Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (54 total).

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Think Cultural Health. n.d.. Cultural competency program for oral health providers. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 3 courses.

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 619-0257 Secondary Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2024. Capacity inventory for integrating oral health care and primary care for pregnant women: Tool (rev. ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This tool was developed to assist states in their efforts to improve their capacity to integrate oral health care and primary care for pregnant women. The purpose of the tool is to help state oral health program staff assess systems-level capacity factors and prioritize needs. Staff can use the tool to consider factors that facilitate integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women and to look for opportunities to improve integration. A companion brief with more information on the tool’s development is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Steward M, Howe G, Tran T. 2024. Emerging approaches in oral health care: Considerations for minimally invasive care in Medicaid. Hamilton, NJ: Center for Health Care Strategies, 18 pp. (Brief)

Annotation: This report discusses minimally invasive care (MIC), how state Medicaid agencies' support of MIC can contribute to improving oral health, and opportunities for these agencies to support the availability of MIC through payment strategies that encourage oral health professionals to use this approach to providing care. Topics include what MIC is, avenues toward supporting it, supporting an expanded oral health workforce, promoting opportunities for clinical integration, and identifying oral health Medicaid payment strategies. Spotlights describing programs that use MIC are included.

Contact: Center for Health Care Strategies, 200 American Metro Boulevard, Suite 119, Hamilton, NJ 08619, Telephone: (609) 528-8400 Fax: (609) 586-3679 Web Site: http://www.chcs.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oral health equity, Reimbursement, Service integration

Oral Health Ohio and Carequest Institute for Oral Health. 2024. MORE care in Ohio: Medical oral expanded care. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about MORE Care, an Ohio program conducted by Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, in partnership, to improve children's oral health and reduce costly, invasive dental procedures by advancing value-based care and integrating oral health care into primary care. The brief describes how the program works, offers information about Health Ohio and CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, and presents an example of how MORE Care is being implemented.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Health care delivery, Low income groups, Ohio, Oral health, Oral health equity, Prevention, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Barzel R, Holt K. 2024. A way with words: tips for writing easy-to-understand oral health materials. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This handout for health professionals provides tips on how to write oral health materials that are easy for people to understand. It includes ideas about words to use and not to use, tone, voice (active vs. passive), and layout. Effectively using headings and lists is also discussed, along with the best way to write sentences and paragraphs to make the text simple and clear. How to incorporate technical words, when necessary, is explained. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Health literacy, Linguistic competence:, Oral health, Oral health equity

Institute for Exceptional Care, Action to Build Clinical Confidence and Culture (ABC3) Coalition. 2024. A national roadmap for disability-inclusive healthcare: A plan for clinicians to learn how to give the best healthcare possible to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). Washington, DC: Institute for Exceptional Care, 56 pp.

Annotation: This roadmap presents goals and action steps to promote the ability of health professionals working in the areas of primary care, mental health, behavioral health, emergency care, sexual/reproductive health, and dentistry to serve people with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (IDD) equitably and effectively. Topics include the need for a national strategy to improve health care for people with IDD, initiatives to improve training for health professionals, building the roadmap, building consensus, priority action steps, and accrediting bodies for health care facilities.

Contact: Institute for Exceptional Care, 1717 K Street, N.S., Suite 900, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 843-9260 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.ie-care.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Special health care needs, Training

U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. 2024. CMS cross cutting issue: Oral health. Baltimore, MD: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 3 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services' (CMS) Oral Health Cross-Cutting Initiative (CCI), which works across the agency to enhance alignment of and focus on oral health in CMS programs and policies. CCI seeks to achieve equal access to oral health care, eliminate persistent oral health disparities, expand access to oral health services, foster collaborative engagement with stakeholders, and use data analytics and innovation to inform policy priorities. The report discusses key results and oral health analytics: data- and evidence-driven insights.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Data, Medicaid, Medicare: Initiatives, Oral health, Oral health equity, Public policy

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2024. State of oral health equity in America 2024 survey: Key findings. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the State of Oral Health Equity in America 2024 Survey, a nationally representative survey of over 9,000 adults’ attitudes, experiences, and behaviors related to oral health. Information is included about dental visits in the past year by home-ownership status, planned dental visits in the coming year by income level, emergency department visits for oral health care by educational attainment, having a dental home by health insurance status, self-rated oral health by sexual orientation, importance attached to cultural humility in oral health care by race, and importance attached to diversity in oral health care by income level.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Cultural competence, Dental care, Educational attainment, Emergency medical services, Health equity, Health insurance, Income factors, Oral health, Sexual identity, Surveys

Santa Fe Group. [2023]. Advance health equity: An alignment and action summit--Summary report. New York, NY: Santa Fe Group, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report presents information from a summit convened to advance health equity by catalyzing aligned, multistate action. The summit focused on three strategic areas: expanded oral health insurance coverage, workforce development, and integration of oral health care and overall health care. The report provides background information and an overview of the summit, as well as a description of sessions.

Contact: Santa Fe Group, 9 East 8th St., Suite 235, New York, NY 10003, Telephone: (505) 603-0804 Web Site: https://santafegroup.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Conferences, Health equity, Health insurance, Oral health, Service integration

CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2023. American Indian and Alaska Native communities face a disproportionate burden of oral disease: Reversing inequities involves challenges and opportunities. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 34 pp., exec. summ. (6 pp.). (White paper)

Annotation: This paper provides information on oral health disparities that American Indians and Alaska Natives experience. It discusses the causes of these disparities and presents possible solutions. Topics include historical and current sources of health inequities, information from the State of Oral Health Equity in America Survey, creating and expanding a representative oral health workforce, collaborating to conduct inclusive research, and making funding available that promotes oral health equity. A call to action is included.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Alaska Natives, American Indians, Collaboration, Diversity, Healthy equity, Oral health, Underserved communities

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2023. Policy statement: Social determinants of health and improving oral health equity. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 11 pp.

