Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 14 (14 total).

National Cancer Institute. 2016. Evidence-based cancer control programs (EBCCP). Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute, multiple items.

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: cancergovstaff@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Administration for Community Living and Office of Women's Health. 2016. The community guide to adult oral health program implementation. Washington, DC: Administration for Community Living, 60 pp.

Annotation: This document provides step-by-step guidance for groups working at state and local levels to launch or enhance an oral health program for older adults and people with disabilities. Contents include tips, case studies, interactive tools, and other sources of support for creating cost-effective, sustainable programs. Topics include replicating and expanding an existing program, designing and implementing a new program, recognizing the connection between oral health and overall health, and interprofessional collaboration to serve adults’ oral health needs. A corresponding database of community-based oral health programs is also available.

Contact: Administration for Community Living, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 330 C Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 401-4634 Secondary Telephone: (800) 677-1116 E-mail: https://www.acl.gov/contact Web Site: https://www.acl.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Aging, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Community based services, Financing, Independent living, Interdisciplinary approach, Life course, Needs assessment, Older adults, Online databases, Oral health, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Public private partnerships, Resources for professionals, Sustainability

National Agricultural Library. 2013. Agricultural thesaurus and glossary (13th ed.). Beltsville, MD: National Agricultural Library,

Annotation: This thesaurus provides broad and detailed coverage of all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including human nutrition. The Web site lists terms alphabetically and by subject category, and includes a search feature for locating terms in the thesaurus. It is also available in a Spanish edition that contains regional terms of Latin American countries.

Contact: National Agricultural Library, Abraham Lincoln Building, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5755 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-6856 Fax: (301) 504-6927 E-mail: lmooney@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Agriculture, Nutrition, Online databases, Online systems, Spanish language materials, Thesauri

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2013. Evidence based resources [for Healthy People 2020]. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,

Annotation: This online resource provides evidence-based information and resources for the Healthy People 2020 topic areas. The searchable database offers access to information from multiple sources. A form for searching allows users to choose topic area, objective, developer type, and many other parameters to narrow searches.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Databases, Health, Healthy People 2020, Online databases, Resource materials

Goldsmith D. 2012. Creating dashboards to monitor your oral health program. Westborough, MA: DentaQuest Institute, 1 video (62 min.); slides.

Annotation: This webinar provides an overview of a dashboard used to highlight an oral health program’s financial status. Dashboards, which are business intelligence tools, can serve as guides to help develop program goals and targets and measure program performance. The webinar addresses what is needed to create dashboards, identifies key practice data metrics, and discusses standard reports that dashboards can generate.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Costs, Data, Financing, Measures, Multimedia, Online databases, Online systems, Oral health, Productivity

Zero to Three. [2010]. Baby matters: A gateway to state policies and initiatives. Washington, DC: Zero to Three,

Annotation: This searchable online database contains resource information on state policies and initiatives that impact infants, toddlers, and their families. The information presented is categorized according to Zero to Three's Infant & Toddler Policy Framework, which focuses on four key areas known to impact the healthy development of infants and toddlers: (1) good health (including physical, social, and emotional health, as well as developmental screening); (2) strong families (basic needs, child welfare, home visiting, parent education, and family leave); (3) positive early learning experiences (child care, early intervention, and Early Head Start), and (4) system (governance, financing, quality improvement, accountability and evaluation, regulations and standards, professional development, and public/political engagement). A detailed description of each policy or initiative is provided, as well as links to additional related resources. The policies and initiatives are searchable by category, state, and keyword.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Young children, Child health, Families, Health policy, Infant health, Online databases, State initiatives, State legislation

National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information. 2010. Images. Bethesda, MD: National Library of Medicine, National Center for Biotechnology Information,

Annotation: This database contains more than 2.5 million images and figures from medical and life sciences journals. Content are drawn from the National Center for Biotechnology Information's (NCBI's) PubMed Central full-text digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Users can search images based on keywords and other parameters, such as authors and publication date. Images and data can be saved to users' collections and shared with others.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 E-mail: custserv@nlm.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Archives, Biotechnology, Online databases, Resources for professionals

National Institute of Mental Health, Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, and NIH Center for Information Technology. 2010. National database for autism research. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Mental Health,

Annotation: This website provides a secure bioinformatics platform for scientific collaboration and data-sharing for autism spectrum disorders (ASD) investigators. Content includes the National Database for Autism Research (NDAR), comprising genetic, imaging, and phenotypic data from multiple sources. Additional content includes information about data sharing, standards, tools, policy and procedures, and training.

