Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This report provides data about oral-health-related issues in Oregon. Topics include pregnant women; incidence of cleft lip and/or cleft palate in newborns; infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 17; students in elementary school and in grades 8 and 11, adults, children and adults enrolled in Medicaid, oral and pharyngeal cancer incidence and mortality, the oral health workforce, and the oral health infrastructure.

Contact: Oregon Health Authority, Oral Health Program, 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 850, Portland, OR 97232, Telephone: (971) 673-0348 Secondary Telephone: (971) 673-0372 Fax: (971) 673-0240 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://public.health.oregon.gov/PreventionWellness/oralhealth/Pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Oral cancer, Infants, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral health, Oregon, Pregnant women, Public health infrastructure, School-age children, State information, Work force, pharyngeal diseases

Annotation: This toolkit includes information about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine that oral health professionals can use or share with consumers. The toolkit includes a guide for oral health professionals on how to use the information with consumers, talking tips for various audiences, information on the role of oral health professionals in cancer control and prevention, a brochure on HPV and the vaccine, office posters on HPV and the vaccine, and a prescription pad for use in recommending the HPV vaccine. The toolkit is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: Cancer Action Coalition of Virginia, P.O. Box 31658, Richmond, VA 23294, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://cancercoalitionofvirginia.org/vhit/ Available from the website.

• Submit Form To Receive Downloadable Toolkit

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Vaccines

Annotation: This booklet, which is targeted toward decision-makers, program developers, health professionals, oral health teams, state agencies, and others, when responding to the oral health needs of North Dakota communities, describes opportunities to promote good oral health in the state. The booklet addresses the following topics about oral health in the state: children, adolescents, adults, adults in long-term care, pregnant women, indigenous health, North Dakota Medicaid, oral cancers, cleft lip or palate, water fluoridation, and workforce. Also discussed are the following topics about oral health equity: underserved communities, why oral health equity matters, meeting oral health needs in North Dakota, and burden of disease. A snapshot of oral health in the state is included.

Contact: North Dakota Department of Health and Human Services, Oral Health Program, 600 East Boulevard Avenue, Department 310, Bismarck, ND 58505-0250, Telephone: (800) 472-2286 Secondary Telephone: (701) 328-2356 Fax: (701) 328-1412 Web Site: https://www.hhs.nd.gov/health/oral-health-program Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Data, Fluoride, Health promotion, Indigenous peoples of Micronesia, Polynesia, and Melanesia and their descendants, Medicaid, North Dakota, Oral cancer, Oral health, Oral health equity, Pregnant women, State information, Work force

Annotation: This report presents metrics to provide insights into the oral health status of Indiana’s population. Metrics for children from families with low incomes eligible for Medicaid/the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are also presented. In addition, the report provides information about dental caries, periodontal disease, cancers of the oral cavity and pharynx, orofacial clefts, disparities and socioeconomic factors, oral health and general health, and oral health data and community health in Indiana.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, 2 North Meridian Street, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children', Cleft lip, Cleft palate, Indiana, Low income groups, Medicaid, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Socioeconomic factors, State materials, Statistical data, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This report provides information about oral health in South Dakota. Topics include oral cancer; chronic disease; PRAMS, including information about what PRAMS is; and South Dakota health professional shortage areas. The report presents data from South Dakota’s PRAMS related to each topic.

Contact: South Dakota Department of Health, 600 E. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501, Telephone: (605) 773-3361 Web Site: https://doh.sd.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Data, Data sources, Oral health, Pregnant women, South Dakota, State information

Annotation: This guide provides information about how oral health professionals can help prevent cancer by referring patients for the human papillomavirus vaccination. The guide describes the problem and a solution. It also outlines steps for oral health professionals for preventing cancer, referring patients, collaborating with others, and creating a pro-immunization environment.

