Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (311 total).

Close AK, ed. n.d.. Nutrition education in child feeding programs in the developing countries. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of State, Agency for International Development, Office of Nutrition, 44 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Williams JR, ed., Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff. n.d.. Mount Zion survey: Housing, nutrition, education. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project , 17 pp. (Comment series no: 1-5 (37))

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Swartz JM. n.d.. Development of study of the nutritional status of children and youth registrants. Minneapolis, MN: [University of Minnesota, School of Public Health], Systems Development Project Staff, 46 pp. (Study series no.: 1-7 (16))

Annotation: This paper is a proposal for a study to make recommendations for improvement of delivery of nutritional services in programs supported by the Maternal and Child Health Service, as well as in the development of future programs. The need for such studies, the relationship of the Children and Youth Project, the purpose and design of the proposed study, development of the observation instrument, a pilot study, and summary of study modifications are presented. This paper is part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Child health programs, Child nutrition, Children and Youth Projects, Federal MCH programs, Research, Title V programs

Healthiest State Initiative. 2020. 5 2 1 0 Healthy Choices Count: Action guide--Early care, education, after-school. Des Moines, IA: Healthiest State Initiative, 15 pp.

Annotation: This guide is part of the 5-2-1-0 Healthy Choices Count Program, an evidenced-based prevention framework to promote healthy habits. The guide discusses how early care and education sites can adopt a whole child approach to wellness and education by providing healthy foods in the classroom and cafeteria and creatively increasing physical activity throughout the day. The guide explains why the 5-2-1-0 method works and presents 10 strategies for success. It also discusses how to implement the program in an early care or education site in five steps: engage, register, implement, share, and check in.

Contact: Healthiest State Initiative, 301 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309, Telephone: (515) 650-6854 Web Site: http://www.iowahealthieststate.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Nutrition, Physical activity, Preschool children, Prevention, School health programs, Young children

Healthiest State Initiative. 2020. 5 2 1 0 Healthy Choices Count: Action guide--Health care. Des Moines, IA: Healthiest State Initiative, 15 pp.

Annotation: This guide for health professionals is part of the 5-2-1-0 Healthy Choices Count Program, an evidence-based prevention framework to promote healthy habits. The guide discusses how health professionals can use the 5-2-1-0 method to help children stay healthy. It explains how health professionals can implement the program in five steps: engage, register, implement, share, and check in.

Contact: Healthiest State Initiative, 301 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309, Telephone: (515) 650-6854 Web Site: http://www.iowahealthieststate.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Health programs, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention, School age children, Young children

Healthiest State Initiative. 2020. 5 2 1 0 Healthy Choices Count: Action guide--Workplaces. Des Moines, IA: Healthiest State Initiative, 17 pp.

Annotation: This guide is part of the 5-2-1-0 Healthy Choices Count Program, an evidence-based prevention framework to promote healthy habits. The guide explains how to become a 5-2-1-0 Healthy Choices Count! registered workplace. It also discusses how to implement the program in a workplace in five steps: engage, register, implement, share, and check in.

Contact: Healthiest State Initiative, 301 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309, Telephone: (515) 650-6854 Web Site: http://www.iowahealthieststate.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Health programs, Nutrition, Physical activity, Prevention, Workplace

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Resources for addressing nutrition in the Title V five-year needs assessments: For state MCH Title V programs. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on the role of public health nutrition in Title V maternal and child health programs and ways to engage with public health nutritionists while working on the five-year needs assessment. It gives examples of connections between MCH outcomes and nutrition. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition programs, Public health nutrition, Public health nutritionists, Title V programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Incorporating nutrition in the Title V five-year needs assessments: For public health nutritionists. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of Title V needs assessment and of nutrition and Title V. It gives examples of connections between MCH outcomes and nutrition, and how public health nutritionists can participate. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Needs assessment, Nutrition programs, Public health nutrition, Public health nutritionists, Title V programs

Davenport N. 2020. Tailoring nutrition services: Development of a cultural toolkit for Iowa WIC staff. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a toolkit developed by the Iowa WIC program to increase WIC staff knowledge of the cultural traditions of WIC clientele. The toolkit includes information to help WIC counselors recognize the food-related practices and beliefs of different cultures. It also provides suggestions for adapting counseling methods based on traditional communication styles and interpersonal behaviors, such as body language, vocal volume, distance, and touch. It provides contact information for obtaining a copy of the toolkit.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, Iowa WIC Program, Lucas State Office Building, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov/WIC Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant nutrition, Iowa, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition services, State programs, WIC program

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2020. Identifying evidence-based and evidence-informed nutrition interventions to advance maternal health in Title V Maternal and Child Health Services block grant programs. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 5 pp.

