Skip Navigation

Strengthen the Evidence for Maternal and Child Health Programs

Sign up for MCHalert eNewsletter

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 7 (7 total).

Solloway M. [1995]. Oral health for low income children: Expanding access to dental services under EPSDT. Washington, DC: George Washington University, Child and Adolescent Health Policy Center, 26 pp. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This report explores the implications of changes mandated by the 1989 Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA '89) for expanding access to oral health services under Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Testing (EPSDT). After providing a general overview of EPSDT and oral health for children from families with low incomes, the report examines the feasibility of using dentists and dental hygienists as primary care health professionals and recommends policy changes to increase the role of oral health professionals in primary care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, EPSDT, Federal MCH programs, Low income groups, Medicaid, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Oral health, Oral health care, Primary care, Provider participation, State MCH programs

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1995. Title V annual report to Congress: Findings from interviews of the MCH community. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report of interviews with members of the maternal and child health (MCH) community regarding the 1991 Title V Annual Report to Congress mandated under the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 obtained feedback regarding the content and format of the report. The comments are meant to serve as a reference during the composition of the 1992/1993 report to ensure that the document effectively meets the needs of legislators and MCH advocates. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Interviews, Maternal health, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Social Security Act, Title V

Solloway M, Schubert S, Green HL. 1993. Informing Medicaid providers about EPSDT: An analysis of state Medicaid manuals. Washington, DC: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 249 pp. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This report presents information gathered during a study that analyzed state Medicaid provider manuals. The purpose of the study was to determine how well the states were informing health care providers about revisions made to the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) program by the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA '89). The report describes the methodology and results of the study; it includes state profiles presenting information about Medicaid, socioeconomic profiles of the children and adolescents covered, and estimates of the population covered. The report provides references and contains a sample data collection instrument. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: George Washington University, Center for Health Policy Research, 2021 K Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 994-4100 Contact Phone: (202) 530-2300 Fax: (202) 994-4040 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://publichealth.gwu.edu/projects/center-health-policy-research Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, EPSDT, Federal MCH programs, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Health insurance, Health professionals, Health promotion, Low income groups, Medicaid, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Primary care, Program descriptions, State initiatives

Fox HB, Wicks LB. 1993. State implementation of OBRA '89 EPSDT amendments within Medicaid managed care arrangements. Washington, DC: Fox Health Policy Consultants, 68 pp.

Annotation: This report examines how states are implementing the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989 (OBRA) '89 EPSDT provisions within the three most common types of Medicaid managed care programs—capitated health maintenance organization, prepaid health plan, and fee-for-service primary care case management programs. Data is presented from a telephone survey of Medicaid agency staff in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center, 750 17th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006-4607, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 496-9067 Price unknown.

Keywords: EPSDT, Fees and charges, Health maintenance organizations, Medicaid, Medicaid managed care, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Prepaid health plans, Reports, Surveys

Panzarine S, ed. 1991. Promoting the health of adolescents: Proceedings from the 1990 State Adolescent Health Coordinators Conference. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 118 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings contain the papers and workshop recommendations from the 1990 State Adolescent Health Coordinators Conference, sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and coordinated by the Division of Adolescent Medicine, Children's Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, Ohio. Presentations include an overview of the changes in Title V as amended by the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, as well as adolescent health surveys, an international perspective on adolescent issues, and the role and responsibilities of state adolescent health coordinators. Workshop discussions addressed development of a statewide needs assessment and coalition building and planning for the "Healthy People 2000" objectives. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE006.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Coalitions, Conference proceedings, Health surveys, Healthy People 2000, Injuries, Needs assessment, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989

Fox HB, Wicks LB. 1991. State implementation of the OBRA '89 EPSDT Amendments. Washington, DC: Fox Health Policy Consultants, 26 pp. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: This memorandum describes the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) amendments to the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1989, and the implications of these amendments on state programs for children up to age 21. The memo was distributed to state Title V agencies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center, 750 17th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006-4607, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 496-9067 Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health services, Child health, Child health services, Children with special health care needs, EPSDT, Early intervention programs, Health screening, Legislation, Medicaid, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Regulations

Fox HB, Wicks LB. 1988-. Legislative provisions affecting access to care for children and pregnant women. Washington, DC: Fox Health Policy Consultants, annual. (Hiscock Collection; related)

Annotation: The 1989 edition of this annual memorandum describes the provisions in the 1989 Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA-89) which affect federal and state programs of services for pregnant women, infants, children, and children with special health needs. OBRA-89 made a number of important changes to the MCH Block Grant, Medicaid and EPSDT, the Education of the Handicapped Act, and the Pediatric AIDS Health Care Demonstration programs, as well as directing the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services to undertake some new efforts aimed at improving the access of children and pregnant women to health insurance and other benefits. The memorandum, which has been distributed to state Title V agencies, highlights the potential impact of many of these changes upon state programs. Later editions describe authorizing legislation and appropriations of interest to the maternal and child health community.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center, 750 17th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006-4607, Telephone: (202) 223-1500 Fax: (202) 496-9067 Available from the website.

Keywords: Child care, Children with special health care needs, EPSDT, Federal MCH programs, Infant care, Legislation, Medicaid, Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989, Prenatal care, Regulations, SPRANS, State MCH programs
   

The MCH Digital Library is one of six special collections at Geogetown University, the nation's oldest Jesuit institution of higher education. It is supported in part by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under award number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy with an award of $700,000/year. The library is also supported through foundation and univerity funding. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.