Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This electronic resource presents guidelines to help adults match a child's physical and mental abilities with the requirements of different agricultural jobs. They are intended to help reduce childhood agricultural injuries. Topics include animal care, manual labor, implement and haying operations, tractor fundamentals, and other tasks. Some of the guidelines are available in Spanish.

Contact: Marshfield Clinic Research Foundation, 1000 North Oak Avenue, Marshfield, WI 54449, Telephone: (800) 782-8581 Fax: (715) 389-3319 Web Site: http://www.marshfieldclinic.org/research/pages/index.aspx Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Agricultural injuries, Child safety, Guidelines, Injury prevention, Motor development, Occupational safety and health, Psychological development, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This report presents an action plan which would reduce the number of agricultural injuries to children and adolescents involved in agriculture whether as workers or bystanders. It includes the objectives and makes recommendations for reducing the frequency and severity of childhood agricultural injuries. Side bars elaborate issues raised by the committee members while they were developing the plan; a key for each objective identifies stakeholders who may play a role in achieving that objective. The report includes biographical sketches of the committee members, bibliographical references, and suggested readings. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Agricultural injuries, Children, Farm machinery, Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Rural populations, Strategic plans

Annotation: This book contains a collection of essays by individual authors; each addresses some aspect of the epidemiology and prevention of adolescent injuries. The individual essays follow a brief commentary on methodological and conceptual issues. Topics covered are: traffic-related injuries, drowning, suicide, the role of handguns in homicides among adolescents and young adults, family violence and development during adolescence, occupational injuries, adolescent injury prevention in primary care, peer violence prevention programs in middle and high schools, post-traumatic stress disorder, and the role of mass media in injury causation and prevention.

Contact: Hanley and Belfus, 210 South 13th Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107, Telephone: (215) 546-4995 Contact Phone: (800) 962-1892 $33.00, no shipping and handling charge if prepaid. Document Number: ISBN 1-56053-190-8.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Drowning, Epidemiology, Family violence, Firearms, High schools, Homicide, Injuries, Mass media, Middle schools, Motor vehicle injuries, Occupational injuries, Peer groups, Physician patient relations, Posttraumatic stress disorder, Prevention, Prevention programs, Primary care, School based programs, Suicide, Violence prevention, Young adults

Annotation: This resource guide addresses the problem of occupational injuries to adolescents. It provides background information and suggests ways to develop prevention strategies. The guide also contains resources for prevention, including work injury data sources, agencies and organizations, selected readings, and a summary on federal child labor laws. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHL045.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bibliographies, Directories, Occupational injuries, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This report was made to the U.S. Congress Committee on Appropriations. It contains two volumes; the first has the subtitle, "The Use of Child Labor in U.S. Manufactured and Mined Imports;" the second has the subtitle, "The Use of Child Labor in U.S. Agricultural Imports and Forced and Bonded Child Labor." The report explains why child labor is used in these industries and what the working conditions and terms of employment are for such workers. Specific profiles are given for manufacturing and mining industries and for the production of particular crops in Africa, Asia, and Latin America that are ultimately imported into the United States. The second volume also defines forced and bonded child labor and describes situations involving forced child labor; an additional section details the service sector and illegal economy. Appendices provide documents from numerous international conventions and declarations on the rights of working children.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of International Labor Affairs, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room C-4325, Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 693-4770 Fax: (202)693-4780 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.dol.gov/ilab Available to read online or for mobile devices from several vendors.

• Vol. I
• Vol. II

Keywords: Africa, Agricultural injuries, Asia, Central America, Children, Industry, International data, Occupational injuries

Annotation: This manual provides descriptions of injury prevention projects implemented in several states. These projects were carried out by state and local departments of health, and by other health/injury-related entities. Interventions cover 12 specific injuries and two overarching contributing factors—firearms and alcohol. For each project, the manual describes the problem, the project objective(s), components, maternal and child health (MCH) role, resources needed, lessons learned, and evaluation. These cases represent concrete examples of what has been tried, what has worked, and what has not. The case studies are indexed by age group protected, by primary target audience, by state, and by MCH setting. Appendices include nine key injury prevention activities for state MCH agencies, and a sample case study format. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

