Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This project provided comprehensive services (including early diagnosis, continuity of treatment, and case management by an interdisciplinary team) to juveniles with connective tissues diseases. Activities included providing services in forty-eight counties in Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, and West Virginia; collecting clinical, treatment, and demographic data on all patients; and developing regional networks of health professionals. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-161883.

Keywords: Adolescents, Appalachians, Chronically Ill, Connective Tissue Diseases, Data Collection, Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis, Patient Education, Rehabilitation, Rheumatic Diseases, Systemic Lupus Erythematosus

Annotation: The project objectives were to: (1) Develop community capability to increase breastfeeding incidence and duration through education and advocacy, specifically through Breastfeeding Action Teams composed of Title V and other health professionals; (2) incorporate breastfeeding promotion and lactation management into curriculums of student/resident health professionals; and (3) establish a clearinghouse of breastfeeding resources at the Best Beginnings Program at Kansas University Medical Center, to be available to health care providers statewide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121842.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding Promotion, Curricula, Health Promotion, Information Services, Information Sources, Patient Education

Annotation: This project sought to reduce infant morbidity and mortality due to low birthweight, and to demonstrate a cost-effective prenatal care program which was integrated into the existing system and can be duplicated in other states. Project objectives included: reducing the incidence of low birthweight newborns in the project; reducing the incidence of women who engage in high-risk behaviors during their pregnancy; instituting a model prenatal education, counseling, referral, and followup program in physicians' offices and other sites; and enhancing the education and counseling skills of prenatal care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103258.

Keywords: Counseling, Education of Health Professionals, Education of Patients, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Referrals

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork

Annotation: This brief and evidence review summarize the literature on evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies to promote the safety and effectiveness of receiving oral health care during pregnancy. They provide background information on oral health during pregnancy, discuss key research methods and results, and present key findings and implications. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to decrease the proportion of cesarean deliveries among low-risk first-time mothers. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: , Block grants, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Childbirth education, Doulas, Evidence-based practice, Intervention, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Patient care, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Therapeutics, Title V programs

Annotation: This guide for primary care health professionals provides four strategies they can adopt to improve patient safety, as well as materials to support adoption. Topics include supporting adoption of teach-back, a technique to ensure health care professionals that they have explained medical information clearly so that patients and their families understand what is communicated to them; helping patients and their families prepare for and become more fully engaged in their medical appointments; engaging with patients and caregivers to create a complete and accurate medical list for addressing medication reconciliation and management issues; and the warm handoff, a transfer of care from one clinician to another, where the handoff occurs in front of the patient and family. Contents include implementation guides, interactive learning modules, posters and handouts, fact sheets, sample processes and procedures, staff checklists, and videos.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Family centered care, Health literacy, Participation, Patient care, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Primary care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Role, Safety programs

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to promote health equity in the community. Topics include education programs and policies, culturally competent health care, and housing programs and policies. Presentation and promotional materials are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Low income groups, After school programs, Child development centers, Community based programs, Community development, Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Culturally competent services, Education, Educational attainment, Equal opportunities, Financial support, Health care delivery, Health education, Health promotion, Housing, Kindergarten, Patient education materials, Public policy, Recruitment, Research, Retention, School based clinics, Training, Translation, Work force

Annotation: This flip book for health professionals to share with parents covers the basics of good oral health in infants and young children. Each page is double-sided and designed as a teaching tool. The patient-facing pages feature simple text (in English and in Spanish) and pictures and illustrations to educate families. On the back of the intended to complement the materials that home visitors use with families and can be incorporated into topics that home visitors address with families. Topics include the importance of primary teeth, brushing and flossing, eating healthy foods, drinking water, and visiting the dentist. Setting and reaching oral health goals and addressing oral health problems or emergencies are also discussed.

Contact: TeethFirst!, Rhode Island KIDS COUNT, One Union Station, Providence, RI 02903, Telephone: (401) 351-9400 Fax: (401) 351-1758 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.teethfirstri.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Family centered care, Health education, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Patient education materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This webinar, held on September 27, 2016, discussed ways to connect women to oral health coverage and care during pregnancy. Topics included dental insurance options, such as coverage through Medicaid; strategies to integrate oral screenings and referrals into prenatal care; and efforts to educate pregnant women about the importance of oral health care and connect them to services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental insurance, Health care reform: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Health education, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This document for young adults ages 18 to 34 contains information on health insurance. Topics include the Affordable Care Act, what's available to young adults, how tax credits work, and what's included in preventive care.

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Tax credits, Young adults

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about human papillomavirus (HPV). It explains what HPV is, whether oral health and HPV are linked, and how to prevent oral HPV. HPV warning signs are provided, and treatment is discussed. The fact sheet also includes questions about HPV to ask a primary care health professional. The fact sheet is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brochure for consumers explains health insurance terms. Topics include costs such as premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, and out-of-pocket limits; rules about how to get health care; and tips for choosing a health insurance plan. The brochure is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide accompanies an online course designed to integrate the theory, research literature, and evidence-supported practices that promote optimal population health outcomes in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include course objectives and a description of the course structure, an historical overview of MCH and Title V, and eight modules. Topics include the Affordable Care Act and health reform, access to care, implementing interventions to improve population health outcomes, change management, quality in public health, understanding systems, system performance, and synthesis. An example course schedule, participant baseline and final assessments, final project, and bibliography are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Curricula, Distance education, Health care reform, Information systems, MCH programs, MCH services, MCH training, Management, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional education, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Title V

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to help families raise awareness about the Well-Visit Planner™, a tool to help parents of children ages four months to 6 years learn about and plan for their child's next preventive care visit. Contents include handouts in English and Spanish, sample articles, videos, presentations, social media content, and web buttons. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Families, Mass media, Patient care planning, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This brief is designed to help families find resources about the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and learn more about the ACA and how it will affect them. The brief includes resources to help families learn more about their health coverage options under the ACA and find health insurance and health care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Directories, Families, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This guide for families uses frequently asked questions to explain the children’s dental benefit (a provision of the Affordable Care Act) and how it works. Topics include guidance on buying coverage through a state marketplace, eligibility, covered services, the difference between dental coverage sold separately vs. as part of a medical plan, premiums, deductibles, copayments, co-insurance, out-of-pocket limits, and consumer protections. Information on financial assistance, coverage requirements, and buying coverage for adults is also included.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Consumer protection, Costs, Dental insurance, Eligibility determination, Families, Financing, Health care reform, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge