Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper is a report of a marathon encounter group studying physician patient relations and its implications for a philosophy of care. Both health personnel and patients were participants. This paper will include the background and philosophy of the marathon, the theoretical assumptions, methodology, findings from the marathon, suggestions for future marathon projects, suggestions for future evaluations of marathons, and implications for interdisciplinary attempts at comprehensive care in in low-income areas. This is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: .Comprehensive health care, Adolescent health programs, Child health programs, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Physician patient relations, Title V programs

Annotation: This project sought to reduce infant morbidity and mortality due to low birthweight, and to demonstrate a cost-effective prenatal care program which was integrated into the existing system and can be duplicated in other states. Project objectives included: reducing the incidence of low birthweight newborns in the project; reducing the incidence of women who engage in high-risk behaviors during their pregnancy; instituting a model prenatal education, counseling, referral, and followup program in physicians' offices and other sites; and enhancing the education and counseling skills of prenatal care providers. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB92-103258.

Keywords: Counseling, Education of Health Professionals, Education of Patients, High risk pregnancy, Infant Morbidity, Infant Mortality, Low Birthweight, Pregnant Women, Prenatal Care, Referrals

Annotation: This guide is meant to serve as a resource for school nurses and other school personnel to alert them to the signs and symptoms of complications of the sickle cell diseases and to educate them about what to do if they encounter a child with such signs and symptoms. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) introduction, (2) what is sickle cell disease?, (3) warning signs, (4) what is sickle cell trait? (5) complications related to sickle cell disease, (6) medical management, (7) psychosocial issues, (8) the teacher, and (9) the social workers. The guide also includes the following appendices: (1) glossary, (2) bibliography, (3) New Jersey sickle cell/hemoglobinopathies treatment centers, and (4) New Jersey genetic centers for testing and family counseling.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Genetic services, New Jersey, Patient care management, Psychosocial factors, School health services, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait, Social workers, Teachers

Annotation: This guide, intended primarily for parents of children with sickle cell disease, includes information on how to manage this disease. The guide is divided into the following sections: (1) acknowledgements, (2) dedication, (3) how to use this guide, (4) introduction, (5) emergency telephone numbers, (6) warning signs, (7) common questions, (8) medical care, (9) new approaches to treatment, (10) daily living, (11) medical words, (12) sickle cell disease on the Internet, (13) sickle cell treatment centers, (14) directory of sickle cell treatment centers in New Jersey, and (15) directory of genetic counseling centers in New Jersey.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Genetic counseling, Internet, Medical terminology, New Jersey, Patient care management, Patient education materials, Sickle cell disease, Therapeutics

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This resource provides a geographic representation of child health in the United States. Contents include national and state-specific data on pediatric health care delivery at the Primary Care Service Area level. A range of maps is available including the number of children under age 18 per pediatrician, the number of children in linguistically-isolated households, median household income, the number of pediatric residents and fellows, and estimated vaccine coverage rates. An interactive mapping tool is available to members of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Data sources, Geographic regions, Health care disparities, Immunization, Integrated information systems, Interactive media, Language barriers, Low income groups, Patient care planning, Pediatricians, Statewide planning, Work force

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the roles and functions of oral health professionals and other providers that make up oral health teams. Information on dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, community care connectors, and non-oral-health professionals is included. Others that may be part of an oral health team are also mentioned, including denturists, dental aides, mental and behavioral health professionals, and home health aides.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health aides, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health professionals, Home health aides, Mental health professionals, Oral health, Patient care teams

Annotation: This website offers a collection of resources focused on improving the health and well-being of children and youth with special health care needs and their families by enhancing the patient/family-centered medical home. Included are tools for medical home implementation; care coordination materials, health equity resources; Information for families and caregivers; state and national initiatives; and promising program models.

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home

• Link

Keywords: Care coordination, Family centered care, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Medical home, Patient education materials, Professional education, State initiatives

Annotation: This toolkit offers evidence-based guidance to help health professionals make health information easier to understand and act on, make health care easier to navigate, and increase support for people of all health literacy levels. Contents include 23 tools addressing the following five domains: path to improvement, spoken communication, written communication, self-management and empowerment, and supportive systems. Additional contents include resources such as sample forms, PowerPoint presentations, and assessment tools.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Publication no. 23-0075.

