Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of the Oklahoma Pediatric Injury Control Project was to increase the functional capacity of the Maternal and Child Health Service of the Oklahoma State Department of Health to address the problem of pediatric injuries. The objectives of the project address the leading causes of childhood mortality in Oklahoma - motor vehicle crashes, submersions and burns. The overall methodology focused on utilization of intra- and interagency coalitions. Specific strategies included car seat loaners programs, drowning and burn prevention education activities, and smoke alarm programs. The project successfully carried out objectives related to prevention of motor vehicle injuries, drowning and burns. By empowering collaborating agencies and programs, the project has assured continuation of a focus on prevention of pediatric injuries in Oklahoma. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB94-161569.

Keywords: Burns, Car Seats, Child, Community-Based Education Programs, Drowning, Injuries, Injury Prevention, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicle crashes, Parents, Poisons, Safety

Annotation: This project developed a model integrated service system of educational, health, and social service programs for families of Hawaiian children (prenatal to age 5 years) who are disproportionately at risk for health, social, and educational handicaps. Four Native Hawaiian Family Based Education Centers were established, with three core educational components: A home visiting program, a traveling preschool program, and a center-based preschool. Activities included conducting an extensive assessment of community needs and developing ongoing ties with institutions of higher learning in the State. Strong health promotion and social service programs complemented the educational focus, and a case management system helped families assess their own goals in each of these areas. Community participation and ownership of the program were critical components. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-147023.

Keywords: Community-Based Education Programs, Data Collection, Early Intervention, Education, Family-Based, Hawaiians, Home Visiting, Infant Mortality, Learning Disabilities, Low Birthweight, Parents, Prenatal Care

Annotation: Project Copernicus, a dual-State initiative for Maryland and Virginia, developed, demonstrated, and evaluated training programs in family-centered service coordination with target groups of professional service providers and parents in urban, rural, and suburban areas of Maryland and Virginia. Project Copernicus demonstrated how to provide family-centered care for families with children with special health needs by assisting both parents and professional service providers to develop and use family-centered service coordination activities (case management). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB97-121859.

Keywords: Access to Health Care, CSHCN, Case Management, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Coordination of Health Care, Disabled, Education of Health Professionals, Families, Family-Centered Health Care, Fragmentation of Services, Parent Education, Parents, programs

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to develop and demonstrate effective intervention strategies for the 10–15 year age group that can be carried out within a school-based comprehensive health care system to reduce the occurrence of premature and unprotected sexual intercourse in adolescents. More than 300 10-year-old children and their parents enrolled to receive annual health maintenance evaluations and a series of activities to enhance parent-child communication, parental knowledge of adolescent social and sexual development, and problem-solving and decision-making skills. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB99-133977.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Decision Making Skills, Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children, Hispanics, Minority Groups, Parent Child Interaction, Parent Child Relationship, Preventive Health Care Education, School Dropouts, School Health Programs, School Health Services, Sexual Activity, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Annotation: This packet includes a brochure and informational videotape describing the Bowdoin Method of Parent Education, an education program for high-risk children. The Bowdoin Method contains three separate curricula that teach parents of children from birth through age 13 the attitudes and skills they need to prepare their children for school and life. The materials are geared toward parents with low literacy levels. Descriptions of packages of materials available for purchase, as well as order forms, are included. The packages include parenting books, games, teachers' manuals, parent prizes, posters, pre- and posttest, and videotapes. The materials are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Academic achievement, Audiovisual materials, Children, High risk children, Infants, Life skills, Low literacy materials, Parent education programs, Parenting skills, Parents, School readiness, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This Q&A-style fact sheet for parents and caregivers explains the importance of annual adolescent well visits for youth ages 11-21, distinguishing them from sports physicals. It describes what occurs during well visits, including physical examinations, behavioral health screenings, preventive health guidance, and immunizations, while emphasizing how these visits help young people develop healthcare management skills and improve family communication about health issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Primary care, Young adults

Annotation: This online resource for health professionals provides tools intended to promote the value of the well-visit to parents of adolescents and young adults. Downloadable materials include a fact sheet, infographics, and a cover letter that introduces the promotional materials and provides distribution strategies to engage parents via school-based health centers, state Medicaid agency, etc.

