Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual provides information about school-linked oral health programs (programs that identify children who need oral health care and then coordinate care with a health professional in the community) for local oral health agencies in California. The manual offers background information about the California Dental Disease Prevention Program and presents a school-linked program model. The model covers selecting schools; programs' educational and outreach requirements; planning, including developing referral criteria, creating a network of dentists, using a referral-management and collection platform, and establishing performance measures; and developing protocols. Also discussed are referral management and care coordination and evaluation.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: California, Care coordination, Community coordination, Community programs, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Program evaluation, Referrals, School dentistry, School health, State programs

Annotation: This best practice guide from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry contains recommendations for oral health care for children and youth by age group (six to twelve months, twelve to twenty-four months, two to six years, six to twelve years, and twelve years and older). Information was gathered via database and hand searches, as well as recommendations based upon expert and/or consensus opinion by experienced researchers and clinicians. [This document was developed by the Clinical Affairs Committee, adopted in 1991, and last revised by the Council on Clinical Affairs in 2018.]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

• PDF

Keywords: Guidelines, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: This textbook for clinicians, residents, students, and allied health professionals provides information and themes pertinent to dentistry for children at all ages. Contents include information about oral care from conception to age 3, ages 3–6, 6–12, and adolescence. Topics include the responsibilities of non-oral-health professionals related to infant oral health, the effect of oral disease on children, dental sealants, advances in tissue engineering, and the importance of assisting the pediatric patient to transition to an adult dental home. Citations from health literature and policies and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and American Academy of Pediatrics are included. The book includes an expert consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.

Contact: Elsevier Saunders, 3251 Riverport Lane, St. Louis, MO 63043, Telephone: (800) 545-2522 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com Document Number: ISBN 978-0-323-08546-5.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Age factors, Age groups, Child development, Child health, Children, Dental care, Evidence based medicine, Infant health, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Textbooks

Annotation: This toolkit for pediatric dentists offers guidance on providing care to children enrolled in Medicaid within a practice setting. Topics include understanding Medicaid, Medicaid coverage for dental services, why dentists should consider participating in Medicaid, and how to become a Medicaid provider. Additional topics include how to prepare a pediatric dental team to work with the Medicaid system, how to schedule clients, how to find training opportunities for team members, how to administer Medicaid, and how to locate resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This resource comprises definitions, policies, and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. New, revised, and reaffirmed policies and guidelines address topics such as medically necessary care, work force issues and delivery of oral health services in a dental home, use of fluoride, use of dental bleaching, infection control, caries-risk assessment and management, restorative dentistry, oral surgery, and informed consent.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Guidelines, Health policy, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Perinatal health, Professional societies

Annotation: This report presents findings from a systematic review and recommendations to address clinical questions related to the effect of pit-and-fissure sealants on preventing and arresting dental caries in children and adolescents. Additional topics include the efficacy of dental sealants compared with fluoride varnishes and the relative merit of head-to-head comparisons of the different types of sealant material used on pits and fissures of occlusal surfaces.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available in libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Guidelines, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Preventive health services, Research

Annotation: This report provides information about validation testing for pediatric oral health performance measures. Topics include tooth mortality and treatment following dental sealant placement. Contents include background, data sources, and key testing findings.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental care, Dental sealants, Dentistry, Health services delivery, Measures, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Pediatric care, Quality assurance, Research design, Research methodology

Annotation: This brief provides background on states’ roles in implementing changes to pediatric dental benefits. The brief also includes recommendations for advocates working to improve children’s oral health.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric dentistry, State initiatives

Annotation: This report presents findings from an environmental scan focusing on pediatric oral health care. Contents include pediatric oral health performance and quality-measure concepts and ratings of these concepts on the basis of their validity, feasibility, and importance; gaps in existing measures; and a starter set of pediatric oral health performance measures that can be adopted by the profession.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Literature reviews, Measures, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Quality assurance

Annotation: This report explores the feasibility of adapting a set of administrative (using claims and eligiblity data) measures for pediatric oral health into e-measures (measures based on standardized electronic formats using data mined from an electronic health records). Topics include preliminary specifications for pediatric oral health measures, data infrastructure and vocabulary standards in dentistry, challenges that need to be overcome to implement standardized e-measures in dentistry, and recommendations.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Health care systems, Measures, Medical records, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Quality assurance, Standards

Annotation: This annual report addresses efforts of the Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry to provide access to quality oral health care for children residing in underserved communities. Topics include investments in service, education, research, development activities, donors, and financing.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aapdfoundation.org/ Available from the website.

