Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (325 total).

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. n.d.. Chairside guide: Silver diamine fluoride in the management of dental caries lesions. The Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry 638-639, 2 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about how silver diamine fluoride (SDF) can be used in the management of dental caries. Information on who may benefit from SFD application and criteria for tooth selection is offered, along with information about how to apply SDF and how to follow up after treatment. What patients can expect after application is also discussed.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease management, Followup, Oral health, Prevention, Silver diamine fluoride

Public Health Communications Collaborative. n.d.. Fluoride: What it is, and why it matters for individual and community health. [No place]: Public Health Communications Collaborative, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about fluoride. It describes what fluoride is and how community fluoridated water with 0.7–1.2 milligrams of fluoride per liter of water is safe to drink and helps strengthen teeth, prevent tooth decay, and decrease the need for costly dental treatment.

Contact: Public Health Communications Collaborative, Web Site: https://publichealthcollaborative.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health, Cost, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Drinking water, Safety, Fluoride, Oral health, Treatment

New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute. 2025. Looking at NJ Medicaid oral health quality performance for children through a secret shopper market survey of the MCO network directories for children ages 0 to 6. Princeton, NJ: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the quality of oral health care for infants and children from birth through age 6 enrolled in Medicaid in New Jersey. The report includes information on the importance of oral health. Data on the oral health status of infants and children living in the state, including those enrolled in Head Start, and about receipt of oral health care among these infants and children is presented. The report also describes a "secret shopper" survey used to assess quality and provides the quality measures used, methods, and results.

Contact: New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute, P.O. Box 2246, Princeton, NJ 08543, Telephone: (609) 452-5980 Web Site: https://www.njhcqi.org Available from the website.

Keywords: School age children, Disease prevention, Access to heath care, Infant health, Low income groups, Medicaid, New Jersey, Oral health, Quality assurance, State information, Surveys:, Young children

Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health. [2024]. Community impact report FY24. Little Rock, AR: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the impact of the Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, on oral health in the community in 2023–2024. The report provides background information on the Office of Oral Health and discusses highlights and partnerships, impact across 75 counties, oral disease prevention, toothbrushing, fluoride varnish, dental sealants, oral health education, and media.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Arkansas, Community health, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Health education, Media, Oral health, State information

Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin. 2024. Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile administration manual. Milwaukee, WI: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 31 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides policies and procedures for Wisconsin Seal-A-Smile (SAS) grantees, with the goal of helping them administer programs and ensure consistency across programs. The purpose of SAS is to improve the oral health of Wisconsin children through school-based dental sealant programs. Topics include administrative and regulatory guidelines; program requirements; forms, reporting, and recording; and budget and funding information.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Administration, Data collection, Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Forms, Grants management, Oral health, Prevention programs, Reimbursement, School age children, School health programs, School health services, Screening, State programs, Wisconsin

Hannan C, Espinoza L. 2024. Statement on the evidence supporting the safety and effectiveness of community water fluoridation. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 4 pp.

Annotation: This statement focuses on the safety and benefits of community water fluoridation (CWF). Contents include evidence showing that CWF programs are an effective, cost-saving, and safe intervention for preventing tooth decay and promoting oral health across the lifespan. The effectiveness of CWF compared with other methods of fluoride delivery is discussed, along with the return on investment of CWF, both for families and for the health care system as a whole. Risks that may accompany CWF are addressed.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Community based services, Cost effectiveness, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Life course, Oral health, Safety, Water

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2024. Silver diamine fluoride (SDF) fact sheet. Reno, NV: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program. 2024. Oregon oral health surveillance system. Portland, OR: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 12 pp.

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Barzel R, Holt K, eds. 2023. Promoting oral health in schools: A resource guide (5th ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about promoting oral health in schools. The guide features materials on data and surveillance; policy; professional education, tools, and training; program development; and public education. Selected materials include a toolkit to help advocates improve the quality of school meals, a roadmap for healthy schools, best practice reports about school-based dental sealant programs and about use of fluoride in schools, and an oral health curriculum for students in kindergarten through grades 10. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Disease prevention, Health promotion, Oral health, Resources for professionals, School age children, School health services, School linked programs, Young children

Carter NL, Lowe E, with American Association for Community Dental Programs and the National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Seal America: The prevention invention (4th ed.). Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 1 v.

Annotation: This manual is designed to assist professionals in planning, launching, implementing, and sustaining school-based dental sealant programs. This edition pairs the manual with a training that further prepares professionals to plan and operate programs. In addition to offering a step-wise approach for planning and implementing school-based dental sealant programs, the Seal America manual addresses issues related to referring students with unmet oral health needs to a dental clinic or office. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental sealants, Disease prevention, Model programs, Oral health, Preventive health services, Program improvement, Program planning, Referrals, School age children, Schools, Sustainability, Training

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2023. Take care of your child's teeth. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 2 pp.

