Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This handout for consumers provides information about xylitol. Topics include the benefits of xylitol, when to use xylitol, and who can benefit from xylitol use. Page 1 of the handout is written in English, and page 2 is written in Spanish.

Contact: Iowa Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Public Health, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: https://directory.iowa.gov/organization/details/department-of-public-health Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Children, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Mothers, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report presents an analysis of surveillance data on prevalence of tooth decay in primary and permanent teeth, tooth retention, and edentulism. An editorial comment is included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Dental caries, Fluoride, Older adults, Oral health, Population surveillance, Public health, Statistics

Annotation: This fact sheet presents information about the use of silver diamine fluoride (SDF) for managing carious lesions. Topics include what SDF is, what it does, and indications for its use; strength of evidence for the use of SDF; whether SDF is approved by the Food and Drug Administration; and contraindications for SDF use. Also discussed are other consideration for the use of SDF, recommended protocols, whether SDF can be used with fluoride varnish, other professionally applied fluorides, and dental sealants; the number of states in which Medicaid reimburses for SDF use, and who can apply SDF.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Disease management, Older adults, Oral health, Protocols, Regulations, Special health care needs, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides information about Medicaid coverage for specific groups as of December 2023. It includes the 2023 Rubric for Assessing Extensiveness of State Medicaid Adult Dental Benefits, which assesses coverage within eight service categories, by state. Also included is a map showing states offering Medicaid dental coverage to certain groups of beneficiaries that differs from coverage offered to other adult beneficiaries ages 21–64, along with a breakdown of which states offer specific types of coverage.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Health insurance, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, State information

Annotation: This website provides science-based guidance to help Americans ages 6 and older improve their health through appropriate physical activity. Includes are tips on how to stay active, community resources, dietary guidelines, campaign materials, news updates. and guidelines on the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to children, adolescents, and adults.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8280 E-mail: https://odphp.health.gov/about-odphp/contact-us#socialmedia-email Contact E-mail: 2019 guidelines Web Site: https://odphp.health.gov/ Available from the website.

• Link
• 2019 Guidelines (2nd Edition)

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Child health, Guidelines, Health promotion, National initiatives, Older adults, Physical activity, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This infographic provides information about the connection between oral health and systemic health at different stages of life. The stages include pregnancy/ postpartum, childhood, adolescence, young adulthood, middle age, and older adulthood. Brief text describes oral health issues that affect people at each stage. The infographic is written in simple language. CareQuest Institute for Oral Health. 2023.

Contact: CareQuest Institute for Oral Health, 465 Medford Street, Boston, MA 02129-1454, Telephone: (617) 886-1700 Web Site: https://www.carequest.org

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Infant health, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This plan presents four interventions aimed to improve the oral health of Arkansas residents during the period 2024–2028. The interventions focus on four areas—access, education, prevention, and policy. The plan also discusses threats to oral health; the building blocks of oral health; and the burden of oral disease on children and adolescents, adults (including older adults), and special populations. An action plan is included.

Contact: Arkansas Department of Health, Office of Oral Health, 4815 West Markham, Slot 18, Little Rock, AR 72205, Telephone: (501) 661-2240 Secondary Telephone: (501) 661-2000 Fax: (501) 661-2055 Web Site: https://healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/prevention-healthy-living/office-of-oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adult health, Arkansas, Health education, Older adults, Oral health, Prevention, Public policy: State information

Annotation: This guide provides information on oral health data and sources that advocates may find helpful in describing access to care barriers, problems, and disparities and that may help make the case for policy solutions that address these issues. Topics include oral health access and outcomes, oral health professionals, Medicaid, and special populations (children, pregnant women, older adults, and adults with low incomes).

