Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.


Displaying records 1 through 20 (29 total).

Clark D. n.d.. Dietary score: Assessment tools and instructions. Des Moines, IA: Iowa Department of Public Health , 20 pp.

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: http://www.idph.iowa.gov Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Stallings VA, Suitor CW, Taylor CL, eds.; Institute of Medicine, Committee on Nutrition Standards for National School Lunch and Breakfast Programs. 2010. School meals: Building blocks for healthy children. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 380 pp.

Annotation: This report provides recommendations for the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on revising its standards and requirements so that school meals are more healthful. The recommendations are based on a review and assessment of Dietary Reference Intakes (a system of nutrition recommendations from the Institute of Medicine) and the 2005 Dietary Guidelines for Americans (jointly prepared by the USDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services). The eight recommendations in the report update the National School Lunch Program (NSLP) and School Breakfast Program (SBP) nutrition standards and meal requirements approved in 1995; shift the focus toward meeting recommendations in the 2005 Dietary Guidelines; emphasize the need for effective implementation; and identify key research topics. The recommendations encompass standards for menu planning and standards for meals as selected by the student (in contrast to those that are simply offered to students). Seventeen appendixes include sample menus, data tales, definitions, and comparisons between the existing guidelines and proposed revisions for school meal preparation.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health promotion, Data, Dietary guidelines, Federal programs, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition programs, Program evaluation, School age children, School breakfast programs, School food services, School lunch programs

National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity. 2005. Model local school wellness policies on physical activity and nutrition. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Nutrition and Activity, 26 pp.

Annotation: These model school wellness policies on physical activity and nutrition, which are intended for use by school districts, are based on nutrition science, public health research, and existing practices from exemplary states and local school districts around the country. The policies include a background section, a discussion of how to use the policies, a list of organizations that assisted with or supported the development of the policies, and the policies themselves. Policy goals are presented, as well as steps that school districts can take to achieve the goals. The section on achieving policy goals is divided into the following subsections: (1) school health councils, (2) nutritional quality of foods and beverages sold and served on campus, (3) nutrition and physical activity promotion and food marketing, (4) physical activity opportunities and physical education, (5) monitoring and policy review, and (6) resources for local school wellness policies on nutrition and physical activity.

Contact: Center for Science in the Public Interest, 1220 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 E-mail: cspi@cspinet.org Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Health promotion, Marketing, Models, Monitoring, Physical activity, Physical education, Public policy, Resource materials, School districts, School health, Schools

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. 2004. Managing gestational diabetes: A patient's guide to a healthy pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, 45 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides general guidelines for pregnant women with gestational diabetes for keeping healthy during pregnancy and for promoting the best outcome for the baby. It describes gestational diabetes, its causes and its features, includes a general treatment plan to help control the condition in making informed decisions about care with their health care providers, dietitians, and family members. Appendices provide information on high-fiber foods, a sample menu, and sample record sheets for monitoring glucose, food, and physical activity.

Contact: Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Secondary Telephone: (888) 320-6942 Fax: (866) 760-5947 Web Site: https://www.nichd.nih.gov/Pages/index.aspx Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub. No. 04-2788.

Keywords: Blood glucose self monitoring, Gestational diabetes, Nutrition, Patient education materials, Physical activity, Pregnancy complications, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

Dallas County Hospital District, Community Oriented Primary Care. 1996 (ca.). LifeSpan comprehensive services with home visiting: Final report. [Dallas, TX]: Dallas County Hospital District, Community Oriented Primary Care, 33 fact sheets.

Annotation: This packet of information is intended to assist the home visitor and the parent through the first 12 months of life. A set of fact sheets for the parent and a guideline sheet for the worker are organized by each month of development. Fact sheets include the following: activities sheets; parenting tips; and what to look for and what to expect developmentally. The curriculum guidelines for each month include information about what to do on each visit for all clients and for priority one clients; handouts to give to parents; and screening or checks on the baby for that month. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Community Oriented Primary Care Program, LifeSpan Comprehensive Services with Home Visiting, 6263 Harry Hines Boulevard, Suite 401, Dallas, TX 75235, Telephone: (214) 630-4781 Contact Phone: (214) 654-4502 Fax: (214) 630-8308 Contact E-mail: ecowle@parknet.pmh.org

Keywords: Child development, Child health services, Developmental screening, Growth monitoring, Health screening, Home visiting, Infant behavior, Infants, Nutrition, Physical development, Play

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1995. Nutrition monitoring: Establishing a model program. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 88 pp.

