Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report describes a project to address the health needs of children in child care centers in the New Mexico counties of Rio Arriba and McKinley. Topics include parent and child care provider training in the areas of nutrition, oral health, physical fitness, mental health, and communicable disease prevention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-198919.

Keywords: Caregivers, Child Care, Dental Caries, Early childhood caries, Health Promotion, Immunization, Oral Health, Preschoolers, Rural Populations

Annotation: This timeline provides information on oral health and oral health care throughout life. Topics include developmental events, interaction with dentists, and oral hygiene.

Contact: Know Your Teeth, Academy of General Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 900, Chicago, IL 60611-6660, Telephone: (888) 243-3368, ext. 5300 Fax: (312) 440-0559 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://knowyourteeth.com Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Developmental stages, Infants, Oral health

Annotation: These trainings are designed to help health professionals integrate oral health care into well-child care for children. Trainings include Smiles for Life: A National Oral Health Curriculum, which can be completed for continuing medical education (CME) or continuing nursing education credit, and a training that focuses on tooth decay prevention, oral health assessment, and fluoride-varnish application in Maine, which can be completed for CME credit.

Contact: From the First Tooth / Before the First Tooth, c/o MaineHealth, 110 Free Street, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 662-6296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fromthefirsttooth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Oral health, Pediatricians, Professional training, Well child care

Annotation: These videos provide information about oral health for children and adolescents in pre-kindergarten to grade 2, grades 3–5, grades 6–8, and grades 9–12. The videos discuss the importance of oral health, how to keep the teeth and mouth healthy, the importance of toothbrushing and flossing, and the importance of eating healthy foods and drinking water and avoiding foods and drinks high in sugar. They also explain what tooth decay and gum disease are and discuss the importance of visiting the dentist and what happens during dental visits.

Contact: San Juan Basin Public Health, 281 Sawyer Drive, Durango, CO 81303, Telephone: (970) 247-5702 Web Site: https://sjbpublichealth.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: , Adolescents, Dental care, Gingivitis, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videotapes, Young children

Annotation: This action plan focuses on the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition’s goals related to improving the oral health of all Louisianans. It provides direction for achieving priorities set forth by stakeholders representing individual oral health champions and multiple organizations across the state. The plan describes three oral-health-promotion interventions across the state: Well Ahead Louisiana (a chronic-disease-prevention and health-care-access initiative of the Louisiana Department of Health), school dental sealant programs, and community water fluoridation. Information about the Louisiana Oral Health Coalition is provided.

Contact: Louisiana Department of Health, 628 North Fourth Street, P.O. Box 629, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-0629, Telephone: (225) 342-9500 Fax: (225) 342-5568 Web Site: http://www.dhh.louisiana.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health promotion, Louisiana, Oral health, Prevention, School health, State planning

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on barriers that lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or questioning, intersex, asexual, and more (LGBTQ+) people face in accessing oral health care. Topics include discrimination and mistreatment, prevalence of this population who have chronic health conditions and other risk factors, and lack of coverage of LGBTQ+-specific topics in oral health professional training programs. The fact sheet also discusses what oral health advocates can do to improve access to oral health care for the population and lists talking points and sample tweets.

Contact: Community Catalyst, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.communitycatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Discrimination, Homosexuality, Oral health, Sexuality

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about oral-health-related behaviors among students in middle and high school in North Dakota and offers suggestions for how they can maintain or improve their oral health. Suggestions are divided into things to do and things not to do. Examples of things to do include wearing a mouth guard while playing sports, brushing and flossing teeth daily, and visiting the dentist regularly. Examples of things not to do include regularly drinking sugary beverages, getting lip or tongue piercings, and smoking or chewing tobacco.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505, Telephone: (701) 328-2372 Fax: (701) 328-4727 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Chewing tobacco, Health care utilization, High school students, Middle schools, Mouth guards, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Smoking, State information

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the roles and functions of oral health professionals and other providers that make up oral health teams. Information on dentists, dental hygienists, dental therapists, dental assistants, community care connectors, and non-oral-health professionals is included. Others that may be part of an oral health team are also mentioned, including denturists, dental aides, mental and behavioral health professionals, and home health aides.

Contact: National Partnership for Dental Therapy, Web Site: https://www.dentaltherapy.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health aides, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Health professionals, Home health aides, Mental health professionals, Oral health, Patient care teams

Annotation: This brief provides information on oral health practices of women in Illinois before and during pregnancy. Information in the brief is based on data from the 2017, 2018, and 2019 Illinois Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS). The brief presents background on the importance of oral health care and education before and during pregnancy. Topics include receiving a teeth cleaning before pregnancy, receiving a teeth cleaning during pregnancy, and receiving information on maternal oral health from a health professional. A summary of data related to the oral health of women before and during pregnancy is included.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, 525-535 West Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 60603, Web Site: https://dph.illinois.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to heath care, Dental caries, Health care delivery, Health education, Illinois, Oral health, Pregnant women, State information, Statistical data

