Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report examines the critical impact of mental health and substance use disorders on maternal mortality and morbidity in the United States, highlighting how suicide and substance use-related overdoses account for over 20 percent of postpartum deaths. It presents promising approaches from states including Massachusetts, New Jersey, Oregon, New Hampshire, and California that integrate maternity care with behavioral health services and social supports. The report outlines six key recommendations for improving care: supporting dedicated multidisciplinary care teams, centering people with lived experience to drive health equity, normalizing substance use care, training all staff on bias and stigma, expanding the community-based workforce including doulas and peer recovery specialists, and implementing harm reduction and street medicine approaches. The authors emphasize that with nearly every state now providing 12 months of postpartum Medicaid coverage, there are unprecedented opportunities to implement integrated, trauma-informed, non-punitive care models that can significantly reduce maternal mortality and improve outcomes for families.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org

• Link

Keywords: Substance abusing pregnant women, Community participation, Disorders, Health care reform, Initiatives, Maternal morbidity, Maternal mortality, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Perinatal addiction, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Quality improvement, Risk factors, Service integration, Substance use disorders

Annotation: This website provides tools for framing and understanding racial and ethnic health disparities; conversation starters and hidden bias tests; free online trainings; information databases; reports on health disparities in North Carolina; and examples of promising interventions aimed at closing the gap in health disparities.

Contact: University of North Carolina , Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health , Room 216 MacNider, Campus Box 7181, Charep Hill, NC 27599-7181, Web Site: https://www.mombaby.org/

• Link

Keywords: Ethnic factors, Health care disparities, Health equity, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Racial factors

Annotation: This website presents an overview of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Hear Her campaign, which seeks to raise awareness of potentially life-threatening maternal warning signs during and after pregnancy. The site lists the signs and symptoms to be aware of; offers guidance for friends and family members of people who are pregnant; provides expert perspectives on how health professionals can help prevent pregnancy related deaths; and shares personal stories about pregnancy-related complications from American Indian women and others at risk of not being heard. Hear Her Campaign materials, including posters and handouts, conversation guides, and sample social media posts are also available on the site.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Maternal mortality, Media campaigns, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Racial discrimination

Annotation: This evidence review addresses racial inequities in the maternal health care and outlines evidence-informed approaches that address gaps in access to care; adopt and incentivize high-value models of care; diversity the perinatal workforce; and invest in community-based organizations.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org

• Link

Keywords: Health equity, Health status disparities, Maternal Morbidity, Maternal Mortality, Maternal health, Perinatal care, Policy, Postpartum care, Prevention

Annotation: This knowledge brief from the World Health Organization (WHO) addresses the implementation of maternal and perinatal death surveillance and response (MPDSR) as part of broader quality of care (QoC) efforts for maternal and newborn health. It explains how MPDSR generates quality information on leading causes of maternal and perinatal deaths that can inform prioritization of quality improvement interventions. The brief presents practical considerations for strengthening synergies between MPDSR and QoC structures and processes at national, subnational, and facility levels, with examples from Ethiopia and Nigeria where MPDSR committees and QoC teams have been successfully aligned or integrated. It includes a framework showing how MPDSR cycle components can connect with the Plan-Do-Study-Act approach used in quality improvement, along with options for organizational structures that promote coordination between MPDSR and QoC activities. The document concludes with emerging questions for implementation and learning that can guide future efforts to maximize the impact of these complementary approaches.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en

• PDF

Keywords: Coordination, Death, International health, Maternal health, Maternal mortality, Perinatal mortality, Population surveillance, Quality improvement, Service integration

Annotation: This document provides key information to identify perinatal health issues and help guide decision-making by the Washington State Department of Health and the Department of Social and Health Services. The indicators were derived from Washington State birth, fetal death, and death certificate data, the First Steps Database, and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System. The report includes highlights, a list of areas of concern, and series of key indicator tables. A list of sources is included.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, Assessment Unit, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3533 E-mail: [email protected] Available from the website.

• 2018 Data

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Cesarean section, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, Medicaid, Perinatal health, Pregnancy, Smoking during pregnancy, Statistics, Washington, Women', s health

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs may consider implementing to increase the percentage of very low birth weight (<1500 gm) infants born in hospitals with a level III or higher neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information about the methods and results of the evidence review, key findings, and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, High risk pregnancy, Hospitals, Infant mortality, Intervention, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Protective factors, Regional medical centers, Regional planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Systems development, Title V programs

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percentage of very low birth weight (<1500 gm) infants born in a hospital with a level III or higher neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Block grants, Childbirth, Evidence-based practice, High risk pregnancy, Infant mortality, Intervention, Literature reviews, Low birthweight, Measures, Model programs, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Perinatal care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide provides information about reducing infant mortality and promoting perinatal oral health in Michigan. It discusses a statewide perinatal oral health initiative, an infant-mortality-reduction plan, the national and local landscapes, and transmission of cariogenic bacteria. It also includes guidance for perinatal care health professionals and oral health professionals, a visual guide for common oral health conditions, and referral resources to assist in facilitating oral health care for pregnant women.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental care, Forms, Infant mortality, Infants, Michigan, Oral health, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Referrals, State programs

Annotation: This document provides recommendations and strategies for improving birth outcomes in Connecticut. Contents include the list of organizations represented on the Connecticut Coalition to Improve Birth Outcomes and how they used policy analysis tools to identify priorities and recommendations, and the Collaborative Improvement and Innovation Network that supports the strategies outlined in the plan. Topics include addressing socioeconomic factors, making the healthy choices the easy choice, protecting individuals, implementing evidence-based interventions in clinical settings, and providing individual or public educational messages and support. Information about the perinatal landscape, emerging issues, and suggestions for using the plan are also included.