Annotation: This policy statement provides information on social determinants of health (SDoH) and what can be done to improve oral health equity. It discusses the problem of health disparities and inequities and presents steps toward a solution, including identifying SDoH in a community, mapping available community resources and mobilizing them through partnerships, selecting approaches for action, and evaluating implementation and impact. A description of the Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors’ support for strategies to address SDoH is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Community health, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Social factors

Wilson K. 2023. Adopting oral health integration to advance minimally-invasive care. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive health care can be used in conjunction with the integration of oral health care and medical care to improve oral health and overall health, as well as people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. The brief presents strategies for integrating oral health care and medical care to promote minimally invasive health care, including cross-training oral health professionals, Medicaid billing and reimbursement, dental hygienists, dental therapists, community health workers, and teledentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy

Wilson K. 2023. Minimally-invasive care and a representative oral health workforce. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 5 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on how minimally invasive oral health care can be used to improve oral health and overall health, as well as on people’s experiences with receiving oral health care. It presents policy opportunities and other approaches to help ensure that people can regularly access oral health care from health professionals they trust—a necessity for minimally invasive oral health care to be effective. It also discusses building a representative oral health workforce, strategies to promote trust between patients and health professionals, and opportunities for improving access to oral health care and advancing oral health equity through the provision of minimally invasive oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care delivery, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy

Heaton LJ, Santoro M, Martin P, Tranby EP. 2023. Cost, race, and the persistent challenges in our oral health system. Boston, MA: Carequest Institute for Oral Health, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from the Annual State of Oral Health Equity in America (SOHEA) survey conducted by the CareQuest Institute. Topics include dental visits—past and planned, oral health and oral problems, impacts of oral health problems, protective factors, oral hygiene practices, and barriers to care—disabilities and discrimination. For each topic, statistical information is presented in text and figures.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Disabilities, Oral health, Oral health equity, Oral hygiene, Surveys

West Virginia Oral Health Coalition. 2023. Beyond the waiting room: The state of dental care access in West Virginia. Carlsbad, CA: Harmony Health Foundation, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on access to oral health care in West Virginia. It discusses oral health workforce shortages, economic challenges related to accessing care, and disparities in access to care. The report also describes a “mystery shopper” program conducted by the West Virginia Oral Health Coalition to gauge patient experiences when seeking health care in the state and to learn about access to oral health care among vulnerable populations.

Contact: West Virginia Oral Health Coalition, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.wvohc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Oral health equity, State information, West Virginia

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Capacity inventory for integrating oral health care and primary care for pregnant women: Brief. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 3 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information on the development of a capacity-inventory tool to help state oral health program staff assess systems-level capacity factors and prioritize needs. The brief discusses the importance of oral health, especially during pregnancy, and strategies to advance oral health equity for the maternal and child health population. Factors contributing to state systems-level capacity to improve integration of oral health care and primary care for pregnant women are organized by broad categories, along with a list of frameworks that informed how capacity inventory categories were determined. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, Primary care, Service integration, State programs

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. 2023. A framework to advance oral health equity in Colorado 2023-2028. Denver, CO: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 29 pp.

Annotation: This report presents a framework intended to guide the activities of individuals and organizations in Colorado in the pursuit of advancing oral health equity in the state. The report presents background on the framework and on the oral health status of Colorado residents. It discusses factors related to oral health inequities, efforts to improve oral health in Colorado, and development of the framework. The four framework goals are also presented, along with next steps.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cdphe.colorado.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Colorado, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Socioeconomic factors, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, State information

District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration. 2023. 2022 oral health needs assessment. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 52 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in the District of Columbia (DC). It discusses characteristics of DC's diverse population and social determinants of health, It also describes the District's oral health landscape, including the safety net infrastructure, and where Federally Qualified Health Centers that provide oral health care and other types of health care are located. Also discussed are the oral health workforce, efforts to integrate oral health care into primary care, and challenges related to achieving equitable access to oral health care.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, Community Health Administration, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5925 Fax: (202) 535-1710 Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/page/community-health-administration Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, District of Columbia, Health care delivery, Oral health, Oral health equity, Service integration, Socioeconomic factors, State information

Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2023. Oral health concerns and dental care among Rhode Island middle school and high school students, YRBS 2021. Providence, RI: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 5 pp. (Rhode Island data brief)

Annotation: This report provides data for Rhode Island public middle and high school students (grades 6–12) on self-reported oral health concerns and receipt of dental care. Data is from the 2021 Rhode Island Youth Risk Behavior Survey. Survey questions are presented. Topics include students who teeth or mouth has been sore once or more during the past 12 months, students who were self-conscious or embarrassed because of their teeth or mouth during the past 12 months, and students who visited a dentist during the past 12 months. Results are stratified by sex, age group, race/ethnicity, and current tobacco use.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Age factors, Data, Dental caries, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health equity, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State information, Surveys, Tobacco use

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. [2022]. National oral health data portal. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 1 item.

Annotation: This web portal provides oral health data sources organized by state to help professionals and programs improve oral health and address oral health equity. Consolidated datasets on oral health status, attitudes, cost, utilization, and access to care have been organized into files and visualizations for easy access and use.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Health equity, Oral health, Statistical data