Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

Annotation: This guide for personnel involved in the care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates in community programs, hospitals, and medical centers provides information on obstetric and neonatal care. Topics include the organization of perinatal health care, inpatient perinatal care services, quality improvement and patient safety, maternal and neonatal interhospital transfer, preconception and antepartum care, intrapartum and postpartum care, obstetric and medical complications, care of the newborn, neonatal complications and management of high-risk infants, perinatal infections, and infection control. The guide is a companion document to Guidelines for Women's Health Care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Patient care management, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive services, counseling, restorative and emergency care, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. There are separate forms for children, pregnant women, and both, plus a sample provider letter.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety

Annotation: This report presents findings on the evidence base for different types of genetic tests for patient management and provides recommendations to advance the development of an adequate evidence base for genetic tests to improve patient care and treatment. Contents include information about the uses of genetic testing; ethical, legal, and social implications; assessment of genetic tests; evidence; and recommendations for research and a framework for decision making related to the use of genetic tests in clinical care.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Decision making, Disease management, Evaluation methods, Genetic screening, Models, Outcome and process assessment, Patient care, Policy development, Research, Screening tests

Annotation: This brief examines to what extent accountable care organizations (ACOs) offer oral health care, ACOs' motivations for including or excluding oral health care, the types of oral health services ACOs choose to offer, and the client populations served by ACOs that offer oral health care. The brief also discusses the findings' potential policy implications.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Children, Dental care, Health services delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Patient care management, Policy development, Primary care, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Service coordination, Service integration

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about human papillomavirus (HPV). It explains what HPV is, whether oral health and HPV are linked, and how to prevent oral HPV. HPV warning signs are provided, and treatment is discussed. The fact sheet also includes questions about HPV to ask a primary care health professional. The fact sheet is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet describes the Enhancing Care for Children with Asthma Project, a partnership to improve health outcomes for children with asthma by supporting the implementation of nationally recognized asthma-care guidelines at physician offices, federally qualified community health centers, school-based clinics, and other primary care clinics. Topics include establishing collective focus, using data, reaching providers, and gauging opportunities to improve pediatric asthma management in states.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asthma, Children, Disease management, Guidelines, Outreach, Patient care management, Primary care facilities, Program improvement, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This report presents case study findings on successes and challenges related to incorporating oral health care into accountable care organizations (ACOs) in Iowa, Minnesota, Oregon, and Southwest Washington. Each case study provides the ACO’s background and market overview and describes payment arrangements and risk-sharing, care coordination, provision of oral health care, challenges to oral health care provision, and results.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Accountability, Case studies, Children, Coordination, Dental care, Health services delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This guide accompanies an online course designed to integrate the theory, research literature, and evidence-supported practices that promote optimal population health outcomes in maternal and child health (MCH). Contents include course objectives and a description of the course structure, an historical overview of MCH and Title V, and eight modules. Topics include the Affordable Care Act and health reform, access to care, implementing interventions to improve population health outcomes, change management, quality in public health, understanding systems, system performance, and synthesis. An example course schedule, participant baseline and final assessments, final project, and bibliography are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Curricula, Distance education, Health care reform, Information systems, MCH programs, MCH services, MCH training, Management, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Professional education, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Systems development, Title V

Annotation: This document provides guidance for caseworkers, foster parents, and other caregivers on supporting children and adolescents who have experienced trauma and are working to improve their mental health. Topics include understanding trauma and behavioral/mental health of youth, understanding different treatment options, seeking help for youth, and monitoring treatment and supporting progress. Tips for using the guide with youth are included.

Contact: U.S. Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families , , 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor , Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Caregivers, Case management, Child mental health, Confidentiality, Decision making, Foster care, Foster children, Health literacy, Mental health services, Patient rights

Annotation: This toolkit provides a step-by-step guide and helpful tools to improve patient experience and increase patient retention and offers simple, actionable advice to make improvements for little or no cost. It provides forms and templates for assessing the patient experience, for improving the clinic's image, and respecting patient privacy, and includes links to training videos.

Contact: John Snow, Inc., 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210-1211, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: (617) 482-0617 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.jsi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Evaluation, Family planning clinics, Manuals, Patient care management

Annotation: This manual for obstetricians, gynecologists, and others provides a digest of clinical information on the delivery of women's health care. Topics include governance and administration, organization of services, well-woman care, and gynecologic care. A topic-specific resource list is included at the end of each section. The manual is a companion volume to Guidelines for Perinatal Care.

Contact: American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 409 12th Street S.W., P.O. Box 96920, Washington, DC 20090-6920, Telephone: (202) 638-5577 Secondary Telephone: (202) 863-2518 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acog.org $79 plus shipping and handling (members); $89 plus shipping and handling (nonmembers). Document Number: ISBN 978-1-934984-37-6.

Keywords: Guidelines, Gynecology, Life course, Maternal health, Patient care management, Resources for professionals, Standards, Women', s health

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 14-0009-2-EF.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Patient care management, Special health care needs

Annotation: This manual is designed to help school districts improve the health services they provide to students. Contents include a school-health-services assessment tool; injury and illness protocols; sample policies and procedures for emergency nursing services, concussion management, managing and preventing acute reactions to foods in the school setting, and medication administration; and nurse procedures. The manual also contains instructions for unlicensed assistive personnel on hand hygiene, oral care, feeding, transfers, and diapering for students who need such care at school.

Contact: Wisconsin Public Health Association, 563 Carter Court, Suite B, Kimberly, WI 54136, Telephone: (920) 882-3650 Contact Phone: (414) 875-7257 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: teresa@badgerbay,co Web Site: http://www.wpha.org Available from the website.

• School Nurse Procedure Manual (mobile Website)
• WISHeS Project Resources

Keywords: Assessment, Disease management, Disease prevention, Mobile applications, Nursing services, Oral health, Patient care management, Patient care planning, Protocols, School based management, School districts, School health services, School nurses, School personnel, Special health care needs, Training

Annotation: This brief describes principles of and case studies on how patient- and family-centered care fit within the dental home. The brief also addresses health information technology and government programs that promote this care model. Finally, policy recommendations for patient- and family-centered care are presented. Topics include respect and cultural competence, integration and coordination of care, communication and information sharing, quality of care, and whole-person and comprehensive care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Dental care, Family centered care, Health services delivery, Oral health, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about the science of sports-related concussion in children and adolescents. Topics include an overview of normal brain development; considerations pertaining to the recognition, diagnosis, and acute management of concussions; treatment and management of individuals with concussion symptoms that persist beyond the typical 1- to 2-week recovery period; issues surrounding repetitive head impacts that do not produce the signs and symptoms of a concussion, as well as multiple concussions; interventions that may reduce the risk of sports-related concussions; and legislation directed toward concussion education and athlete protection. A brief is also available.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website; print copy and ebook available for a charge from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29637-3.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Brain injuries, Children, Legislation, Patient care management, Research, Risk management, Sports injuries

Annotation: This report addresses the use of general anesthesia (GA) in providing medically necessary care for children. Topics include a description of GA and how the use of GA for dental restorations can improve a child’s quality of life, access to care, health behaviors, and health outcomes. Additional topics include cost considerations of GA, a rationale and justification for reimbursement of GA and related facility fee costs in benchmark medical plans, and policy implications.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aapd.org/research/policy-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Anesthesia, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Patient care management, Young children