• Link

Keywords: Communication, Empowerment, Forms, Health care systems, Health literacy, Patient care, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Self care, Social support

Annotation: This policy statement provides pediatricians with evidence-based information on caring for adolescents who are hospitalized for acute or chronic illnesses. The statement describes the impact that hospitalization may have on the development and emotional progress of teenagers and discusses the importance of confidentiality between patients and medical teams. Topics include adolescent hospital admission demographics, access to staff with adolescent health expertise; the hospital setting and design of services; staff interaction with patients and families; issues related to bias and institutional/systematic racism; and the transition from pediatric to adult care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Policy Statement
• Clinical Report

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This clinical report provides pediatricians evidence-based information on the developmentally appropriate, comprehensive clinical care for hospitalized adolescents, including those who may have learning, intellectual, or developmental disabilities. Topics addressed include opportunities and challenges when caring for specific hospitalized adolescent populations and the evaluation of patients' ability to participate in their own care and assent to decision-making. The companion policy statement, "The Hospitalized Adolescent, includes descriptions of adolescent hospital admission demographics, personnel recommendations, and hospital setting and design advice, as well as sections on educational services, legal and ethical matters, and the transition to adult facilities.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Clinical Report
• Policy Statement

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Children with special health care needs, Guidelines , Hospitalization, Patient care

Annotation: This video series for primary care health professionals and others focuses on partnership and teamwork in pediatric care delivery. Contents include prerequisites of and strategies for implementation and examples of best practice. Topics include implementing team huddles, enhancing care partnership support, and starting and supporting family advisory groups [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Resource Center for Patient/Family-Centered Medical Home, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-7605 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-9016, ext. 7605 Web Site: https://www.aap.org/en/practice-management/medical-home Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Continuing education, Family centered care, Health care delivery, Medical home, Model programs, Multimedia, Patient care teams, Pediatric care, Primary care, Teamwork

Annotation: This report examines tooth decay among young children. Topics include the high prevalence of tooth decay in young children, the impact of tooth decay on quality of life, dental visits among young children, and the dental home. Also discussed are how parents can find a dental home for their child, Medicaid solutions to the problem of health disparities, child well-being, and advocacy. In addition, the report looks at implications of the Affordable Care Act for pediatric oral health.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young children

Annotation: This resource is intended to facilitate the application of nationally-recognized transition tools to address specific criteria developed by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in their 2017 Patient-Centered Medical Home standards. Contents include NCQA criteria and guidance cross-walked with relevant sample tools. Topics include team-based care and practice organization, knowing and managing patients, patient-centered access and continuity, care management and support, care coordination and care transitions, and performance measurement and quality improvement. Descriptions of the tools are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement, National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health, 1615 M Street, N.W., Suite 290, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 429-3957 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://gottransition.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Measures, Medical home, Patient care management, Patient care teams, Program coordination, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Special health care needs, Standards, Transitions, Youth

Annotation: This article discusses the origins and history of patient- and family-centered care; provides as overview of several existing frameworks for patient-centeredness; and highlights several strategies for promoting coproduction in Hospital Medicine, organized around 4 key tenets (cocommissioning, codesign, c-delivery, and coassessment).

Contact: Elsevier, Health Sciences Division, 1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard, Suite 1800, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2822, Telephone: (215) 239-3900 Fax: (215) 239-3990 Web Site: http://www.us.elsevierhealth.com

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Family centered care, Hospital services, Patient care

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• 2018 Update

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This guide for personnel involved in the care of pregnant women, their fetuses, and their neonates in community programs, hospitals, and medical centers provides information on obstetric and neonatal care. Topics include the organization of perinatal health care, inpatient perinatal care services, quality improvement and patient safety, maternal and neonatal interhospital transfer, preconception and antepartum care, intrapartum and postpartum care, obstetric and medical complications, care of the newborn, neonatal complications and management of high-risk infants, perinatal infections, and infection control. The guide is a companion document to Guidelines for Women's Health Care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Patient care management, Perinatal care, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Resources for professionals, Safety

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive services, counseling, restorative and emergency care, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. There are separate forms for children, pregnant women, and both, plus a sample provider letter.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This document offers information about federal programs that provide funding to health centers, states, academic institutions, and other entities to recruit, train, and retain health professionals, including dentists and dental hygienists, in efforts to increase access to oral health care. The document also highlights program efforts to establish benchmarks for the nation’s oral health status and for oral health care and to ensure that oral health care is available to people living with HIV/AIDS; mothers, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs; and those who receive care at health centers.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Benchmarking, Children, Community health centers, Federal programs, HIV infected patients, Health care delivery, Health occupations, Health status, Low income groups, MCH services, Mothers, Oral health, Primary care, Quality assurance, Recruitment, Service integration, Special health care needs, State MCH programs, Training, Work force, Young adults

Annotation: This checklist is a companion to Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings: Basic Expectations for Safe Care. The checklist is divided into two categories: (1) policies and practices and (2) direct observation of personnel and patient-care practices. Each category is broken into subcategories, and each subcategory includes checkboxes to indicate whether an assessment has been done and space to record notes and areas for improvement.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Mobile Application
• Program Website

Keywords: Clinic administration, Disease prevention, Health facilities, Health services delivery, Infection control, Injury prevention, Mobile applications, Oral health, Patient care, Policy development, Program improvement, Quality assurance, Records management, Safety