Contact: Community Foundation of Greater New Haven, 70 Audubon Street, New Haven, CT 06510-9755, Telephone: (203) 777-2386 Fax: (203) 787-6584 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cfgnh.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Coalitions, Collaboration, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health disparities, Infant mortality, Infants, Low birthweight, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Program improvement, Service integration, Statewide planning, Systems development

Annotation: This set of slides describes the Collaborative Improvement & Innovation Network (CoIIN) to Reduce Infant Mortality, including its aims, strategies, and measures, including reducing early elective delivery and smoking rates among pregnant women, increasing safe sleep practices and mothers delivering infants at the appropriate level of care, and changing Medicaid policies to increase the number of women who receive interconception care. It provides data showing trends from 2011 to 2013 and other accomplishments and the secrets of its success. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Secretary's Advisory Committee on Infant Mortality, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Parklawn Building, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/InfantMortality/index.html Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Childbirth, Infant mortality, Perinatal care, Preconception care, Prevention programs, Regional programs, Smoking, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit presents lessons learned from the State Infant Mortality Collaborative including experiences of and guidance from five teams relevant to the analysis and interpretation of perinatal data. Topics include the importance of infant mortality as a key indicator of population health, selecting indicators of infant mortality and data sources, methodological and statistical approaches to analyzing data and interpreting findings, and translating findings into programs and policies.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, Data, Infant mortality, Information dissemination, Model programs, Needs assessment, Perinatal influences, Policy development, State MCH programs

Annotation: [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Cecil G. Sheps Center for Health Services Research, 725 Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, CB# 7590, Chapel Hill, NC 27599, Telephone: (919) 966-5011 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.schsr.unc.edu Price unknown.

• PDF

Keywords: Data collection, Health statistics, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, MCH programs, Neonatal mortality, Perinatal health, Perinatal mortality, Region IV, SPRANS, Southern United States, Statistics

Annotation: This compendium is a collection of recommendations for states to address infant mortality, supplemented by action steps, examples, and case studies. Topics include implementing health-promotion efforts; improving access to health care for women before, during, and after pregnancy; and ensuring health care quality for all women and infants. The compendium also discusses implementing maternal-risk screening for all women of reproductive age, enhancing service integration for all women and infants, developing data systems to understand and inform efforts, and promoting social equity.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant mortality, Perinatal health, Policy, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Statewide planning, Women

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a community approach and an analytic framework for investigating and addressing high infant mortality rates in urban settings. The fact sheet describes the development of the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) approach and how it is used to monitor progress, (surveillance), guide public health planning, and prioritize prevention activities. Related resources including training materials, a learning network, presentations, data tables, and publications are available from the website.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet
• Program Website

Keywords: Community action, Data analysis, Infant mortality, Interdisciplinary approach, Perinatal influences, Planning, Urban environment

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast January 10, 2012, provides an orientation to the application process and a review of the Healthy Start program requirements, as well as the Healthy Start role in addressing disparities in perinatal health and reducing infant death rates. Additional topics include key measures and the Healthy Start logic model, core interventions, perinatal and postpartum depression, interconception care for women, evaluation and performance measures, and coordination with state Title V agencies.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Healthy Start, Infant mortality, Maternal health services, Perinatal health, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation

Annotation: The 2011 document describes the mission and vision statement of the National Healthy Start Association and outlines four goals with objectives. The 2002 and 2005 strategic plans for the NHSA provides background information on infant mortality, low birthweight and racial disparities in perinatal outcomes, the Healthy Start program, NHSA and its accomplishments to date, the process undertaken to develop a 3-year strategic plan, and the strategic plan itself, including objectives and specific action steps. The strategic plan includes appendices: a map of the Healthy Start communities and NHSA's committee descriptions. An organizational chart and a list of members of the board of directors is also included.

Contact: National Healthy Start Association, 1325 G Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 296-2195 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalhealthystart.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Health programs, Healthy Start, Infant health, Infant mortality, Low birthweight, National programs, Perinatal health, Strategic plans

Annotation: This updated bibliography includes references from 2001-2008 from published literature as located in PubMed and CINAHL Plus. Topics include grief, beravement, perinatal loss, and infant death. Citations are categorized into research articles, practice recommendations, or systematic literature reviews.

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bibliographies, Grief, Bereavement, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Infant death

Annotation: This report provides information about the FIMR/HIV Pilot Project (FHPP), the goal of which was to adapt the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review process in order to identify and address missed opportunities for perinatal HIV prevention and treatment in pilot sites. The report discusses perinatal HIV, the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR), the FIMR/HIV prevention methodology, FHPP, and the experiences of three pilot sites (Baton Rouge, Louisianna; Detroit, Michigan; and Jacksonville, Florida).

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community programs, Florida, HIV, HIV, HIV infected patients, HIV screening, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Michigan, Perinatal health, Pilot projects, Pregnancy, Prevention, Treatment

Annotation: This impact report describes activities of the Healthy Start project in Dona Ana County, New Mexico, in 2005-2009. Contents include an overview of racial and ethnic disparity focused on by the project; descriptions of project implementation and services provided such as outreach and client recruitment, case management, health education and training, interconceptual care, and depression screening and referral; project management and governance; project accomplishments; and the impact of the project during its term. Also included is information about the local evaluation and recommendations and sample publications produced by the project. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Healthy Start, Hispanic Americans, Infant mortality, Infants, Low income groups, New Mexico, Perinatal care, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Young children