Search Results: MCHLine

Annotation: This manual is intended to assist village workers at the grass roots level and others in developing countries in teaching mothers and children about the foods children need for growth and health and how to use local foods to improve their diets. Some topics in the manual are: 1) setting goals to fit your community, 2) general rules for teaching, 3) working with mothers of preschool children, and 4) teaching children in school feeding programs. An appendix includes weight and height charts, a questionnaire for learning children's food habits, and other helpful publications. It was prepared in cooperation with the Maternal Child Health Service, U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare.

Contact: U.S. Agency for International Development, Technical Assistance Bureau, Washington, DC 20523 , Price unknown.

Keywords: Child nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Developing countries, Nutrition disorders, Nutrition education, Nutrition services, Training materials

Annotation: This chart provides information about state-specific legislation that mandates the coverage of medically necessary foods by employer-sponsored health insurance, Medicaid, and coverage and related services funded by other state programs such as the Supplemental Food Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC); Title V; or relief funds. Contents include descriptions of medical foods products, abbreviations and definitions, a list of coverage types for dietary treatments of disorders identified through newborn screening, and a list of states that provide phenylketonuria (PKU) only coverage. Details about covered services and any benefit limits or age and income restrictions are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs, Boston University School of Public Health, Center for Advancing Health Policy and Practice, 801 Massachusetts Avenue, Boston, MA 02218-2526, Telephone: (617) 638-1930 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://ciswh.org/project/the-catalyst-center/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Access to health care, Diet therapy, Dietary assessment, Financing, Food supplements, Genetic disorders, Health insurance, Medicaid, Metabolic diseases, Newborn infants, Newborn screening, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, Postnatal care, Regulations, Special health care needs, State legislation, State programs, Title V programs, Unfunded mandates, WIC program

Annotation: This report is from a panel of experts convened by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute to establish a new approach for guideline development on promoting cardiovascular health (CV) and identifying and managing specific CV risk factors from infancy through young adulthood. Topics include the state of the science, screening for risk factors, nutrition and diet, physical activity, tobacco exposure, high blood pressure, lipids and lipoproteins, overweight and obesity, diabetes mellitus and other conditions, risk factor clustering, perinatal factors, inflammatory markers, an integrated CV health schedule, and implications of the guidelines.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH Publication No. 12-7486.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Child health, Diabetes mellitus, Guidelines, Health promotion, Infant health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Research, Risk factors, Screening, Tobacco use

Annotation: Presented in five parts, this textbook for health and community services professionals and the general public focuses on women's health issues throughout the life cycle with each chapter including a summary, review questions, resource listings and references. Contents include: pt. 1. Foundations of women's health : Introducing women's health ; Becoming a wise consumer ; Developing a healthy lifestyle -- pt. 2. Mental and emotional wellness : Enhancing emotional well-being ; Managing the stress of life -- pt. 3. Sexual and relational wellness : Building healthy relationships ; Exploring women's sexuality ; Designing your reproductive life plan ; Preventing abuse against women -- pt. 4. Contemporary lifestyle and social issues : Eating well ; Keeping fit ; Using alcohol responsibly ; Making wise decisions about tobacco, caffeine, and drugs -- pt. 5. Communicable and chronic conditions : Preventing and controlling infectious diseases ; Preventing and controlling chronic health conditions ; Reducing your risk of cancer.

Contact: McGraw-Hill Companies, PO Box 182604, Columbus, OH 43272, Telephone: (877) 833-5524 Fax: (614) 759-3749 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.mcgraw-hill.com $72.80. Document Number: ISBN 0-8151-0626-2.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alternative medicine, Behavior modification, Caffeine, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Communicable diseases, Consumer education, Contraceptives, Depression, Developmental stages, Domestic abuse, Drug abuse, Eating disorders, Gynecology, Holistic health, Interpersonal relations, Life cycle, Lifestyle, Nutrition, Parenting, Pregnancy, Self esteem, Smoking, Stress management, Weight management, Women', s health

Annotation: The fourth edition of Facts for Life contains essential information that families and communities need to know to raise healthy children. This handbook provides practical advice on pregnancy, childbirth, childhood illnesses, child development and the care of children. This edition also features a new chapter on child protection. The book is intended for parents, families, health workers, teachers, youth groups, women’s groups, community organizations, government officials, employers, trade unions, media, and non-governmental and faith-based organizations. It is available in Arabic, Bangla, English, French, Indonesian, Kiswahili, Spanish, and Turkmen.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org $1.00. Document Number: ISBN 978-92-806-4466-1.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: AIDS, Birth intervals, Breastfeeding, Child health, Child health promotion, Common cold, Developing countries, Diarrhea, Hygiene, Immunization, Malaria, Maternal health, Non English language materials, Nutrition disorders, Spanish language materials

Annotation: This policy guide, directed to schools, quantitatively and qualitatively overviews the childhood obesity epidemic, provides rationale for obesity prevention programs to policy-makers at all government levels, suggests policies to promote physical education and activity in schools, recommends policies to promote nutrition and healthy eating, and submits additional policies to follow the implementation of the author's primary recommendations.