Contact: Community Catalyst, Dental Access Project, 30 Winter Street, 10th Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 338-6035 Fax: (617) 451-5838 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://communitycatalyst.org/work/projects/dental-access-project/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to care, Health care disparities, Low income groups, Medicaid, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Statistical data

Annotation: These presentations are designed for caregivers of people with disabilities or older adults. The goal of the presentations is to increase caregivers’ ability to work with people with a broad range of support needs, as well as to make caregivers feel more confident about doing so. The presentations explain how to help support a daily oral care routine for a family member or client. Translations of original English material are available in Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Tagalog. The presentations are written in simple language.

Contact: Pacific Center for Equity in Oral Health Care, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific, 155 Fifth Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://dental.pacific.edu/dental/faculty-and-research/research-facilities/pc#:~:text=The%20Pacific%20Center%20for%20Equity,access%20to%20oral%20health%20care.

• Requires Registration For An Account

Keywords: Caregivers, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Non English language materials, Older adults, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs

Annotation: This infographic provides information about oral health care use by race and ethnicity. Statistical information is presented in graphs on the percentage of children, adults, and older adults with a dental visit in the past year.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Older adults, Oral health, Racial Factors

Annotation: This report describes Ohio’s state oral health plan. It is divided into two sections. Section 1, an overview of oral health in Ohio, addresses the burden of oral disease during pregnancy and in children, adults, and older adults. Ohio’s oral health workforce is also discussed. Section 2 presents goals, objectives, and strategies aimed toward preventing and treating oral disease to improve oral health and overall health for Ohioans. Opportunities for strategy implementation are highlighted.

Contact: Oral Health Ohio, 720 E. Pete Rose Way, Suite 120, Cincinnati, OH 45202, Telephone: (513) 768-6137 Web Site: https://www.oralhealthohio.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Ohio, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State programs, Therapeutics

Annotation: This report provides a comprehensive overview of the state of oral health and the progress made in the past 20 years to improve the oral health of Americans.Topics include effects of oral health on the community, well-being, and the economy; oral health among children, adolescents, adults, and older adults; oral health workforce, education, and practice integration; pain, mental illness, and substance abuse; and emerging science and promising technologies to transform oral health. The report’s executive summary is avail- able separately.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, 900 Rockvilled Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

• PDF
• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Care coordination, Health education, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Trends

Annotation: This report presents data on and an analysis of access to dental care, tooth loss, and associated risk factors for adults ages 18 and older in Rhode Island. Data is from the 2018 Rhode Island Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System, an annual state-level survey of health, health behaviors, and access to health care. The report provides background information and discusses survey methods. Topics include the percentage of adults in the state with dental insurance, percentage who visited a dental clinic in the past 12 months, and percentage with tooth loss. For each topic, results are stratified according to race/ethnicity, educational attainment, age, insurance status, special health care needs status, smoking status, and diabetes status.

Contact: Rhode Island Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908, Telephone: (401) 222-5960 Fax: (401) 222-4415 Web Site: http://www.health.ri.gov/programs/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Age factors, Special health care needs, Data, Diabetes, Ethnic factors, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Older adults, Oral health, Racial factors, Rhode Island, Risk factors, Smoking, State information, Surveys, Young adults

Annotation: This curriculum for health professionals and educators comprises nine courses addressing oral health. Courses focus on the relationship between oral health and systemic health; child oral health; adult oral health; acute oral health problems; pregnancy and women’s oral health; caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling; the oral exam; oral health for older adults; and silver diamine fluoride. The courses can be taken for continuing education credit or simply to gain knowledge on the topics.

