Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 12 (12 total).

Barzel R, Holt K, Kolo S. 2022. Opioids and pregnant women: Information for oral health professionals. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This practice guidance provides an overview of pain management for dental procedures for women of reproductive age. It discusses pharmacological considerations for pregnant women (pharmaceutical agents and indications, contraindications, and special considerations), neonatal opioid withdrawal syndrome, guidelines for providing opioids, managing acute dental pain, and guidelines for discharging women with opioid prescriptions. Information about prescription drug monitoring programs is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Drug addiction, Guidelines, Narcotics, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Oral health, Pain relieving drugs, Pregnant women, Prescription drugs

Barzel R, Holt K. 2022. Opioids and children and adolescents: Information for oral health professionals. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance on opioids for oral health professionals. It includes information about assessing children and adolescents, drugs to recommend before prescribing opioids, prescribing opioids with caution and being aware of the potential for misuse or abuse, and understanding laws, policies, and recommendations. The document also discusses providing post-operative instructions and creating a safe, friendly environment. Information about prescription-drug-monitoring programs and managing acute oral pain are included, along with tips for dentists to share with parents and an overview of research. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Drug abuse, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Prescription drugs, Prevention

Singh AD, and Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, Dental Public Health Policy Committee . 2021. Policy statement: Reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 13 pp.

Annotation: This statement provides data related to reducing opioid prescribing by oral health professionals and highlights policies and strategies, including the introduction, adoption, and promotion of prescribing guidelines by the American Dental Association and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Also discussed are state requirements for dentist participation in prescription drug monitoring programs, continuing education for oral health professionals related to pain management, and inclusion of pain-management approaches in dental education. The statement also highlights how state oral health programs have identified and engaged in promising and effective approaches related to opioid prescription practices.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental education, Health policy, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain management, Prescription drugs, Public policy, State programs

DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement. (2020). Self-care after your teledentistry appointment. Boston, MA: DentaQuest Partnership for Oral Health Advancement, 2 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information on how to practice self-care after an in-office or teledentistry appointment. Topics include practicing healthy habits, decreasing risk for tooth decay, tooth sensitivity, tooth pain, bleeding gums, and jaw or muscle tightness and/or pain. For each topic, a list of tips is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pain management, Prevention, Telemedicine

Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health. 2020. Fast facts on oral health. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, multiple items.

Annotation: This series of fact sheets provides information for consumers about a variety of oral-health-related topics. Topics include accessing oral health care in Illinois, anticipatory guidance and fluoride varnish application for health professionals who accept Medicaid, bad breath, breastfeeding and oral health, careers, cancer, cleft lip and cleft palate, daily care of teeth, dental and dental hygiene schools in Illinois, dental sealants, dentures, oral health during pregnancy, diabetes, early childhood tooth decay, e-cigarettes and vaping, flossing, fluoride, human papillomavirus,infants and oral health, oral cancer, orthodontics, oral health and learning, pain-management options for oral health care, periodontal disease, tobacco and tobacco cessation, sugary drinks and foods, the community health worker, water, and women's oral health.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Fluoride varnish, Illinois, Medicaid, Oral health, Pain management, Pregnant women, Smokeless tobacco, State materials

Ashburn, M et al. 2019. Opioids in the dental practice (rev.). Harrisburg, PA: Commonwealth of Pennsylvania; in partnership with the Pennsylvania Dental Association, 6 pp. (Prescribing guidelines for Pennsyvania)

Annotation: These guidelines for prescribing opiods in dental practices in Pennsylvania, which update guidelines published in 2014, address the use of opioids for the treatment of oral pain. The guidelines are intended to help oral health professionals improve patient outcomes. Topics include recommendations for treatment of acute, subacute, and post-operative pain and treatment of chronic pain.

Contact: Pennsylvania Department of Health, Health and Welfare Building, 625 Forster Street, Eighth Floor West, Harrisburg, PA 17120, Telephone: (877) 724-3258 Web Site: http://www.health.pa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic pain, Guidelines, Narcotics, Oral health, Pain, Pain relieving drugs, Pennsylvania, State information

Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Unit. 2017. Opioid prescribing guidelines for dentists. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Unit, 1 p.