Contact: Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, 50 College Road East, Princeton, NJ 08540-6614, Telephone: (877) 843-7953 Fax: Web Site: http://www.rwjf.org Available from the website, also available for $12 plus $4.50 shipping and handling..

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Child nutrition, Eating disorders, Health education, Nutrition education, Obesity, Public policy, School breakfast programs, School lunch programs, Schools, Weight management

Annotation: This Web site provides students with curricular support and self-help on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Users can subscribe for a fee or use a 3-day free trial. Sample articles on anorexia nervosa, asthma, and decision making are available.

Contact: Rosen Publishing Group, 29 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (800) 237-9932 Fax: (888) 436-4643 Web Site: http://www.rosenpublishing.com/ Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Alcohol consumption, Drug use, Eating disorders, Families, Food, Grief, Mental health, Nutrition, Relationships, Safety, World Wide Web

Annotation: This guide is designed to assist health professionals in counseling women during the postpartum period. The guide addresses three areas of concern: (1) diet, nutrition, and exercise; (2) postpartum mental health; and (3) sexuality and contraception. Each section includes a checklist of counseling points that the health professional can discuss with the patient, as well as a discussion of related health issues. The guide concludes with a reference list and a chart of contraceptive options for U.S. women in the postpartum period.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Single copies available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Contraception, Counseling, Diet, Exercise, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Postpartum care, Sexuality, Women', s health

Annotation: This book, which is geared toward health professionals and educators on nutrition and adolescent pregnancy, focuses on the biological, psychosocial, and cognitive changes that begin during puberty and continue through adolescence, which directly affect nutritional status and nutrient needs. Topics include adolescent growth and development; understanding adolescent eating behaviors; nutrition needs of adolescents; nutrition, screening, and intervention; nutrition education and counseling; promoting healthy eating and physical activity behaviors; the overweight adolescent; the underweight adolescent; iron deficiency anemia; hyperlipidemia; hypertension; eating disorders; body image and adolescents; diabetes mellitus: type 1 and type 2; reproductive health issues; sports nutrition; vegetarian eating patterns; and adolescents with special health care needs. Some of the information is presented in tables. One appendix containing a list of food sources of vitamins and minerals is included.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Adolescent nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents with special health care needs, Body image, Diabetes mellitus, Eating disorders, Food habits, Health promotion, Hyperlipidemia, Hypertension, Intervention, Iron deficiency anemia, Nutrition counseling, Nutrition education, Nutritional requirements, Nutritional status, Obesity, Physical activity, Puberty, Reproductive health, Screening, Sports, Underweight, Vegetarianism

Annotation: This book provides information parents need to take care of children between the ages of 5 and 12. It designed to help the parents prepare their children for the world outside of the home. The book includes 60 chapters organized in these parts: promoting health and normal development, nutrition and physical fitness, personal and social development, behavior and discipline, emotional problems and behavior disorder, family matters, children in school, chronic health problems, and common medical problems. The book treats topics into two ways: it includes chapters which provide background information to help the parents develop a context for the problems their children face, and it contains chapters targeted to particular problems which provide specific suggestions for dealing with them. This book is the second of a three-volume series developed by the American Academy of Pediatrics and Feeling Fine Programs.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 626-6000 Secondary Telephone: (847) 434-4000 Fax: (847) 434-8000 Web Site: https://www.aap.org $29.95 plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Behavior, Behavior disorders, Child development, Child health, Child nutrition, Children, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental stages, Discipline, Emotional development, Family relations, First aid, Parenting, Parenting skills, Physical fitness, Psychosocial development, School adjustment, School age children

Annotation: This paper documents the differential 20th century trends in black and white pregnancy outcomes and examines what socioeconomic and maternal health factors explained these differentials in past and recent times. Sections include a 20th century history of producing healthy babies; a description of the records from Johns Hopkins University (JHU), spanning the years 1897 to 1935, that were used in the survey along with data from the 1988 National Maternal and Infant Health Survey (NMIHS); pregnancy outcome trends; the empirical framework; birth outcomes and race at JHU and in 1988; and conclusions. Topics include the historic roles played by sexually transmitted diseases, breastfeeding, marriage rates, socioeconomic factors, nutrition disorders, and other lifestyle differences between blacks and whites. An appendix discusses the nature of data used in the research. References are provided. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures grouped at the end of the paper.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

