Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This e-resource highlights some key moments in pediatric, adolescent, and maternal AIDS research to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the first reported cases of AIDS. Events are divided into the following time periods: 1981–1985, 1986–1990, 1991–1995, 1996–2000, 2001–2005, and 2006–2011. For each event described, links to additional information are provided.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Financing, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Programs, Public policy, Research, Resource materials, Screening, Statistical data, Treatment, Trends, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy. The fact sheet offers background information and answers questions about HIV and AIDS during pregnancy, included who should be tested, what types of treatment are available, symptoms of AIDS in infants, and steps women can take to remain uninfected. References are included.

Contact: March of Dimes, 1275 Mamaroneck Avenue, White Plains, NY 10605, Telephone: (914) 997-4488 Secondary Telephone: Web Site: http://www.marchofdimes.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Treatment

Annotation: This report assesses the responses of seven health care provider sites to the findings by a pediatric AIDS trial clinic that the drug zidovudine (ZDV), also known as AZT, can reduce perinatal transmission of HIV by as much as two thirds when administered to women during pregnancy and delivery to infants for six weeks after birth. It identifies the range of strategies and activities undertaken and also sheds lights on contextual factors that affected the responses and addresses their implications.

Contact: HathiTrust Digital Library, University of Michigan, Telephone: (734) 764-8016 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.hathitrust.org/digital_library Available from Hathitrust via participating libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ097.

• Link

Keywords: Assessment, Demographics, Evaluation, High risk pregnancy, Infant health promotion, Maternal health, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV, Perinatal care, Perinatal health, Public health, Risk prevention, Socioeconomic factors, Zidovudine

Annotation: This report describes a qualitative study conducted from July through December 1995 of youth empowerment positions in HIV/AIDS service delivery models. The study examined the ways 11 Special Projects of National Significance (SPNS) Program grantee organizations have been engaging youth to provide services to other youth, under Title II of the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act of 1990. The projects provided outreach, risk reduction counseling, HIV counseling and testing, medical care, case management, and/or support services. A phone survey instrument is included.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Health Resources Development , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-9481 Available at no charge. Limited number of copies available..

Keywords: Adolescents, Federal programs, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Peer counseling, Peer education, Program evaluation

Annotation: This paper recounts the process used at the Brooklyn Pediatric AIDS Network in adapting the principles of case management to the services the network provides to children and adolescents at risk for HIV and AIDS and their families. The paper reviews the six-step case management process: 1) identification and intake, 2) assessing the child's and caretaker's needs, 3) developing the service plan, 4) implementing the service plan, 5) linkage of clients and resources, and 6) monitoring services and reassessment. The paper also considers termination and transition out of the process and defines various levels of case management. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescents, Case management, Children, Community based services, Family centered services, Health services, Manuals, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV, Social services

Annotation: This report describes a joint project between the American Academy of Pediatrics and the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development to design, implement, and evaluate a continuing medical education (CME) course. The course would facilitate interactions between pediatricians and their patients and families on issues relating to AIDS and sexuality. The report summarizes steps in course design including conducting a needs assessment, developing goals and objectives to guide the course, using an experimental research design to examine the effectiveness of the course, and evaluating the final course. The report includes a discussion of the process and recommendations for future CME courses and future research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Price unknown.

Keywords: AIDS, Continuing education, Educational programs, Pediatricians, Primary care, Program development, Program evaluation, Sexuality

Annotation: This book provides standards for assessing the quality of care delivered to children and youth who are HIV-positive or who have AIDS, and to their families. Providers, families, and government officials collaborated to produce these standards, which are based upon the standards in "Enhancing Quality." The book is organized into five sections: individualized services received by the child and the family, activities of health professionals in delivering services, responsibilities of health care agencies, the state health department's role in developing policies, and possible contributions of advocacy groups. The book also contains a glossary of commonly used terms. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Contact Phone: (800) 362-0071 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents with special health care needs, Assessment, Children with special health care needs, Families, Family centered services, HIV, Health care delivery, Health policy, Pediatric AIDS, Quality assurance, Standards

Annotation: This resource manual enables Head Start administrators, component coordinators, staff, and other child care professionals to care for children of HIV-affected families. General topics covered are the HIV-infected child, working with families, health care concerns, legal issues, staff and agency management, and community relations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHF097.

