Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: These three brochures contain information on SIDS prevention. The first brochure, for parents, defines SIDS, provides tips on how to reduce the chance that an infant will die from SIDS, and presents facts about SIDS. The second brochure provides similar information but geared toward child care providers, and the third provides similar information but geared toward grandparents.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS. Infant death, Safety, Sleep position, Smoking, Smoking while pregnant

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to keep infants safe from tobacco smoke. The brochure discusses why tobacco is harmful, the three types of tobacco smoke (smoking, secondhand smoke, and thirdhand smoke), tips to protect infants from the effects of all types of smoke, and the benefits of keeping infants away from smoke.

Contact: Oklahoma City-County Health Department, 921 NorthEast 23rd Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105, Telephone: (406) 427-8651 E-mail: https://www.occhd.org/about/contact-us Web Site: http://www.occhd.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asthma, Bronchitis, Consumer education materials, Costs, Infant health, Otitis media Pneumonia, Passive smoking, Prevention, SIDS, Safety, Smoking

Annotation: This website provides guidance on preventing exposure to secondhand smoke in the home. It emphasizes that there is no safe level of secondhand smoke exposure and offers practical tips for protecting oneself and family members. The site covers strategies for maintaining a smoke-free home environment, addressing misconceptions about ventilation, and extending protection to areas outside the home such as daycares and workplaces. It also discusses the risks associated with e-cigarettes and provides resources for smoking cessation, including phone numbers, smartphone apps, and websites. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Prevention , Smoking cessation

Annotation: This website describes steps parents can take to prevent secondhand smoke exposure in the home and provides links to quite lines in multiple languages, smartphone applications, and websites containing additional information and resources.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Parent participation, Passive smoking, Prevention, Smoking cessation

Annotation: [This website highlights the importance of smokefree environments; explains what child health clinicians can do to help; and provides links to fact sheets, presentations, and additional implementation tools.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Passive smoking, Smoking

Annotation: This Surgeon General’s report examines the effectiveness of various smoking cessation tools and resources; reviews the health effects of smoking and catalogues the improvements to health that can occur when smokers quit; highlights important new data on populations in which the prevalence of smoking is high and quit rates are low; and identifies gaps in the availability and utilization of programs, policies, and resources that can improve cessation rates and help smokers quit.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, Tower Building, Plaza Level 1, Room 100, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (240) 453-6141 Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal initiatives, Health behavior, Passive smoking, Research, Risk taking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, Tobacco use

Annotation: This research brief reports the prevalence of self-reported secondhand smoke (SHS) exposure in homes and vehicles among US middle and high school students in 2019 and changes in SHS over time. The data is from the National Youth Tobacco Survey (2011-2019).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Data, Environmental exposure , High school students, Middle school students, National surveys, Passive smoking, Research, Smoking, Statistics, Youth

Annotation: This policy document (from the monograph Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry) was developed by the Council on Clinical Affairs and adopted in 2000, and was revised and updated in 2015. The policies are based on a literature review on the consequences of smoking on youth from infancy to age eighteen. Statistical data was gathered from the CDC's National Youth Tobacco Survey (NYTS) conducted in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2011, and 2012 through 2019 as part of the Healthy People 2010 and 2020 objectives on tobacco use. A list of references directs the reader to other sources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

• PDF

Keywords: Lung cancer, Passive smoking, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This evidence review looks at evidence-based and evidence-informed strategies that MCH Block Grant programs can implement to decrease the percentage of children, ages 0 through 17, who live in households where someone smokes. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Strengthen the Evidence for MCH Programs, National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Web Site: https://www.mchevidence.org/ Available from the website.

• Review
• Brief

Keywords: Measures, Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Infants, Literature reviews, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking cessation, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use

Annotation: This guide for parents alerts them to the dangers of secondhand smoke on their children. Using illustrations, statistics, and resources where they can get advice (phone numbers, websites, and a checklist), the 8-page resource helps parents identify the risks of exposing their children to smoking, and resources on how to quit smoking. This brochure is based on information in the following publications: Exposure to Secondhand Smoke Among Nonsmokers—United States, 1988–2014 and The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Tobacco Smoke: A Report of the Surgeon General, and its summary, Secondhand Smoke: What it Means to You. Links to the above publications are provided.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention , 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Passive smoking, Smoking cessation

Annotation: This environmental scan identifies collections of strategies to advance performance for NPM #14: Smoking--percent of women who smoke during pregnancy and percent of children who live in households where someone smokes. It includes a list of reviews and compilations on the topic; frameworks and landmark initiatives; databases and related search terms; and inclusion and exclusion criteria. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Passive smoking, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, Smoking, State MCH programs, Title V programs, Tobacco use, Women

Annotation: This resource describes how exposure to secondhand smoke within the home is measured, this indicator's implications for equity, its public health impact, how to leverage or realign resources to impact this measure, its use to predict an individual's health and wellness, and data criteria and quality.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• PDF
• Program Website

Keywords: Data, Environmental exposure, Life course, Measures, Passive smoking, Tobacco

Annotation: This toolkit for health care providers, educators, and researchers provides essential components to address smoking cessation and reduction among pregnant and postpartum women. It is divided into sections including: information about smoking and its effects on health, the benefits of quitting smoking, current information about smoking cessation interventions, and options on delivering brief interventions or more intensive counseling to help women quit or reduce smoking.