Annotation: This maternal and child health nutrition program brief reviews opportunities to identify appropriate maternal health-related evidence-based and -informed nutrition interventions to advance Title V MCH Services Block Grant Programs’ national performance measures (NPMs) using online databases.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Web Site: https://mchb.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Evidence based programs, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Title V programs

Driscoll AK, Osterman MJK. 2018. Maternal characteristics of prenatal WIC receipt in the United States, 2016. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 7 pp. (NCHS data brief; no. 298)

Annotation: This report describes prenatal Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) receipt in the United States in 2016 by state and by maternal age, race and Hispanic origin, and education. For each topic, key points are provided, and bar graphs illustrate statistical information.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

Keywords: Age factors, Educational factors, Hispanic Americans, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition programs, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutriton, Racial factors, Statistical data, WIC program

Alliance for a Healthier Generation, Healthy Schools Campaign. [2017?]. Framework for action: Addressing nutrition and physical activity through ESSA implementation. Chicago, IL: Alliance for a Healthier Generation, Healthy Schools Campaign, 12 pp.

Annotation: This resource is a supplement to “State ESSA Plans to Support Student Health and Wellness: A Framework for Action.” This supplement provides more detailed recommendations for supporting nutrition and physical activity during the school day through the Every Student Succeeds Act implementation.

Contact: Healthy Schools Campaign, 175 N. Franklin, Suite 300, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 419-1810 Fax: (312) 419-1806 Web Site: http://www.healthyschoolscampaign.org

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Child health, Physical activity, School age children, School health programs, Students

Ashbrook A, Hartline-Grafton H, Dolins J, Davis J, Watson C. 2017. Addressing food insecurity: A toolkit for pediatricians. Elk Grove Village, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics and Food Research and Action Council, 38 pp.

Annotation: These resources are designed to help pediatricians and their practice teams screen for food insecurity, connect families with food and nutrition resources in the community, and support national and local policies that increase access to adequate healthy food for all children and their families. Contents include an infographic, information on food insecurity and federal nutrition programs, tips on preparing for and using the Hunger Vital Sign (a validated screening tool), interventions to address food insecurity, and resources to support advocacy and educational efforts.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Whaley S, Perez-Escamilla R, Segura-Perez S, Lott M. 2017. Feeding infants and young toddlers: Using the latest evidence in WIC settings. Durham, NC: Healthy Eating Research, 19 pp.

Annotation: This brief summarizes feeding guidelines for pregnant women and infants and children from birth to age 2 that are relevant to the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC). Topics include WIC services and an overview of the feeding guidelines. The applications of the feeding guidelines in the WIC setting, including staff training on the guidelines, participant education, and breastfeeding support, are also discussed.

Contact: Healthy Eating Research, Duke Global Health Institute, Duke University, Duke Box 90519, Durham, NC 27708, Telephone: (800) 578-8636 E-mail: globalhealth@duke.edu Web Site: http://www.healthyeatingresearch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Feeding, Guidelines, Infants, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Oral health, Pregnant women, WIC Program

Integrated Clinical and Social Systems for the Prevention and Management of Obesity Innovation Collaborative, Provider Training and Education Workgroup. 2017. Provider competencies for the prevention and management of obesity. Washington, DC: Bipartisan Policy Center, 9 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines competencies for health professionals engaged in obesity prevention and management. Contents include general concepts related to core obesity knowledge, interprofessional obesity care, and patient interactions related to obesity that can be integrated into existing curricula or used as a model for chronic disease curricula.

