Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals comprises six modules that provide an overview of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and its implications for MCH populations, ways that individuals can access health care coverage, and an explanation of covered services. Topics include the history of and initial challenges to the ACA, key provisions of the ACA, a glossary of key insurance concepts, provisions of the Patient's Bill of Rights, pathways to coverage for MCH populations, health insurance marketplaces, and benefits. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on national and state efforts to secure comprehensive confidentiality protections for young adults insured as dependents. Topics include Affordable Care Act provisions related to young adults, insurance communications that may compromise young adults' confidentiality and negatively impact their health, young adults' need for confidentiality as recognized by law and state law approaches to securing confidentiality in dependent coverage. Recommendations are included.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communication, Confidentiality, Health care reform, Health insurance, Medical records, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Sexual health, Transition planning, Transition to independent living, Young adults

Annotation: This policy brief argues that young people deserve the right to access the full range of reproductive and sexual health services they need, including abortion care. The brief explains why young women are at a higher risk for negative outcomes when parental involvement in abortion is state-mandated, and why medical experts oppose parental consent and notification laws. Included are statistics on the states that requirement parental involvement in minors' abortions and under what circumstances exceptions might be made (for example, for victims of sexual assault, incest, or neglect). The brief also explains that although judicial bypass is technically available in most states that mandate parental involvement, many minors either don't know it exists or don't have access to it.

Contact: Advocates for Youth, 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 750, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 419-3420 Fax: (202) 419-1448 Web Site: http://www.advocatesforyouth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescents, Patient rights, Reproductive rights, State legislation

Annotation: This booklet for pregnant women presents questions and answers on cesarean section (c-section). Questions include Which is safer, vaginal birth or c-section? What are the possible benefits and harms of vaginal birth and c-section? What is it like to have a c-section? If my doctor or midwife suggests a c-section, how should I decide if it is right for me? Is it possible to safely prevent a c-section? and What happens if I need a c-section?

Contact: National Partnership for Women and Families, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childbirthconnection.org

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Informed consent, Patient rights, Pregnant women, Research, Safety, Vaginal birth

Annotation: This document covers definitions, medical conditions and access to mental health and substance abuse treatment, reproductive health care, emancipation, HUSKY health insurance (Connecticut's Medicaid program), access to medical records, privacy rights, school based health clinics, privileged communications, mandated reporting of child abuse and neglect, statutory rape, advanced directives and living wills, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Connecticut law on bullying, access to benefits for immigrants and refugees, and utility shutoff.

Contact: Center for Children's Advocacy, Medical Legal Partnership Project, 65 Elizabeth Street, Hartford, CT 06105, Web Site: http://www.kidscounsel.org/our-work/aboutus_programs_mlpp/ Order from the website for a charge.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children', Connecticut, Medicine, Patient rights, Reproductive health, State legislation, s rights

Annotation: This document comprises a chart offering citations to, and a short description of, each state's laws regarding services to limited English proficiency persons in health care settings. The chart updates and replaces the list of state laws first published by the National Health Law Program as part of its language access manual, Ensuring Linguistic Access in Health Care Settings: Legal Rights and Responsibilities. Highlights of activities related to addressing language access in health care settings over the last two years are presented in an introduction to the chart.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care, Legal responsibility, Limited English speakers, Patient rights, State legislation

Annotation: This guide explores laws, regulations, and other authorities that govern the dispensation of prescription medications, with a focus on contraceptives, and provides resources to help advocates find governing and supporting authority to fight against religious, moral, or personal refusals to fill lawful prescriptions. Part one provides an overview of state laws, regulations, policies, and administrative decisions directly addressing pharmacy refusals. Part two discusses other support against refusals in state law and regulation. Part three summarizes other national and state policy statements and guidance, such as those from national organizations. Part four outlines pharmacy policies on refusals, transfers, and stocking. Part five highlights selected cases brought by pharmacists claiming a right to refuse. Conclusions are offered along with extensive references.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Patient rights, Pharmacies, Prescription drugs, Professional ethics, Regulations, Right to refuse treatment, Right to treatment, Treatment refusal

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines issues over refusals of pharmacies to fill prescriptions for contraceptives, particularly emergency contraceptives. Topics include (1) prescription contraception as basic health care for women, (2) increases in refusals to dispense contraception, (3) laws governing the practice of pharmacy, (4) legislative and administrative responses to pharmacist refusals, (5) public opinion, and (6) how to respond to a pharmacist's refusal.

