Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This research brief provides information on Indigenous Peoples in the United States and U.S. territories, including geographic distribution, overall demographics, and trends in education, health, and well-being. It discusses the impact that colonization and Federal Indian Law has had on Indigenous children, youth, and families and recommends strategies that can be implemented at the local, state, and federal levels to improve health outcomes. The brief is intended for those who engage with and/or conduct or fund research, evaluation, or technical assistance focusing on Indigenous populations..

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Cultural barriers, Cultural factors, Health equity, History, Initiatives, Legislation, Litigation, Pacific islanders, Policy, Statutes, Trends

Annotation: This chartbook on Asians and Native Hawaiians/Pacific Islanders (NHPIs) is part of a family of documents and tools that support the National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Report (QDR), which was published in 2018. This chartbook includes a summary of trends across measures of healthcare for Asians and NHPIs from the QDR and figures illustrating select measures of healthcare access and quality. A PowerPoint version is also available that users can download for presentations.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 20-0043..

• Chartbook And PowerPoint
• Program Website

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Ethnic groups, Health care disparities, Measures, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, Trends

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of 13–15-year-old American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) dental clinic patients, comparing results from the 2019–2020 survey with results from the 2013 survey. It presents a summary of what’s new in the report since the 2013 survey and key findings in three areas: (1) oral health of AI/AN adolescents over the past two decades, (2) oral health disparities in AI/AN adolescents compared with U.S. adolescents overall, and (3) percentage of AI/AN adolescents who had a dental visit in the past year compared with U.S. adolescents overall.

Contact: U.S. Indian Health Service, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Web Site: https://www.ihs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Alaska Natives, Medicaid, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Surveys, Surveys, Trends

Contact: U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane , Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (877) SAMHSA-7 Secondary Telephone: (877) 726-4727 E-mail: Web Site: https://www.samhsa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: HHS Pub. No. (SMA) 14-4818.

• PDF

Keywords: Asian Americans, Enrollment, Hawaiians, Health promotion, Health status disparities, Minority health, Outreach, Pacific Islanders, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

Annotation: This toolkit for community organizers provides information about how to plan an Affordable Care Act (ACA) third birthday party community event for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander communities. The toolkit includes suggestions for events, a planning worksheet, sample postcard and information on how to use them, sample taglines that can be translated, information about the health insurance marketplace, and ideas for how to use social media.

Contact: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum, 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Fax: (415) 954-9999 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Communities, Community action, Community participation, Hawaiians, Health, Health Insurance, Legislation, Mass media, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This report summarizes a workshop convened in November 2012 to discuss the sizable health inequities affecting Native American, Alaska Native, First Nation, and Pacific Islander populations and the potential role of culture in helping to reduce those inequities. This report summarizes the presentations and discussion of the workshop and includes case studies that examine programs aimed at diabetes prevention and management and cancer prevention and treatment programs.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $36, plus shipping and handling; also available from the website, after registration. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-29256-6.

• Link

Keywords: Minority health, Alaska natives, American Indians, Barriers, Cancer, Cultural factors, Diabetes mellitus, Disease prevention, Health status disparities, Pacific Islanders, Prevention services, Preventive health services, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This consensus statement resulted from the summit, Integrated Care for Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander Communities: A Blueprint for Action, held in August 15-16, 2011, in San Francisco, California. The document includes information about the summit; the consensus statement itself; a discussion of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) health and behavioral health and of AANHPI populations in general; and recommendations from the summit.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska natives, Asian Americans, Hawaiians, Health, Health behavior, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Service integration

Annotation: This report compiles 2010 national surveillance data on infectious disease in single race Asians and Native Hawaiians and Other Pacific Islanders. Contents include background information and data sources, overviews, snapshots, discussion, and references on tuberculosis, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases, and HIV and AIDS.

