Search Results: MCHLine

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Health services, Videotapes

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: This systematic review evaluates whether participation in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) is associated with nutrition and health outcomes for women, infants, and children, and whether the associations vary by duration of participation or across subgroups. The review prioritized studies published since 2009 and included studies comparing outcomes before and after the 2009 food package change. Conclusions showed that maternal WIC participation was associated with improved birth outcomes, lower infant mortality, and better child cognitive development, as well as purchasing healthier foods and improved diets for pregnant women and children.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Child nutrition, Infant health, MCH programs, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Pregnant women, Preterm delivery, Program evaluation, WIC Program

Annotation: This brief provides key findings from the National Survey of Children’s Health 2019–2020 about the health, including oral health, of children living in rural areas, as well as use of health care. Topics include receipt of preventive medical and oral health visits; adverse childhood experiences; and weight, physical activity, and food insecurity.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, Rural population, Statistical data, Surveys

Annotation: This report describes the social determinants of health (SDOH) and the ways in which health inequities can be mitigated to achieve better health outcomes. Housing, food and nutrition, transportation, social and economic mobility, education, and environmental conditions are among the contributing factors addressed. Evidence-based interventions and descriptions of federal programs that address SDOH are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Room 415F, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (202) 690-6445 Secondary Telephone: (202) 690-7858 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://aspe.hhs.gov/

• PDF

Keywords: Economic factors, Federal initiatives, Health equity, Housing, Nutrition and food, Social factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Transportation

Annotation: This brief highlights two promising examples of partnerships between child care providers and food access initiatives. Both partnerships received grant funding form Walmart Foundation's Healthier Food Access program, which provides support to innovative programs addressing food access. The brief focuses on three strategies: One that supports children and families directly; one that fosters the capacity of child care providers and their ability to support child nutrition in their own care settings; and one that organizes at a systems level to better coordinate efforts that target families with young children. Included are recommendations for building similar partnerships in local communities.

Contact: Urban Institute, 2100 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20037, Telephone: (202) 833-7200 Fax: (202) 467-5775 E-mail: http://www.urban.org/about/contact.cfm Web Site: http://www.urban.org

• PDF

Keywords: Child care services, Child nutrition, Community participation, Food, Model programs, Partnerships, Program development, Young children

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a toolkit developed by the Iowa WIC program to increase WIC staff knowledge of the cultural traditions of WIC clientele. The toolkit includes information to help WIC counselors recognize the food-related practices and beliefs of different cultures. It also provides suggestions for adapting counseling methods based on traditional communication styles and interpersonal behaviors, such as body language, vocal volume, distance, and touch. It provides contact information for obtaining a copy of the toolkit.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov/WIC Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Iowa, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition services, State programs, WIC program

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This bookmark for pregnant women provides information about nutrition and oral health during pregnancy and infancy. The bookmark offers tips on oral hygiene, nutrition, and dental visits during pregnancy on one side and during infancy on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Disease prevention, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services

Annotation: This document outlines competencies for health professionals engaged in obesity prevention and management. Contents include general concepts related to core obesity knowledge, interprofessional obesity care, and patient interactions related to obesity that can be integrated into existing curricula or used as a model for chronic disease curricula.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Competence, Competency-based education, Curriculum development, Disease management, Models, Nutrition, Obesity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This series of handouts for pregnant women and parents of infants and young children provides simple tips on nutrition and oral health issues. Topics include brushing a young child’s teeth, choosing healthy drinks, encouraging children to drink water with fluoride, giving children healthy snacks, taking care of oral health for pregnant women, and taking care of an infant’s oral health. The series is written in simple language and is available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Consumer education materials, Fluorides, Infants, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Young children

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

• Current Report
• Earlier Editions

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children', Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs, s Health Insurance Program

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Annotation: This toolkit contains information that details five high impact opportunities for states and local school districts to support communities through collaboration between the education and health sectors, highlighting best practices and key research in both areas. Contents include resources, programs, and services offered by non-governmental organizations.

Contact: U.S. Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20202, Telephone: (800) 872-5327 Secondary Telephone: (800) 437-0833 Web Site: http://www.ed.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Case management, Collaboration, Communities, Community action, Educational reform, Eligibility, Health care reform, Health education, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Hospitals, Medicaid managed care, Needs assessment, Nutrition, Physical activity, Public private partnerships, Reimbursement, Role, School districts, State government, Students

Annotation: This document suggests nutrition-related strategies for impacting health outcomes in the maternal and child health (MCH) population. Contents include evidence-based or -informed strategies that can be developed and used by states to monitor accountability, quality improvement, and performance of Title V programs. Topics include emphasizing nutrition and dietary aspects of oral health and ensuring appropriate referrals for nutrition needs identified during preventive oral health visits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 37094, Tucscon, AZ 85740-7094, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Health services delivery, Measures, Nutrition, Preventive services, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Annotation: This video explains why adding fluoride to community water systems is safe and effective at preventing tooth decay. The video features commentary from oral health professionals and pediatric health professionals about the value of community water fluoridation for children and adults.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Community based services, Fluorides, Nutrition, Oral health, Preventive health services, Safety, Water