Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The project objectives were to: (1) Develop community capability to increase breastfeeding incidence and duration through education and advocacy, specifically through Breastfeeding Action Teams composed of Title V and other health professionals; (2) incorporate breastfeeding promotion and lactation management into curriculums of student/resident health professionals; and (3) establish a clearinghouse of breastfeeding resources at the Best Beginnings Program at Kansas University Medical Center, to be available to health care providers statewide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121842.

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding Promotion, Curricula, Health Promotion, Information Services, Information Sources, Patient Education

Annotation: This brief provides information about the importance of timely, quality, affordable, and adequate health care coverage during pregnancy and the role of Title V in improving coverage and access to care for pregnant women. Topics include covered preventive health services for pregnant women or women who may become pregnant under the Affordable Care Act; coverage options available for pregnant women through public, private, and safety net programs; issues and gaps in coverage; policy options and state strategies; and considerations for states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This videorecording offers insight on the teenage perspective in adolescent clinical care and encourages teens to advocate for the quality care they deserve as they enter adulthood. Created for teenagers to learn about their own health advocacy, it includes information on health rights for teens and a web link to Medicaid. [Supported by the Ann Arbor Area Community Foundation Youth Council and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health promotion, Patient advocacy,

Annotation: This resource is designed to help pediatricians and others implement the Affordable Care Act pediatric preventive services provision to ensure that children receive screenings, assessments, and services recommended by the American Academy of Pediatrics' Bright Futures guidelines. Contents include visit coding documents for infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, and adolescence to help pediatricians obtain coverage of and payment for preventive services, to help insurers and policymakers better understand how to cover and pay separately for each service provided, and to assist stakeholders in advocating for payment for services provided in the periodicity schedule. A webinar is also available.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link
• April 9, 2014, Webinar

Keywords: Advocacy, Bright Futures, Clinical coding, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric care, Pediatricians, Preventive health services, Reimbursement

Annotation: This brief describes the barriers that people of color face disproportionately in gaining access to necessary health care, components of an adequate health care provider network, and policies to help achieve such networks in private insurance plans. Topics include health disparities; geographic distribution, numbers, and types of health care providers; transportation, language, and culturally-competent care; hours and timeliness of care; and consumer rights under the Affordable Care Act including access to community essential providers. The brief provides examples from states and information on advocating for provider network standards to protect diverse communities.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Consumer protection, Equal opportunities, Ethnic groups, Health insurance, Networking, Patient rights, Policy development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives

Annotation: This report describes the 2008-2013 project to address Spanish language and culture barriers between Spanish-speaking women and their obstetric health care providers at Baptist Hospital in Nashville, Tennessee, through the development of a Bilingual Nurse Advocate (BNA) program. Contents include goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, publications and products produced, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. Appendices include Spanish language samples of publications developed during the program [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Final reports, Language barriers, Nurses, Obstetrical nursing, Patient advocacy, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This brief provides background on states’ roles in implementing changes to pediatric dental benefits. The brief also includes recommendations for advocates working to improve children’s oral health.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Health care financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Pediatric dentistry, State initiatives

Annotation: This series of papers provides a forum for sharing knowledge on how to tackle the social determinants of health to improve health equity. The papers explore themes related to questions of strategy, governance, tools, and capacity building. They aim to review country experiences with an eye to understanding practice, innovations, and encouraging frank debate on the connections between health and the broader policy environment.

Contact: WHO Press, World Health Organization, 20 Avenue Appia, 1211 Geneva 27, Switzerland, Telephone: +41 22 791 3264 Fax: +41 22 791 4857 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://apps.who.int/bookorders/ Available from the website.

• Paper 1
• Paper 2

Keywords: Access to health care, Health status disparities, International health, Patient advocacy, Resource allocation, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This edition, for health care providers in the United Kingdom, provides guidelines on parents' needs after the loss of a pregnancy or child for whatever reason it occurred, laws to be applied and when they do not apply, the impact the loss on parents and families, and the importance of the care that is offered. Topics include providing inclusive care; holistic care; loss and grief; communication; communication across language and other barriers; termination of pregnancy for reasons other than abnormality; antenatal screening, diagnostic tests, and procedures; continuing the pregnancy; losses in pregnancy; care in neonatal units, transfer to the mortuary and post mortem investigations; funerals and memorials; support and training for staff; guidance for health care providers, and legal issues, regulations, and professionals standards concerning the termination of pregnancy.