Contact: National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchhstp Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Asian Americans, Communicable diseases, Data sources, Epidemiology, HIV, Hawaiians, Hepatitis, Mortality, Pacific Americans, Pacific Islanders, Population surveillance, Sexually transmitted diseases, Testing, Trends, Tuberculosis

Annotation: This final report describes a project to provide Asian American & Pacific Islander (AAPI) runaway and homeless youth in Minnesota culturally-appropriate health services, through RICE (Reaching Immigrants with Care & Education). The 2007-2012 project included street outreach, health education, prevention and intervention services designed for AAPI street youth, aged between 10-18 years old, with a special focus on Hmong runaway girls who bear highest risk of being subjected to sexual abuse. Report contents include a description of the project and realtionship to Title V maternal and child health programs, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination and utilization of results, as well as future plans and sustainability. The appendix includes the evaluation report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Asian Americans, Final reports, Health services delivery, Homeless persons, Outreach, Pacific Islanders, Runaways, Youth

Annotation: This evaluation report summarizes methods, outputs, and outcomes of Phase II (community awareness and education) of the Community Genetics Education Project, a project funded by a Health Resources and Services Administration cooperative agreement with the March of Dimes with the goal of increasing the genetic literacy of African Americans, Latinos, Asian Americans, and Pacific Islanders. The report aims to identify overarching challenges, lessons learned, and best practice implications. Specifically, the report (1) summarizes methodologies used in the development of this report, (2) provides an overview of local site interventions, (3) describes the roles of various project partners in Phase II, (4) summarizes common elements of the local evaluations and provides an overview of specific local evaluation designs and methods, (5) summarizes and discusses local evaluation findings, (6) addresses how these findings have been disseminated and discussed, (7) discusses additional Phase II outcomes, (8) details implementation challenges and lessons learned, and (9) summarizes best practice implications.Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Communities, Evaluation, Genetics education, Health literacy, Hispanic Americans, Asian Americans, Intervention, Outcome and process assessment, Pacific Islanders

Annotation: This plan illustrates measurable objectives that the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) will pursue to raise the visibility of Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AANHPI) health issues, health care, and human services designations. The plan, developed as part of the White House Initiative on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, identifies how the department will carry out its plan to prevent, treat, and control Hepatitis B infections in AANHPI communities; work to improve reporting of data; foster workforce diversity by developing workforce pipelines for AAs and NHPIs; and address some of the key health issues that specifically impact NH and PI populations.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (240) 453-2883 Fax: (240) 453-2883 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian Americans, Cultural diversity, Data, Federal initiatives, Hawaii, Hepatitis B, Minority health, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Strategic plans, Work force

Annotation: This blueprint, which complements the Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) health agenda, is based on information and recommendations gleaned from APIAHF conferences, workshops, and meetings with Asian American, Native Hawaiian, and Pacific Islander (AA and NHPI) community groups and leaders held over the past two decades. (The APIAHF health agenda is an outcome of an APIAHF conference held in Washington, DC, to address growing disparities in education, employment, poverty, and health in AA and NHPI communities.) Blueprint topics include guaranteed affordable health care; guaranteed access to high-quality care; health equity; healthy communities; and leadership, civic engagement, and political will.

Contact: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum, 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Fax: (415) 954-9999 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Asian Americans, Communities, Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, Poverty

Annotation: This flip chart is designed to help Head Start staff working in the Pacific Islands and other rural settings learn how to use the "lift the lip" technique for screening the teeth of infants and children for tooth decay.

Contact: HeadStart.gov, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Rural population, Young children

Annotation: This report focuses on the use of community-led interventions to alter risky health behaviors among minority populations who have higher rates of diseases and conditions such as hypertension, high blood cholesterol levels, diabetes, tobacco use, physical inactivity, and obesity than their white counterparts. The report, which includes an executive summary, discusses racial and ethnic health disparities; reducing racial and ethnic health disparities through community interventions; tailored community interventions at work; community interventions in the African-American, American Indian and Alaska Native, Hispanic, and Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islander populations; budget implications; and policy recommendations. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: Center for American Progress, 1333 H Street, N.W., 10th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 682-1611 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.americanprogress.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Blacks, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Ethnic factors, Financing, High risk groups, Hispanic Americans, Hypertension, Intervention, Obesity, Pacific Islanders, Physical activity, Public policy, Racial factors, Risk factors, Smoking

Annotation: This monograph presents a description and analysis of the research literature related to child and family mental health among African Americans, Asian American/Pacific Islanders, Latinos, and Native Americans. These groups provide a starting point for analyzing the existing literature available to support organizational cultural competence strategies and identify gaps that require further study. Background information for each of these populations is also provided, including population characteristics and community context factors that influence the development, implementation, and operationalization of cultural competence in terms of access, availability, and utilization of mental health services. Appendices provide summaries of strategies for each of the cultural groups. Figures and tables present data throughout the monograph.

