Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This timeline tracks historic highlights from the Children's Aid Society's (CAS) founding in 1853, tracing changes in poverty in New York City along with the evolution of CAS programs and services. Topics include emigration programs such as the Orphan Train, foster care and adoption programs, lodging houses, industrial schools, convalescent homes, health centers, and farm schools.

Contact: Children's Aid Society, 105 East 22nd Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 949-4800 Secondary Telephone: (212) 949-4936 Fax: (212) 377-4705 Web Site: http://www.childrensaidsociety.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Community programs, Comprehensive programs, History, Homeless persons, New York, Oral health, Poverty, Schools

Annotation: This report recounts the development of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's (UNC-CH's) dental public health education program from its inception in 1936 through 2016. The report provides an overview of public health education and describes the beginnings of dental public health education at UNC-CH and the launch of the university's Institute of Public Health Dentistry, laying the foundation for a resurgence of training in dental public health, and UNC-CH's short courses in dental public health. Also discussed are the North Carolina Dental Public Health Residency Program, degree programs in public health dentistry at UNC-CH, and oral health research conducted at the Gillings School of Global Public Health.

Contact: University of North Carolina Press, 116 South Boundary Street, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3808, Telephone: (919) 966-3561 Fax: (919) 966-3829 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://uncpress.unc.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Higher education, History, North Carolina, Oral health, Public health, Research, State materials, Training

Annotation: This resource provides materials for instructors and students to use in conducting a Maternal and Child Health (MCH) Oral Histories assignment. It is aimed at introductory and special topic MCH courses. It includes an overview with instructor notes, a PowerPoint teaching lecture, assignment instructions and grading rubrics, interview topic suggestions, a sample interview guide, and an interview release form. Sample oral histories may be added. A link to an archived webinar on the project is included.

Contact: Association of Teachers of Maternal and Child Health, 1720 2nd Avenue South, Ryals 310G, Birmingham, AL 35294-0022, Telephone: (205) 975-0531 Fax: (205) 934-3347 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.atmch.org Available from the website.

• Home Page
• Webinar Archive

Keywords: Child health, MCH research, Oral history, Resource materials, Women', s health

Annotation: This timeline presents significant events (milestones) in the United States that have had an impact on the oral health and, ultimately, the overall health and well-being of children, adolescents, women, and families. The milestones are organized by year (from 1840 to the present) and can be viewed using the index page or by selecting a specific year. Contents include background information for each event, its impact, and sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Highlights

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Children, History, Infant, Infant health, Information sources, MCH programs, Oral health, Outcome and process assessment, Public health dentistry, Women', s health

Annotation: This online course comprises 11 modules based on the 11 chapter topics in the book Milestones in Public Health. The course serves as a tool for teaching undergraduate students, graduate students in public health, and medical and clinical-education students about the major milestones in public health in the United States over the last century. These milestones relate to vaccines and smallpox, automotive safety, environmental health, infectious disease control, cancer, cardiovascular disease, safer and healthier foods, advances in maternal and child health, oral health, addiction, and the U.S. public health infrastructure. The modules work together as part of an overall semester-long course and, in addition, each module can stand alone for inclusion in other courses or for use in both formal and informal teaching situations. Individuals may also use the course for self-guided learning about the public health milestones. The complete course includes instructors’ guides, PowerPoint lectures, faculty-directed case studies, and student directed problem-based learning cases.

Contact: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-1099 Fax: (202) 296-1252 E-mail: [email protected] Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aspph.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Case studies, History, Oral health, Professional education, Public health, Public health education, Teaching

Annotation: This resource presents a timeline of the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, from 1798 to date.

Contact: U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Washington, DC 20852, Telephone: (800) 279-1605 Web Site: https://www.usphs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, History, Oral health, Public health

Annotation: This book provides an overview of milestones in public health during the last century in the United States. The milestones discussed are those identified by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. They are advances in (1) addiction, (2) automotive safety, (3) cancer, (4) cardiovascular disease, (5) environmental and occupational health, (6) food safety, (7) infectious disease control, (8) maternal and child health, (9) oral health, and (10) vaccines. One chapter in the book is devoted to each milestone. Each chapter is written by a different expert, and each explores historical developments related to the milestone and presents a case study of the milestone and a vignette illustrating another facet of the milestone. Predictions of advances still to come are offered, as well. The book includes a prologue, an epilogue, and references. Also available as a course.