Annotation: This document for dentists provides guidelines on prescribing opioids. Appropriate dosages, types of medication to prescribe, prescribing refills, using guidelines for pain management, and ensuring that patients know how to secure medication and dispose of leftover medication are discussed. Alternatives to prescribing opioids are presented. Information is included on how to obtain the document in large print, Braille, non- English languages, or other formats.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx

Keywords: Guidelines, Medications, Opiates, Pain, Non English language materials, Prescription drugs

Rudd RA, Seth P, Felicita D, Scholl L. 2016. Increases in drug and opioid-involved overdose deaths: United States, 2010–2015. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report 65(50–51):1445–1452,

Annotation: This report examines overall drug overdose death rates during 2010-2015 and opioid overdose death rates during 2014–2015 by subcategories (natural/semisynthetic opioids, methadone, heroin, and synthetic opioids other than methadone). Rates are stratified by demographics, region, and by 28 states with high quality reporting on death certificates of specific drugs involved in overdose deaths. Implications for public health practice are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Chronic pain, Collaboration, Drug addiction, Heroin, Illicit drugs, Methadone, Mortality rates, Opiates, Prescription drugs, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services

Dowell D, Haegerich TM, Chou R. 2016. CDC guideline for prescribing opioids for chronic pain–United States, 2016. Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report: Recommendations and Reports 65(1):1–49,

Annotation: This guideline provides recommendations for primary care clinicians who are prescribing opioids for chronic pain outside of active cancer treatment, palliative care, and end-of-life care. The guidelines address (1) when to initiate or continue opioids for chronic pain; (2) opioid selection, dosage, duration, follow-up, and discontinuation; and (3) assessing risk and addressing harms of opioid use. A checklist for prescribing opioids for chronic pain and a website with additional tools to guide clinicians in implementing the recommendations are also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic pain, Guidelines, Multimedia, Opiates, Primary care, Training

Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health. 2012. National profile of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) use for children with pain-related conditions or problems (0-17 years) (rev.). Portland, OR: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief uses data from the 2007 National Health Interview Survey to examine complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) use for children from birth to age 17 with pain-related conditions or problems. Topics include characteristics of these children and the relationship between CAM and conventional medical care use.

Contact: Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health, Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative, The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, 615 North Wolfe Street, Baltimore, MD 21205, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://childhealthdata.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Alternative medicine, Children with special health care needs, Comorbidity, Data analysis, National surveys, Pain, Palliative treatment, Prevalence

Shapiro BS, Schechter NL, Ohene-Frempong K, eds. 1994. Sickle cell disease related pain: Assessment and management—Conference proceedings. Mount Desert, ME: New England Regional Genetics Group, 53 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings discuss the assessment of pain, pharmacological management of pain, non-pharmacological management of pain, consumers' perspective on pain management, and discussions on these topics. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: NERGG, Inc., P.O. Box 920288, Needham, MA 02492, Telephone: (781) 444-0126 Fax: (781) 444-0127 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nergg.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Analgesic drugs, Conference proceedings, Disease management, Pain, Sickle cell disease, Sickle cell trait

Balaskas J. 1992. Active birth: The new approach to giving birth naturally. (Rev. ed.). Boston, MA: Harvard Common Press, 250 pp.

Annotation: This book describes the concept and practice of active birth, in which a mother moves about freely, finds comfortable positions for labor and delivery, and seldom needs drugs or obstetrical interventions. The book contains illustrated exercises for pregnancy, and describes massage techniques for pregnancy and labor, ways to create an ideal setting for an active birth in the hospital or at home, positions for labor and birth, water birth and how to plan one, and exercises for recovery and relaxation after the birth. Helpful tips for partners and birth attendants are also included.

Contact: Harvard Common Press, 535 Albany Street, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 423-5803 Fax: (617) 695-9794 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.harvardcommonpress.com Available in libraries.

Keywords: Exercise, Home childbirth, Labor, Natural childbirth, Pain, Postpartum care, Pregnancy