Annotation: This program is intended for dentists, dental assistants, dental hygienists, dental specialists, and other oral health professionals interested in learning about culturally and linguistically appropriate services. The program aims to provide professionals with the knowledge, skills, and awareness they need to provide high-quality oral health services to everyone, regardless of their cultural or linguistic background. The program also aims to support the implementation of National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Health and Health Care.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (877) 696-6775 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Diversity, Health care delivery, Health care disparities, Health equity, Oral health, Oral health equity, Professional education

Annotation: This survey provides information about the oral health of young children in Nebraska during the period 2021–2022. Topics include the statewide Head Start survey, the statewide third grade survey, the Lancaster county third grade survey, oral health disparities, and trends. The oral health status of young children in Nebraska compared with the oral health status of young children in the United States as a whole is discussed.

Contact: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, P.O. Box 95026, Lincoln, NE 68509-5026, Telephone: (402) 471-3121 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dhhs.ne.gov Available from the website.

• Report
• Fact Sheet

Keywords: Data, Health care disparities, Nebraska, Oral health, State information, Surveys, Trends

Annotation: This report provides suggestions for how states that choose to implement programs to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care for beneficiaries of Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) can select a family of measures to assess progress. It explains what the different measures in the family of measures are (outcome measures, process measures, and balancing measures) and provides measurement strategies for each type of measure.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides ideas for how states can use a driver diagram on oral health produced by Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) to advance prevention of oral disease in primary care, plan a quality-improvement (QI) project, and determine how to improve outcomes. The report offers background, presents the driver diagram, explains the driver diagram, and provides ideas for activities to promote change.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This video discusses how children who are Medicaid or Children's Health Insurance Program beneficiaries can benefit from having fluoride varnish applied to their teeth in the primary care setting. The video shares quality-improvement methods that can help states improve the provision of oral health care to these children by primary care health professionals. Topics include developing an aim statement, using a driver diagram, identifying drivers to consider for achieving the aim, starting small to test whether change ideas are working, and using the plan-do-sudy-act method.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (800) 633-4227 Secondary Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Dental caries, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral heath, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, State Children', s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This state oral health plan for 2022–2027 summarizes goals of the Tennessee Department of Health related to improving the oral health of Tennessee residents. The report discusses the importance of oral health, the department's past oral-health-related accomplishments, and the department's role in providing oral health care. Also discussed are access to oral health care, oral health education and advocacy, oral disease prevention, oral health resources, and the oral health workforce. The state's Healthy Smiles Initiative is described, along with the future of oral health in Tennessee.

Contact: Tennessee Department of Health, Oral Health Services Section, 710 James Robertson Parkway, Andrew Johnson Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, Telephone: (615) 741-3111 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://tn.gov/health/section/oralhealth Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluoride varnish, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride, State initiatives, State materials, Tennessee, Workforce

Annotation: This training provides information to help kindergarten through grade 2 teachers incorporate oral health education into their curricula, with the goal of empowering students to maintain good oral hygiene, educating them on the importance of oral hygiene and preventive oral health care, and helping build healthy habits and understand the link between oral health and overall well-being. The training comprises three sections (tabs): teacher materials, lessons, and videos. Teacher materials include handouts and a 30-minute training video. The lessons and videos sections include materials to use with students.

Contact: Indiana Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: https://www.in.gov/health/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Videos, Curricula, Dental caries, Health care utilization, Oral health, Oral health education, Oral hygiene, Prevention, School age children, School health, Training

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive, counseling, restorative and emergency, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. They re available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Annotation: This form is designed as a tool for pregnant women to provide information to help dental office staff understand and meet their needs. The form includes information about prenatal care received, what the woman does to take care of her mouth and teeth, and what questions she has about taking care of her mouth and teeth. It also includes information about problems experienced during pregnancy and whether the woman smokes, vapes, or drinks alcohol. It is available in English and Spanish. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Washington, DC Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Forms, Health care utilization, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Treatment

Annotation: This resource guide is designed to help health professionals, program administrators, educators, and others understand the benefits of integrating oral health care into primary care and to provide information about how to implement oral health care integration in materials, programs, and systems of care. The guide describes materials, such as briefs, curricula, fact sheets, guidelines, manuals, papers, reports, and videos, that reflect current science and practice as well as seminal resources. Descriptions of and contact information for relevant organizations is also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Educational materials, Oral health, Primary care, Resources for professionals, Service integration

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about Iowa children's oral health in 2023. Information about the I-Smile program is provided, along with a discussion of the importance of good oral health in children. The fact sheet also includes statistics related to the number of Iowa children who received assistance from I-Smile in fiscal year 2023; the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2021, 2022, and 2023; and the percentages of Iowa children enrolled in Medicaid who received a service from a dentist in 2023, by age.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Data, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Iowa, Medicaid, Oral health, Prevention, Screening tests, State programs