Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Annotation: This lunch box provides parents with information about oral health and healthy eating choices and practices. The lunch box is illustrated with drawings that promote good oral health and good nutrition and contains a “Dental Care in a Carrot” case made to include a toothbrush, toothpaste, dental floss, and a rinse cup. Ordering information; downloadable files, including a description of the program, a 5-day lesson guide for teachers, and an outline of the lessons; a video about the program; and other supplemental materials are available on the website. The lunch box is also available in Braille.

Contact: Children's Oral Health Institute, 9199 Reisterstown Road, Suige 203A, Owings Mills, MD 21117, Telephone: (866) 508-7400 Fax: (410) 356-8574 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mycohi.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Health literacy, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: This handout for parents explains why oral health is important and how to help prevent dental caries and other oral health problems. It presents a series of questions about school health services, including oral health services, that can help parents support their child’s school’s efforts to address oral health. Other questions presented cover oral health education, bullying prevention, how teachers reward students (i.e., with food or nonfood items), and whether students have access to free and clean drinking water. The handout explains how to find answers to the questions.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, School health programs

Annotation: These tools, which are designed for teachers and caregivers, can be used to teach children about good oral health. Tools include lessons plans for grades 2–4, activity sheets, posters and flyers about choosing healthy drinks, science activity cards from grades K–4, and oral health brochures. A list of other resources is included. Some of the tools are available in Spanish.

Contact: Delta Dental Plan of Michigan, 4100 Okemos Road, Okemos, MI 48864, Web Site: https://www.deltadentalmi.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Educational materials, Oral health, School age children, Spanish language materials, Teaching

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for parents about fluoride varnish (FV). Topics include what FV is, why FV application is recommended for children, how to tell if a child needs FV,and at what ages FV should be applied. Also discussed is what parents should do after FV is applied to their child's teeth, the cost of FV application, the safety of FV, and how long FV lasts. The fact sheet is available in Arabic, English, and Spanish.

Contact: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Capitol View Building, 201 Townsend Street, Lansing, MI 48913, Telephone: (517) 373-3740 Web Site: http://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Costs, Fluoride, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Safety, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This tip sheet for families explains why good oral health is important for children and offers tips on things parents can do help ensure that their child has healthy teeth and a healthy mouth. It is available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish,Vietnamese,and Yiddish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Children, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This training provides information to help kindergarten through grade 2 teachers incorporate oral health education into their curricula, with the goal of empowering students to maintain good oral hygiene, educating them on the importance of oral hygiene and preventive oral health care, and helping build healthy habits and understand the link between oral health and overall well-being. The training comprises three sections (tabs): teacher materials, lessons, and videos. Teacher materials include handouts and a 30-minute training video. The lessons and videos sections include materials to use with students.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Curricula, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health education, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about the effects of tobacco on the mouth. Topics include tobacco use, smokeless tobacco use, quitting tobacco use, and oral cancer. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontitis, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking cessation, Spanish language materials, Tobacco use

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to help health professionals, program administrators, educators, and others understand the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care and to provide information about how to implement oral health care integration in materials, programs, and systems of care. The guide describes materials, such as briefs, curricula, fact sheets, guidelines, manuals, papers, reports, and videos, that reflect current science and practice as well as seminal resources. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Educational materials, Oral health, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This report provides information about the impact of the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, on oral health in the community in 2023–2024. The report provides background information on the Office of Oral Health and discusses highlights and partnerships, impact across 75 counties, oral disease prevention, toothbrushing, fluoride varnish, dental sealants, oral health education, and media.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Arkansas, Community health, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Health education, Media, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This program-planning guide provides information about how to raise awareness of the importance of oral health during National Children’s Dental Health Month (NCDHM) (February). The guide offers oral health champions resources to help them promote the benefits of good oral health and oral-disease prevention to children. It includes an NCDHM fact sheet, a sample NCDHM proclamation, program planning timetable tips, and ideas for activities. Selected activities include sponsoring a coloring contest, offering school presentations, participating in a health fair, and working with community and civic groups.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Consumer education, Health promotion, Oral health, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns

Annotation: This report builds on state and national efforts to promote information, share best practices, and educate health professionals, including prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals for the benefit of patients, including pregnant women, children, and families receiving oral health care. The report introduces the issues, discusses trends, discusses national efforts and Massachusetts' efforts to address oral health among pregnant women and children, and provides information about the role of health professionals in improving oral health among pregnant women and children. Guidelines for prenatal care health professionals, pediatric professionals, and oral health professionals are included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Assessment, Collaboration, Dental care, Health education, Massachusetts, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Preventive health services, Referrals, Role, State programs, Young children

Annotation: This resource guide features materials on policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Examples of materials include a report offering guiding principles that can help Head Start staff promote health literacy, a paper discussing challenges in integrating oral health care and primary care for populations with low health literacy, and a guide describing a program that encourages parents to have a nighttime routine that includes helping their young child brush their teeth and reading a book to their child before bed. A list of relevant organizations is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education, Health literacy, Oral health, Professional education, Program development, Resources for professionals, Training