Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to conduct a workshop for nutritionists, nurses, physicians, and other health professionals to update knowledge of nutritional needs of chronically ill/handicapped children, identify screening and referral procedures and develop a plan for improving nutrition services through Title V programs in the 13 states comprising Region IV and VI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196749.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Nurses, Nutrition, Nutrition screening, Nutritionists, Physicians, Professional education

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This webinar reviews new clinical content in the Bright Futures Guidelines and the associated Periodicity Schedule, and discusses how to use evidence to decide on content for your practice's health supervision visits and how to identify strategies, tools, and resources to maximize efficiency for health promotion and preventive services.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Webinar Only
• Bright Futures 4th Edition Webinars And Slide Decks

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Evidence based medicine, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Videos, Weight management

Annotation: This companion to the most current edition of the Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children and Adolescents, the national standard for well-child care provides updated forms and materials relate to preventive health supervision and health screening for infants, children, and adolescents. These include pre-visit questionnaires, visit documentation forms, parent and patient handouts, supplemental education handouts, and medical screening reference tables.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Link
• Downloadable Forms And Handouts

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Professional resources, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge. Document Number: ISBN 978-1-61002-082-4.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: These guidelines provide background information and recommendations for promoting the healthy development of infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21, as well as standards for health supervision visits. Topics include lifelong health for families and communities, family support, health for children and adolescents with special health care needs, development, mental health, weight, nutrition, physical activity, oral health, use of social media, and safety and injury prevention. A companion pocket guide is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Order from the website for a charge.

• Ebook

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Anticipatory guidance, Child development, Child health, Communities, Disease prevention, Emotional development, Families, Guidelines, Health promotion, Health screening, Health supervision, Infant development, Infant health, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pediatric care, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Preventive health services, Protective factors, Psychosocial development, Safety, Sexual health, Standards, Weight management

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

• Link

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

Annotation: This compendium of program summaries describes the approaches of American Academy of Pediatrics' state chapters to develop and implement programs focused on poverty and child health in California, New York City, Oklahoma, and Vermont. Topics include developing and using innovative technologies to address food insecurity, pediatricians promoting food security, ensuring the delivery of health and developmental screening services to young children who are homeless, supporting adolescent parents and their children, and accessing summer meal programs. Each summary includes information about program collaboration, evaluation and measurement, outcomes, barriers and lessons learned, and future plans.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Child health, Collaboration, Community action, Community based services, Developmental screening, Food, Health screening, Healthy People 2020, Homeless persons, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition, Poverty, Program descriptions, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: These guidelines are designed to assist case managers in improving the nutrition, physical activity, and healthy eating practices of adolescent clients. Topics include adolescent nutrition, infant feeding, nutrition and physical activity screen, calcium, iron, folate and folic acid, fruits and vegetables, body image and disordered eating, weight management, physical activity, and vegetarianism. Contents include handouts for motivational counseling and education with adolescents.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, California, Case management, Counseling, Dietary guidelines, Food consumption, Food habits, Health education, Motivation, Nutrition, Physical activity, Screening

Annotation: This fact sheet for consumers provides information about gestational diabetes and about what women who had this condition while pregnant can do to reduce the chances that they or their child will get diabetes later in life. The fact sheet provides action steps for women (including getting tested for diabetes, eating healthy foods and being more active) and for the whole family.

Contact: National Diabetes Education Program, One Diabetes Way, Bethesda, MD 20841-9692, Telephone: (301) 496-3583 Web Site: http://ndep.nih.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-6019; NDEP-88.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child health, Consumer education materials, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prevention, Screening tests, Women', s health

Annotation: This guide reviews the evidence for and against many preventive services, including screening tests, counseling interventions, and immunizations, and recommends 64 preventive services shown to be effective. The guide presents recommendations first for adults, listing diseases, conditions, and treatments alphabetically. The next section is devoted to children and adolescents and discusses 15 topics. Immunizations are discussed in the next section. Topics in progress discusses disease and condition recommendations under review in 2012. Appendices include information on how recommendations are graded, a list of members of the task force, acknowledgements, information about the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, and more resources.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 12-05154; ISBN 978-58763-421-5.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Exercise, Health care delivery, Health services, Injuries, Nutrition, Prevention, Screening, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse

Annotation: This report describes a project to (1) increase the number of young children at high risk for dental caries who are receiving early preventive care, including assessments and fluoride-varnish applications; (2) increase the number of children enrolled in the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC) who receive a dental visit by age 1; and (3) develop sustainable systems that maximize the use of WIC as an entry point for early oral health services. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, California, Dental care, Final reports, Fluorides, Low income groups, Nutrition, Oral health, Preventive health services, Screening, State initiatives, Young children

