Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2019–2020 about the health, including oral health, of children living in rural areas, as well as use of health care. Topics include receipt of preventive medical and oral health visits; adverse childhood experiences; and weight, physical activity, and food insecurity.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Rural population, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This report presents results of a survey of parents with children and adolescents ages 2 to 17 to measure parents' attitudes about food marketing and other influences on children's eating habits and their support for policies to promote healthy eating for their children. Topics include parents' opinions about food industry self-regulation, including the ages of children who should be protected from unhealthy food marketing and whether they believe that individual food companies have delivered on their pledges to limit food advertising to children. The report also examines parents' willingness to participate in a variety of actions to encourage companies to reduce unhealthy food marketing to their children. A series of infographics is also available.

Contact: Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity, University of Connecticut, One Constitution Plaza, Suite 600, Hartford, CT 06511, Telephone: (860) 380-1000 Fax: (860) 509-0009 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.uconnruddcenter.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Infographics

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Beliefs, Children, Consumer satisfaction, Consumer surveys, Food consumption, Marketing, Nutrition, Parent participation, Parenting attitudes, Policy development

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about students' oral hygiene practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages. It discusses third-grade students' access to toothbrushes, toothbrushing and flossing practices, and consumption of sugar-containing beverages, as well as whether they have visited a dentist; middle school students’ toothbrushing practices and consumption of sugar-containing beverages; and high school students’ consumption of soda.

Contact: University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Center for Rural Health, 1301 North Columbia Road Stop 9037, Grand Forks, ND 58202-9037, Telephone: (701) 777-3848 Fax: (701) 777-6779 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ruralhealth.und.edu Available from the website.

• PDF
• Link

Keywords: Adolescents, American Indians, Children, Dental caries, Health behavior, Low income groups, Minority groups, North Dakota, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevalence, Rural population, Social factors, State surveys, Statistical data, Sugar

Annotation: This report provides data, recommendations, and case study examples of how to more effectively use state Quality Rating and Improvement Systems (QRIS) as a lever for change in childhood obesity prevention. The report focuses on four strategies to prevent childhood obesity: healthy eating, breastfeeding, physical activity, and limited screen time (HEPA). Contents include information from 24 states that have identified practices related to HEPA that states want to promote via their QRIS. Case studies from seven states (Arizona, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, New Jersey, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin) highlight strategies to support childhood obesity prevention efforts in early childhood education settings.

Contact: Nemours National Office of Policy & Prevention, 1201 15th Street, N.W., Suite 210, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 457-1440 Fax: (202) 649-4418 Web Site: http://www.nemours.org/about/policy.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Case studies, Child care centers, Child development centers, Disease prevention, Early childhood education, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Program improvement, Quality assurance, State surveys, Young children

Annotation: This report presents findings of a survey of the Supplemental Food and Nutrition Program (SNAP), which provides nutrition-assistance benefits to individuals and families with low incomes. The purpose of the survey, which was conducted between October 2011 and September 2012, was to assess the effect of SNAP on food security and food spending in the post-2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act environment of higher SNAP allotments. The report assesses how household food security and food expenditures vary with SNAP participating and discusses how the relationship between SNAP and food security and between SNAP and food expenditures vary by key household characteristics and circumstances and what factors distinguish between food secure and food insecure SNAP households with children.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Costs, FInancing, Families, Food, Hunger, Low income groups, Nutrition, Prevention, Program evaluation, Statistical data, Supplemental food programs, Surveys

Annotation: This report provides a current picture of the state of the research on food access, examining the relationship between the “food environments” in which people live and their diets, as well as the relationship between food retailing and community economic development. Topics include measuring change over time in terms of better access to healthy food, the role poor access to healthy food contributes to poorer nutrition overall, and how new healthy food retailing contributes to community economic development in tangible, positive ways.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Research, Community surveys, Food, Food habits, Food supply, Low income groups, Nutrition, Public health nutrition, Racial factors, Rural environment, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report introduces State Baby Facts, an online series of fact sheets for each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia that provides information for early childhood professionals and policymakers about the status of infants, young children, and their families across the country. The fact sheets present data to show how infants are faring in each of the 50 states and DC and also highlight the role that many federal programs play in helping families to secure resources to nurture infants health growth and development. The report provides an overview about that status of infants, young children, and, discussing those at economic risk, health and nutrition, and strong families, positive early learning experiences.

