Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This paper is a proposal for a study to make recommendations for improvement of delivery of nutritional services in programs supported by the Maternal and Child Health Service, as well as in the development of future programs. The need for such studies, the relationship of the Children and Youth Project, the purpose and design of the proposed study, development of the observation instrument, a pilot study, and summary of study modifications are presented. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

• Link

Keywords: Child health programs, Child nutrition, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Research, Title V programs

Annotation: This report provides information about healthy beverage consumption among school-age children and adolescents, as well as recommendations from key national health and nutrition organizations. The report introduces the issue, presents background information, and describes the methodology. Expert recommendations related to beverages recommended as part of a healthy diet, beverages to limit as part of a healthy diet, and beverages not recommended as part of a healthy diet are presented. Other considerations, research recommendations, and policy and practice implications are discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescents, Beverages, Calories, Milk, Nutrition, Research, School age children, Sugar, Water

Annotation: These resources provide information on oral health throughout life. Selected topics include tips for good oral health during pregnancy, dental emergencies, nutrition, oral health for older adults,dental sealants, and silver diamine fluoride. For each topic, linns to resources for more information are provided. The resources are available in Arabic, Cantonese , English, Hmong, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: MedlinePlus, U.S. National Library of Medicine, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.medlineplus.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Other Languages

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Fluoride, Men, Multimedia, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Older adults, Oral health, Pregnant women, Research, Risk factors, Sealants, Spanish language materials, Statistical data, Women

Annotation: This document outlines a strategic plan to identify critical human nutrition research gaps and foster a coordinated approach to address knowledge gaps, accelerate innovations, and strengthen the capacity of the interdisciplinary workforce required to bring the innovations to fruition. Topics include how to better understand and define eating patterns to improve and sustain health, what can be done to help people choose healthy eating patterns, and how to develop and engage innovative methods and systems to accelerate discoveries in human nutrition.

Contact: Interagency Committee on Human Nutrition Research, U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Web Site: https://fnic.nal.usda.gov/surveys-reports-and-research/interagency-committee-human-nutrition-research Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Eating behavior, Interdisciplinary approach, Nutrition, Research methodology, Strategic plans, Systems development, Work force

Annotation: This monograph reports key findings from a comprehensive, ongoing, nationwide evaluation of written school district wellness policies. Contents include data from school years 2006–2007 through 2013–2014, the first eight years following the required implementation data for wellness policies. Topics include background on the federal requirement for school district wellness policies, methodology for assessing policy strength and district characteristics, comprehensiveness and strength of wellness policies, key findings of wellness policy provisions, and future research needs.

Contact: University of Illinois at Chicago, Institute for Health Research and Policy, 1747 West Roosevelt Road, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL 60608-1264, Telephone: (312) 996-7222 Secondary Telephone: (866) 757-4507 Fax: (312) 996-2703 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ihrp.uic.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Federal legislation, Health policy, Nutrition education, Physical activity, Physical education, Policy development, Regulations, Research, School districts, School food services, Trends

Annotation: This document outlines the need for focused research on women's health, the impact WIC has on obesity, and improving the quality and use of WIC data. Topics include nutrition education, breastfeeding support, referrals to health and social services, and the healthy food package. The appendices contain descriptions of currently funded research and evaluation projects and ongoing studies.

Contact: National WIC Association, 2001 S Street, N.W., Suite 580, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 232-5492 Fax: (202) 387-5281 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nwica.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition education, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, WIC program

Annotation: These guidelines, published every five years, are designed for professionals to help all individuals ages 2 and older and their families to consume a healthy, nutritionally adequate diet. The document discusses key elements of healthy eating patterns, shifts needed to align with healthy eating patterns, and roles of everyone in supporting healthy eating patterns.

• Link

Keywords: Behavior, Environmental factors, Food consumption, Food safety, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Research, Weight management

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about the nutritional quality of school lunches. Topics include changing nutrition standards for school meals; key findings of the fourth School Nutrition Dietary Assessment study, which collected data from nationally representative samples of public schools and school districts in school year 2009-2010; new data on the food groups contributed by school lunches; and trends for sodium, cholesterol, and dietary fiber.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Fact Sheet
• Study Archives

Keywords: Nutrition, Research, School lunch programs, Standards, Statistical data, Statistical data, Trends

Annotation: This website provides information about the School Nutrition Dietary Assessment Study-IV, which examines the nutritional quality of meals and snacks offered to students in the National School Lunch Program and the School Breakfast Program. The website includes background about the study, a list of related publications, and a webinar with presentation slides.

Contact: Mathematica , P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

• Archive

Keywords: Low income groups, Nutrition, Public policy, Research, School breakfast programs, School health, School lunch programs

Annotation: This report provides a current picture of the state of the research on food access, examining the relationship between the “food environments” in which people live and their diets, as well as the relationship between food retailing and community economic development. Topics include measuring change over time in terms of better access to healthy food, the role poor access to healthy food contributes to poorer nutrition overall, and how new healthy food retailing contributes to community economic development in tangible, positive ways.