• Full Report

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Economic factors, History, Infant health, Infant mortality, Infant mortality, Lifestyle, Nutrition disorders, Pregnancy outcome, Racial factors, Research, Sexually transmitted diseases, Socioeconomic factors, Statistics, Surveys, Trends, Whites, Women', s health

Annotation: This report evaluates a randomized controlled study using a specially designed home visitation program including resource mothers to help women with phenylketonuria (PKU) attain metabolic control prior to and throughout pregnancy in order to prevent the adverse effects of maternal PKU. Report sections include the nature of the research problem, goals and objectives, the study methodology, an evaluation, and a review of the results/outcomes. Also included is a list of publications and products, an outline of the dissemination/utilization of study results, and references. Tables provide additional information mothers' background variables, blood measurement variables, diet variables, and treatment plan assessment schedules. a review of the literature; an outline of the study design and methods; a presentation of findings; and a discussion of findings and recommendations for policy implications and further research. Also provided are a list of products developed and references.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Contact Phone: (617) 355-4686 Contact Fax: (617) 355-7346 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Fetal development, Final reports, Genetic disorders, Intervention, MCH Research, Maternal fetal exchange, Maternal phenylketonuria, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Resource mothers

Annotation: This document contains most of the existing quantitative and qualitative research and information specific to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health in the areas defined and discusses the overall health issues of LGBT people. The document describes barriers LGBT people face and recommends changes that will facilitate success in overcoming them. Topics covered include access to quality health care services, cancer, educational and community-based programs, health communication, HIV/AIDS, immunization and infectious diseases, mental health and mental disorders, nutrition and weight, public health infrastructure, sexually transmitted diseases, substance abuse, tobacco use, and violence prevention. The document includes five appendices that contain recommendations, acronyms, LGBT definitions, resources, and contributors.

Contact: Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, 459 Fulton Street, Suite 107, San Francisco, CA 94102, Telephone: (415) 255-4547 Fax: (415) 255-4784 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.glma.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Barriers, Cancer, Communicable diseases, Community based services, Community programs, Educational programs, HIV, Health, Healthy People 2010, Homosexuality, Infections, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Public health, Research, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Tobacco use, Violence prevention, Weight management

Annotation: This book focuses on clinical application of current knowledge on adolescent pregnancy emphasizing assessment, management, counseling approaches, and strategies to promote dietary change and adequate weight gain. It is written for health professionals and educators involved in the care of pregnant adolescents. Topics covered include adolescent development, nutritional needs and eating behavior, nutrition assessment, interviewing, counseling, prenatal education, and postpartum care.

Contact: University of Minnesota School of Public Health, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, West Bank Office Building, 1300 S. Second Street, Suite 300, Minneapolis, MN 55454-1015, Telephone: (612) 624-1818 Fax: (612) 624-0315 Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://sph.umn.edu/epi Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM035.

• Link

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Eating behaviors, Feeding disorders, Interviews, Nutrition, Nutrition assessment, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant adolescents, Prenatal education

Annotation: These fact sheets describe the fifteen leadership training programs in maternal and child health. The training programs are in the following areas: continuing education and development, social work, pediatric occupational therapy, pediatric physical therapy, graduate medical education in historically black colleges and universities, adolescent health, maternal and child health leadership education in neurodevelopmental and related disabilities, behavioral pediatrics, nursing, schools of public health, pediatric pulmonary centers, the maternal and child health training program, nutrition, communication disorders, and pediatric dentistry. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Adolescent health, Behavioral sciences, Blacks, Communication disorders, Continuing education, Graduate education, Leadership training, Lung diseases, MCH training programs, Medical education, Neural development, Nursing, Nutrition, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric occupational therapy, Physical therapy, Public health education, Social work

Annotation: This resource discusses assessment and intervention techniques, the medical and developmental consequences of pediatric undernutrition, interdisciplinary teamwork and service coordination, and nutrition and feeding issues from medical care and child development to community planning and advocacy. Also discussed are numerous difficulties associated with inadequate nutrition in children younger than age 3, including developmental delays, medical conditions that impair growth, and cognitive deficits. The book also addresses nonmedical issues including the feeding relationship, nutrition, cultural diversity, working with families, and infant mental health. Clinically related appendices provide scales for assessing childhood feeding disorders and emotional health, growth charts, diet records, and clinical questionnaires.