Keywords: Child care, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education, HIV, Head Start, Health and safety, Pediatric AIDS, Programs, Special education

Annotation: The Sixth Annual National SPRANS Workshop was held in March, 1992 in New Orleans. This publication provides the proceedings of the three-day workshop, which focused on the role of the consumer in the design, implementation, and evaluation of programs for children with special health needs and their families. In the context of the workshop, consumers include families, children and youth, payers/funders, other care providers, and other organizations and individuals with a connection to SPRANS/Title V programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Drug affected infants, Early intervention, Family centered services, Foster care, Home visiting, Pediatric AIDS, SPRANS, Service coordination, Supplemental Security Income

Annotation: This manual addresses legal issues frequently encountered by health care providers in serving children and their families affected by HIV disease. The following legal topics are examined: the obligation of health care providers to treat persons with HIV; the obligation of health care providers to obtain patient consent for treatment; provider-patient confidentiality; a health care provider's duty to warn persons at risk of HIV infection; provider testing for HIV; clinical trials and research issues; and individual rights, privacy, and entitlements. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: HIV, Legal issues, Patient care management, Patient consent, Pediatric AIDS, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This report, produced by the National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health with support from the National Pediatric HIV Resource Center, provides information on the pediatric HIV/AIDS health care demonstration grants, a program initiated in 1988 by the federal Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The abstracts provide contact information, and describe innovative mechanisms developed to meet the needs of women, infants, children, and youth affected or at risk of HIV infection. Services provided under this initiative must be comprehensive, family-centered, community-based, and coordinated. The projects are listed by state, with project name and federal standard region indexes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• Link

Keywords: Pediatric AIDS, SPRANS

Annotation: "Adolescent Health," a three-volume report from the Congressional Office of Technology Assessment, reviews the physical, emotional, and behavioral health status of American adolescents, identifies risk and protective factors for adolescent health problems, integrates national data to understand the clustering of specific adolescent problems, and evaluates options for the organization of health services available to adolescents including accessibility and financing. This volume addresses crosscutting issues in the delivery of health and related services to adolescents.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Pediatric AIDS, Psychosocial development, School health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: These proceedings present abstracts from the sixth National Pediatric AIDS Conference held February 9–12, 1991 in Washington, D.C. Included are abstracts of program models, oral presentations, breakfast sessions, poster sessions, educational table displays, and video theater presentations. The poster session abstracts are arranged by thematic areas: advocacy, care, financing, prevention, and research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE015.

Keywords: Pediatric AIDS

Annotation: "Adolescent Health," a three-volume report from the congressional Office of Technology Assessment, reviews the physical, emotional, and behavioral health status of American adolescents, identifies risk and protective factors for adolescent health problems, integrates national data to understand the clustering of specific adolescent problems, and evaluates options for the organization of health services available to adolescents including accessibility and financing. This particular volume addresses selected concerns including injuries, chronic physical illness, AIDS and STDs, pregnancy, mental health problems, delinquency, and homelessness. Each chapter gives background on the extent of the specific problem among adolescents 10 to 18 years of age, highlights the effectiveness of selected prevention and treatment interventions, addresses the Federal government's role in problem, and provides conclusions and policy implications.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GPO 052-003-01235-9.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Pediatric AIDS, Psychosocial development, School health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist administrators, caregivers, and other professionals who wish to provide comprehensive health care to children with HIV infection. It provides an overview of HIV infection in children, discusses key components of pediatric HIV/AIDS programs, provides ideas on mobilizing for program organization, and describes ten existing hospital programs for these children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Hospital Association, 600 13th Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 753-5500 Web Site: http://www.childrenshospitals.net Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC066.

Keywords: Pediatric AIDS, Program development

Annotation: This report summarizes the results of a survey by the National Association of Children's Hospitals and Related Institutions and the National Public Health and Hospital Institute on the impact of care for officially reportable cases of children with AIDS in hospitals as compared with all persons with AIDS in similar general hospitals.

Contact: National Public Health and Hospital Institute, 1301 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Suite 950, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 585-0135 Fax: (202) 585-0101 Web Site: http://www.naph.org/nphhi.cfm?CFID=3225787&CFTOKEN=16150052 Price unknown.

Keywords: Child health, Children, Communicable diseases, Hospitals, Pediatric AIDS

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC074.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS

Annotation: This booklet describes the OMCH initiatives for pediatric AIDS. These initiatives are integrated into a coordinated care system that is family centered, community based, and culturally sensitive. The history of pediatric AIDS activities is discussed and the goals of the Pediatric AIDS Campaign launched by the Association for the Care of Children's Health are presented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHC064.

• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Child health, HIV, Pediatric AIDS

Annotation: This document addresses how HIV infection is different in children and adults; health and social services that are needed by children with HIV infection; and services provided by selected cities and federal programs to address these needs.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/HRD-89-96.

• PDF

Keywords: HIV, Health services, Pediatric AIDS