Annotation: This report identifies features of a model nutrition monitoring system and examines approaches to incorporating these features in the National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Program. The model consists of a combination of national surveys, federally supported surveillance systems operated by the states, and other research and data collection activities.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-95-19.

Keywords: Model programs, Nutrition monitoring

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1995. Nutrition monitoring: Data serve many purposes—Users recommend improvements. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the users and the major uses of the National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Program and summarizes user satisfaction with nutrition monitoring activities and the changes that users believe are likely to increase their use of, or confidence in, the data.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-95-15.

Keywords: Federal programs, Nutrition monitoring

Simko MD, Cowell C, Gilbride JA. 1995. Nutrition assessment: A comprehensive guide for planning intervention. (2nd ed.). Frederick, MD: Aspen Publishers, 466 pp.

Annotation: This manual presents information on the process of nutrition assessment. The manual includes the following topics: an overview and history of nutrition assessment; assessment methodology; case management, documentation, and providing nutrition services; and nutrition, monitoring, evaluation, and productivity. Appendices include National Center for Health Statistics physical growth percentile charts for boys and girls, anthropometry tables, body composition tables, a list of equipment and suppliers, a list of nutrition resource agencies, guidelines for diagnosis of malnutrition, and practice guidelines.

Contact: Aspen Publishers, 76 Ninth Avenue, Seventh Floor, New York, NY 10011, Telephone: (800) 234-1660 Secondary Telephone: (212) 771-0600 Contact Phone: (800) 638-8437 Fax: (212) 771-0885 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.aspenpublishers.com $50.00 includes shipping and handling, prepayment required. Document Number: ISBN 0-8342-0557-2.

Keywords: Intervention, Manuals, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition services, Therapeutics

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1994. Nutrition monitoring: Progress in developing a coordinated program. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 51 pp.

Annotation: This interim report covers the first of three tasks in a study undertaken by the General Accounting Office with regard to the National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Program. The report identifies uses of system data, provides an overview of current nutrition monitoring activities, and summarizes the major findings and recommendations of previous studies. It includes comments from the Departments of Health and Human Services and Agriculture about their activities to reach the goal of establishing a ten year comprehensive plan for the program. The report also considers the validity of data gathered in the 1987-88 National Food Consumption Survey.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/PEMD-94-23.

Keywords: Data analysis, National surveys, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policy, Program planning

Vella J, Uccellani V. 1993 (ca.). Learning to listen to mothers: A trainers' manual to strengthen communication skills for nutrition and growth promotion. Washington, DC: Academy for Educational Development, 89 pp.

Annotation: This manual outlines a two day workshop primarily designed to train field supervisors and community health workers who are trained to weigh young children as well as to chart and interpret their growth on improving their interpersonal communication with clients. It describes a set of six sessions, each of which includes: 1) title, 2) estimated time, 3) behavioral objectives for participants, 4) materials, 5) recommended activities, 6) objectives checklist, and 7) notes to the trainer. The manual also explains to trainers the logistics of preparing and conducting the workshop, how to adapt the manual to meet the group's needs, and provides some sample resources for activities and questionnaires.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Contact Phone: (202) 862-1900 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: communicationsmail@aed.org Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org $4.00.

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Communication skills, Developing countries, Growth monitoring, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutrition promotion, Training materials

Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors. 1993. The tables and chart book of the 1991 biennial profile of state public health nutrition services. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors, ca. 250 pp.