• PDF

Keywords: Alcohol, Assault, Bicycles, Burns, Case studies, Correlates of injury, Drowning, Evaluation, Family violence, Firearms, Homicide, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Playgrounds, Program development, Residential injuries, Sexual abuse, Sports, Suicide

Annotation: This data book and a related set of slides present information on the nature and incidence of unintentional and intentional injuries among U.S. children and adolescents ages 1–19. The book is divided into five sections: (1) Overview—comparisons between injury and diseases, international comparisons; (2) mortality—major causes of injury by developmental stage, mortality data compared to morbidity data; (3) unintentional injury—motor vehicles, pedestrians, bicycles, drowning and near drowning, fires and burns, unintentional firearms, poisoning, falls, occupational injuries, farm injuries, sports, toys and recreational equipment; (4) violence—homicide, assault, suicide, child abuse and neglect, rape; and (5) interventions—chart by age group, the cost of injury, suggestions for ways to prevent child and adolescent injury. An appendix presents 1988 injury mortality rates for children ages 1–4, 5–9, 10–14, and 15–19, for 11 major injury categories. Federal agencies contributing data include the National Center for Health Statistics, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Consumer Product Safety Commission, Department of Justice, and National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE049; MCHF098 (slides), MCHF108 (brochure); book ERIC ED 342 152.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Child development, Child health, Children, Costs, Data, Firearm injuries, Infants, Injuries, Integration, Morbidity, Mortality, Occupational injuries, Planning, Preschool children, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Safety equipment, Schools, Slides, Suicide, Toddlers, Transportation injuries, Violence

Annotation: This annotated bibliography includes items recommended by members of the planning committee for Child Health Day 1991. Sections of the bibliography address overviews of injury issues; injury data; program components (overview, program development, advocacy, coalition building, and training); and injury types and causes (overview, bicycles, child care, drowning, falls, firearms, fire/burns, motor vehicles, occupational injuries, pedestrians, playgrounds, sports, toys, and violence). The bibliography also contains resource lists. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (703) 625-7802 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHE014.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycles, Burns, Child Care, Children, Coalitions, Curricula, Data, Directories, Drowning, Educational materials, Falls, Firearms, Fires, Health observances, Injury prevention, Motor vehicles, Occupational injuries, Pedestrians, Playgrounds, Program development, Sports, Toys, Traffic safety, Violence

Annotation: This book and its executive summary were produced by the multidisciplinary National Committee for Injury Prevention and Control as a tool for practitioners and a companion piece to "Injury in America" which focused on research issues. It provides guidelines for problem identification, working with and learning from data, program design and evaluation and program implementation. Possible collaborators and funders in injury prevention are described. Chapters devoted to violence prevention explore assaultive injury, child abuse, domestic violence, elder abuse, rape and sexual assault, suicide and firearm injury. Each chapter describes the magnitude of the intentional injury problem, risk factors, prevention, interventions and recommendations. The publication represents the collaborative efforts of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the Division of Injury Epidemiology and Control of the Centers for Disease Control, and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration of the U. S. Department of Transportation.

Keywords: Child abuse, Injury prevention, Occupational injuries, Residential injuries, Traffic injuries, Violence

Annotation: This annual report provides a readily available source of information on the status and scope of the research grants program of NIOSH. It is intended to be most useful to investigators in biomedical science, engineering and related disciplines. Areas covered include occupational lung diseases, musculoskeletal injuries, occupational cancers, traumatic injuries, cardiovascular disease, disorders of reproduction, dermatologic conditions, psychological disorders, neurotoxic disorders, noise-induced hearing loss, control techniques, respirator research and other occupational needs. Tables, figures and graphs are included as well as a grant number index, principal investigator index, and grantee institution index.

Contact: National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Patriots Plaza Building , 395 East Street, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Contact Phone: (404) 639-3343 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/homepage.html Available at no charge.

Keywords: Financing, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Occupational injuries, Research methodology