Contact: Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Suite 540, Leawood, KS 66211, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-7928 Fax: (913) 906-6096 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.stfm.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Continuing education, Curricula, Dental care, Distance education, Financing, Infants, Mobile applications, Multimedia, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Training, Young children

Annotation: This series includes four handouts: (1) Keeping Baby Teeth Healthy, (2) Protecting Young People’s Teeth, (3) Protecting Your Teeth for a Lifetime, and (4) Protect Your Teeth Later in Life. Each tip sheet provides information about how to keep the mouth and teeth healthy during different life stages (e.g., pregnancy,infancy, childhood, adolescence, later years) as well as for a lifetime. The handouts are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, Campaign for Dental Health, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilikemyteeth.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Infant health, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnancy, Prevention, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This oral health surveillance plan for 2020–2025 updates the West Virginia's previous oral health surveillance plan to account for changes in previously existing data sources and for the availability of new data sources. The plan provides a historical perspective on oral health surveillance in the state, discusses the importance of good oral health, presents a framework for a state oral health surveillance system, and offers an operational definition of "state oral health surveillance system." Also discussed are target populations; partners and stakeholders; goals, objectives, activities, and components; oral health indicators for preschool-age children, school-age children, adults, and older adults; data sources and a data-collection timeline; and resources and sustainability.

Contact: West Virginia Department of Health, Office of Maternal, Child and Family Health, State Capitol Complex, Building 3, Room 206, Charleston, WV 25305, Telephone: (304) 558-0684 Fax: (304) 558-1130 Web Site: http://www.wvdhhr.org/mcfh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adults, Data, Dental caries, Older adults, Oral health, Preschool children, School age children, State information, Surveillance, West Virginia

Annotation: The Arizona Oral Health Action Plan 2019–2022 provides guidance for improving the oral health of all Arizonans. It introduces issues related to oral health in Arizona and discusses the following topics: understanding oral health disparities among children, pregnant women, adults, and older adults; improving oral health equity; cross-cutting oral health care systems; and improving health and oral health in the state.

Contact: Arizona Department of Health Services, Office of Oral Health, 150 North 18th Avenue, Suite 320, Phoenix, AZ 85007, Telephone: (602) 542-1891 Fax: (602) 364-1494 Web Site: http://www.azdhs.gov/prevention/womens-childrens-health/oral-health/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: , Adult health, Arizona, Older adults, Oral health, Service delivery systems, State planning

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of oral health throughout the life-span, the economic costs of oral disease and oral health disparities, and efforts to improve access to preventive oral health services in Michigan. Topics include gains made in increasing access statewide through the expansion of Healthy Kids Dental, a public-private partnership between the Michigan Department of Community Health and Delta Dental; maintenance of dental benefits for adults enrolled in Medicaid; community water fluoridation; and dental sealants.

Contact: Children's Health Alliance of Wisconsin, 6737 West Washington Street, Suite 1111, West Allis, WI 53214, Telephone: (414) 292-4000 Secondary Telephone: (414) 337-4561 Fax: (414) 231-4972 Web Site: https://www.chawisconsin.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adults, Barriers, Children, Coalitions, Community action, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Health care disparities, Infants, Life course, Medicaid, Michigan, Older adults, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Public private partnerships, State programs, Statewide planning, Water, Wisconsin

Annotation: This report provides national estimates for selected measures for oral health status during 2011–2016, examines changes since 1999–2004, and highlights disparities in oral health by certain sociodemographic characteristics. Measures include prevalence and severity of dental caries in primary and permanent teeth, prevalence of dental sealants on permanent teeth in children and adolescents (ages 6–19), and tooth retention and edentulism among adults (ages 20–64) and older adults (ages 65 or older).

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adults, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Older adults, Oral health, Socioeconomic factors, Surveillance, Trends

Annotation: This toolkit provides information for health professionals about how to create an integrated health system that incorporates oral health. It discusses how to create an integration plan and factors to consider when integrating care. Integration care models for women’s health, early childhood health, older adult health, chronic disease, and behavioral health are provided. Each model includes factors to consider and practical examples.

Contact: Virginia Health Catalyst, 4200 Innslake Drive, Suite 103, Glen Allen, VA 23060, Telephone: (804) 269-8720 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://vahealthcatalyst.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Behavioral medicine, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Health promotion, Older adults, Oral health, Service integration, Women’s health, Young children