Contact: SANDS, 28 Portland Place, London, ENGLAND W1B 1LY, Web Site: http://www.uk-sands.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN(13) 978-0-9554243-2-8 ISBN(10) 0-9554243-2-1.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Guidelines, Infant death, Neonatal death, Neonatal intensive care, Neonatal screening, Patient advocacy, Physician patient relations, Postpartum care, Pregnancy loss, Prenatal screening, United Kingdom

Annotation: This book reveals questions health plans ask when approving or denying medical coverage, describes how health plans do their research to make informed coverage decisions, provides a clinicians guide to writing an effective letter of support, summarizes health plans' members' rights to review and appeal denials, and characterizes health plan funding. The book concludes with a glossary and appendices with sample letters, contractual language from the American Academy of Pediatrics, and other resources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: New England SERVE, 101 Tremont Street, Suite 812, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 574-9493 Fax: (617) 574-9608 Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Guidelines, Health care systems, Health insurance, Patient advocacy, Professional education

Annotation: This report describes the Health Consumer Alliance (HCA) partnerships that operate eight community-based legal services organizations providing health consumer assistance in six California counties, and the Health Rights Hotline (Hotline) organization that provides legal services for health consumers in the Sacramento, California, area. This report reflects the combination of qualitative and quantitative measures to evaluate formative, process, and outcome indicators. Report topics include an overview of the evaluation approach and methods, strategies used for identifying and engaging consumers who have difficulties obtaining needed health care services, program success and effectiveness in solving the problems of consumers, program effectiveness in changing systems and policies to improve access to care, and a discussion of policy implications and lessons learned. Appendices include details on evaluation and outcome methods and a chart on health consumer collaborative statewide policy issues. Tables present statistical data throughout the report.

Contact: University of Southern California, Department of Family Medicine, Division of Community Health, Building A7, Room 7430, 1000 South Freemont Ave., Alhambra, CA 91803, Telephone: (626) 457-4057 Fax: (626) 457-5858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usc.edu/schools/medicine/departments/family_medicine/communityhealth/pages/Aboutthedivision.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Community based services, Final reports, Legal aid, Patient advocacy, Program evaluation, State initiatives

Annotation: This education kit provides tools for health care providers and their staffs to help establish a patient-friendly environment that will maximize patient understanding, improve patient compliance, and enhance patient care. The kit includes a brochure describing the kit's contents; a comprehensive manual for clinicians; a videotape; a CD-ROM with digital files of the manual, videotape, and presentation handouts; a tabletop display with tear pad to help patients get the most from their visit; and buttons that staff can wear to encourage patients to ask questions. Topics include understanding the scope of the health literacy problem, recognizing health system barriers faced by patients with low literacy, improving methods of verbal and written communication, and incorporating possible strategies to create a shame-free environment. The kit can be used to earn 2.5 continuing medical education category 1 credits.

Contact: American Medical Association, 515 North State Street, Chicago, IL 60610, Telephone: (800) 621-8335 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ama-assn.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-57947-502-7.

Keywords: CD-ROMs, Continuing education, Health education, Health literacy, Health personnel, Low literacy, Manuals, Patient advocacy, Patients, Physician patient relations

Annotation: This final report describes a project in three areas of Wisconsin to examine and detail the impact of managed care services on access to health care services by children with special health care needs and their families and to develop strategies to improve family satisfaction and involvement in the care received. Topics include strategies to overcome barriers to coverage and access through partnerships with families, medical providers, policy makers, and representatives from managed care organizations (MCOs) and programming focused on health benefits counseling, coalition building, community education, and policy reform both insides and outside of MCOs. The report includes the following sections: (1) purpose of the project, (2) goals and objectives, (3) methodology, (4) evaluation, (5) results and outcomes, (6) publications and products, (7) dissemination and utilization of results, (8) future plans and follow-up, and (9) types and amount of support and resources needed to replicate the project.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: ABC for Health, 32 North Bassett Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 261-6939 Secondary Telephone: (800) 585-4222 Fax: (608) 261-6938 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.safetyweb.org/

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Children with special health care needs, Families, Final reports, MCH research, Managed care, Parent participation, Patient satisfaction, Service integration, Wisconsin

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents is a guide to avoiding medical errors by becoming active members of their child's health care team. It explains what medical errors are, where they can occur, and what they can involve. Topics include medicines, hospital stays, surgery, and tips on researching medical conditions and advocacy.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Medical errors, Parent participation, Parent professional relations, Patient advocacy, Patient care teams

Annotation: This training guide provides objectives, activities, resources, and references for half-day or one-day workshops for parents of children with special health needs and their healthcare providers. The aim is to develop an understanding of the variety of advisory roles that families can play, to identify the benefits of their involvement and the barriers to their being involved, and develop strategies to overcome the barriers in order to improve the quality of their children's care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Parent participation, Patient advocacy, Training materials