Contact: National HPV Vaccination Roundtable, 250 Williams Street, N.W., Atlanta, GA 30303, Web Site: http://hpvroundtable.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Cancer, Collaboration, Human papillomavirus, Oral health, Prevention, Referrals

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals about oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and human papillomavirus (HPV) prevention in children. It discusses what OPC is, its prevalence, and which population groups are most at risk. It also presents information on the relationship between OPC and HPV, OPC treatment options, the safety and efficacy of the HPV vaccine, and what oral health professionals can do it increase uptake of the vaccine.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for pediatricians about oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and human papillomavirus (HPV) prevention in children. It discusses what OPC is, its prevalence, and which population groups are most at risk. It also presents information on the relationship between OPC and HPV, OPC treatment options, the safety and efficacy of the HPV vaccine, and what oral health professionals can do it increase uptake of the vaccine.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information for oral health professionals about how to answer parents’ questions about the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine for children. It offers ideas about how best to recommend the vaccine to parents and how to prepare to answer parents’ questions. Sample questions that parents may ask about the importance, effectiveness, and safety of the vaccine and suggested responses are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Prevention, Risk factors, Safety, Vaccines

Annotation: This paper provides information about human papilloma virus (HPV) and oropharyngeal cancer (OPC) and the possible link between the two. It discusses diagnosing HPV-related OPC, the best way to screen for OPC, the importance of receiving the HPV vaccine, and barriers to receiving the vaccine. A statement elucidating the Association of State and Territorial Heath Directors’ endorsement of the HPV vaccine to reduce the risk for HPV-related OPC is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• Word Document

Keywords: Oral cancer, Oral health, Papilloma, Prevention, Vaccination, Vaccines, Virus disease

Annotation: This document presents a plan for reducing the burden of cancer in Maryland. Contents include goals, objectives, and strategies related to the primary prevention of cancer; high burden of cancers in Maryland; and cancer survivorship, palliative care, and hospice care. Information about the Maryland Cancer Collaborative, terms and acronyms, surveillance and data used in the plan, and special topics in cancer control is included.

Contact: Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, Center for Cancer Prevention and Control, 201 West Preston Street, Baltimore, MD 21201, Telephone: (410) 767-6500 E-mail: https://health.maryland.gov/Pages/contactus.aspx Web Site: https://phpa.health.maryland.gov/cancer/Pages/home.aspx Available from the website.

• 2016–2020 Plan
• 2011–2015 Plan

Keywords: Cancer, Disease prevention, Maryland, Oral health, Palliative treatment, Prevention services, Screening, Statewide planning, Strategic plans, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides information on oral health metrics for Indiana residents categorized by age. Topics include the oral health status of infants, children, adolescents, and adults and the proportion of each cohort that has visited the dentist or has received a preventive intervention. Data on access to fluoridated community water systems and on deaths from oral and pharyngeal cancers for all ages are also included.

Contact: Indiana State Department of Health, Oral Health Home, 2 N. Meridian Street, Section 7-G, Indianapolis, IN 46204, Telephone: (317) 233-1325 Secondary Telephone: (800) 433-0746 Fax: (317) 233-7001 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.in.gov/isdh/18695.htm Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Health status, Indiana, Infants, Intervention, Oral cancer, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, State surveys, Statistical data

Annotation: This guideline offers guidance on secondary prevention of cervical cancer. Contents include key recommendations for screening; triage; and treatment of women with precursor lesions. Recommendations for special populations, such as women who are HIV positive, immunosuppressed, pregnant, postpartum, or women who have had hysterectomies are also addressed. Topics include developing infrastructure for HPV testing, diagnosis, and treatment in settings without current mass screening; cost and policy implications, guideline implementation, and future directions.