Contact: Brookes Publishing, P.O. Box 10624, Baltimore, MD 21285-0624, Telephone: (800) 638-3775 Secondary Telephone: (410) 337-9580 Fax: (410) 337-8539 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.brookespublishing.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-55766-348-3.

Keywords: Assessment, Child development, Child mental health, Child nutrition, Children, Cognitive development, Cultural diversity, Early childhood development, Failure to thrive, Feeding, Growth charts, Infant nutrition, Interdisciplinary cooperation, Intervention, Nutrition disorders, Pediatrics, Questionnaires, Records, Service coordination

Annotation: This report provides guidelines for feeding practices to improve the nutrition of infants, ages 0-6 months and 6-24 months, and also dietiary practices to improve the nutrition of adolescent girls and women of reproductive age. The document provides technical justification for the guidelines and also identifies and discusses determinants of nutritional status.

Contact: FHI 360 , 359 Blackwell Street, Suite 200, Durham, NC 27701, Telephone: (919) 544-7040 Fax: (919) 544-7261 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.fhi360.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Health status, Barriers, Breastfeeding, Delayed childbearing, Dietary guidelines, Family planning, Feeding, Infant nutrition, Intervention, Low birth weight, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition disorders, Physical activity, Premature infants, Prenatal nutrition

Annotation: This book is designed to provide guidance to parents in their day to day interactions with their children. It covers a range of practical issues: choosing the right pediatric, sleep problems, child's self esteem, school difficulties, and coping with disrupting family life. Part one, the life of the child, presents the child's development, from infancy to the preadolescent years. Part two, day to day problem behavior, describes everyday behaviors, feelings, and reactions. Part three, serious problems and abnormalities, discusses concerns that represent serious obstacles to the child's development and family life. Part four, seeking help, offers practical advice and useful information to guide parents when professional mental health intervention is required.

Contact: American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, 3615 Wisconsin Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20016-3007, Telephone: (202) 966-7300 Fax: (202) 966-2891 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aacap.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-06-270158-4.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child care, Child development, Child health, Child mental health, Child nutrition, Child psychology, Children, Disorders

Annotation: This book presents information on a wide range of alternative or complementary methods for providing health care. It provides an introductory chapter on alternative medicine which covers approaches such as acupuncture and acupressure, biofeedback, homeopathy, massage, hydrotherapy, kinesiology, and visualization therapy, among others. It includes chapters on the following topics: natural nutrition; vitamins; minerals and trace elements; botanical medicines; coping with stress; stress-related disorders; drug abuse and addiction; mental health disorders; common male and female health problems; pregnancy, childbirth, and infant care; dental care; eye, ear, nose, and throat problems; cancer; heart disorders; and aging. Each chapter presents alternative treatments for specific conditions, includes sidebars which summarize certain strategies, and provides bibliographical references. A glossary, a general bibliography, and an index are included.

Contact: Cengage Learning, P.O. Box 6904, Florence, KY 41022-6904, Telephone: (800) 354-9706 Fax: (800) 487-8488 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cengage.com/ Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-8103-8303-9.

Keywords: Aging, Alternative medicine, Cancer, Childbirth, Dental care, Drug abuse, Encyclopedias, Exercise, Health services, Heart diseases, Holistic health, Infant care, Men, Mental disorders, Minerals, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Stress, Stress management, Vitamins, Women

Annotation: This manual, a product of an interagency project between the Virginia Departments of Health and Education, is a guide for parents and professionals on the management of nutrition problems of school children with special needs. It helps school personnel plan nutrition services for students who have special health needs or are chronically ill. The information included facilitates the management of special diets and the expansion of nutrition education in the school curriculum. It includes information on these topics: common nutrition problems and interventions during the school day; dietary considerations of specific conditions and related factors; and nutrition goals and objectives for the individualized education program. Dietary considerations and sources of information and/or nutrition education materials for the following conditions are discussed: cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, diabetes mellitus, Down syndrome, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, phenylketonuria, seizure disorders, spina bifida, constipation, feeding abnormalities, and tube feeding. Nine case studies are presented. The appendix includes information on lunch menu ideas for special diets, nutritious snacks, textural modifications, arthritis diet and drugs, complications of tube feeding, and PKU diet free foods. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHI113.

Keywords: Cerebral palsy, Children with special health care needs, Constipation, Cystic fibrosis, Diabetes mellitus, Down syndrome, Enteral nutrition, Epilepsy, Feeding disorders, Individualized education programs, Juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, Nutrition, Phenylketonuria, School food services, Spina bifida