Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (20 total).

Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support. n.d.. Perinatal bereavement resource catalog. St. Charles, MO: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 27 pp.

Annotation: This booklet lists resources about perinatal bereavement that are available from SHARE. For each one, there is a brief description and a cover photo. Special sections include Spanish-language resources and specialty items that can be shared (such as stickers, brochures, and bracelets). Ordering information is included.

Contact: Share Pregnancy and Infant Loss Support, 402 Jackson Street, St. Charles, MO 63301, Telephone: (636) 947-6164 Secondary Telephone: (800) 821-6819 Fax: (636) 947-7486 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nationalshare.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Resource materials, SIDS, Spanish language materials

Postpartum Progress. n.d.. Clinical tools for postpartum depression. [no place]: Postpartum Progress, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for clinicians involved in the care of pregnant and postpartum women include position papers, algorithms, toolkits, guidelines for treatment, screening tools, research on perinatal mood and anxiety disorders, professional organizations, training and continuing education, books, and other resources. Information and peer support for pregnant and new moms with postpartum depression and other mental illnesses related to pregnancy and childbirth are also available from the website.

Contact: Postpartum Progress, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.postpartumprogress.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Childbirth, Mental disorders, Mental health, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal health, Perinatal influences, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Postpartum women, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Puerperal disorders, Resources for professionals, Women', s health

Shaefer SJM, Buckley K, eds. 2012. Voices from the community: Cross cultural expressions of grief at the loss of an infant. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, National Fetal Infant Morality Review Program, 74 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes a series of panel discussions conducted by the Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs at four National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program annual conferences in 1998, 2001, 2004, and 2007. The content is drawn from the panelists' personal experiences with and professional expertise in the cultural traditions that may affect a family's expression of grief and loss. Topics include history and culture, general bereavement customs, service delivery issues, recommendations for practice, and implications for providers. Cultures and religions described include African American, specific tribes of American Indians, Hispanic/Latino, Chinese, Hmong, Iranian, Jewish, Muslim, and deaf and hard-of-hearing, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religion, Service delivery

SUID/SIDS Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence and SUID/SIDS Program Support Center at First Candle. 2011. African American Faith-Based Bereavement Initiative. Washington, DC: SUID/SIDS Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence; Baltimore, MD: SUID/SIDS Program Support Center at First Candle,

Annotation: This website presents a toolkit comprising eight modules designed to help the African-American Christian faith community improve supports for families who have experienced the loss of an infant during pregnancy or after birth. The toolkit is geared toward clergy in churches, chaplains in health care settings, pastoral counselors, and lay leaders. The toolkit can also be used in seminary courses and seminars to ensure that clergy in training are prepared to support bereaved families. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: SUID/SIDS Project at the National Center for Cultural Competence, 3300 Whitehaven Street, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20057, Telephone: (202) 687-8914 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nccc.georgetown.edu/projects/sids/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Family support, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Perinatal bereavement, Religious organizations, Training materials

Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, Pregnancy Loss and Infant Death Alliance. 2010. International Conference on Perinatal and Infant Death: Partners in Prevention, Research, Advocacy, Support. [Bethesda, MD]: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs,

Annotation: This website presents materials from the International Conference on Perinatal and Infant Death: Partners in Prevention, Research, Advocacy, and Support, held on November 4-7, 2010, in Washington, DC. The site includes links to the conference agenda, to pages with information and handouts from each conference session, and to poster presentations. Information about conference sponsors is also presented.

Contact: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, c/o The KIDS Network, , 1148 Hillside, Suite 10, Wichita, KS 67211, Telephone: (800) 930-7437 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asip1.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Conference proceedings, Family support, Infant death, Parent support services, Perinatal bereavement, Prevention, Research, SIDS, Safety, Sleep position

Shaefer SJM. 2009. Annotated bibliography on grief and bereavement following pregnancy loss perinatal and infant death. [Upd. ed.]. [Washington, DC]: National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program; [Lansing, MI] Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, 22 pp.