Contact: American Society of Clinical Oncology, 2318 Mill Road, Suite 800, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (571) 483-1300 Fax: (703) 299-1044 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.asco.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Cervical cancer, DNA testing, Diagnosis, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, International health, Medical treatment, Oral cancer, Oral health, Postpartum women, Pregnant women, Primary care, Triage, Women', s health

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the use and health effects of betel quid, a combination of betel leaf, areca nut, and slaked lime. Topics include betel quid and gutka (betel quid with tobacco) use by men and women and by region. Health issues associated with the use of betel quid and gutka such as precancerous conditions, cancer, reproductive health problems, and nicotine addiction are also discussed.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Drug effects, Nicotine, Oral health, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Risk factors, Smokeless tobacco, Tobacco use

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about human papillomavirus (HPV). It explains what HPV is, whether oral health and HPV are linked, and how to prevent oral HPV. HPV warning signs are provided, and treatment is discussed. The fact sheet also includes questions about HPV to ask a primary care health professional. The fact sheet is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American College of Physicians, 190 North Independence Mall West, Philadelphia, PA 19106-1572, Telephone: (215) 351-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 523-1546 Web Site: https://www.acponline.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Human papillomavirus, Oral cancer, Oral health, Patient care management, Primary care, Risk factors, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This handout provides information about the potentially harmful effects of chewing betel nut, including increased risk for cancer and gum disease. The handout addresses risk associated with combining betel nut and tobacco and risks for chewing betel nut for pregnant women and children. The handout also includes information about the importance of talking with a doctor and dentist about betel nut use and early cancer detection and provides phone numbers for information about oral health care in North Carolina. The handout is available in English, Burmese, and Karen.

Contact: Orange County Health Department, P.O. Box 8181, Hillsborough, NC 27278, Telephone: (919) 732-8181 Contact Phone: (919) 245-2387 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.orangecountync.gov/204/Health-Department Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cancer, Children, Early intervention, Gingivitis, Non English language materials, North Carolina, Oral health, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Risk factors, Substance use, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report summarizes proceedings of a summit held on November 18–20, 2013, in Chicago, IL, to develop a national framework for action on preventing oral disease. Contents include an overview of summit outcomes and activities by day, planning group members, purpose, objectives, and sponsors. Topics include the financing and economics of oral health; oral health conditions including oral cancer, periodontal disease, facial injuries, and dental caries; prevention strategies; stakeholder group perspectives; and integrated approach. Materials provided at the summit are also available.

Contact: American Dental Association, Council on Access, Prevention and Interprofessional Relations, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Accountability, Community action, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Injuries, Oral cancer, Oral health, Participation, Periodontal diseases, Planning, Service integration, Sustainability

Annotation: These resources provide evidence-based recommendations and findings about what works to improve public oral health. Strategies are reviewed and interventions outlined in three key areas: (1) prevention of dental caries, (2) prevention of oral and pharyngeal cancers, and (3) prevention of oral and facial injuries. Recommendations for community water fluoridation and school-based dental-sealant programs are included.

Contact: Community Preventive Services Task Force, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Community Guide Branch, 1600 Clifton Road, N.E., MSE69, Atlanta, GA 30329, Telephone: (404) 498-6595 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.thecommunityguide.org/task-force/community-preventive-services-task-force-members Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Community based services, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health promotion, Injuries, Oral health, Prevention services, Program evaluation, School age children, School based clinics, Water

Annotation: This public education fact sheet presents key points and facts about fluoridated community water in a question and answer format. Questions include (1) what is fluoride? (2) what is fluoridated water? (3) why fluoridate water? (4) when did water fluoridation begin in the United States? (5) can fluoridated water cause cancer? and (6) where can people find additional information on fluoridated water?

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Oral health, Water

Annotation: This document outlines an updated strategic plan for improving the nation’s oral health over the next 3 to 5 years. Five public health priorities and eight goals address core/essential functions and key subject areas. These areas include dental caries, periodontal diseases, oral and pharyngeal cancers, infection control, public oral health infrastructure, elimination of health disparities, health policy and translation/dissemination of Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) products, and organizational capacity and function. The document also outlines the CDC’s vision, mission, roles, and core functions as well as priorities in public oral health.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Children, Dental caries, Disease prevention, Infection control, Oral cancer, Oral health, Periodontal diseases, Public health dentistry, Strategic planning