Contact: PolicyLink, 1438 Webster Street, Suite 303, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 663-2333 Fax: (510) 663-9684 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.policylink.org Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Research, Community surveys, Food, Food habits, Food supply, Low income groups, Nutrition, Public health nutrition, Racial factors, Rural environment, Socioeconomic factors

Annotation: This report summarizes presentations and discussions from an Institute of Medicine workshop held in March 2011 to explore measurement and methodology in obesity prevention. Report topics include an overview of issues related to measurement in two key areas: (1) physical activity and the built environment and (2) food and nutrition policies and environments; measures, data sources, and methods that relate to both of these environments and that may help researchers and policymakers assess progress in obesity prevention; marketing strategies, public health campaigns, and data on marketing exposure; state and local policy efforts; and ethnic, geographic, and other disparities in obesity prevalence.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-22239-6.

• Link

Keywords: Economic factors, Environmental influences, Ethnic factors, Geographic factors, Marketing, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention, Public awareness campaigns, Public health, Public policy, Racial factors, Research, Statistical data

Annotation: This report describes how the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), formerly the Food Stamp Program, provides benefits that help nearly one in three children in the United States maintain a nutritionally adequate diet. It describes the size and scope of SNAP and the ways in which children benefit from the program. According to the report, SNAP has been shown to reduce levels of poverty, increase food security, and improve help outcomes for children. Estimated program costs are included, along with statistics on SNAP recipients such as the percentage of families who are in poverty or extreme poverty and the general age groups of children who benefit.

Contact: Center on Budget and Policy Priorities, 820 First Street N.E., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 408-1080 Fax: (202) 408-1056 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cbpp.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Hunger, Low income groups, National programs, Poverty, Research, Statistics, Supplemental food programs

Annotation: This webinar reviews the importance of major nutrients in pregnancy outcomes and infant cognitive and neurological development. Focusing on three of the major nutrients -- folic acid, vitamin D and omega-3 DHA -- the presenter provides evidence-based guidelines on appropriate levels of intake and identifies the health benefits during pregnancy and lactation and upon infant visual, social, cognitive, and psychomotor development. The presenter discusses the best sources for major nutrients and offers guidelines on food safety for pregnant women.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

• Audio
• Slides (.pdf)

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant development, Maternal nutrition, Multimedia, Nutrition education, Nutrition research, Pregnant outcome, Pregnant women

Annotation: This research brief examines programs and strategies that work and that do not work for improving health and mental health outcomes for females. A companion brief does the same for males. The brief synthesizes findings from 106 random assignment intent-to-treat evaluations of social interventions that targeted female children, adolescents, and young adults or co-ed interventions that provide separate data for the female subgroup. The brief introduces the problem and discusses interventions that address the following issues: academic achievement, delinquency, mental health, physical health and nutrition, reproductive health and sexuality, self-sufficiency, substance use.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Academic achievement, Depression, Female adolescents, Female children, Health, Intervention, Mental health, Nutrition, Programs, Reproductive health, Research, Sexuality, Substance abuse, Young adults

Annotation: This paper provides information about seafood consumption and omega-3 DHA during pregnancy and breastfeeding to promote optimal fetal and neonatal congnitive development. Topics include benefits of seafood consumption during pregnancy, concerns about mercury consumption, and the trend toward consuming insufficient quantities of seafood.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Infant development, Infant nutrition, Pregnancy, Research, Safety, Trends

Annotation: This paper examines the impact of a positive and policy-driven change in economic resources available in utero and during childhood. In particular, the paper focuses on the introduction of the Food Stamp Program, which was rolled out across counties in the United States between 1961 and 1975. The authors assembled data linking family background and county of residence in early childhood to adult health and economic outcomes. Findings are presented.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Economic factors, Families, Fetus, Food Stamp Program, Geographic factors, Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition, Poverty, Pregnant women, Public policy, Research, Statistical data, Young children

Annotation: This report is from a panel of experts convened by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to establish a new approach for guideline development on promoting cardiovascular health (CV) and identifying and managing specific CV risk factors from infancy through young adulthood. Topics include the state of the science, screening for risk factors, nutrition and diet, physical activity, tobacco exposure, high blood pressure, lipids and lipoproteins, overweight and obesity, diabetes mellitus and other conditions, risk factor clustering, perinatal factors, inflammatory markers, an integrated CV health schedule, and implications of the guidelines.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-7486.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Diabetes mellitus, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Research, Risk factors, Screening, Tobacco use

Annotation: This report examines whether the front-of-package (FOP) labels on grocery store products marketed to children promote foods that are healthful. Topics include nutritional content, caloric sweeteners, and whole food ingredients in children's products containing FOP labeling; products that failed to meet nutrient criteria; and artificial food dyes in study products. Recommendations and conclusions are also presented.

Contact: Prevention Institute, 221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 444-7738 Fax: (510) 663-1280 E-mail: prevent@#preventioninstitute.org Web Site: http://www.preventioninstitute.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Child health, Food labeling, Health promotion, Market research, Nutrients, Nutrition policy

Annotation: This report examines the environmental, socioeconomic and cultural factors that influence nutrition, overweight and obesity among Latino youth. It summarizes the authors' key research findings, including the relatively high prevalence of food insecurity and high body mass index (BMI) among Latino children and adolescents, and suggests areas for future research that would help identify links between nutrition, physical activity, overweight and obesity among Latino youth.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, Health status disparities, Hispanic Americans, Nutrition, Obesity, Research, Socioeconomic factors