Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document provides guidance for nurses and parents preparing for an infant's discharge from the neonatal intensive care unit. Contents include information and references for nurses and modifiable documents that can be printed and handed to parents following discussion about their infant's condition. The parent-focused content is available in English and Spanish. Topics include common issues and diagnoses that parents may encounter while their infant is in the NICU, questions to ask their infant's health professional, and after-discharge tips.

Contact: National Association of Neonatal Nurses, 4700 West Lake Ave., Glenview, IL 60025, Telephone: (800) 451-3795 Secondary Telephone: (847) 375-3660 Fax: (888) 477-6266 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nann.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Infants, Neonatal intensive care units, Nursing, Parent education, Patient discharge

Annotation: This toolkit includes resources for hospitals to improve safety when newborns transition home from their neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) by creating a Health Coach Program, tools for coaches, and information for parents and families of newborns who have spent time in the NICU. Contents include a resource toolkit, family information packets, clinical materials to share with primary care providers, a NICU needs assessment, and a followup telephone survey.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant health, Neonatal intensive care units, Newborn infants, Parent education, Parent support services, Patient discharge

Annotation: This electronic toolkit has been developed to assist healthcare providers in the transition of the premature infant from hospital to outpatient care, to facilitate the accurate transfer of patient information, and to help provide evidence‐based practical measures for consideration in the care of the premature infant The toolkit provides age‐specific information, highlighting what is unique for the premature infant from birth to 12 months (corrected for age). Sections include discharge planning, outpatient follow‐up care, parent/caregiver, and tools. Policy statements on hospital discharge from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), anticipatory guidance, Bright Futures well-child guidance and screening tables, and listings of specific medical issues complicating outcomes or premature infants and the role of role of primary physicians are included in the online interactive toolkit.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Hospital services, Infant care, Neonatal intensive care, Outpatient services, Patient discharge, Premature infants, Prematurity, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This final report describes the Life Around Newborn Discharge (LAND) study designed to examine mothers', pediatricians', and obstetricians' judgments of readiness for postpartum discharge. It identifies the components of practitioner judgment or family readiness for discharge and then relates these judgments to health care utilization, health-related behaviors, and infant and maternal health status during the first month of the infant's life. Report contents include sections on the nature, purpose, scope, and methods of the study; a review of the literature; a description of the study design and methods; and the presentation and discussion of findings, including limitations/distortion, application to healthcare delivery, and future research. The report also contains a list of products, references, and tables of statistics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Final reports, Infant health, MCH research, Neonatal screening, Newborn infants, Patient discharge, Postpartum women, Puerperium

Annotation: This report represents the proceedings of a scientific summit whose purpose was to summarize the state of the art research on early discharge of mothers and infants from the hospitals after the infant's birth and to identify evidence-based and outcomes-focused steps to strengthen America's families. The summit was divided into three panels (maternal, infant, and family) and the report reviews what issues were discussed in each. A review of the current scientific literature is provided as are ethical and legislative perspectives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHJ108.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health services, Community based services, Evidence based medicine, Family centered services, Home visiting, Length of stay, Managed care, Maternal health services, Neonatal care, Newborn infants, Patient discharge, Pediatric care, Postpartum care, Postpartum care, Pregnancy

Annotation: This information packet contains material from a June 6–7, 1996, conference held in Washington, D.C., including a participants' list. Other information includes: several articles from various sources concerning the current practice of rapid discharge of mothers and newborns from the hospital; a listing of states and the schedule of pending legislation on the issue of early discharge; and a brief summary of the laws in five states covering discharge of mothers and newborns.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care costs, Length of stay, Newborn infants, Patient discharge, Postpartum care

Annotation: These proceedings of a March 31–April 1, 1995, conference held in Washington, D.C., address the problems encountered by newborn screening programs when specimens must be taken early in an infant's life because of early hospital discharge policies due to the demands of managed care. Papers discuss the current situation in newborn screening, concerns with specific diseases, and potential strategies. Diseases discussed are PKU, sickle cell disease, homocystinuria, maple syrup urine disease, congenital hypothyroidism, congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and galactosemia. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Length of stay, Metabolic diseases, Neonatal screening, Patient discharge

Annotation: This manual provides resource materials to help health care providers plan for the discharge of a pediatric patient from the hospital to home in Alaska. It provides an introduction to discharge planning; a special care nursery discharge planning tool; directories of health centers and community health aides in Alaska; parent handbooks on tracheostomy and home phototherapy; background materials on discharge planning; additional directories of health care providers in Alaska; and a glossary. Inserts include a family resource guide and a booklet illustrating signs for messages to and from deaf people (sign language). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Alaska, Children, Manuals, Patient discharge, Planning, Training