Contact: ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families, 1255 23rd Street, N.W., Suite 350, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 Fax: (202) 638-0851 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Families, Federal programs, Health, Infants, Low income groups, Nutrition, Poverty, Public policy, State surveys, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report provides data and analysis in an ongoing assessment of the U.S. population’s nutritional status by measuring blood or urine concentrations of 58 diet-and-nutrition biochemical indicators. The measurements of the 58 indicators give researchers and others information about population dietary intake or environmental exposure. Report contents include background on the study, addressing data needs, public health uses, data presented for each biochemical indicator, interpreting the data, useful sources of information about using nutrition, monitoring to interpret data, the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), data analysis, and references. Biomedical indicators in this report include biochemical indicator sections, new biochemical indicators: water-soluble vitamins, vitamin B6, fat-soluble vitamins and nutrients, vitamin C, trace elements (iron indicators and iodine), fatty acids, isoflavones and lignans, iron status: transferrin receptor and body iron, acrylamide hemoglobin adducts, and acrylamide hemoglobin adducts.

Contact: National Center for Environmental Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta , GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nceh Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Data, Dietary assessment, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, National surveys, Nutrition, Population surveillance

Annotation: This report describes a survey of oral health literacy of parents with infants and children ages five and under with dental benefits coverage to assess parents' knowledge and behaviors relating to children's oral health. Topics include the importance of oral health in the overall health of children, establishing good oral health at birth, timing of the child's first dental visit, brushing and flossing, the role of poor eating habits as an obstacle to good oral health, fluoride's role in oral health, and bedtime habits with pacifiers and bottles.

Contact: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, 200 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10166, Web Site: http://www.metlife.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Children, Dental hygiene, Fluorides, Health literacy, Health surveys, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Parents, Young children

Annotation: This report summarizes a biennial survey of middle and high school principals and lead health education teachers to assess school health policies and practices in states, large urban school districts, and territories. Topics include school health education requirements and content, physical education and physical activity, practices related to bullying and sexual harassment, school health policies related to tobacco-use prevention and nutrition, school-based health services, family engagement and community involvement, and school health coordination. Maps, questionnaires, and data files are also available.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Bullying, Community participation, Family school relations, Health policy, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical education, Prevention programs, Program coordination, School health education, School health programs, School health services, School safety, Service coordination, Sexual harassment, Statistics, Surveys, Tobacco use, Trends

Annotation: Maternity Practices in Infant Nutrition and Care (mPINC) is a national survey of maternity care practices and policies that is conducted by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention every 2 years beginning in 2007. The survey is mailed to all facilities with registered maternity beds in the United States and Territories. The web site contains an overview of the latest survey results and how progress is being made toward national goals for breastfeeding and infant nutrition and why the survey is important. Reports from the survey results are also provided on maternity care practices, facility benchmarks, and state reports. Additional sections on the web site include how the mPINC scores are calculated, sample questionnaires

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Program Web Site
• Overview Of Latest Survey (2011)

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Maternity hospitals, National surveys, Newborn infants

Annotation: This policy brief discusses the intersections of childhood obesity and dental disease, and offers solutions that can promote the prevention of both. Topics include the epidemic rates of obesity in California and the high prevalence of dental disease among children in the state, and highlights some of the known causes: lack of breastfeeding, lack of access to healthy foods, the role of sugar-sweetened beverages, and the contributions of low-income status among children affecting access to oral health care. Five recommendations are provided along with an illustration and continued discussion outlining overlapping strategies to reduce dental disease and obesity.