Contact: Pfizer, 235 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 733-2323 Web Site: http://www.pfizer.com/home Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Children, Communicable disease control, Distance education, Drug addiction, Environmental health, Food safety, History, History, Infants, Motor vehicle safety, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Parents, Public health, Vaccines, Women', s health

Annotation: This resource is a downloadable program for Windows computers that discusses the history of dentistry from earliest times to the present. Content consists primarily of published articles; excerpts of published compilations or works; original material assembled for the resource; and images. Six self-assessment tests are also included. Audio and video clips augment textual material and images. The program is divided into eight historical sections with further subsections. The sections include the following: introduction, early times (BCE to 800 CE). Medieval (800 to 1400), Renaissance (1400-1600), Colonial (1600-1800), Industrial (1800-1900), and Modern (1900 and later).

Contact: American College of Dentists, Executive Office American College of Dentists, 839J Quince Orchard Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878-1614, Telephone: (301) 977-3223 Fax: (301) 977-3330 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.acd.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dentistry, Distance education, Educational materials, History, Multimedia, Oral health

Annotation: These practice resources for oral health professionals comprise a health history form, a health history interview sheet, a medical consultation form, and a document describing how to use the forms. The health history form is available in Albanian, Arabic, Armenian, Bengali, Bosnian/Serb/Croatian, Burmese, Cambodian, Chinese, Creole, English, Farsi, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Ukranian, Urdu, Vietnamese, Yiddish, and Yoruba.

Contact: University of the Pacific School of Dentistry, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, 155 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 929-6400 Fax: (415) 929-6654 Web Site: http://dental.pacific.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Forms, Medical history taking, Non English language materials, Oral health, Oral health care, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report reviews the federal appropriations and allocations to states and territories for Maternal and Child Health (MCH) programs funded by Title V of the Social Security Act for FY1936-FY2001. An historical background and a section on trends in MCH appropriations, 1936-2000, introduce the document. The appendix includes data on Title V and MCH block grants, nationally and for each state or territory. This volume is an update of 50 Years of U.S. Federal Support to Promote the Health of Mothers, Children and Handicapped Children in America 1935-1985, prepared by the Information Sciences Research Institute through support by HRSA grant MCJ-240459. A poster is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Poster

Keywords: Adolescents, Anniversaries, Anniversaries, Child health, Children, Families, Federal MCH programs, Health care financing, History, History, Maternal health, Oral Health, Social Security Act, Title V, Statistics

Annotation: This resource features a series of reports published in Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports between April and December 1999 on 10 public health achievements, reflecting the successful response of public health to the major causes of morbidity and mortality for the period 1900-1999. Topics include vaccination, motor-vehicle safety, workplace safety, control of infectious diseases, decline in deaths from coronary heart disease and stroke, safer and healthier foods, healthier mothers and babies, family planning, fluoridation of drinking water, and tobacco as a health hazard. Critical changes in the U.S. public health system during the century are also addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adults, Cardiovascular diseases, Children, Families, Family planning, Fluorides, Food safety, Health policy, History, Infant health, Infection control, Maternal health, Morbidity, Mortality, Motor vehicle safety, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Public health, Strokes, Systems development, Tobacco use, Vaccination effects, Water

Annotation: This book traces the history of adolescent medicine, drawing on oral histories of physicians in the field, patient records, medical and popular advice literature, and letters from adolescents and parents. The book examines the interplay between the emergence of adolescent medicine and changes in American family relationships, youth culture, popular perceptions about young people, and the social experience of adolescence. It traces the development of adolescent medicine from its origins at Boston Children's Hospital in the 1950s to the present, with special attention to the role of young people themselves. It discusses how the mid-twentieth-century emergence of adolescent medicine has resulted from a combination of social changes and has placed adolescents at the center of the national agenda.

Contact: Harvard University Press, 79 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (800) 405-1619 Secondary Telephone: 401-531-2800 Fax: (800) 406-9145 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hup.harvard.edu $35.00. Document Number: ISBN 0-674-21451-7.

