Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is a dietary assessment tool used by licensed dietitians for WIC applicants and participants. The tool is divided into four sections, which are: 1) dietary questions, 2) food frequency, 3) nutrition risk assessment, and 4) space for a nutrition care plan. Each section has blank forms and instructions and suggestions.

Contact: Iowa Department of Public Health, 321 East 12th Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0075, Telephone: (515) 281-7689 Secondary Telephone: (866) 227-9878 Contact Phone: (515) 281-5787 E-mail: https://www.idph.iowa.gov/Contact-Us Web Site: https://hhs.iowa.gov/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Dietary assessment, Dietitians, Food habits, Forms, Nutrition assessment, Nutrition education, Nutrition monitoring, Nutrition research, WIC Program

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This paper reports a survey to make the Mount Zion Hospital and Medical Center, Comprehensive Child Care Project Staff knowledgeable and able to support all expressions of concern with substantive information. The survey among a sample of project families attempted to delineate the family's housing situation in regard to space, safety and sanitation; the nutritional status in regard to availability of food, shopping practices and dietary intake; and the children's educational placement and experiences in school and the parents' perception of the schools. The survey is also designed to document the adequacy and effectiveness of existing social services and agencies in the community to deal with these problems. This paper is produced as part of the documentation and assessment of the effect of P.L. 89-97, Title V. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Children and Youth Projects, Comprehensive health care, Educational factors, Federal MCH programs, Housing, Nutritional status, Program evaluation, Social services, Surveys, Title V programs

Annotation: The purpose of this project was to conduct a workshop for nutritionists, nurses, physicians, and other health professionals to update knowledge of nutritional needs of chronically ill/handicapped children, identify screening and referral procedures and develop a plan for improving nutrition services through Title V programs in the 13 states comprising Region IV and VI. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Technical Information Service, O.S. Department of Commerce, 5301 Shawnee Road, Alexandria, VA 22312, Telephone: (703) 605-6050 Secondary Telephone: (888) 584-8332 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov Document Number: NTIS PB93-196749.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Nurses, Nutrition, Nutrition screening, Nutritionists, Physicians, Professional education

Annotation: This resource provides downloadable breastfeeding-education pamphlets for new mothers. Topics of the pamphlets include breastfeeding, milk quality, how to breastfeed, breast milk expression and storage, taking care of sore nipples and breast engorgement, and what to eat while breastfeeding. Each pamphlet is available in English and Vietnamese.

Contact: University of California, Berkeley, College of Natural Resources, 101 Giannini Hall, Berkeley, CA 94720, Telephone: (510) 642-7171 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://nature.berkeley.edu/site/index.php Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Infants, Nutrition

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women', s health

Annotation: These fact sheets for families in Head Start programs cover a variety of health topics related to children. Topics include active play, health literacy, understanding and using health information, healthy breathing at home (asthma prevention), healthy eating, mental health, oral health, and safety and injury prevention. The materials are available in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Chinese, English, Hmong, Marshallese, Polish, Somali, Spanish, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Head Start, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Asthma, Child safety, Consumer education materials, Families, Head Start, Health literacy, Health promotion, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Oral health, Physical activity, Play, Smoking, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This activity book provides information about keeping children’s teeth healthy. It includes information about brushing, flossing, avoiding sugary foods and drinks, eating fruits and vegetables daily, and visiting the dentist. Activities for children, such as coloring pages, dot-to-dots, and a song, are also included.

Contact: Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, Office of Dental Health, P.O. Box 570, Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570, Telephone: (573) 751-5874 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://health.mo.gov/living/families/oralhealth/index.php Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Coloring books, Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health

Annotation: This program for grades K–2 is designed to improve students’ oral health by teaching them about the causes of tooth decay, how to choose healthy foods and beverages, and the importance of regular dental visits. It also helps them develop brushing and flossing skills and personal oral health care goals.

Contact: CATCH Global Foundation, P.O. Box 28282, Austin, TX 78755, Telephone: (855) 500-0050 Web Site: https://catch.org/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Health education, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention, School age children

Annotation: This series of reports is a compilation and analysis of national and U.S. state-by-state data on child population, child poverty, family structure, family income, housing and homelessness, hunger and nutrition, health, early childhood, education, child welfare, juvenile justice, and gun violence. Changes in key child and national well-being indicators are included.

Contact: Children's Defense Fund, 25 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 628-8787 Secondary Telephone: (800) 233-1200 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.childrensdefense.org Available from the website.