Contact: Prevention of Gestational and Neonatal Exposure to Tobacco Smoke, Web Site: http://www.pregnets.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Infant health, Passive smoking, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

Annotation: This policy brief presents findings from the California Health Interview Survey on rates of exposure to secondhand smoke in the home of children under age 12 in California. Topics include public health efforts to reduce smoking rates, regions of in which children are at greatest risk, African-American children's risk, and lower-income children's risk.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Blacks, California, Child health, Geographic factors, Income factors, Low income groups, Passive smoking, Prevention, Public health, Public policy, Racial factors, Smoking, State surveys

Annotation: The handbook focuses on the enactment of smoke-free legislation and considers the forces associated with the passage of such legislation as well as evidence for the effect of enacted laws. Topics include the health effects of exposure to secondhand smoke; the evolution of smoke-free policies and their impact of businesses, the hospitality sector, and other incidental outcomes; public attitudes toward smoke-free policies; reductions in exposure to secondhand smoke and effects on health owing to restrictions on smoking; the effect of smoking restrictions on smoking behavior; and home smoking restriction and their effects on exposure and behavior. Studies on which this information is based were done in the United States and additional countries throughout the world.

Contact: World Health Organization, 20, Avenue Appia, Geneva, Switzerland , Telephone: (+ 41 22) 791 21 11 Fax: (+ 41 22) 791 3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.who.int/en Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-832-3013-7.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Behavior, Evidence, Health, International health, Legislation, Passive smoking, Public policy, Smoking

Annotation: This report examines the costs of four types of young children's health problems -- exposure to tobacco smoke, unintentional injury, mental health problems, and obesity -- and reviews over 300 studies of a range of interventions to address them. The authors also assesd the benefits to society of addressing these health problems and lay out the costs of not addressing them.

Contact: Partnership for America's Economic Success, 1025 F Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 552-2000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.PartnershipforSuccess.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Early intervention, Mental health, Obesity, Passive smoking, Prevention, Unintentional injuries, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on the Social Climate Survey of Tobacco Control, an attempt to contribute to the understanding of tobacco control through the introduction of an institutional-based perspective. The report provides background and information about the survey and discusses results on secondhand smoke and media campaigns. The bulk of the report consists of tables illustrating survey results.

Contact: Social Climate of Tobacco Control, Mississippi State University Social Science Resource Center, 1 Research Park, Suite 103, Starkville, MS 39759, Telephone: (662) 325-7127 Fax: (662) 325-7966 Web Site: http://www.socialclimate.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Media campaigns, Passive smoking, Smoking, Surveys, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report discusses 10 priorities for improving Americans' health, including promoting disease prevention, combating obesity, preventing tobacco use and exposure, preventing and controlling infectious diseases, preparing for emergencies and bioterrorism attacks, recognizing the relationship between health and economic competitiveness, safeguarding the food supply, planning for seniors' changing health care needs, improving the health of low-income and minority communities, and reducing environmental threats. For each topic, the report discusses why it is a threat to the nation's health and what can be done about it.

Contact: Trust for America's Health, 1730 M Street, N.W., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 223-9870 Fax: (202) 223-9871 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://healthyamericans.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Communicable disease control, Disease prevention, Emergencies, Environmental exposure, Food supply, Health promotion, Low income groups, Minority groups, Obesity, Older adults, Passive smoking, Smoking, Tobacco use

Annotation: This site provides access to a June 19, 2008 webcast that highlights national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations. Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health were discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about how to protect infants from secondhand smoke. The brochure explains why secondhand and thirdhand smoke are harmful and provides tips for avoiding secondhand smoke during pregnacy and after the infant is born. Action plans for avoiding secondhand smoke are provided, and resources for help with quitting smoking and avoiding secondhand smoke are included.

Contact: North Carolina Healthy Start Foundation, 1300 St. Mary's Street, Suite 204, Raleigh, NC 27605, Telephone: (919) 828-1819 Fax: (919) 828-1446 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.NCHealthyStart.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Passive smoking, Smoking, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy