Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: info@knowyourteeth.com Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: info@health.mo.gov Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Annotation: These videos provide information about oral health for children and adolescents in pre-kindergarten to grade 2, grades 3–5, grades 6–8, and grades 9–12. The videos discuss the importance of oral health, how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, the importance of toothbrushing and flossing, and the importance of eating healthy foods and drinking water and avoiding foods and drinks high in sugar. They also explain what tooth decay and gum disease are and discuss the importance of visiting the dentist and what happens during dental visits.

Contact: San Juan Basin Public Health, 281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, CO 81303, Telephone: (970) 247-5702 Web Site: https://sjbpublichealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents, Dental care, Gingivitis, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This curriculum, designed for use with students in kindergarten through grade 2, grades 3-5, and grades 6–10, is intended to help students learn how to take care of their mouths and practice healthy habits that promote oral health. The curriculum, which consists of animated videos, discusses consuming healthy foods and drinks, the importance of healthy teeth, preventing tooth decay, toothbrushing, flossing, tobacco use, and lowering risk for oral disease. The curriculum is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: North Carolina Dental Society, c/o Faye Marley, Executive Director, 1600 Evans Rd., Cary, NC 27513, Telephone: (919) 677-1396 Fax: (919) 677-1397 E-mail: info@ncdental.org Web Site: http://www.ncdental.org Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Curricula, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Risk factors, School age children, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

Annotation: This animated video, which is geared toward pregnant women and new parents, describes five steps to help ensure that infants have healthy teeth. Steps include taking care of the mouth while pregnant, cleaning the infant's gums with a soft damp cloth daily, brushing the infant's teeth with a soft toothbrush and a dab of fluoridated toothpaste, taking the infant to the dentist when the first tooth erupts or by age 1, and avoiding giving the infant drinks with added sugar. In addition to English, the video is available in the following languages: Arabic, English, French, Nepali, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Swahili, and Vietnamese. A fact sheet presenting the five steps is also available. zzz

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, Telephone: (614) 466-3543 Web Site: http://www.odh.ohio.gov Available from the website.

• English
• All Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Videos

Annotation: This tip sheet outlines strategies for health professionals in planning, developing, and implementing state and local efforts to ensure access to oral health care for children and adolescents with special health care needs. Topics include working with parents and other caregivers to provide oral hygiene care, work force issues, health care financing, the importance of dental and medical homes, and a review of state and local programs addressing these issues. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Health care systems, Oral health

Annotation: This handout provides information about the dental hygienist liaison (DHL) project coordinated by the National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Wellness, working in partnership with the American Dental Hygienists’ Association. Under the DHL project, volunteer dental hygienists help promote oral health for pregnant women and children enrolled in Head Start and children enrolled in child care. The handout explains the rationale for and purpose of the project and discusses the role of the DHL. Information on how to contact the DHL in each state is included.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw

• Pdf Version

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Head Start, Health promotion, Oral health, Pregnant women, Young children

Annotation: This series of videos for parents discusses the importance of primary teeth, passing bacteria that cause tooth decay from parent to infant, and how to brush a child’s teeth. Each video presents information in plain language, along with visual depictions of the concepts being discussed.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: community@firstthingsfirst.org Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Infant health, Oral health, Videotapes

Annotation: This form for parents to complete at well-child visits for infants and children ages 6 months to 6 years includes space to provide the infant’s or child’s name and date of birth and the current date. It also provides a list of questions about the infant’s or child’s oral health and oral hygiene, their eating and drinking behaviors, whether they have seen an oral health professional in the past 6 months, whether they have a special health care need that makes it difficult to brush their teeth, and whether the parent thinks there is something they could do better to keep their infant’s or child’s teeth healthy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Denver Health and Hospital Authority, 301 West 6th Avenue, Denver, CO 80204, Web Site: https://www.denverhealth.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Forms, Infant health, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Special health care needs

Annotation: These three videos provide information for children about how to keep their mouths healthy. The first video discusses toothbrushing, flossing, and visiting the dentist. The second provides information about the correct kind of toothbrush to use, how often to replace toothbrushes, and brushing the tongue as well as the teeth. The third provides information about the importance of eating fruits and vegetables, brushing the teeth after eating sugary foods, and drinking water. zzz

Contact: Delta Dental Institute, 301 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 310W, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com/institute/

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health of individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities in Missouri. Topics include oral hygiene, dental sealants, treated and untreated tooth decay, treatment urgency, and history of rampant tooth decay. Information about survey participants’ ages, genders, races, and ethnicities, as related to these topics, is included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: info@health.mo.gov Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults with special health care needs, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Missouri, Oral health, State surveys, Treatment

Annotation: This series of tip sheets is intended for Head Start staff to use to support the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start programs and their families. The tip sheets include up-to-date practices and practical tips to promote good oral health. Health and social service professionals interested in improving the oral health of children and pregnant people enrolled in Head Start and their families may also find Brush Up on Oral Health tip sheets helpful.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Annotation: This series of handouts for pregnant women and parents of infants and young children provides simple tips on nutrition and oral health issues. Topics include brushing a young child’s teeth, choosing healthy drinks for young children, encouraging young children to drink water with fluoride, giving young children healthy snacks, taking care of oral health for pregnant women, and taking care of an infant’s oral health. The series is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This report provides information from the results of a questionnaire that asked a national sample of parents about oral health for their children ages 3–18 during the COVID-19 pandemic. Topics include whether parents have tried to get oral health care for their child, parents’ perceptions of the safety of oral health care, changes to children’s oral health habits, and implications for children’s oral health.

Contact: C. S. Mott Children's Hospital, National Poll on Children's Health, University of Michigan Division of General Pediatrics, 300 North Ingalls Building, Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5040, Telephone: (855) 277-5404 E-mail: NPCH@med.umich.edu Web Site: http://mottnpch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Costs, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Safety, Virus diseases

Annotation: This infographic provides information about the cost savings that can result from getting preventive oral health care twice a year, brushing and flossing regularly, avoiding tobacco, and drinking fluoridated water. It provides a breakdown of the lifetime cost of treating a decayed tooth, including the cost of a filling, a replacement filling, a crown, a root canal, an extraction, and an implant.

Contact: Northeast Delta Dental, One Delta Drive, P.O. Box 2002, Concord, NH 03302, Telephone: (603) 223-1000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 537-1715 E-mail: nedelta@nedelta.com Web Site: https://www.nedelta.com/Home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Costs, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: This report presents data about consumers’ oral-health-related behaviors throughout 2020. It provides insights into the public’s awareness of the connection between oral health and overall health. Topics include the importance of oral health to overall health, oral hygiene practices, prioritization of preventive dental visits, and the relationship between having dental insurance and oral health status.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Health behavior, Health insurance, Oral health, Prevention, Statistical data

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about teething. Topics include eruption of primary and permanent teeth, the importance of primary teeth, and the importance of the age 1 dental visit and visiting the dentist regularly. Symptoms of teething and ways to ease teething pain are discussed, along with the importance of taking care of primary teeth. Proper brushing and flossing and the amount of toothpaste to use are emphasized.

Contact: WGBH Educational Foundation, 1 Guest Street, Boston, MA 02135, Web Site: https://www.wgbh.org/foundation/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health care utilization, Infant health, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Teething, Young children

Annotation: This video provides information about caries risk assessment using a conversational style. A dental assistant is shown talking to an adolescent about her teeth. Topics include brushing, flossing, fluoride, healthy foods and beverages, and experiences with previous dental visits and tooth decay.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Fluoride, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Videotapes

Annotation: This fact sheet presents best practices for toothbrushing in Head Start programs during the COVID-19 pandemic. It provides information on brushing specific to infants from age 6 months to 1 year, toddlers (ages 1–2), and young children (ages 3–5). Topics include vaccination requirements for staff, amount of toothpaste to use, toothbrush storage, and how to avoid disease transmission.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Head Start, Infant health, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Virus diseases, Young children