Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides four strategies they can adopt to improve patient safety, as well as materials to support adoption. Topics include supporting adoption of teach-back, a technique to ensure health care professionals that they have explained medical information clearly so that patients and their families understand what is communicated to them; helping patients and their families prepare for and become more fully engaged in their medical appointments; engaging with patients and caregivers to create a complete and accurate medical list for addressing medication reconciliation and management issues; and the warm handoff, a transfer of care from one clinician to another, where the handoff occurs in front of the patient and family. Contents include implementation guides, interactive learning modules, posters and handouts, fact sheets, sample processes and procedures, staff checklists, and videos.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Health literacy, Participation, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Role, Safety programs

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This document for young adults ages 18 to 34 contains information on health insurance. Topics include the Affordable Care Act, what's available to young adults, how tax credits work, and what's included in preventive care.

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Tax credits, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about human papillomavirus (HPV). It explains what HPV is, whether oral health and HPV are linked, and how to prevent oral HPV. HPV warning signs are provided, and treatment is discussed. The fact sheet also includes questions about HPV to ask a primary care health professional. The fact sheet is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for consumers explains health insurance terms. Topics include costs such as premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, and out-of-pocket limits; rules about how to get health care; and tips for choosing a health insurance plan. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help families raise awareness about the Well-Visit Planner™, a tool to help parents of children ages four months to 6 years learn about and plan for their child's next preventive care visit. Contents include handouts in English and Spanish, sample articles, videos, presentations, social media content, and web buttons. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Families, Mass media, Patient care planning, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find resources about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and learn more about the ACA and how it will affect them. The brief includes resources to help families learn more about their health coverage options under the ACA and find health insurance and health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Directories, Families, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This guide for families uses frequently asked questions to explain the children’s dental benefit (a provision of the Affordable Care Act) and how it works. Topics include guidance on buying coverage through a state marketplace, eligibility, covered services, the difference between dental coverage sold separately vs. as part of a medical plan, premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, out-of-pocket limits, and consumer protections. Information on financial assistance, coverage requirements, and buying coverage for adults is also included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Consumer protection, Costs, Dental insurance, Eligibility determination, Families, Financing, Health care reform, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge

Annotation: This series of fact sheets help clinicians, patient advocates, and other stakeholders improve care for individuals with low health literacy. The fact sheets define health literacy; describe ways to identify low health literacy; provide strategies to improve print and oral communication for low-literate consumers; provide information about the intersection of health literacy and culture; and highlight key policies relating to health literacy.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

• 6 Fact Sheets In 1 File
• Link

Keywords: Consumer educatio, Cultural factors, Health behavior, Health literacy, Health services delivery, Literacy education, Low literacy, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These resources feature pictures and speakers’ notes to help pediatricians counsel clients about oral health and fluoride varnish. The resources include a flip chart and a reference guide in English and Spanish, as well as a presentation. Topics include primary teeth, early childhood caries, feeding, nonnutritive sucking, fluoride modalities, toothbrushing, and flossing. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Children's Oral Health Initiative, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (866) 843-2271 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Oral-Health/Pages/Oral-Health.aspx $54.95, nonmembers; $43.95 for members; plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-824-8.

Keywords: Child health, Dental hygiene, Early childhood caries, Educational materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Parent education, Patient education, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This book provides a framework for implementing a plain language approach to communication between health care staff and patients in the office. Part one explores limited health literacy, including the scope of the problem, how it affects children in particular, and how health care providers can address and overcome health literacy issues with patients and their caregivers. Part two of the book provides a series of 25 reproducible patient education handouts in both English and Spanish. Sample topics of handouts include asthma, bronchiolitis, fever, influenza, oral health, smoking, and temper tantrums. Provided with the handouts are techniques and professional guidance for health care providers to incorporate plain language about each topic into their daily practice.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $54.95 for non-members, $49.95 for members, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-265-9.

Keywords: Communication skills, Health literacy, Language barriers, Literacy education, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: These program materials are designed for use in providing on-site training to health professionals in promoting maternal oral health and preventing early childhood caries. Topics include conducting oral health risk assessments to identify individuals in need of preventive or restorative oral health services, making referrals, educating pregnant adolescents on the importance of good oral health, linking maternal oral health to birth outcomes, and applying fluoride varnish, if indicated. Contents include a letter to health professionals; background information on early-childhood-caries prevention in health systems; outcome objectives; presentation slides; risk assessment, anticipatory guidance, and fluoride varnish manuals; sample oral-health-education materials; a list of resources; and selected articles. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Division of Health Care Access and Accountability, One West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Web Site: https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/dhcaa/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Fluorides, Health promotion, Infants, Maternal health, Oral health, Patient education materials, Pregnant adolescents, Resources for professionals, Training materials, Wisconsin

Annotation: This fact sheet answers questions about how x-ray procedures may affect a woman's pregnancy and the developing child. It explains how the lead drape can be used to protect the baby from radiation during the procedure and offers possible alternatives to x-rays.

Contact: Wisconsin Association for Perinatal Care, McConnell Hall, 1010 Mound Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 417-6060 Fax: 608/267-6089 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.perinatalweb.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fetus, Injury prevention, Patient education materials, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Annotation: This manual provides health care professionals with information, work sheets, and forms needed to develop and evaluate resources for patient and family education. It includes ways to make print material easier to read, a list of simple words for medical jargon and information on using readability formulas and using written materials effectively in patient teaching.

Contact: Children's Hospital and Regional Medical Center, 4800 Sand Point Way, N.E., P.O. Box 5371, Seattle, WA 98105, Telephone: (206) 987-2000 Secondary Telephone: (206) 987-2280 Contact Phone: (206) 527-5731, ext. 2 Contact Fax: (206) 527-5705 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.seattlechildrens.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Families, Low literacy materials, Patient education materials, Writing

Annotation: This Web site provides information in a variety of Asian languages to increase electronic access to health information for consumers and health care providers of the South Cove Community Health Center and its affiliates by developing a web site to meet the information needs of the South Cove community; (2) provide consumer information in the languages of the community served, specifically Chinese, Cambodian, Vietnamese, and Laotian; and (3) teach health care providers to use the wide variety of Internet resources available to them and their patients including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources. Additional languages include Hmong, Korean, and Thai. Information for over 30 different health topics is provided.

Contact: Tufts University, Hirsh Health Sciences Library, 145 Harrison Avenue, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 636-6705 Fax: (617) 636-4039 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.library.tufts.edu/hsl/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Asians, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Resource materials

Annotation: This bilingual guide, which is available in English and Spanish, is intended to inform caregivers and families about how to seek help for children with mental health problems. Information is provided on what caregivers and families need to know, ask, expect, and do to get the most out of their experiences with systems of care. The guide discusses finding services, preparing for the first visit, partnering with service providers, and rights and responsibilites. A glossary is included, as well as a list of resources for more information. The end of the guide provides space for notes.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://store.samhsa.gov/ Available from the website. Document Number: SMA4054.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Consumer education materials, Families, Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Patient rights, Spanish language materials