Contact: University of South Florida, Research and Training Center for Children's Mental Health, 13301 Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612-3809, Telephone: (813) 974-4661 Fax: (813) 974-6257 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://rtckids.fmhi.usf.edu/ Available from the website. Document Number: Publication no. 240-1.

• PDF

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child health, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Family health, Hispanic Americans, Literature reviews, Mental health services, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Service utilization

Annotation: This brochure gives an overview of statistics of infant deaths attributable to sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) in a variety of racial and ethnic categories. Topics include efforts to reduce the risks of SIDS through the "back to sleep" campaign. Information is provided for resources designed to reduce SIDS risks in minority communities. References conclude the brochure.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

• Link

Keywords: Cultural factors, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child death review, Hispanic Americans, Infant death, Minority groups, Neonatal death, Pacific Islanders, Risk factors, SIDS, Statistics

Annotation: This report describes national estimates of oral health care service utilization and oral health care needs that remain unmet owing to cost for six Asian ethnic subgroups and the native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander population using data collected from the National Health Interview Survey during 1997–2000. Report sections include a description of the survey methods, survey findings, a discussion of the findings, and references. Four tables present data on selected characteristics such as ethnic subgroups, age group, sex, poverty status, place of residence, geographic region, nativity, health status, and health coverage.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Asians, Barriers, Children, Costs, Dental care, Hawaiians, Health care utilization, National surveys, Needs assessment, Oral health, Pacific Islanders, Parents, Statistical data

Annotation: This fact sheet provides general information on diabetes and discusses different types of diabetes. It offers strategies for treating and preventing or delaying the disease. The fact sheet also includes national estimates on the prevalence of diabetes among various population groups, the incidence of diabetes, complications from diabetes, and deaths among individuals with diabetes.Data are presented in figures within the fact sheet. The Web site had an additional document, Data Sources, References, and Methods, which gives citations to literature related to various aspects of diabetes.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• 2003
• 2011

Keywords: Adolescent health, Asian Americans, Blacks, Child health, Data, Diabetes mellitus, Gestational diabetes, Hawaiians, Hispanic Americans, Mortality, Older adults, Pacific Islanders, Physical activity, Prevention

Annotation: This supplement is an outgrowth of the 1999 report by the Surgeon General on mental health and illness. This report undertakes to probe more deeply into mental health disparities affecting racial and ethnic minorities and the role that cultural factors play in mental health. The report is divided into seven chapters including the introduction. Chapter two lays the foundation for understanding the relationships between culture, mental health, mental illness, and mental health services. Chapters three through six provide information about each racial and ethnic minority group: African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans and Pacific islanders, and Hispanic Americans; including historical context and current status; and access to, availability of, and utilization of mental health services. Chapter seven concludes with promising directions and courses of action to reduce disparities and improve the mental health of racial and ethnic minorities. Each chapter concludes with a list of references. The appendices discuss the inclusion of minorities in clinical trials used to development treatment guidelines and a resource directory of relevant federal and private organizations. The report concludes with an index.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA-01-3613; ISBN 0-16-050892-4.

• PDF

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cultural diversity, Cultural factors, Culturally competent services, Disabilities, Ethnic factors, Hispanic Americans, Mental disorders, Mental health, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Racial factors, Research, Trends

Annotation: The main research questions addressed by this project were as follows: (1) Are adolescents meeting the Healthy People 2000 nutrition health status and risk reduction objectives? Which groups of adolescents are at greatest risk for not meeting these objectives and need to be targeted for intervention? (2) What are the direct and indirect overall contributions of socioenvironmental, personal, and behavioral factors to the explained variance in nutritional intake and weight gain status? Are similar associations found among adolescents from different socioeconomic status (SES), age, gender, and ethnic groups? (3) Which specific socioenvironmental, personal, and behavioral measures are associated with the targeted behaviors outlined in the Healthy People 2000 nutrition health status and risk reduction objectives? Are similar associations found among adolescents from different SES, grade, gender, and ethnic groups? [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB2002-107493.

Keywords: Adolescent Nutrition, Adolescents, Adolescents, American Indians, American Indians, Asians, Asians, Blacks, Blacks, Body Composition, Hispanics, Hispanics, MCH Research, Nutrition, Pacific Islanders, Pacific Islanders, Prenatal Screening, Research, Surveys