Contact: National Women's Law Center, 11 Dupont Circle. N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 588-5180 Fax: (202) 588-5185 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwlc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraceptives, Emergency contraception, Patient rights, Pharmacies, Prescription drugs, Professional ethics, Right to refuse treatment, Right to treatment

Annotation: This bilingual guide, which is available in English and Spanish, is intended to inform caregivers and families about how to seek help for children with mental health problems. Information is provided on what caregivers and families need to know, ask, expect, and do to get the most out of their experiences with systems of care. The guide discusses finding services, preparing for the first visit, partnering with service providers, and rights and responsibilites. A glossary is included, as well as a list of resources for more information. The end of the guide provides space for notes.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: SMA4054.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education materials, Families, Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Patient rights, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, including background, overview, and how to file a claim. It also provides a table of vaccines, adverse events associated with them, and time periods during which the injury may develop.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Single photocopies available at no charge; also available at no charge from the website (2002 English only).

• 2002 (English)

Keywords: Adverse effects, Federal programs, Immunization, Legal processes, Patient rights, Vaccination effects

Annotation: This book, a health guide for Latinas, addresses issue such as tradition vs. convention, fertility, sexuality, pregnancy, alcoholism, cancer, depression, diabetes, healthy eating, and body image. It is divided into four sections focusing on (1) being a Latina; (2) being female; (3) diseases; and (4) living well. Each chapter concludes a summary and resources section of organizations and publications, Appendices include Latinas who influenced this book; samples of a health journal, visit summary, and chart of basal body temperature; resources on advocacy; and a listing of national health information clearinghouses. An index is provided. The book is published in English and Spanish.

Contact: HarperCollins, 10 East 53rd Street, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 207-7000 Web Site: http://www.harpercollins.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-051196-6.

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Cultural beliefs, Hispanic Americans, Mental health, Patient rights, Reproductive health, Self esteem, Sexuality, Spanish language materials, Women', s health promotion

Annotation: This report summarizes introduced and enacted oral health legislation in the states during 2001 as reported to the Children's Dental Health Project and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) National Oral Health Policy Center. Topics include access to oral health care, provider incentives, patients' rights and quality of care, practice and scope of work, and anesthesia coverage. Additional topics include insurance regulation, research/study, reporting and identifying abuse, appointment of state dental directors, and routine examination/certificate of health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Dental care, Health care insurance, Legislation, Oral health, Patient rights, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Regulation, State initiatives

Annotation: This document presents a statement of public health law competencies developed with support from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, in collaboration with the Public Health Foundation. Most of the information is presented in tabular form and outlines proposed competencies for front line, senior level, supervisory, and management level staffs, as well as health officials and governance boards. Information categories include general public health powers, regulatory authority and administrative law, ascertaining authority and obtaining legal advice, law and public health services and functions, legal actions, legal limitations, and personnel and contracts law.

Contact: Center for Law and the Public's Health at Georgetown and Johns Hopkins Universities, Hampton House, Room 588, 624 North Broadway, Baltimore, MD 21205-1996, Telephone: (410) 955-7624 Secondary Telephone: (202) 662-9408 Fax: (410) 614-9055 E-mail: [email protected]. Web Site: http://www.publichealthlaw.net Available from the website.

• Link
• 2016 Version

Keywords: Competency-based education, Legal issues, Legal responsibility, Patient rights, Personnel, Professional training, Public health, Public health services, Regulations

Annotation: This reader is a compilation of 12 recent articles from the CQ Researcher, a weekly policy brief that brings into focus issues on the public agenda. The collection is organized into three subject areas: (1) illness, treatment and health policy (which includes chapters of Alzheimer's disease, obesity and health, childhood depression, asthma, and vaccine controversies); (2) policy in a managed-care environment (which includes chapters on patients' rights, managing managed care, and medical mistakes; and (3) the future of health policy (which includes chapters on embryo research, humane genome research, the global AIDS crisis, and computers and medicine). Each chapter includes endnotes and a bibliography. The compilation also includes credits and an index.

Contact: C Q Press, 1255 22nd Street, N.W. Suite 400, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: 1-866-4CQ-PRESS (427-7737) Secondary Telephone: (202) 729-1800 Fax: 1-800-380-3810 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cqpress.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-56802-633-1.

Keywords: AIDS, Alzheimer', Asthma, Child health, Computers, Depression, Genomics, Health, Health policy, Immunization, Managed care, Medical errors, Obesity, Patient rights, Research, Treatment, s disease

Annotation: This web site provides a variety of fact sheets, bulletins, and reports on the National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program, which is a federal "no-fault" system designed to compensate those individuals or families of individuals who have been injured by childhood vaccines. The materials explain who is eligible, how to file claims, and a table of vaccines and injuries that apply.

Contact: U.S. Bureau of Health Workforce, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Parklawn Building, Room 8-05, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-5794 Contact Phone: (800) 338-2382 Fax: (301) 443-2111 Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/about/organization/bureaus/bhw/index.html Price unknown.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Federal programs, Immunization, Legal processes, Patient rights, Vaccination effects