Annotation: This updated bibliography includes references from 2001-2008 from published literature as located in PubMed and CINAHL Plus. Topics include grief, beravement, perinatal loss, and infant death. Citations are categorized into research articles, practice recommendations, or systematic literature reviews.

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Grief, Bereavement, Infant mortality, Perinatal bereavement, Infant death

Schroedel J. 2009. Naming the child: Hope-filled reflections on miscarriage, stillbirth, and infant death. Brewster, MA: Paraclete Press, 164 pp.

Annotation: This book, directed to consumers grieving the death of a child, offers perspectives on ways to grieve and heal after the loss of a child, and how to make difficult decisions regarding a dying or deceased child. Apart from her personal perspectives, the author recounts the child loss related experiences of many others as well.

Contact: New Futures, 6110 Bellamah, NorthEast, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-0463 Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-55725-585-3.

Keywords: Bereavement, Consumer education materials, Fetal death, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Personal narratives, SIDS, Spontaneous abortion

Shaefer J. 2007. When an infant dies: Cross cultural expressions of grief and loss III. Washington, DC: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists; [Lansing, MI]: Association of SIDS and Infant Mortality Programs, 20 pp. (Bulletin [no. 3])

Annotation: This bulletin summarizes a panel presentation from the National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program's Fifth National Conference, held August 12-14, 2004 in Washington, DC. It explores the cultural traditions of Hmong, African American, and Jewish families grieving the loss of a pregnancy or infant. It is the third in a series focused on cross-cultural grief and loss and provides an updated review of the literature. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street, S.W.***DEFUNCT***, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 863-2587 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nfimr.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bereavement, Blacks, Child death, Cultural factors, Death attitudes, Ethnic factors, Ethnic groups, Fetal death, Grief, Infant death, Neonatal death, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Religion

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 1997. Sudden infant death syndrome/other infant death strategic work plan [Draft]. [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 95 pp.

Annotation: This sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and other infant death (OID) strategic work plan for the Health Resources and Services Administration provides information about data and policy, evaluation of the Efficacy/Quality and Adequacy of Funding and Staffing of Bereavement Support/Enabling Services and Risk Reduction programs, organization models for SIDS/OID bereavement and risk-reduction support, improving services to underserved populations, training programs and strategies, and SIDS/OID diagnosis and reporting.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov

Keywords: Diagnosis, Family support services, Federal programs, Financing, High risk groups, Infant death, Parent support services, Perinatal bereavement, Program evaluation, Public policy, SIDS, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Training

Ilse S. 1995. Precious lives, painful choices: A prenatal decision-making guide. (Rev. ed.). Long Lake, MN: Lakeland Press, 88 pp.

Annotation: This decision-making guide addresses the decisions and losses which couples must face upon learning their unborn child will or is likely to die at birth. The author describes what couples can expect through each decision, and how to cope with decisions and their ultimate outcome. Quotes from couples who experienced the death of a child are generously included throughout the text.

Contact: Wintergreen Press, 3630 Eileen Street , Maple Plain, MN 55359, Telephone: (952) 476-1303 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wintergreenpress.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Abortion, Childbirth, Children with special health care needs, Counseling, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Pregnancy loss, Pregnancy outcome, Spontaneous abortion

Friedman R, Gradstein B. 1992. Surviving pregnancy loss. (Rev. ed.). Boston, MA: Little, Brown and Company, 302 pp.

Ilse S. 1990. Empty arms: Coping after miscarriage, stillbirth and infant death. (Rev. ed.). Maple Plain, MN: Wintergreen Press, 82 pp.

Annotation: This book, written by a mother who experienced the death of her baby, discusses learning about the baby's death, decisions that may be needed right away, and the bereavement process in the first days and weeks and later. A list of national resources and a bibliography are included.

