Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant 5-year needs assessment and state action plan and about how oral health program directors and staff and community partners can contribute to the needs-assessment process. The tip sheet explains what the 5-year needs assessment is, how the needs-assessment process works, why oral health should be included in the needs assessment and how to help ensure that it is included, what national and state performance measures are, and where to obtain more information. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Needs assessment, Oral health, Performance measurement, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief provides information about value-based payment (VBP), a set of performance-based strategies that link financial incentives to a health professional’s performance on a set of defined quality measures, summarizes VBP models, examines challenges and opportunities for VBP in the oral health environment, and provides considerations for the expansion of VBP focused on oral health. The brief also highlights insights from interviews with stakeholders across the country.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 300 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 125, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Costs, Measures, Oral health, Performance measurement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report is a review of the Title V Maternal and Child Health (MCH) needs assessments, including selected priority needs and performance measures that states submitted to the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) for two block grant cycles (FY2016-FY2020 and FY2021-FY2025). The analysis conducted by Altarum identified changes in priority needs and assessed the usefulness of measurement strategies used by states.

Contact: Altarum Institute, 3520 Green Court, Suite 300, Ann Arbor, MI 48105, Telephone: (734) 302-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 879-6505 Fax: (734) 302-4991 Web Site: http://www.altarum.org/contact

• Link

Keywords: Measures, Performance measurement, Program evaluation, Standards, State programs

Annotation: This issue brief describes an environmental scan of states and jurisdictions that adopted state performance measures related to newborn screening in their application for a federal Title V Block Grant. Included is an overview of newborn screening long-term follow-up activities documented in the fiscal year 2018 block grant applications entered in the Title V Information System.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: MCH programs, Measures, Neonatal screening, Performance measurement, State Initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit provides state oral health programs with an orientation to performance management as well as resources to further learning and competency related to performance management. The toolkit includes the following sections: Background, Prerequisites to Creating a Performance Management System, Performance Management Models, Performance Management Elements, and Creating and Supporting a Performance Management System. Each section provides an overview of the topic with definitions, guides, questions for reflection, and additional resources. The toolkit provides examples from state public health agencies, including state oral health programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau[

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Oral health, Performance measurement, Program management, Resources for professionals, State programs

Annotation: This glossary organizes a selection of key terms and definitions related to improvement research and networked communities. The terms are grouped together according to the following topics: networked improvement communities, improvement science and quality improvement, standard work and processes, systems, driver diagrams and working theories of practice improvement, doing improvement research, measurement, and evidence for improvement. In some cases the terms have been modified slightly for the education context.

Contact: Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, 51 Vista Lane, Stanford, CA 94305, Telephone: (650) 566-5100 Fax: (650) 326-0278 Web Site: http://www.carnegiefoundation.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Education, Networking, Outcome and process assessment, Performance measurement, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Research, Systems development, Teaching

Annotation: This book documents the development of standardized outcomes for the evaluation of nursing care. Part One provides background information for the standardized outcomes, describes outcome development in health care with an emphasis on nursing, and describes the need for a standardized outcome language. It also describes the research process used to develop the outcomes and the testing and implementation of the outcomes. Part Two describes each outcome, providing a label name, a definition, a set of indicators, a Likert-type measurement scale, and selected references.

Keywords: Classification, Diagnosis, Nursing, Nursing services, Outcome evaluation, Performance measurement, Systems development