Annotation: This report is from a panel of experts convened by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to establish a new approach for guideline development on promoting cardiovascular health (CV) and identifying and managing specific CV risk factors from infancy through young adulthood. Topics include the state of the science, screening for risk factors, nutrition and diet, physical activity, tobacco exposure, high blood pressure, lipids and lipoproteins, overweight and obesity, diabetes mellitus and other conditions, risk factor clustering, perinatal factors, inflammatory markers, an integrated CV health schedule, and implications of the guidelines.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-7486.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Diabetes mellitus, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Research, Risk factors, Screening, Tobacco use

Annotation: This toolkit, for health care professionals in Vermont, provides evidence-based care topics for improving the health and prenatal care of pregnant women. It describes the Improving Prenatal Care in Vermont (IPCV) project and identifies "best practice" prenatal guidelines and assists obstetric service providers in incorporating these guidelines in to their office systems. Topics include practice assessment, patient satisfaction, tobacco cessation, nutrition, breastfeeding readiness, gestational diabetes, psychosocial/behavioral, substance abuse, intimate partner violence, depression, preterm labor, infectious disease, environmental exposure, and genetic screening. This is a companion document to the "State Guide for Improving Prenatal Care".

Contact: Vermont Child Health Improvement Program, University of Vermont College of Medicine, St. Josephs 7, UHC Campus, One South Prospect Street, Burlington, VT 05401, Telephone: (802) 656-8210 Fax: (802) 656-8368 Web Site: http://www.med.uvm.edu/vchip Available from the website.

• Practice Toolkit Main Page

Keywords: Genetic screening, Guidelines, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Resources for professionals, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Vermont

Annotation: This toolkit, which is intended to serve as a resource for health professionals in school-based health centers who are working to reduce childhood obesity, discusses screening for overweight and obesity and associated conditions, nutrition and fitness recommendations, motivational interviews and goal setting, stages of treatment, healthy lifestyle after-school programs, and coding for information related to childhood obesity. The toolkit also includes description of and links to other resources.

Contact: Colorado Association for School-Based Health Care, 1801 Wiliams Street, Suite 400, Denver, CO 80218, Telephone: (303) 399-6380 Fax: (303) 350-4296 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.casbhc.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Goals, Interviews, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Programs, Resource materials, School health, Screening, Treatment

Annotation: This report presents key findings from an oral health survey of students in third grade in Mississippi public schools. Contents include information on children's oral health status, trends in children's oral health, and factors that contribute to poor oral health in the state. Topics include oral health care, lack of care, lack of care based on income, racial disparities, dental sealants, and dietary habits. Information on the survey methodology, data tables, references, and definitions is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mississippi State Department of Health, Division of Dental Services, Box 1700, Jackson, MS 39215-1700, Telephone: (601) 576-7500 Secondary Telephone: (866) 458-4948 Fax: (601) 576-8190 Web Site: http://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/41,0,151.html Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Health status, Mississippi, Nutrition, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This book is a resource for those involved in the monitoring or delivery of nutrition care for children with special health care needs. It is intended to serve as a framework for developing and providing nutrition screening, assessment, and intervention as routine components of comprehensive health care for children with disabilities and chronic illnesses. The book is divided into three sections: (1) determination of nutrition status, (2) problem-based nutrition interventions, and (3) condition-specific nutrition interventions. The book includes numerous appendices, including sample screening forms, growth charts for children with a variety of different special health care needs, and other tools. New chapters included in the third edition include breastfeeding, physical acitivity, and autism spectrum disorders.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DOH Pub. No. 961-158.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Dietary assessment, Forms, Growth charts, Intervention, Nutrition, Physical activity, Resources for professionals, Screening, Washington

Annotation: This technical-assistance paper offers guidance to Head Start programs regarding the implementation of Head Start program performance standards related to child health and developmental services, child health and safety, and child nutrition. The paper examines how physical health influences children's development and how child health and development are integrated with parent engagement, community support, and systems planning. The paper also discusses how Head Start programs can promote a culture of healthy lifestyles in the classroom and in the home so that young children will embrace lifelong healthy practices. Finally, the paper explores specific health-related concerns of many Head Start programs, including establishing a medical and dental home, promoting oral health, addressing obesity and physical activity, and embracing cultural considerations in health.

Contact: National Center on Health, Behavioral Health, and Safety, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child development, Child health, Child safety, Children, Cultural competence, Developmental screening, Early intervention services, Families, Head Start, Medical home, Nutrition, Oral health, Parents, School readiness