• Current Report

Keywords: Children, Foundations, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Underserved communities

Annotation: This paper explores environmental forces relevant to adopting and implementing the dental home for children. Topics include the advent of "social medicine"; early childhood caries risk and disease management; oral health and oral health care disparities; perceived need for oral health services and barriers to dental home utilization; dentistry as a profession; and dental-system capacity for children, including those with special health care needs. Additional items include program and cost implications and logic models. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Service delivery systems, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings from an assessment of the appropriateness of Medicaid payments for pediatric dental services. The authors examined a stratified random sample of Medicaid pediatric dental services in five states during 2003 to determine whether the services met requirements for proper documentation, billing, and medical necessity. Contents include an executive summary, which presents the objective and background and a summary of the findings, recommendations, comments from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and a response from the Office of the Inspector General.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: OEI-04-04-00210.

• PDF

Keywords: Auditing, Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Reimbursement, Utilization review

Annotation: This document describes the hearing held before the House of Representatives Subcommittee on May 2, 2007 to focus on the adequacy of oversight of pediatric dental care and Medicaid as brought to national attention in the circumstances that led to the death of Deamonte Driver, a 12 year old Medicaid eligible boy in Maryland who died of a brain infection caused by untreated tooth decay. Contents include statements of testimony and letters and other statements submitted for the record before the Subcommittee.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Congressional hearings, Dental caries, EPSDT, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: This guide serves as a resource for information on clinical practice, evolving technologies, and recommendations in oral health care. Part 1 focuses on dental caries in children, including prevalence, risk, severity, unmet treatment needs, and consequences of unmet needs. Part 2 provides an overview of contemporary pediatric oral health care, including the emphasis on early initiation of oral health care, successful models for achieving oral health, recommended periodicity of services, and behavior management. Part 3 discusses policy and program considerations such as early and periodic screening, diagnostic and treatment (EPSDT) services, required oral health services, critical clinical elements of oral health services, program administration, and performance monitoring and accountability. Appendix A provides background on common oral diseases, conditions, and treatments; oral diseases in children with special health care needs; behavioral management; periodicity schedules; and radiographic guidelines. Appendix B includes the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry model dental benefits statement and list of procedures.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Health care financing, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Annotation: This report proposes a new approach to policy for state financing of oral health care for the 20 million children who lack access to preventive and reparative services. It explores the opportunity that the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP) presents to legislators and state policymakers to develop effective new pediatric oral health programs, reform ineffective pediatric dental Medicaid programs, and maximize the impact of public health approaches to improve the oral health of children who suffer the most oral disease.

Contact: Milbank Memorial Fund, 645 Madison Avenue, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10022-1095, Telephone: (212) 355-8400 Fax: (212) 355-8599 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.milbank.org Document Number: ISBN 1-887748-28-8.

Keywords: Children, Dental insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Reports, State Children', State health insurance programs, State legislatures, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This document explains the Maternal and Child Health Center for Leadership in Pediatric Dentistry Education grant application process. It includes Bureau directives, lists specific requirements and program elements for maternal and child health leadership in pediatric dentistry education, and explains the application process. Appendices include additional instructions and guidelines. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Applications, Child health, Federal grants, Leadership, MCH training programs, Manuals, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Annotation: The testimony in this document provides advice to the subcommittee on the best way to formulate the Year 2000 health objectives on pediatric oral health. A list of six oral health objectives recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics is provided along with additional statements about the Year 2000 health objectives for the nation made on March 10, 1988. Appendices include an early childhood caries fact sheet and three reports/modules related to health professionals' role in pediatric oral health care.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health objectives, Healthy People 2000, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Young children