Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This document encourages families to partner with health professionals on getting preventive health services and to take a lead role in promoting health at home and where they live, work, and play. Topics include how information sharing between families and health professionals can promote child health, the Affordable Care Act's preventive health services for children, the Bright Futures initiative, and tips for a healthy lifestyle. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Family Voices, IMPACT, 3701 San Mateo Boulevard, N.E., Suite 103, Albuquerque, NM 87110, Telephone: (505) 872-4774 Secondary Telephone: (888) 835-5669 Fax: (505) 872-4780 Web Site: http://www.fv-impact.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Bright Futures, Child health, Children, Families, Family centered care, Health care reform, Health promotion, Parent professional relations, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, Special health care needs

Annotation: This report examines tooth decay among young children. Topics include the high prevalence of tooth decay in young children, the impact of tooth decay on quality of life, dental visits among young children, and the dental home. Also discussed are how parents can find a dental home for their child, Medicaid solutions to the problem of health disparities, child well-being, and advocacy. In addition, the report looks at implications of the Affordable Care Act for pediatric oral health.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young children

Annotation: This document describes the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) methodology for evaluating eligibility for health care affordability program applicants and enrollees. It also provides guidance on implementing and governing the methodology. Topics include Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) populations and eligibility categories subject or exempted from MAGI, determination of countable income, household composition in the marketplace vs. Medicaid/CHIP, household scenarios, MAGI conversion for Medicaid and CHIP, state options for the transition to MAGI-based eligibility systems, and MAGI and the single streamlined application. An accompanying webinar, The World According to MAGI, covers the ins-and-outs of the rules by working through hypothetical family scenarios.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• 2018 Update

Keywords: Applications, Children, Eligibility determination, Families, Family income, Federal initiatives, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This website offers fact sheets for the nation and each state about health insurance coverage for children from Medicaid, the Child Health Insurance Program (CHIP), and the Affordable Care Act.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu

Keywords: Child Health Insurance Program, Child health insurance, Federal programs, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs

Annotation: This report provides data on Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) eligibility, enrollment, renewal, and cost sharing policies as of January 2017, and identifies changes in these policies in the past year. It documents the role Medicaid and CHIP play for children and families with low incomes and the evolution of these programs under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include Medicaid and CHIP eligibility, Medicaid and CHIP enrollment and renewal processes, and premiums and cost sharing. Trend and state-by-state tables are included.

Contact: Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, 2400 Sand Hill Road, Menlo Park, CA 94025, Telephone: (650) 854-9400 Secondary Telephone: (202) 347-5270 Fax: (650) 854-4800 Web Site: http://www.kff.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Children', Health care reform, Health insurance, Health policy, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State programs, State surveys, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This paper analyzes data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System on the impact of the Affordable Care Act's (ACA's) 2014 provisions on a variety of outcomes related to health care access, risky health behaviors, and self-assessed health. The paper provides estimates of the overall effect of the ACA on these outcomes and examines differential impacts resulting from state heterogeneity with respect to the choice to expand Medicaid via the ACA.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health, Adults, Health behavior, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Population surveillance, State programs

Annotation: This report examines oral health care data in the context of Oregon’s health system transformation, including the launch of coordinated care organizations and expansion of the state Medicaid program, Oregon Health Plan. Topics include provider distribution, utilization, patient experience, care coordination, and oral health integration. Information about stakeholder groups, technical specifications, and a measure dashboard are included.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Public Health Division , 800 NE Oregon Street, Portland , OR 97232, Telephone: 971-673-0252 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (503) 947-2341 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.oregon.gov/OHA/PH/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coordination, Data analysis, Health care reform, Health care systems, Health insurance, Measures, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Service integration, State programs, Statewide planning, Trends

Annotation: This brief explains how the Affordable Care Act (ACA), through Medicaid expansion and expanded Medicaid coverage criteria for children, has improved maternal and child health (MCH). Topics include the impact of expanded coverage for women of reproductive age, particularly for preconception and interconception health care, and eligibility criteria for children ages 6 to 19 on MCH.

Contact: National Health Law Program, 1441 I Street, N.W., Suite 1105, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7724 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health care reform, Health insurance, Health status, Maternal health, Maternal health services, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preconception care, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide for maternal and child health (MCH) professionals comprises six modules that provide an overview of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and its implications for MCH populations, ways that individuals can access health care coverage, and an explanation of covered services. Topics include the history of and initial challenges to the ACA, key provisions of the ACA, a glossary of key insurance concepts, provisions of the Patient's Bill of Rights, pathways to coverage for MCH populations, health insurance marketplaces, and benefits. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Patient rights, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This brief explains why dental insurance coverage matters and describes opportunities for adults, including pregnant women, to obtain dental insurance under the Affordable Care Act. Contents include data on recent dental visits and on dental insurance status among adults in Rhode Island, information about changes in dental insurance coverage for the period 2012–2014 and about who does not have coverage, and recommendations to make dental insurance benefits more affordable and accessible.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Costs, Dental care, Dental insurance, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This brief presents an analysis of each state's community benefit landscape viewed through the lens of major categories of federal community benefit requirements articulated in the Affordable Care Act. It reports laws and regulations adopted, new community benefit legislation enacted, bills that were introduced but not enacted or are still pending, and conclusions. Topics include tax exemption and preventing unnecessary medical debt.

