HTML and videotape formats. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, School of Dental and Oral Surgery, 630 West 168th Street, New York, NY 10032, Telephone: (212) 305-6100 Web Site: http://dental.columbia.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Disease prevention, Distance education, Early childhood caries, Infants, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Professional training, Training materials, Young children

Annotation: This brochure for pregnant women, parents, and other caregivers provides information about oral health during pregnancy, infancy, and early childhood. Information about gum infection during pregnancy and tips for preventing gum disease is provided. The importance of a healthy diet that includes plenty of calcium and Vitamin D is also addressed. Oral hygiene and healthy feeding practices for infants and young children are also included, as well as information about the relationship between oral behaviors and dental caries. The brochure is available in English, Cree, and French.

Contact: Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, 1800-155 Carlton Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3C 4YI, Telephone: (204) 926-7000 Fax: (204) 926-7007 Web Site: http://www.wrha.mb.ca Available from the website.

• See Additional Resources: Pamphlet: Prenatal Information

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Diet, Disease prevention, Gingivitis, Infants, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This statement presents recommendations for periodontal examinations of women who are pregnant or planning to become pregnant. The statement includes information on research findings, preventive oral health care and services, and diagnosis and treatment considerations for pregnant women.

Contact: American Academy of Periodontology, 737 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 800, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (312) 787-5518 Fax: (312) 787-3670 Web Site: https://www.perio.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Guidelines, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Pregnant women, Professional training, Screening

Annotation: This document provides estimates of the Periodontal Index (PI) for noninstutionalized youths aged 12-17 years in the United States by age, sex, race, family income, education of head of household, and geographic region, and a correlation analysis of the interrelatin of the PI and selected demographic characteristics.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Health surveys, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Statistics