Annotation: This book of tables and charts is a collection of raw data from the 1991 Biennial Profile of State Public Health Nutrition Services, conducted by the Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors (ASTPHND). It presents data on nutrition positions in state and territorial governments; the funding of these positions; the educational preparation and credentials of people filling these positions; salary and personnel policies for such positions; the types of data that the states and territories collect; and the data systems used for monitoring nutrition at the state and territory level. A copy of the questionnaire used to gather these data are appended. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 1001, Johnstown, PA 15907-1001, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Contact Phone: (202) 789-1067 Fax: (814) 255-6514 Contact E-mail: prob101w@wonder.em.cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Government financing, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition programs, Personnel, State government, Statistics

U.S. Interagency Board for Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research. 1993. Nutrition monitoring in the United States: Chartbook 1—Selected findings from the National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Program. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 136 pp.

Annotation: This report was produced in response to requests from users of nutrition monitoring data for a user-friendly source of data interim to the more comprehensive scientific reports mandated by law under the National Nutrition Monitoring and Related Research Act passed in 1990. It contains charts in these areas: 1) nutritional status and related health measurements, 2) food and nutrient consumption, 3) knowledge, attitudes and behavior assessments, 4) food composition and nutrient data bases, and 5) food supply determinations.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Document Number: DHHS (PHS) 93-1255-2.

Keywords: Nutrition, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, Nutrition surveys, Nutritional status, Statistics

Sharbaugh CO with Egan MC, eds. 1991. Call to Action: Better Nutrition for Mothers, Children, and Families—Proceedings. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 356 pp., summ. (42 pp.).

Annotation: This full report and executive summary contain issue papers, recommendations, and strategies for action to improve maternal and child health (MCH) nutrition services. The recommendations, which call for coordination and collaboration among governmental and non-governmental organizations, were developed through discussions at a national workshop sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Interorganizational Nutrition Group (MCHING), with support from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Forty-four voluntary, professional, educational, and nonprofit organizations and 14 Federal agencies participated in the workshop. Issue papers included in the full report are: Nutrition Services in the Maternal and Child Health Program: A Historical Perspective; Societal Trends that Affect Nutrition Status and Services for the Maternal and Child Health Populations; Women's Nutrition for Optimal Reproductive Health; Infant Nutrition; Child Nutrition; Adolescent Nutrition; Children with Special Health Care Needs; Needs Assessment for Nutrition Activities; Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation of Nutrition Programs; Components of Nutrition Services; Quality Assurance; Personnel; Financing; and Economic Analysis of Nutrition Care. The background papers were also issued separately. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Breastfeeding, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Cost effectiveness, Dietitians, Financing, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Needs assessment, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Prenatal nutrition, Professional education, Program planning, Public health nutritionists, Quality assurance, SPRANS

U.S. General Accounting Office. 1991. Nutrition monitoring: Mismanagement of nutrition survey has resulted in questionable data. Washington, DC: U.S. General Accounting Office, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on (1) certain aspects of the methodological soundness of the 1987-88 Nationwide Food Consumption Survey (NFCS) and (2) the effectiveness of the U.S. Department of Agriculture's management of the contractor hired to conduct the survey. In brief, the investigation found methodological problems, deviations from the survey's original design, and lax controls over the collection and processing of the results, thereby raising doubts about the quality and usefulness of data collected in the 1987-88 NFCS. Specific recommendations are included in the report.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GAO/RCED-91-117.

Keywords: Food consumption, Legislation, National surveys, Nutrition, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policy

Polhamus B, Walsh CB. 1991. Nutrition action plans for Head Start children. Boston, MA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region I, , 27 pp.

Annotation: This publication is designed to assist Head Start staff in identifying a child with nutrition problems and in developing an individual action plan to provide the child and family with nutrition care and follow-up. Information and worksheets are included which can be used to develop the written nutrition plan that focuses on identifying and meeting the nutrition needs of individual children. The publication can be used to make more effective use of nutrition health and screening information and to enhance the nutrition skills of teachers, family service workers, family advocates, and other staff working with Head Start children. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region I, JFK Federal Building, Room 2100, Boston, MA 02203, Telephone: (617) 565-1500 Fax: (617) 565-1491 E-mail: Brian.Golden@hhs.gov Web Site: http://directory.psc.gov/os/871.html

Keywords: Assessment, Child nutrition, Head Start, Nutrition, Nutrition monitoring, Screening

Sharbaugh CO, ed. 1991. Background papers for Call to action: Better nutrition for mothers, children, and families—Proceedings. Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 246 pp.