Contact: Bipartisan Policy Center, 1225 Eye Street NW, Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 204-2400 Fax: (202) 318-0876 E-mail: bipartisaninfo@bipartisanpolicy.org Web Site: https://bipartisanpolicy.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Competence, Competency-based education, Curriculum development, Disease management, Models, Nutrition, Obesity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Resources for professionals

U.S. Department of Agriculture. 2016. Moms/moms-to-be: Health and nutrition information. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture,

Annotation: This resource provides information about special nutritional needs and healthy weight gain during pregnancy and breastfeeeding. Contents include a daily checklist for estimating what and how much to eat. Information about dietary supplements; medical conditions, allergies, and food intolerances; food safety; and other topics is included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Special health care needs, Supplements, Weight gain

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2016. 2015 annual report on the quality of care for children in Medicaid and CHIP. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 42 pp.

Annotation: This report shows the progress made by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and states to systematically measure and report on the quality of care that children enrolled in Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) receive. Contents include information about state-specific findings on quality and access in Medicaid and CHIP and monitoring and improving care for children enrolled in managed care. Topics include primary care access and preventive care, management of acute and chronic conditions, childhood obesity, oral health care, prenatal and postpartum care, and adolescent well care.

Contact: U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: Web Site: https://www.cms.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Child health, Children's Health Insurance Program, Federal programs, High risk children, Managed care, Measures, Medicaid, Nutrition, Oral health, Perinatal health, Preventive health services, Primary care, Program improvement, Progress reports, Quality assurance, State programs

U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service, Association of SNAP Nutrition Education Administrators, and National Collaborative on Childhood Obesity Research. 2016. The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Education (SNAP-Ed) evaluation framework: Nutrition, physical activity, and obesity prevention indicators–Interpretive guide to the SNAP-Ed evaluation framework. Alexandria, VA: U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service, 320 pp.

Annotation: This guide for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Nutrition Education and Obesity Prevention Grant Program (SNAP-Ed) administrators, evaluators, and others identifies and explains the indicators, outcome measures, and preferred methodologies for tracking success; developing state- and local-level objectives; and reporting program results. Contents include outcome indicators relevant to individuals, environmental settings, sectors of influence, population results, and social norms and values.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Economic factors, Food consumption, Food habits, Intervention, Low income groups, Model programs, Nutrition education, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Prevention services, Program evaluation, Program improvement, State programs, Weight management

Association of State Public Health Nutritionists. 2016. Incorporating nutrition into the Title V MCH services block grant national performance measures. Johnstown, PA: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, 14 pp.

Annotation: This document suggests nutrition-related strategies for impacting health outcomes in the maternal and child health (MCH) population. Contents include evidence-based or -informed strategies that can be developed and used by states to monitor accountability, quality improvement, and performance of Title V programs. Topics include emphasizing nutrition and dietary aspects of oral health and ensuring appropriate referrals for nutrition needs identified during preventive oral health visits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 1001, Johnstown, PA 15907-1001, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (814) 255-6514 Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Block grants, Evidence-based practice, Health services delivery, Measures, Nutrition, Preventive services, State MCH programs, Title V programs

National Cancer Institute. 2016. Evidence-based cancer control programs (EBCCP). Bethesda, MD: National Cancer Institute, multiple items.

Annotation: This online, searchable database is designed to provide program planners and public health practitioners with easy and immediate access to evidence-based cancer control interventions and program materials. Program areas include breast, cervical, colorectal, and prostate cancer screening; diet and nutrition; HPV vaccination; informed decision making; obesity; physical activity; public health genomics; sun safety; survivorship/supportive care; and tobacco control.

Contact: National Cancer Institute, 6116 Executive Boulevard, Suite 300, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (301) 402-0555 E-mail: cancergovstaff@mail.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 12-7617.

Keywords: Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Colon cancer, Decision making, Disease prevention, Evidence based medicine, Family support programs, Genomics, Human papillomavirus, Informed consent, Nutrition, Obesity, Online databases, Peer support programs, Physical activity, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Risk factors, Screening, Smoking, Sun exposure, Survivors, Tobacco use, Vaccines

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.