Keywords: Adolescent medicine, History, Oral history

Annotation: In this oral history interview Katherine Bain discusses her time in medical school, her early career, working with children, her career in the U.S. Children' Bureau, consulting with the Defens e Department during World War II, the Emergency Maternity and Infant Care program, Martha May Eliot's role, and Dr. Bain's international work in family planning, newborn screening, and work with Latin American countries. The document includes Dr. Bain's publications list and curriculum vita.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.aap.org/pediatrichistorycenter/phchome.htm

• Link

Keywords: Oral history, Pediatricians, U.S. Children', s Bureau

Annotation: These proceedings provide information related to the International Symposium Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of Water Fluoridation, held in Grand Rapids. Michigan, in 1995. The proceeding includes an introduction that describes the significance of community water fluoridation (CWF), as well as papers on related topics. Selected topics include fluoridation and private practice, status and strategic plans for CWF: the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's perspective, the fluoridation war, the effectiveness of CWF in the United States, and the dental curriculum: what should be new in the 21st century?

Contact: American Association of Public Health Dentistry, 136 Everett Road , Albany, NY 12205, Telephone: (518) 694-5525 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aaphd.org Available in libraries.

• Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Conferences, Fluoride, History, Oral health, Research

Annotation: This document presents remarks delivered by the U.S. Surgeon General on January 4, 1989, at the 100th anniversary of the Public Health Service Commissioned Corps.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Federal programs, Health services, History, Oral health, Public health agencies

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the public schools' role in U.S. dentistry, focusing on the origins and development of school-based oral health programs prior to the 1970s. Topics include the early history of school dentistry, school programs during the depression, school dentistry from 1941 to 1961, and the demise of school dentistry.

Contact: Rand Corporation, 1776 Main Street, Santa Monica, CA 90407-3208, Telephone: (310) 393-0411 Fax: 310-393-4818 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.rand.org Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-8330-0728-9.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Children, History, Oral health, Public schools, School based clinics, School dentistry, School linked programs

Annotation: This set of interviews is part of an oral history project conducted by the Schlesinger Library at Harvard University with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation to document the part played by women in the delivery of health services, maternal and child care, family planning, marriage counseling, and sex education. Martha May Eliot was a pediatrician who was active in the U.S. Children's Bureau, the World Health Organization, and UNICEF.

Contact: Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, 10 Garden Street, Cambridge, MA 02138, Telephone: (617) 495-8647 Fax: (617) 496-8340 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.radcliffe.edu/schlesinger_library.aspx Available from the website.

• Finding Aid
• Link

Keywords: Child health, Children', Federal MCH programs, International health, Maternal health, Oral history, Oral history, s Bureau

Annotation: This document describes the history of the US Children's Bureau from the idea in 1903, its founding in 1912, to the mid-1950s. Chapters include the creation of the Bureau, the early years (1912-1921), years of economic crisis (1921-1933), the coming of the maternal and child welfare program (1934-1940), the Bureau in wartime (1940-1945), and the decade 1946-1956. Each section discusses issues for all children and issues for special groups of children; including infant and maternal mortality studies, child welfare, juvenile courts and juvenile delinquency, and looking toward the future. Appendices include legislative selections and a chart listing federal grants to states.

Contact: U.S. Social Security Administration, 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 Secondary Telephone: (800) 325-0778 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov Available from the website.

• Part 1 - Pp. 1-35
• Part 2 - Pp. 36-90

Keywords: Child welfare, Children, Children', History, History, Infant mortality, Juvenile delinquency, Maternal health, Maternal health, Oral health, Socioeconomic status, s Bureau

Annotation: This report examines the importance of dentistry as a healing science and an essential component of higher education in the health professions. Topics include a general history of dental education in North America and a discussion of the conditions in the practice of dentistry that determine its education requirements. Statistical statements and descriptive accounts of all the dental schools in the United States and Canada in 1925-26 are included, as well as a general plan for the reorganization of dental education to promote the development of dental practice as a division of health service.

Contact: Dalhousie University, DalSpace Institutional Repository, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dalspace.library.dal.ca Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental education, Dental schools, Dentistry, Health professions, History, History, Oral health, Organizational change

Annotation: This resource provides oral histories from interviews with selected pediatricians and other leaders in the advancement of children's health care. Recordings and transcripts of interviews provide narrative accounts of important developments in the care of children and augment the center's written, recorded, and photographic records of pediatric history.​​

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Pediatric History Center, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www2.aap.org/pediatrichistorycenter/phchome.htm

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Oral history, Pediatricians, Pediatrics