• 2023 Report
• Search For Other Editions

Keywords: Child health, Child nutrition, Child welfare, Data, Early childhood development, Education, Ethnic groups, Family characteristics, Gun violence, High risk groups, Population surveillance, Poverty, Statistics, Trends

Annotation: This tip sheet for pregnant women provides information about the importance of good oral health during pregnancy for both pregnant women and their infant. Topics include the importance of taking care of the mouth during pregnancy, the safety of getting oral health care during pregnancy, and the importance of good nutrition during pregnancy. Tips for choosing healthy snacks and drinks, how to care for the mouth if a woman has morning sickness, and finding a dentist are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Consumer education materials, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Annotation: This activity book offers parents an interactive way to talk to children ages 3–8 about how to care for their teeth. The book includes coloring activities, a tooth maze, a search-and-find activity, a connect-the-dots activity, and a "great job" certificate. Activities focus on brushing, flossing, visiting the dentist, and drinking water and eating healthy foods.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Activity books, Consumer education materials, Educational materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Prevention

Annotation: These videos provide information for children about how to keep their mouths healthy. The first video discusses toothbrushing, flossing, and visiting the dentist. The second video discusses the correct kind of toothbrush to use, how often to replace toothbrushes, and brushing the tongue as well as the teeth. The third discusses the importance of eating fruits and vegetables, brushing the teeth after eating sugary foods, and drinking water.

Contact: Delta Dental Institute, 301 New York Avenue, N.W., Suite 310W, Washington, DC 20001, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com/institute/

• Link
• Program Website

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Prevention, Videos, Young children

Annotation: This video for parents provides information about the importance of keeping primary teeth healthy for eating, speaking, holding space for adult teeth, and promoting a positive self-image. Topics include tooth eruption, teething, and the consequences of losing primary teeth too early. The video also discusses the pain caused by tooth decay in young children and resulting challenges with early learning and a child’s overall health and development. Tips on what parents can to do prevent decay in primary teeth are provided.

Contact: First Things First, 4000 North Central Avenue, Suite 800, Phoenix, AZ 85012, Telephone: (602) 771-5100 Secondary Telephone: (877) 803-7234 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.firstthingsfirst.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Infant health, Nutrition, Oral health, Parenting, Prevention, Videotapes

Annotation: This flyer provides information for medical providers at community health centers (CHCs) participating in the Rocky Mountain Network of Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The flyer is intended for use with the parents or other caregivers of CHC patients to help ensure that parents or other caregivers meet goals related to brushing their child’s teeth with fluoridated toothpaste, giving their child fluoridated water to drink and healthy snacks to eat, and getting oral health care for their child. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Community health centers, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Nutrition, Oral health, Regional programs, Snacks, Water intake, Young children

Annotation: This toolkit contains information to help pediatricians and their key partners learn about food insecurity, screen and identify children at risk, connect families to available federal, state, and local food and nutrition programs, and support policies that address food insecurity and its root causes, including poverty, inadequate wages, housing insecurity, food deserts, and structural racism.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Children, Consumer education, Families, Federal programs, Food, Intervention, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Nutrition programs, Pediatric care, Policy development, Resources for professionals, Screening

Annotation: This brief presents key findings from an evaluation of the Healthy Food Alliance for Early Education (HFAEE), a program designed to improve nutrition and health practices in early childhood education centers and the homes of children facing food insecurity in St. Louis, MO. The brief provides a description of the program components and summarizes the evaluation findings.

Contact: Child Trends , 7315 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200 W, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (240) 223-9200 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.childtrends.org

• Link
• PDF

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Early Childhood Education, Evaluation, Food insecurity, Nutrition programs, Young children

Annotation: This cookbook includes recipes to support children’s healthy growth and development with ingredients that are fresh, low in fat, and high in fiber. The recipes can help early care and education programs meet nutrition standards from the federal Child and Adult Care Food Program. The cookbook is divided into recipes for dairy, fruit, and vegetables. Each recipe includes a list of ingredients, directions, a picture of the prepared recipe, and, where needed, safety tips. Recipes are also available individually. The cookbook and individual recipes are available in English and in Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• English
• Spanish

Keywords: Child nutrition, Cookbooks, Early childhood education, Recipes, Snacks, Spanish language materials, Young children

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about promoting good oral health at home during the COVID-19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of serving healthy foods and drinks and promoting good oral hygiene habits to keep children’s mouths healthy during the pandemic and always. It also includes tips for eating healthy foods and drinks and practicing healthy oral hygiene habits. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, COVID-19, Consumer education materials, Dental hygiene, Disease transmission, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases

Annotation: This handout provides information for parents about taking their child to the dentist during the COVID19 pandemic. It discusses the importance of getting oral health care for children. It also lists changes that dental offices may have made to lower the risk of spreading COVID-19 to patients and parents. The handout is available in Chinese, English, Spanish, Tagalog, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/ncechw Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Asian language materials, COVID-19, Consumer education materials, Disease transmission, Health care utilization, Infectious diseases, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Virus diseases