Contact: Wintergreen Press, 3630 Eileen Street , Maple Plain, MN 55359, Telephone: (952) 476-1303 Contact Phone: (612) 476-1303 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.wintergreenpress.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Death, Fetal death, Infants, Perinatal bereavement, Spontaneous abortion

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1988. A guide to resources in perinatal bereavement. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 46 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about selected resources and programs for professionals working with parents who have suffered the loss of a child through miscarriage, stillbirth, or neonatal death. Materials listed are written for professionals and parents. Topics covered include understanding perinatal loss, programs, curricula and specialized materials for providing care, audiovisuals, and organizations.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge.

Keywords: Infant health, Perinatal bereavement

Baumiller RC, ed. 1988. A workbook for pastoral care of individuals and families with special needs. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 105 pp.

Annotation: This publication contains information to help families deal with practical considerations surrounding the death of newborns under a variety of circumstances, as well as a section on prayer and religious observances relating to physically and mentally handicapped children and their families. It also contains model burial services and a discussion of the role of the clergy in genetic counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB354.

Keywords: Clergy, Genetic counseling, Infant death, Infants with developmental disabilities, Infants with special health care needs, Parent support services, Pastoral care, Perinatal bereavement, Role

Rando TA, ed. 1986. Parental loss of a child. Champaign, IL: Research Press, 555 pp.

Annotation: This book covers these topics: (1) perspectives on the parental loss of a child; (2) issues in specific types of death (e.g., newborn death, accidental death, death of an adult child); (3) social unacknowledged parental bereavement (e.g., adoption, missing children); (4) subjective experiences of death by fathers, mothers, single parents, and siblings; (5) professional help for bereaved parents; and (6) descriptions of organizations that provide support to bereaved parents.

Contact: Research Press, Dept. 28W, PO Box 9177, Champaign, IL 61826, Telephone: (217) 352-3273 Secondary Telephone: (800) 519-2707 Fax: (217) 352-1221 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.researchpress.com/ Available in libraries.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Parent support services, Perinatal bereavement, Support groups

Limbo RK, Wheeler SR. 1986. When a baby dies: A handbook for healing and helping. La Crosse, WI: Resolve Through Sharing/La Crosse Lutheran Hospital, 150 pp.

Annotation: This book is written to help those experiencing the loss of a pregnancy or the death of a newly-born infant; it is aimed at parents, family, friends, health professionals, funeral directors, and members of the clergy. Chapters cover grief, grief within a relationship, miscarriage, ectopic pregnancy, stillbirth, newborn death, loss in a multiple pregnancy, saying goodbye, reactions of others, involving children, grandparents' grief, the one-to-one helping relationship, the physician's response, and the roles of the funeral director and the clergy. The book includes checklists for individuals helping the parents in various roles, a bibliography, and additional support materials.

Keywords: Grief, Manuals, Perinatal bereavement, Personal narratives

Pepper LG, Knapp RJ. 1985. How to go on living after the death of a baby. Atlanta, GA: Peachtree Publishers Limited, 204 pp.

Borg S, Lasker J. 1981. When pregnancy fails: Families coping with miscarriage, stillbirth, and infant death. Boston, MA: Beacon Press,

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Clearinghouse. 1981. Sudden infant death syndrome research and grief counseling: A selected bibliography. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Community Health Services, 101 pp.

Annotation: This 101-page bibliography is for the families of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) infants, the professionals who come into contact with the families of death investigators, funeral directors, clergy, and the concerned public. Literature on all areas of SIDS research, such as theories of causation, epidemiology, and the identification of risk factors, is included. The bibliography also covers print and nonprint materials on the impact of SIDS on families, approaches to counseling, the resolution of grief and guilt, and the identification and treatment of infants at high risk for SIDS.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available in libraries. Document Number: DHHS (HSA) 81-5268.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Family support services, Infant health, Parent education, Perinatal bereavement, Research, SIDS

Peppers LG, Knapp RJ. 1980. Motherhood and mourning. New York, NY: Praeger Publishers, 165 pp.

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.