Contact: Hilltop Institute, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, Sondheim Hall, Third Floor, 1000 Hilltop Circle, Baltimore, MD 21250, Telephone: (410) 455-6854 Fax: (410) 455-6850 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hilltopinstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Costs, Health care reform, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Regulations, State legislation, Trends

Annotation: These resources highlight changes and improvements in state Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance Programs to improve access to and quality of health care for individuals and families with low incomes. Topics include expanded coverage for adults; innovation in eligibility, enrollment, and renewal processes and systems; coordination of application and enrollment processes; and messaging and policies to ensure no wrong door to coverage.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children', Eligibility, Enrollment, Health care reform, Health insurance, Information dissemination, Life course, Low income groups, Medicaid, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Service coordination, State programs, Systems development, Trends, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report summarizes the successes of the federal home visiting program's state grantees in serving high-risk populations and substantially expanding home visiting services nationwide. Topics include the extent to which state grantees demonstrated improvements in each of the benchmark areas, technical assistance provided to grantees including the type of assistance provided, and recommendations for legislative or administrative action.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Home Visiting and Early Childhood Systems, Health Resources and Services Administration , 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8590 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-initiatives/home-visiting Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health care reform, Health services delivery, High risk groups, Home visiting, MCH research, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State MCH programs, Technical assistance

Annotation: This issue brief focuses on dental insurance coverage for children and adolescents and ways to improve children’s and adolescents’ oral health. The brief describes marketplace coverage under the Affordable Care Act and coverage financed through the Children’s Health Insurance Program and Medicaid. Topics include affordability and consumer protection, child-focused benefits, and data and evaluation. The brief concludes with a list of 12 recommendations for policymakers at the state and federal levels to strengthen dental coverage and ensure that children and adolescents receive needed oral health care.

Contact: Georgetown University McCourt School of Public Policy , Center for Children and Families, 600 New Jersey Avenue , Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 687-0880 Fax: (202) 687-3110 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://ccf.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Children', Data collection, Dental insurance, Financing, Health care reform, Medicaid, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Program evaluation, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This webinar, held on September 27, 2016, discussed ways to connect women to oral health coverage and care during pregnancy. Topics included dental insurance options, such as coverage through Medicaid; strategies to integrate oral screenings and referrals into prenatal care; and efforts to educate pregnant women about the importance of oral health care and connect them to services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental insurance, Health care reform: Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Health education, Medicaid, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Referrals, Screening, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This document for young adults ages 18 to 34 contains information on health insurance. Topics include the Affordable Care Act, what's available to young adults, how tax credits work, and what's included in preventive care.

Contact: Young Invincibles, 1411 K Street, N.W., Fourth Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 734-6519 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://younginvincibles.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health care reform, Health insurance, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Preventive health services, Tax credits, Young adults

Annotation: This report presents findings from a study to evaluate the impact of implementation of the Affordable Care Act in Kentucky. The report documents performance in five domains: health insurance coverage, access, cost, quality, and health outcomes. The report also provides preliminary findings from the Kentucky Health Reform Survey. Data sources, methods, and indicators are included.

Contact: Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky, 1640 Lyndon Farm Court, Suite 100, Louisville, KY 40223, Telephone: (502) 326-2583 Web Site: https://www.healthy-ky.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Program Website

Keywords: Health care reform, Kentucky, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Progress reports, Research, State surveys

Annotation: This brief presents five case studies of women, young adults, and families, including those raising children and youth with special health care needs (CYSCHN), about enrolling in and receiving care through the Affordable Care Act (ACA) health insurance coverage. The contents illustrate some of the benefits of the ACA's new coverage options for women and families with CYSCHN and challenges that remain in closing gaps in care and ensuring appropriate coverage for vulnerable populations. Topics include ACA provider networks, autism treatment coverage; and coverage for Native Americans; immigrant and refugee women, and young adult women. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, American Indians, Case studies, Children with special health care needs, Family centered care, Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Immigrants, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Program improvement, Refugees, Women, Young adults

Annotation: This brief provides information about the importance of timely, quality, affordable, and adequate health care coverage during pregnancy and the role of Title V in improving coverage and access to care for pregnant women. Topics include covered preventive health services for pregnant women or women who may become pregnant under the Affordable Care Act; coverage options available for pregnant women through public, private, and safety net programs; issues and gaps in coverage; policy options and state strategies; and considerations for states.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Barriers, Costs, Health care reform, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Policy development, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Role, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This policy brief is designed to assist state maternal and child health (MCH) programs in understanding insurance affordability programs not including employee-sponsored coverage. Contents include an overview of federal benefit and coverage requirements under the Affordable Care Act. Topics include federal minimum eligibility levels by income including identified and potential gaps in eligibility for MCH populations both with and without Medicaid expansion and projected minimum or essential health insurance benefits for MCH populations including children and youth with special health care needs for each of the following coverage options: Medicaid, Children's Health Insurance Plan (CHIP), insurance purchased through the health insurance marketplace (exchange), and safety net services for those remaining uninsured.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Medicaid, Expanded eligibility, Health care reform, Health insurance, Eligibility, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, State health insurance programs