Contact: Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center, San Francisco, CA Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu/resource-center Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Families, Health promotion, Parent education, Prevention programs, Provider participation, Young adults

Annotation: This study involved 27 hospitals in Connecticut that provided information/instruction to improve safe sleeping environments for newborns to their patients, as required by state legislation passed in 2015. Although the materials provided by 26/27 (96%) of hospitals was consistent with the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Guidelines, the rates of positional asphyxia did not decrease after legislation was passed.

Contact: Springer Publishing Company, 11 West 42nd Street, 15th Floor, New York, NY 10036, Telephone: (877) 687-7476 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.springerpub.com/

• Link

Keywords: Asphyxia, Connecticut, Educational materials for parents, Hospital programs, SIDS, Safe sleep, State legislation, Suffocation

Annotation: This report presents findings and recommendations from an evaluation of a program to increase awareness of oral health among health professionals, facilitate the incorporation of oral health into well-child visits, and increase access to preventive care for young children at high risk for dental caries. Topics include a project overview, purpose, key questions, and evaluation methods. Additional topics include findings on health professionals reached, training, confidence in program delivery, program fidelity, health professional satisfaction, supply of fluoride varnish, children reached, and benefits and barriers.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health, 333 South Grand Avenue, P.O. Box 30195, Lansing, MI 48909, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/childrenfamilies/familyhealth/oralhealth Available from the website.

• 2019 Report
• 2014-2015 Annual Report

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Screening, State programs, Training, Work force, Young children

Annotation: This periodicity schedule and alternatives for pediatric preventive oral health care provides guidance for care in primary care settings based on MaineCare reimbursement limitations. Services are organized by age of the child (ages 6 months to 5 years) and include parent education, oral evaluation, fluoride application, and referral to a dentist. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Fluorides, Infants, Maine, Oral health, Parent education, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Primary care, Referrals, Reimbursement, Screening, Service integration, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This report describes a partnership to improve oral health in pregnant women and children enrolled in Early Head Start in Wisconsin and, specifically, those enrolled in the home visiting program. Contents include information about data collection and statistical analysis, partnership overview and processes, training for home visitors and parent educators on using the Parent Oral Health Education Toolkit (POHET), changes in oral health knowledge and behaviors for parents and other caregivers after implementation of the POHET, increases in the number of children with a dental home, and reductions in children's dental caries experience at age 3.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Document

Keywords: Early Head Start, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Oral health, Parent education, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, State programs, Training, Wisconsin, Young children

Annotation: This resource provides materials for the SafeCare, an evidence-based, parent-training curriculum for parents of infants and children from birth to age 5 who are at-risk for or have been reported for child neglect or physical abuse. Topics include the evidence-base, cost-benefit, cost of implementation of SafeCare; the structure of the parent child/infant interaction, health, home safety, and family engagement skills modules; certification and support including the role of the home visitor, coach, and trainer; and implementation planning and sustainability. Curricula are available for providers (in English and Spanish), coaches, and trainers.

Contact: Georgia State University School of Public Health, Mark Chaffin Center for Healthy Development, 14 Marietta Street, N.W., Suite 100, Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://healthy.gsu.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Cost effectiveness, Costs, Curricula, Early childhood development, Home visiting, Infants, Model programs, Motivation, Parent child relations, Parent education, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Program planning, Safety, Sustainability, Training, Young children

Annotation: This report describes the extent to which children enrolled in Medicaid in four states (California, Indiana, Louisiana, and Maryland) received pediatric oral health services in 2011 and 2012. The report also describes barriers and strategies to increase access in these states. Contents include background, methodology, findings, recommendations, and conclusions. Topics include the percentage of children who did not receive required oral health services and percentage of those who did not receive all required oral health services, policies that may limit children's ability to receive required services, shortages of dentists who participate in Medicaid, and challenges in educating families about the importance of oral health care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Inspector General, c/o U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Public Affairs, Cohen Building, Room 5541, 330 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-1343 Fax: (202) 260-8512 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://oig.hhs.gov Available from the website. Document Number: OEI-02-14-00490.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, California, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health care utilization, Health services delivery, Indiana, Louisiana, Maryland, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Policy development, State programs, Utilization review, Work force

Annotation: This flip chart is designed for social services providers who work with women during the prenatal period and parents of infants and children with special health care needs. Topics include taking care of the infant’s or child’s mouth, finding a dentist and planning a trip to the dentist, toothbrushing, tooth decay, intellectual and physical disabilities, cleft lip and cleft palate, autism spectrum disorder, Down syndrome, and g-tube and tracheostomy. Links to short videos and parent handouts are available.