Contact: Children Now, 1212 Broadway, Fifth Floor, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 763-2444 Fax: (510) 763-1974 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrennow.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Children, Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Health promotion, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Prevention, Socioeconomic factors, State surveys

Annotation: This report presents key findings from an oral health survey of students in third grade in Mississippi public schools. Contents include information on children's oral health status, trends in children's oral health, and factors that contribute to poor oral health in the state. Topics include oral health care, lack of care, lack of care based on income, racial disparities, dental sealants, and dietary habits. Information on the survey methodology, data tables, references, and definitions is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services, Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700, Telephone: (601) 576-7500 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Fax: (601) 576-8190 Web Site: http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/41,0,151.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Mississippi, Nutrition, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This report examines state- and district-level policies addressing nutrition and physical activity at the middle school and high school levels. The Data was collected from two sources: The State School Health Policy Database maintained by the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE) and a nationally representative sample of more than 600 public school districts supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Bridging the Gap Program. The report summaries key findings related to nutrition and physical activity policy at the state and district levels and highlights areas where health policy is lacking. Included in the analysis is a review of school meal programs, physical education, and nutrition standards.

Contact: National Association of State Boards of Education, 2121 Crystal Drive, Suite 350 , Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (703) 684-4000 Fax: (703) 836-2313 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nasbe.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Data, Health policy, Nutrition policy, Physical activity, Policy analysis, School age children, School districts, School health programs, School surveys, State programs

Annotation: This report looks at preconception health among Florida's women of childbearing age. The report covers 10 different health areas (general health status and life satisfaction, social determinants of health, health care, reproductive health and family planning, tobacco and alcohol use, nutrition and physical activity, mental health, emotional and social support, chronic conditions, and infections) and examines how Florida compares to the United States, compares over time, and compares among different socioe-demographic groups.

Contact: Florida Department of Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Tallahassee, FL 32399, Telephone: (850) 245-4444 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.floridahealth.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Report By Sections

Keywords: Alcohol consumption, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Family planning, Tobacco use, Florida, Health care, Infections, Mental health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Preconception care, Reproductive heath, Social support, State surveys, Women', s health

Annotation: This policy brief focuses on a study on geographic variations in consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages among California children, adolescents, and adults and examines the correlation between soda consumption and obesity. The brief provides background and discusses soda consumption in California, the association between soda consumption and a higher prevalence of overweight and obesity, and varying soda consumption from place to place in California.

Contact: UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, 10960 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 1550, Los Angeles, CA 90024, Telephone: (310) 794-0909 Fax: (310) 794-2686 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthpolicy.ucla.edu Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adult health, Beverages, California, Child health, Food consumption, Food habits, Geographic factors, Nutrition, Obesity, State surveys

Annotation: This brief includes information on socioeconomic and environmental and social factors such as education, housing, neighborhood safety, food access, criminal justice, and health insurance, among others, to show how they are connected and how they impact health and what are the key factors to focus on in the quest to eliminate health inequities in communities of color in California. The brief also presents a framework for health equity and discusses policy recommendations.

Contact: California Pan-Ethnic Health Network, 1221 Preservation Park Way, Suite 200, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 832-1160 Fax: (510) 832-1175 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cpehn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: California, Criminal justice system, Education, Ethnic factors, Food, Health, Health insurance, Housing, Income factors, Low income groups, Mental health, Minority groups, Neighborhoods, Nutrition, Physical activity, Poverty, Public policy, Racial factors, Safety, State surveys

Annotation: This report examines the performance of school breakfast programs in 25 large urban school districts during the 2008-09 school year, based on the results of a survey sent to food service staff by the Food Research and Action Center. The aim of the report is to monitor urban schools' progress in increasing breakfast participation among low-income students. Included in the report are statistics on the percentage of low-income children receiving breakfast in school; barriers to participation; promising practices case studies; and recommendations for policymakers and urban school district administrators are also provided.

Contact: Food Research and Action Center, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 540, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-2200 Fax: (202) 986-2525 Web Site: http://www.frac.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Low income groups, Nutrition programs, School breakfast programs, School health, Surveys, Urban schools

Annotation: This fact sheet focuses on three areas of research in childhood obesity: health consequences of childhood obesity, physical activity and schools, and nutrition and schools. Statistical information is presented in figures throughout the fact sheet. An overview of research is provided and references and definitions are presented in sidebars.

Contact: Center for Health and Health Care in Schools, George Washington University Milken Institute School of Public Health, 2175 K Street, N.W., Suite 200, Room 213, Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 994-4895 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthinschools.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Public awareness materials, School age children, School health education, Schools, Surveys