Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These perinatal clinical care guidelines for the general population include guidelines for the first prenatal visit (6–12 weeks) and each subsequent prenatal visit (13–42 weeks). Topics include initial and interval history; psychosocial assessment; physical examinations; immunizations; laboratory evaluation and additional testing; oral health; genetic counseling, screening, and testing; general counseling, education, and discussion; and the postpartum visit.

Contact: Massachusetts Health Quality Partners, 42 Pleasant Street, Suite 3, Watertown, MA 02472, Telephone: (617) 600-4621 Fax: (617) 393-3433 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mhqp.org Available from the website.

• 2024 Guidelines
• License Required To Access This Material

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal health, Perinatal services, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services

Annotation: This web page provides basic information about perinatal mental health conditions and links to a resources for the medical and mental health workforce, including practice guidelines, online trainings, and educational material for patients.

Contact: Mental Health Technology Transfer Center Network , Telephone: (650)721-8692 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://mhttcnetwork.org/

• Link

Keywords: Depression, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Perinatal services, Professional education, Screening

Annotation: This website explains how Perinatal Quality Collaboratives (PQCs) work to improve the quality of healthcare for mothers and babies. PCQs are networks of perinatal health care providers that include hospitals, clinicians, and public health professionals working to improve pregnancy outcomes through quality improvement initiatives and use of best available evidence-based strategies. The site includes a video introduction to PQCs; a webinar series; a guide to help states developed PQCs, success stories, journal articles, and links to additional resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Collaboration, Infant health, Maternal health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Quality assurance, Regional programs, State initiatives

Annotation: This brief highlights goal 1 of the White House blueprint for addressing the maternal health crisis, which is to increase access to and coverage of comprehensive high-quality maternal health services, including behavioral health services. The brief outlines the need to strengthen risk-appropriate care in rural and urban areas; improve quality of care provided to pregnant and postpartum women with or at risk for hypertensive disorders of pregnancy; expand capacity to screen, assess, treat, and refer for maternal depression and related behavioral disorders; and Integrate behavioral health supports in community settings. Evidence-informed strategies for improvement, criteria for states to consider when developing strategies, and additional resources are included. Statistics on the percentage of women ages 15-49 with health insurance (by source of coverage); percent of Medicaid coverage by race/ethnicity; and births covered by Medicaid are also provided.

Contact: Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center , University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC Web Site: https://maternalhealthlearning.org/

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Health insurance, Initiatives, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health services, Perinatal care, Service integration

Annotation: This report synthesizes key learnings from an 8-session virtual learning series held between December 2022 and July 2023 focused on implementing Medicaid coverage for doula and perinatal community health worker services. It presents findings in four main areas: partnerships between payers and providers, administrative supports, training and certification requirements, and workforce development. The document outlines specific recommendations for state Medicaid agencies and managed care organizations to create sustainable benefits that center community-based perinatal support providers' needs and advance birth equity. The report includes detailed speaker quotes, examples from multiple states' implementation efforts, and links to full session materials and recordings from the learning series.

Contact: Institute for Medicaid Innovation, 1150 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1010, Washington, DC 20036, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medicaidinnovation.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community health workers, Doulas, Medicaid, Perinatal services, Professional education, State agencies

Annotation: In this webinar, subject matter experts present on 1) the Alliance for Innovation on Maternal Health’s (AIM) patient safety bundle for perinatal people with substance use disorders, and 2) the role of public health agencies, perinatal quality collaboratives, and community organizations in supporting the implementation of the AIM bundle in their state. Speakers include representatives from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG), the Louisiana Department of Health, and the Florida Department of Health.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Guidelines, Perinatal care, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Public health , Quality assurance, Safety, State initiatives, Substance abusing pregnant women, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This course is designed to help pediatric primary care health professionals (PPHPs) recognize the role they play in providing oral health care. Topics include the importance of the dental home, caries risk assessment including examination of teeth and gums, oral health anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish application. The course also covers steps to handle oral injuries if they occur and how families can prevent them.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available at no charge to AAP members; $199 for individual nonmembers.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Continuing education, Dental care, Fluorides, Infants, Maternal health, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This systematic review was conducted to support the United States Preventive Services Task Force in updating its 2014 recommendation on daily low dose aspirin use during pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia. The report reviewed updated evidence on the effectiveness and potential harms of daily aspirin use during pregnancy to prevent morbidity and mortality associated with preeclampsia. Data sources included MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, and the Cochrane Collaboration Registry of Controlled Trials; results were limited to studies published between January 2013 and July 2019. The reviewed studies showed that daily aspirin use in pregnancy for individuals at increased risk for preeclampsia consistently led to beneficial effects on perinatal mortality, preterm birth, fetal growth restriction, and preeclampsia diagnosis.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• Link