Contact: National Institute of Mental Health, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (866) 615-6464 Secondary Telephone: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 E-mail: nimhinfo@nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Autism, Collaboration, Data linkage, Medical research, Online databases, Resources for professionals, Web sites

New York Academy of Medicine. 2006-. Resource guide for public health preparedness. New York, NY: New York Academy of Medicine,

Annotation: This Web site includes information about public health preparedness. The site includes a searchable resource guide database with guidelines, fact sheets, and other tools; a current awareness update section that contains recent additions to the database; a list of other sources of information about distasters and medicine, and background information on the Resource Guide project. In 2010 the guide became hosted by the National Library of Medicine.

Contact: New York Academy of Medicine, 1216 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10029, Telephone: (212) 822-7200 Fax: (212) 722-7650 Web Site: http://www.nyam.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Online databases, Public health, Resource materials, World WIde Web

Lewin Group. 2002. Application of a distance learning evaluation plan to Data Skills Online. Falls Church, VA: Lewin Group, 42 pp.

Annotation: This is the second of two documents prepared to help the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) better understand how distance learning approaches to continuing education and professional training contribute to its mission and programmatic goals. It proposes an evaluation framework and demonstrates how the framework can be applied to the online course Data Skills Online, a project funded by HRSA's Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Contact: Lewin Group, 3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 800, Falls Church, VA 22042, Telephone: (703) 269-5500 Fax: (703) 269-5501 E-mail: lisa.chimento@lewin.com Web Site: http://www.lewin.com

Keywords: Distance education, Online databases, Online systems, Program evaluation

2001. MediLexicon. East Sussex, United Kingdom: MediLexicon International,

Miller J, ed. and Business Intellegence Braintrust. 2000. Millennium intelligence: Understanding and conducting competitive intelligence in the digital age. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 276 pp.

Bowker J, Star SL, eds. How classifications work: Problems and challenges in an electronic age. Library Trends. 47(2):185-340. Fall 1998,

Annotation: This special issue of "Library Trends" focuses on how the globalization of the information user community impacts on the development and use of information classification systems and their vocabulary. This is a technical work for library and information professionals. Topics covered include: controlled vocabulary; intellectual access; grounded theory versus faceted classification; marginalized knowledge domains; politics in classification systems; cooperation in the electronic library; and agency and structure in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).

Contact: University of Illinois Press, 1325 South Oak Street, Champaign, IL 61820, Telephone: (217) 333-0950 Fax: (217) 244-8082 E-mail: uipress@uillinois.edu Web Site: http://www.press.uillinois.edu/ $18.50 including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Cataloging, Classification, Databases, Indexes, Information, Information networks, Information services, Information sources, Language, Library services, Online databases, Professional education

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. Youth online: High school YRBS. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention,

Annotation: This web-based data system allows users to view and analyze national, state, and local Youth Risk Behavior Survey (YRBS) results. The system provides access to comprehensive results on youth health risk behaviors from 1991 through 2011. Features include interactive tables that allow users to filter and sort results by race and ethnicity, sex, grade, or site; capability to filter racial and ethnic subgroups; ability to create tables with results from multiple sites or multiple questions; ability to test statistical differences between two results using t-tests; graphing capabilities; and the ability to create customizable fact sheets.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp Available from the website.

Keywords: Statistics, Adolescents, Data, Health behavior, Integrated information systems, Online databases, Risk taking, Surveys

   

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.