Contact: McMillen Health, 600 Jim Kelley Boulevard, Fort Wayne, IN 46816, Telephone: (888) 240-7268 Secondary Telephone: (260) 456-4511 Web Site: http://mcmillenhealth.org

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Early childhood education, Health behavior, Health education, Home visiting, Infants, Multimedia, Oral health, Parents, Prevention programs, School readiness, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This guide introduces the basic elements of Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) service provision and claiming to practitioners of the Positive Parenting Program (Triple P), a multi-level evidence-based parent training program that is uniquely suited to addressing child behavioral health concerns at the population level and is intended to be implemented as a public health intervention. The guide provides an overview of Medicaid, EPSDT, and Triple P and describes how Triple P goals align with EPSDT, how Triple P activities fit into EPSDT service provision, and how to document Triple P services for EPSDT claiming. Documentation examples are included. A companion billing crosswalk is also available.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)
• Billing Crosswalk

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document is designed to assist practitioners in claiming Positive Parenting Program (Triple P) services under the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit program. Contents include a session-by-session crosswalk between all of the claimable levels of Triple P and the appropriate Medicaid billing codes. It is intended to be used in conjunction with the EPSDT Guide for Triple P Practitioners.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

• Download Requires Registration (free)
• Guide For Practitioners

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This infographic presents information on the percentage of children enrolled in HUSKY A (Medicaid) in Connecticut who received preventive oral health care by race/ethnicity, factors that increased children’s likelihood of receiving preventive oral health care, the impact of each factor on the likelihood that children will receive preventive oral health care, and the impact of all three factors on the likelihood that children will receive such care. Topics include continuous coverage, receipt of well child care, and parents who received preventive oral health care. Steps to ensure that families have access to and use oral health care are also described.

Contact: Connecticut Health Foundation, 100 Pearl Street, Hartford, CT 06103, Telephone: (860) 724-1580 Fax: (860) 724-1589 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cthealth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Children, Connecticut, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Parent education, Preventive health services, Service integration, State programs

Annotation: This annotated instructor's version of a college textbook presents research-based information on early brain development, emergent curricula, and early childhood programming in developmentally appropriate practice. The book includes a built-in instructor's manual as well as notes in the margins about class discussion, activities, assignments, films, and lectures. Each chapter also includes answers to five key questions that appear in the corresponding student textbook. Ideas for major projects or assignment are provided. The book is divided into six main parts, each of which focuses on a different aspect of early childhood education: the what, who, why, where, how (curriculum) and how (guidance) of early childhood education. Also included are an epilogue, references, a glossary, name and subject indexes, and a preface.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7668-3451-4.

Keywords: Curricula, Early childhood education, Early childhood educators, Families, Parents, Programs, Research Early childhood development, Textbooks

Annotation: This research brief describes local health department (LHDs) readiness and workforce capacity and identifies opportunities and challenges related to supporting and implementing parenting education and skills-building programs, specifically Legacy for Children. Contents include information about the 2012 Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Survey, focus groups, and results. Topics include community needs assessment and intervention fit, stakeholder engagement, planning and assessment, workforce development and support, monitoring and evaluation, and sustainability. Discussion, implications, and recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: NA581PDF.

• Download Requires Registration (free)

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Parenting education, State programs

Annotation: This report identifies the unique needs of immigrant parents across the range of expectations for parent skill, engagement, and leadership sought by early childhood education and care programs, as well as strategies for addressing these needs. Contents include selected demographics of children of immigrants and their parents, factors jeopardizing meaningful engagement, the importance of parent engagement specific to children of immigrants, federal programming, family literacy and dual-generation strategies, and adult education. Research findings and recommendations are also presented.

Contact: Migration Policy Institute, 1400 16th Street, NW, Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 266-1940 Fax: (202) 266-1900 E-mail: http://www.migrationpolicy.org/contact/index.php Web Site: http://www.migrationpolicy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adult education, Child care, Early childhood education, Federal programs, Immigrants, Intergenerational programs, Language barriers, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy, Parent professional relations, Parent support services, Parents, Research, Young children