Annotation: This resource provides an overview of steps parents can take to prevent tooth decay in their children, including brushing with fluoride toothpaste, other ways to use fluoride and fluoride supplements, giving children healthy food and drinks, dental checkups, and sealants. A companion resource on adult tooth and gum care is also available from the website.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Child health, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net: Overview and project profiles--Update 2023. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration

Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health. 2023. Missouri oral health care: Report of COVID-19 impact on workforce. Jefferson City, MO: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information from a survey of federally qualified health care centers on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on the oral health workforce in Missouri. The survey includes questions on staffing issues and appointment wait times. Information on dentists, dental assistants, and dental hygienists is presented, and action steps to address the problem of an insufficient oral health workforce in the state are offered.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, MIssouri, Oral health, Service delivery, State materials, Surveys, Virus diseases

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2023. Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net: Overview and project profiles--Update 2022. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides an overview of the Networks for Oral Health Integration Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net project and descriptions of the three networks. The report includes a profile of each network: (1) Midwest Network for Oral Health, (2) Rocky Mountain Network for Oral Health, and (3) Transforming Oral Health for Families. Each profile provides information on the network’s partners, approach, settings, models of care, strategies to help sustain models of care in community health centers, and core function activities, as well as a discussion of the COVID-19 pandemic’s impact on network activities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: High risk children, High risk groups, Infant health, Oral diseases, Oral health, Pregnant women, Service delivery, Service integration

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health. 2022. Fluoride varnish training manual for Massachusetts health care professionals. Boston, MA: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Division of Primary Care and Health Access, Office of Oral Health, 12 pp.

Annotation: This manual is designed to help non-oral-health professionals implement fluoride-varnish application for infants, children, and adolescents ages 6 months to 21 years who are enrolled in Massachusetts’ Medicaid program. The manual includes instructions on how to complete the online Smiles for Life training, which is required for health professionals to apply fluoride varnish for this population. It also discusses how to begin using fluoride varnish in a practice as well as how to keep fluoride varnish notes and how to bill for fluoride varnish application. Basic information about fluoride varnish application and information to share with parents and other caregivers is included.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 250 Washington Street, 5th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6060 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-5992 Fax: (617) 624-6062 Web Site: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/office-of-oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Clinical coding, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Manuals, Massachusetts, Medicaid, Oral health, Preventive health services, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Risk assessment, State programs, Training, Young adults

National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research. 2022. Science: Advancing oral health for all—NIDCR strategic plan 2021–2026. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, 43 pp.

Annotation: This strategic plan presents the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research’s (NIDCR’s) plans to pursue its mission of seeking fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and applying that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability. Topics include COVID-19 and lessons learned; NIDCR’s statutory authority and brief history; office of the director; intramural research program; extramural research program; equity, diversity, and inclusion at NIDCR and the National Institutes of Health; strategic plan; strategic priorities; outcome assessment; and predictions.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: COVID-19, Cultural diversity, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Research, Strategic plans, Virus diseases

Kumar N, Muñiz MA. 2022. What we have learned from community health workers throughout the pandemic: Recommendations for policymakers. Washington, DC: Families USA, 10 pp.

Annotation: This brief presents lessons learned and recommendations for maintaining and building on community health worker (CHW) deployment during the first 2 years of the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses who CHWs are and what they do and provides information about the policy landscape, taking into consideration the American Rescue Plan Act’s allocation of funds for the public health workforce to support pandemic-relief efforts.

Contact: Families USA, 1225 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 628-3030 Fax: (202) 347-2417 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.familiesusa.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , COVID-19, Community health centers, Community health workers, Disease transmission, Financing, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Public policy, Virus diseases

Community Catalyst. 2022. Communities care about oral health. Boston, MA: Community Catalyst, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brief offers information about community members’ attitudes in several states about oral health. It discusses how important it is to community members to get a dental check-up, compared with a medical check-up; how important it is to parents that their child has good oral health; and how institutional and structural factors limit community members’ access to clear information about oral health. Also discussed are community members’ understanding of the importance of oral health to overall health and how the COVID-19 pandemic has impacted their attitudes about getting oral health care.

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Attitudes, COVID-19, Communities, Disease transmission, Health information, Infectious diseases, Oral health, Underserved communities, Virus diseases

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2022. Policy on social determinants of children's oral health and health disparities (rev. ed.). Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 9 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the influence of factors including access to care, oral disease, behaviors, and oral health inequalities on children’s oral health. Methods and background are presented, and recommendations for oral health professionals and policymakers are offered. The report also includes a policy statement.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: zzz, Access to health care, Health equity, Oral health, Public policy, Tooth decay, Tooth diseases

Carequest Institute for Oral Health. 2022. Discussing hpv and detecting oral cancer: The role of oral health providers. Boston, MA: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet discusses the role oral health professionals can play in discussing human papillomavirus (HPV) and providing education about the link between HPV and cancers of the mouth and throat and the importance of the HPV vaccine. It also provides information about the prevalence of HPV; oral health professionals’ confidence about discussing HPV with patients and administering the vaccine; and, among adolescents who had a dental visit in the past year, the percentage that received the HPV vaccine.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Health education, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Vaccines, Virus diseases