Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about how to prevent tooth decay in infants. The video discusses the causes of tooth decay. It also covers interactions between parents and infants that can increase the risk of tooth decay, such as parents cleaning their infant’s pacifier with their saliva; using the same spoon, fork, or straw as their infant; and sharing or pre-chewing their infant’s food. Suggestions for minimizing such behaviors are included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of keeping primary teeth healthy for eating, speaking, holding space for adult teeth, and promoting a positive self-image. Topics include tooth eruption, teething, and the consequences of losing primary teeth too early. The video also discusses the pain caused by tooth decay in young children and resulting challenges with early learning and a child’s overall health and development. Tips on what parents can to do prevent decay in primary teeth are provided.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of wiping their infant’s gums after feeding and brushing their infant’s or young child’s teeth twice a day. Information on what type of toothbrush to use and the correct amount of toothpaste for infants and children, the best times to brush, and how to make brushing fun for children is provided. The video also includes a demonstration of how to brush teeth effectively.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Infant health, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This kit is designed to help parents meet the challenges of parenting and support the healthy development of their infant or young child. Contents include resources about child development, health and safety, quality child care, and school readiness. Information about the importance of oral health in young children, preventing and treating tooth decay, oral hygiene during pregnancy and infancy, and finding a dentist is included.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Arizona, Child care, Child development, Child health, Child safety, Childbirth, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Infant health, Infants, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Preventive health services, State initiatives, Toddlers, Young children

Annotation: These resources are designed to help parents handle common challenges and build a safe, stable, and nurturing relationship with their child. Topics include communicating, creating structure and rules, giving directions, using discipline and consequences, and using time-out. Videos, activities for practicing positive parenting skills, and other resources are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child rearing, Communication skills, Discipline, Multimedia, Parenting education, Parenting skills, Parents

Annotation: This module describes predictable effects of adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) on children’s physical, mental, and behavioral health. Strategies for a trauma-informed approach in the pediatric setting are described. The impact of ACEs on parenting is examined and educational resources including a safety card and video that can be used for universal education with parents to prevent the intergenerational transmission of ACEs are demonstrated.

Contact: Futures Without Violence, 100 Montgomery Street, The Presidio, San Francisco, CA 94129-1718, Telephone: (415) 678-5500 Fax: (415) 529-2930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://futureswithoutviolence.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Children, Continuing education, Parent education, Parenting, Professional education, Resources for professionals, Trauma care

Annotation: This research brief describes local health department (LHDs) readiness and workforce capacity and identifies opportunities and challenges related to supporting and implementing parenting education and skills-building programs, specifically Legacy for Children. Contents include information about the 2012 Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Survey, focus groups, and results. Topics include community needs assessment and intervention fit, stakeholder engagement, planning and assessment, workforce development and support, monitoring and evaluation, and sustainability. Discussion, implications, and recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: NA581PDF.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Parenting education, State programs

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cultural competence, Early childhood education, Hispanic Americans, Models, Parenting, Preschool education, Program evaluation

Annotation: This flyer provides parents with information about oral health care for themselves and their infant. It offers tips for how to keep the mouth healthy during pregnancy and explains why doing so is important for both pregnant women and their infant. Also included are tips for taking care of infants’ and children’s mouths, contact information for help finding a dentist in Connecticut, and illustrated instructions for how to use dental floss. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Connecticut Dental Health Partnership, 195 Scott Swamp Road, Farmington, CT 06032, Telephone: (860) 507-2302 Web Site: https://www.ctdhp.com/default.asp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Connecticut, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Financing, Infants, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Parenting, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, State programs

Annotation: This fact sheet for parents provides information about when it is appropriate to leave a child home alone. Topics include what to consider before leaving a child home alone (including age and maturity, legal guidelines, circumstances, and safety skills); tips for parents (including have a trial period, role play, establish rules, discuss emergencies, check in, talk about it, and don't overdo it); and resources, including state-specific links.

Contact: Child Welfare Information Gateway, Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, Children's Bureau, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) 394-3366 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov Available from the website.

• English Version
• Spanish Version

Keywords: Adolescents, Age factors, Children, Communication, Consumer education materials, Emergencies, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Safety

Annotation: These resources aim to motivate parents to take action to reduce their child’s risk for oral disease. Contents include public service announcements (PSAs) that communicate the importance of brushing twice a day for 2 minutes each time. The PSAs also feature activities that children can do such as watching a video, singing, or playing a video game. Additional resources provide information for parents on teaching children how to brush, visiting a dentist, flossing every day, and using fluoride. A weekly toothbrushing checklist and mobile app are included. Content is available in English and Spanish.