Keywords: Pregnant women, Drugs, Evidence based medicine, High risk groups, Literature reviews, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Preeclampsia, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy outcomes, Preventive health services

Annotation: This Orange County, California toolkit contains local resources, evidence-based tools, and recommendations to assist healthcare and service providers in offering perinatal mental health education, preventive interventions, screening, referrals, and treatment for new and expecting parents. Mental health and substance use screening tools, referral pathways, links to online training for professionals , information on mental health insurance coverage, and parent handouts in English, Spanish, Chinese, and Vietnamese are among the tools provided.

Contact: First 5 Orange County , Children & Families Commission of Orange County , 1505 E 17th Street, Suite 230, Santa Ana, CA 92705, Telephone: (714) 834-5310 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://first5oc.org/

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Maternal mental health, Mental health services, Parent support services, Perinatal care, Perinatal services, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This issue brief reviews the evidence for new maternity care models and discusses how policy makers, payers, providers, and health care systems can help to advance effective models that will improve maternal health outcomes and promote health equity.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Community programs, Community services, Health equity, Maternal health, Minority health, Models, Perinatal care

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This virtual learning session explores the logistical, legislative, and legal issues surrounding universal screening for substance use in pregnant and parenting women and their newborns. Examples of screening tests for substance abuse, state initiatives in support of universal screening, the legal aspects of substance use, and legislative measures that address universal screening are among the topics discussed by various panelists during this 50-minute presentation.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Fetal alcohol symptom, Infants, MCH Programs , Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Screening tests, State initiatives, Substance abuse, Substance use screening

Annotation: This issue of the Commonwealth Fund's "Transforming Care" focuses on efforts to support women throughout pregnancy and the postpartum period. It describes persistent racial disparities in maternal morbidity and mortality rates and examines efforts to redress health care shortcomings by providing more supportive services for women who are at heightened risk due to their social or medical needs. Included are examples of promising federal and regional programs.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Health equity, Maternal health services, Minority health, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Annotation: This issue brief highlights four community-based maternal care programs from across the country and describes how these model programs can help reduce maternal health disparities. The brief includeds background information, a description of the care model, and outcome measures for each of the model programs and offers recommendations to support and expand such programs.

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org

• PDF

Keywords: Community based services, Community programs, Health care disparities, Health equity, Initiatives, Maternal health, Models , Perinatal care

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This guide explains how medical clinics can integrate maternal mental health care into obstetric and/or pediatric settings using best practices based on the integrated perinatal mental health care model. It includes a summary of the innovations that the California-based Maternal Mental Health NOW program made to build capacity to provide maternal mental health screening, connect patients to resources and services, and offer an array of evidence-based treatment options. Suggestions for screening tools, sample scripts, advice on data collection, and other implementation tools are included.

Contact: Maternal Mental Health NOW, Community Partners, 1000 N. Alameda Street, Suite 240 , Los Angeles, CA Web Site: https://www.maternalmentalhealthnow.org/

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mental health, Model programs, Perinatal services, Program development, Screening, Service integration

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document for health professionals comprises questions about oral health care services for pregnant women that their offices may or may not provide. Topics include preventive and restorative services, urgent and emergency care, local anesthesia, X-rays, and restrictions related to treating pregnant women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Dental care, Oral health, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, State surveys