Annotation: These papers include: Nutrition Services in the Maternal and Child Health Program: A Historical Perspective; Societal Trends that Affect Nutrition Status and Services for the Maternal and Child Health Populations; Women's Nutrition for Optimal Reproductive Health; Infant Nutrition; Child Nutrition; Adolescent Nutrition; Children with Special Health Care Needs; Needs Assessment for Nutrition Activities; Planning, Implementation, and Evaluation of Nutrition Programs; Components of Nutrition Services; Quality Assurance; Personnel; Financing; and Economic Analysis of Nutrition Care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent nutrition, Breastfeeding, Child nutrition, Children with special health care needs, Cost effectiveness, Dietitians, Financing, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition, Needs assessment, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition policy, Nutrition services, Prenatal nutrition, Professional education, Program planning, Public health nutritionists, Quality assurance, Risk assessment, SPRANS

Joint Nutrition Monitoring Evaluation Committee. 1986. Nutrition monitoring in the United States: A progress report from the Joint Nutrition Monitoring Evaluation Committee. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 356 pp.

Annotation: The Joint Nutrition Monitoring Evaluation Committee, a federal advisory committee sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the U.S. Department of Agriculture has prepared this report which focuses on the nutritional status of the U.S. population. Topics covered are: the Joint Nutrition Monitoring Evaluation Committee, the National Nutrition Monitoring System, sources of information and criteria used for assessment in the report; dietary and other health indicators of the nutritional status of the population; health conditions and practices that may be related to diet and nutrition; factors influencing food intake; and recommendations for improving the National Nutrition Monitoring System. In 1989 this report was called "Nutrition Monitoring in the United States: An Update Report on Nutrition Monitoring;" in 1995 it was called "Third Report on Nutrition Monitoring in the United States."

Keywords: Nutrition monitoring, Statistics

Kaufman M, ed. 1985. Demystifying data: Data use in state and local public health nutrition programs measuring achievement of the 1990 health promotion/disease prevention objectives for the nation: Proceedings. Rockville, MD: U.S. Department of Health and Human Service, 246 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings include presentations from a conference of state and territorial public health nutrition directors and faculties of graduate programs in public health nutrition held May 21-24, 1985 at Chapel Hill, North Carolina. The conference was designed to give participants proficiency in identifying national data sources; knowledge about gaining access to those sources and using the information for program management; ability to identify resources for funding public health nutrition services; and time to network with colleagues at all levels to enhance nutrition program development.

Keywords: Health promotion, Health statistics, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition services, Program evaluation, Public health nutritionists, Public health programs

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 1984. Nutrition activities of the Department of Health and Human Services. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office , 42 pp.

Annotation: This volume chronicles the scope of the nutrition efforts of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) in the areas of nutrition research, nutrition services, nutrition education, nutrition status monitoring, food safety and quality, and international nutrition concerns.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Contact Phone: (202) 472-5308 Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 83-50203.

Keywords: Department of Health and Human Services, Food safety, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, Nutrition services

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Region X. 1983 (ca.). Guidelines for nutrition services in ambulatory care settings in Region X = Nutritional guidelines. Seattle, WA: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region X, ca. 160 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of these guidelines for use in health programs is to be useful to a variety of health workers, such as nurses, community health workers, physicians, social workers, and health educators; to integrate nutrition as a component of comprehensive health promotion and clinical health services; to deliver quality nutritional care; to assist with determining the cost of nutrition services when developing fee-for-service instruments; and to focus and streamline the delivery of nutritional care and in that way make the service cost effective. These guidelines were designed as a model to be adapted to the protocols by those utilizing the tool. They may also be used as model standards, for monitoring, proposal writing, and evaluating.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Region X, 2201 Sixth Avenue, Room 1036, Mail Stop -01, Seattle, WA 98121-1831, Telephone: (206) 615-2010 Fax: (206) 615-2087 E-mail: James.Whitfield@hhs.gov Web Site: http://directory.psc.gov/os/880.html Price unknown.

Keywords: Cost effectiveness, Costs, Evaluation, Guidelines, Health personnel, Health programs, Model programs, Monitoring, Nutrition, Proposal writing, Services, Standards

    Next Page »

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.