Contact: Partnership for Healthy Mouths Healthy Lives, Dental Trade Alliance, 4350 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 220, Arlington, VA 22203, Telephone: (703) 379-7755 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthymouthshealthylives.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Health behavior, Health education, Motivation, Multimedia, Oral health, Parenting, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This guide provides information for parents and other caregivers to learn about oral health and take care of infants', children's, and adolescents'. Topics are addressed in age-appropriate sections: birth to 18 months, 18 months to 3 years, 3 to 5 years, and 5 to 18 years. Selected topics include care of the mouth, gums, and teeth; primary and permanent teeth; tooth decay; the importance of dental visits; nutrition for healthy teeth; toothbrushing; and what to do if a tooth comes out accidentally. The guide is available in English and Spanish. [Note: Contains dated information on using fluoridated toothpaste.]

Contact: Minnesota Head Start Association, 904 Valley Drive, Duluth, MN 55804, Telephone: (218) 728-1091 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mnheadstart.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Parenting, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about programs that work and do not work to improve outcomes for adolescent parents with low incomes and their children. The fact sheet reviews 20 parenting programs that are geared toward enhancing parents' development, educating them about effective parenting methods, or both. The fact sheet introduces the issue and reports findings for programs in six outcome areas: child outcomes: health; child outcomes: behaviors and development; parent outcomes: reproductive health; parent outcomes: mental health and behaviors; parent outcomes: education, employment, and income; and parenting outcomes. Promising approaches and future research needs are also discussed.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent attitudes, Adolescent behaviors, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child development Parent support programs, Child health, Education, Employment, Family income, High risk groups, Low income groups, Mental health, Parent support services, Parenting skills, Reproductive health, Research

Annotation: This report presents information from a webinar presented by Child Trends on July 12, 2012, that focused on the Child Trends DataBank, which is a resource for indicators of child well-being. The report discusses Child Trends and offers information about the DataBank, ways to use it, and information it includes.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Child development, Child health, Child welfare, Children, Early childhood development, Education, Families, Fatherhood, Marriage, Mental health, Parenting skills, Poverty, Program, Programs, Public policy, Resource materials, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This brochure for parents provides information about why it is important to never shake a baby. The brochure explains what shaken baby syndrome is and its consequences and provides tips on what to do if an infant's crying is upsetting, how to try to stop an infant's crying, and what to do if someone suspects an infant has been shaken. The brochure is written in simple language and is available in both English and Spanish.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child abuse, Consumer education materials, Crying, Infant development, Infant health, Mental health, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Shaken baby syndrome, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This document provides guidance for new parents about health and safety in infants and young children from birth through age 5. The document describes how infants and young children grow and learn, how to keep them safe from harm, activities that parents can do with infants and young children, and what parents can do if they are concerned about their infant's or young child's development. Contents include tips and resources on reading with infants and young children, safe sleep, what to expect and what to do at each developmental stage, helping a crying infant, recognizing high-quality child care, fatherhood, finding and using health services including immunizations, and promoting oral health.

Contact: Delaware Department of Health and Social Services, Bureau of Oral Health and Dental Services, Jesse Cooper Building, 417 Federal Street, Dover, DE 19901, Telephone: (302) 744-4554 Fax: (302) 661-7229 Web Site: http://dhss.delaware.gov/dph/hsm/ohphome.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child development, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Health services, Infants, Learning, Nutrition, Oral health, Parenting, Parents, Reading, Safety, Sleep position, Young children

Annotation: This podcast series, which is geared toward parents, addresses common issues facing parents of infants and young children, such as helping an infant learn to sleep through the night, dealing with a picky eater, and learning to set limits on a child's behavior. Each podcast features an interview with an expert that focuses on how to apply early childhood development research to daily interactions with infants and young children. The podcasts and transcripts are available in English and Spanish. Resource lists are provided. Continuing education credits are available.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Early childhood development, Infant development, Infants, Parent child relations, Parenting skills, Parents, Research, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide for new fathers explains how to take care of a new baby. It includes a prenatal checklist to help fathers know what to expect before the baby is born, guidelines on supporting and maintaining a healthy partnership with the baby's mother, and advice on being a responsible father after the baby is born. The guide addresses common concerns and fears, basic care of a newborn, and the importance of ongoing involvement in your baby's life. Included are hands-on activities and notes intended to help fathers become responsible parents. The guide is available in English and Spanish. Supplemental materials include a guide for making a mobile to hang over the baby's crib, posters, and other brochures.

Contact: Texas Office of the Attorney General, P.O. Box 12548, Austin, TX 78711-2548, Telephone: (512) 936-1737 Fax: (512) 469-3157 Web Site: http://www.oag.state.tx.us Available from the website.

• Booklet
• Related Materials

Keywords: Child rearing, Consumer education materials, Father child relations, Fathers, Infant care, Parenting, Paternal behavior, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials